لماذا التخفيضات جذرية في المدينة تلوث الهواء يمكن أن توسع عمر

لماذا التخفيضات جذرية في المدينة تلوث الهواء يمكن أن توسع عمر

يمكن أن يزداد متوسط ​​عمر سكان كوبنهاغن لمدة عام كامل في 2040 إذا كانت هناك تخفيضات في التلوث إلى المستوى الموجود في الريف.

وهذا بالطبع يكشف لصناع القرار الاحتمالية إذا ما كانوا يفعلون شيئاً حقاً بشأن تلوث الهواء. ويقول هنريك برونوم هانسن ، الأستاذ المشارك في قسم الصحة العامة بجامعة كوبنهاغن ، إن بإمكان سكان كوبنهاغن أن يعيشوا حياة أطول ، لأن قلة من المرضى سوف يموتون ويموتون بسبب أمراض نعرف أنها ناجمة عن تلوث الهواء ، من بين أمور أخرى. مؤلف دراسة جديدة.

استخدم الباحثون نماذج متقدمة لمحاكاة تأثير تلوث الهواء على السكان. يستخدم النموذج المسمى "DYNAMO-HIA" البيانات المأخوذة من المسوحات السكانية الكبيرة حول الصحة وحسابات التلوث في الشوارع الفردية بناءً على أنماط حركة المرور وتسجيل البيانات المتعلقة بالعنوان والاتصال بالمستشفيات ومعدل الوفيات.

"... إذا كنت ترغب في منع عدد كبير من حالات المرض وزيادة متوسط ​​العمر بحلول عام كامل ، فأنت بحاجة إلى القيام بشيء جذري ..."

درس الباحثون ثاني أكسيد النيتروجين أو NO2، والتي تنبعث مع جزيئات متناهية الصغر من مركبات الديزل.

من المعروف أن تلوث الجسيمات يزيد من خطر الإصابة بأمراض مثل سرطان الرئة وأمراض الجهاز التنفسي وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الطريقة التقليدية لتقييم الآثار الصحية تقلل من تأثير حركة المرور.

رسم الباحثون صورة أكثر دقة من خلال النظر في NO2التي ترتبط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بجميع الآثار الصحية في الدراسات الاستقصائية الدنماركية ، على الرغم من أن الجسيمات تسبب بعضًا من التأثيرات. يبلغ مستوى التلوث في كوبنهاغن ثلاثة أضعاف المستوى الذي يتم قياسه في محطة قياس خارج مدينة روسكيلد.

بالطبع سيناريونا طموح ، لأنه يتطلب أكثر أو أقل من جميع المركبات الملوثة أن يتم إزالتها من كوبنهاغن. ولكن إذا كنت ترغب في منع عدد كبير من حالات المرض وزيادة متوسط ​​العمر بحلول عام كامل ، فستحتاج إلى القيام بشيء جذري - و 2040 هي طريقة في المستقبل ، لذلك فهي غير واقعية ، يقول المؤلف المشارك ستيفن لوفت ، أستاذ ورئيس قسم الصحة العامة.

"... أنت لا تحصل على عام واحد فقط للعيش ، كما أنك تحصل على المزيد من السنوات بدون مرض".

بالإضافة إلى السنة الإضافية للحياة ، تشير الدراسة أيضًا إلى مزايا صحية أخرى للحد من تلوث الهواء. على سبيل المثال ، من خلال 2040 يمكن أن ينخفض ​​عدد الرجال الذين يعانون من أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية بواسطة 680 لكل الرجال 100,000 ، مثلما يمكن أن ينخفض ​​عدد النساء اللواتي يعانين من مرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن بواسطة 650 لكل النساء 100,000 إذا كان هناك تخفيضات لتلوث ثاني أكسيد النيتروجين في المدينة.

يؤكد الباحثون أنه بالإضافة إلى سنة إضافية من الحياة ، فإن سكان كوبنهاغن سيشهدون أيضًا جودة أعلى للحياة بعد انخفاض كبير في التلوث.

"من النقاط المهمة في الدراسة الجديدة أنك لا تحصل على عام واحد فقط للعيش ، بل ستحصل أيضًا على مزيد من السنوات بدون مرض. لذلك لا يتعلق الأمر فقط بمتوسط ​​العمر ، ولكن أيضا بنوعية الحياة. ”هذا ما قاله برونوم هانسن.

وحسب الباحثون أيضا سيناريو ينخفض ​​فيه تلوث الهواء بنسبة 20 في المائة. والنتيجة هي زيادة متوسط ​​عمر سنوات 0-3-0.5.

"إذا لم يكن السياسيون مستعدين لإجراء عملية التخلص الكامل ، فمن الطبيعي أن يسعدنا تزويدهم بحسابات أخرى للعواقب الصحية للحد من مستوى التلوث وزيادة جودة الحياة قدر الإمكان" ، Steffen Loft يقول.

صندوق البحث المستقل الدنمارك مولت الدراسة.

مصدر: جامعة كوبنهاغن

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = cleaning air pollution؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
by روبرت تي. لندن ، دكتوراه في الطب

Why Drastic Cuts In City Air Pollution Could Extend Lifespans

environmental health

Why Drastic Cuts In City Air Pollution Could Extend Lifespans

The average lifespan of residents of Copenhagen could increase by an entire year in 2040 if there were cuts in pollution to the level found in the countryside.

“Of course this reveals to the decision-makers the potential if they were to really do something about the air pollution. Copenhageners can live longer lives, because fewer would get sick and die from diseases which we know are caused by air pollution, among other things,” says Henrik Brønnum-Hansen, an associate professor from the public health department at the University of Copenhagen and first author of a new study.

Researchers used advanced models to simulate the effect of air pollution on the population. The model named “DYNAMO-HIA” uses data from large population surveys on health, pollution calculations for the individual streets based on traffic patterns, and register data regarding address, contact with the hospitals, and mortality.

“…if you want to prevent a large number of cases of disease and increase the average lifespan by an entire year, you need to do something drastic…”

Researchers studied nitrogen dioxide or NO2, which is emitted together with ultrafine particles from diesel vehicles.

It’s a well-known fact that particle pollution increases the risk of diseases like lung cancer, respiratory diseases, and cardiovascular diseases. However, the traditional method for evaluating health effects underestimates the effect of traffic.

The researchers painted a much more precise picture by looking at NO2, which is closely connected to all health effects in Danish surveys, even though particles cause some of the effects. The level of pollution in Copenhagen is approximately three times as high as the level measured at a measuring station just outside the city of Roskilde.

“Of course our scenario is ambitious, because it more or less requires all polluting vehicles to be removed from Copenhagen. But if you want to prevent a large number of cases of disease and increase the average lifespan by an entire year, you need to do something drastic—and 2040 is way into the future, so it is not unrealistic,” says coauthor Steffen Loft, a professor in and head of the public health department.

“…you do not just get one more year to live, you also get more years without disease.”

In addition to the extra year of life, the study also points to other health advantages to reducing air pollution. For example, by 2040 the number of men suffering from cardiovascular diseases could drop by 680 per 100,000 men, just as the number of women suffering from COPD could drop by 650 per 100,000 women if there were cuts to nitrogen dioxide pollution in the city.

The researchers emphasize that in addition to an extra year of life, Copenhageners would also experience higher quality of life following a large reduction in pollution.

“An important point of the new study is that you do not just get one more year to live, you also get more years without disease. So it is not just a question of the average lifespan, but also of quality of life,” says Brønnum-Hansen.

The researchers also calculated a scenario where air pollution drops by 20 percent. The result is an increased average lifespan of 0-3-0.5 years.

“If the politicians are not ready to conduct a full phase-out, naturally we would be happy to provide them with other calculations of the health consequences to reduce the level of pollution and increase the quality of life as much as possible,” Steffen Loft says.

The Independent Research Fund Denmark funded the study.

Source: University of Copenhagen

Related Books

Power Up to Fight Pollution (Cloverleaf Books ™ — Planet Protectors)
environmental healthAuthor: Lisa Bullard
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Millbrook Press TM

Buy Now

Cleaning Pakistan’s Air: Policy Options to Address the Cost of Outdoor Air Pollution (Directions in Development)
environmental healthAuthor: Ernesto Sánchez-Triana
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: World Bank Publications

Buy Now

Fresh Air for Life: How to Win Your Unseen War Against Indoor Air Pollution
environmental healthAuthor: Allan Somersall
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Natural Wellness Group
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

environmental health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}