لماذا يستخدم المزارعون الغليفوسات لقتل محاصيلهم وماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة لك

لماذا يستخدم المزارعون الغليفوسات لقتل محاصيلهم وماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة لك
تصوير: انطون بورش

كان ربيع 1978 وكنت 7 سنة عندما تم بيع المجارف الأولى من الآيس كريم Ben & Jerry في Burlington ، فيرمونت ، على بعد حوالي ساعة من المنزل الريفي الذي شاركته مع والدي وأخته الرضيعة. لا أتذكر متى حصلت على طعمي الأول ، ولكن ربما لم يكن ذلك بعد ذلك بوقت طويل ، وكانت بداية علاقة حب ما يقرب من أربعة عقود تستمر حتى يومنا هذا.

قبل عامين من افتتاح أول محل لبيع المغلفات في بن آند جيري ، شهد نظام الغذاء الأمريكي آخر الأول: إدخال الغليفوسات العشبي ، الذي يباع عادة تحت الاسم التجارى Roundup. تم تقديم Glyphosate في المملكة المتحدة وماليزيا في 1974 ، ولكن لم تحصل على موافقة الجهات التنظيمية في أمريكا الشمالية حتى 1976 ، حيث سرعان ما حظيت في الصناعة الزراعية بقدراتها في مكافحة الحشائش. في منتصف 1990s ، تم إدخال فول الصويا المقاوم للعوامل المعدلة وراثيا ، (سرعان ما تبعت المحاصيل الأخرى ، بما في ذلك الذرة والكانولا والبرسيم والسرغوم) ، مما سمح بتطبيقات واسعة النطاق من مبيدات الأعشاب طوال موسم النمو مما أدى إلى زيادة طفيفة في استخدام هذا ، مثل بلدي المولع للآيس كريم قسط ، لا يزال مستمرا دون هوادة.

وقد ساهم الاستخدام الآخر الذي يعرفه القليل من المستهلكين أيضًا في زيادة استخدام الغليفوسات: جفاف محصول ما قبل الحصاد. بداية من اسكتلندا في 1980s ، تتضمن هذه الممارسة تطبيق مبيدات الأعشاب على محصول دائم قرب نهاية موسم النمو مع غرض صريح هو تعجيل العملية الطبيعية التي تحدث ، حيث يموت المحصول ببطء ويجف في الحقل. تقتل الجلايوفوسات المحصول بحيث يمكن أن يجف بما فيه الكفاية ليحصد في وقت أقرب مما لو تم تركه ليموت بشكل طبيعي - مما يسمح للمزارع بإزالة الحقل قبل بداية الطقس غير الموات. وبالنظر إلى المدة التي تكون فيها عادة في التخزين ، يجب أن تكون مستويات رطوبة محاصيل الحبوب منخفضة بما يكفي لتخزينها دون أن تصبح متعفّنة. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، اكتسبت هذه الممارسة قوة جذب كبيرة في أمريكا الشمالية ، لا سيما في المناطق الشمالية من السهول الكبرى وحزام الحبوب في الغرب الأوسط وغرب كندا ، حيث يأتي الطقس البارد والطقس في وقت مبكر.

بالنسبة لهؤلاء المزارعين ، فإن جفاف محصول ما قبل الحصاد من قبل الغليفوسات يوفر مزايا أخرى. تقلل عملية التجفيف المتسارع من مدخلات الطاقة المحتملة بعد الحصاد ، مثل الحاجة إلى استخدام مجفف الحبوب. كما تولد هذه الممارسة استجابة "فسيف أخيرة" فيزيولوجية في النباتات الأقل نضجًا التي تعجل النضوج وتساعدها على "اللحاق" بأصحابها ، مما يضمن غلة أكثر ثباتًا. وهذا بدوره يسمح للزراعات المتعاقبة أن تزرع في وقت سابق ويحسن السيطرة على الأعشاب الضارة.

حاليا ، هناك عدد قليل من الإحصائيات المتعلقة بالمساحة الخاضعة لجفاف الجلايوفوسات أو الكمية الإجمالية لاستخدام الجليفوسات للتجفيف ، ولكن هناك القليل من الشك في أن هذه الممارسة تتوسع عبر مجموعة متنوعة من المحاصيل بما في ذلك الذرة والبازلاء وفول الصويا والكتان والجاودار والعدس والتريتيبي والحنطة السوداء والكانولا والدخن والبطاطا وبنجر السكر وفول الصويا والبقوليات الصالحة للأكل الأخرى.

ونتيجة لذلك، لقد ظهر الغليفوسات بكميات ضئيلة في الغذاء - بما في ذلك الآيس كريم بن آند جيري - رفع الأعلام الحمراء بين مجموعات المستهلكين وحتى تسبب الشركات لتغيير مصادرها لتجنب التلوث.

يعتمد التوقيت الدقيق للتطبيق على عدد من العوامل ، ولكن بصفة عامة تتراوح من ثلاثة إلى سبعة أيام قبل بدء أنشطة الحصاد. وهنا يكمن التفسير المحتمل لظهور الغليفوسات في Ben & Jerry's ، بالإضافة إلى عدد كبير من المنتجات الغذائية الأخرى. يقول تشارلز بينبروك ، وهو باحث زائر في كلية بلومبرغ للصحة العامة ، الذي أمضى أكثر من عقد من الزمن في دراسة استخدام الغليفوسات والمخاطر الصحية المرتبطة بها: "إن الجفاف قبل الحصاد قد لا يمثل سوى نسبة صغيرة من الاستخدام الكلي للغليفوسات". "لكنه يمثل أكثر من 50 في المئة من التعرض الغذائي."


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الاهتمامات الصحية

وماذا في ذلك؟ هذا يعتمد على من تسأل. الموقف التنظيمي المقبول هو أن الغليفوسات حميدة نسبياً. في الواقع ، في 2015 وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية زيادة مستويات العتبة في كل من الشوفان والقمح. في حالة الشوفان ، تم رفع الحد المسموح به للحبوب المعالجة النهائية من أجزاء 0.1 لكل مليون (ppm) إلى 30 ppm. وتزعم شركة مونسانتو من جانبها أن الغليفوسات لا تشكل خطراً على الصحة عند استخدامها وفقاً لتعليمات التسمية. وفي ديسمبر 2017 ، أصدرت وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية مشروع تقييم المخاطر الصحية البشرية الذي يشير إلى أنه من غير المرجح أن يكون الجلايوفوسات مسرطنة للإنسان ، أو يعرض مخاطر أخرى ذات مغزى ، بافتراض أن المنتج يستخدم وفقًا لتعليمات وضع العلامات - مما يدعم وضع مونسانتو منذ فترة طويلة.

لماذا يستخدم المزارعون الغليفوسات لقتل محاصيلهم وماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة لك
وينتهي المطاف بمبيدات الأعشاب الشائعة في غذائنا ، وذلك بفضل الممارسة المتنامية لاستخدامها في المحاصيل الجافة استعدادًا للحصاد. بالإضافة إلى الإسراع في تجفيف المحاصيل ، يمكن أن يساعد الغليفوسات في توحيد النضج في النباتات في وقت الحصاد. الصورة مجاملة من bobistraveling

"لم يكن هناك أبداً ، وما زال هناك حتى يومنا هذا ، ليس إلى حد كبير من اليقين فيما يتعلق بالمخاطر الصحية المرتبطة بالغليفوسات". - تشارلز بنبروك لا يوافق الجميع على أن الغليفوسات غير ضارة كما أن الشركة المصنعة ووكالة حماية البيئة ستصدقنا. منظمة الصحة العالمية ، على سبيل المثال ، وقد صنفت على أنها مادة مسرطنة محتملة، كما لديها ولاية كاليفورنيا. وعلى الرغم من أن الاتحاد الأوروبي صوت مؤخرًا على إعادة التفويض باستخدام الغليفوسات ، فقد تم منح الترخيص لمدة خمس سنوات فقط ، بدلاً من البحث عن سنوات 15.

يقول بينبروك: "لم يكن هناك أبداً ، وما زال هناك حتى يومنا هذا ، وليس إلى حد كبير من اليقين فيما يتعلق بالمخاطر الصحية المرتبطة بالغليفوسات".

تشك ستيفاني سينيف ، عالمة أبحاث بارزة في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا ، في وجود صلة بين زيادة استخدام الغليفوسات - بشكل كبير عبر عملية جني ما قبل الحصاد - والمرض الاضطرابات الهضمية ، التي ازدادت بشكل كبير في السنوات الأخيرة ، خاصة بين المراهقين. . يقول سينيف (يحدث مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية عن طريق الغلوتين ، وهو بروتين): "تظهر المنتجات القائمة على القمح مع الكثير من الجلايوفوسات عليها ، ويتداخل الغليفوسات مع هضم البروتين".

بغض النظر عن صحة التأثير الذي يعتقده المرء ، هناك شيء واحد واضح: لا يجد العديد من المستهلكين فكرة الغليفوسات في طعامهم فاتحة للشهية. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، وقد تعهد بن & جيري ل التوقف عن مصادر المكونات تخضع لتجفيف ما قبل الحصاد الغليفوسات المستحثة بواسطة 2020 ، وكذلك الدعوة إلى السياسات التي من شأنها وضع حد لهذه الممارسة.

في هذه الأثناء ، لم أتخل عن حبيبتي بين آند جيري. في الواقع ، في الأسبوع الماضي التقطت نصف لتر (فيش فود ، إذا كنت تريد أن تعرف). لكن هذه المرة ، فعلت شيئًا غير عادي جدًا: أكلت نصفها فقط.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على Ensiaعرض الصفحة الرئيسية Ensia

نبذة عن الكاتب

يعيش بن هيويت مع عائلته في شمال فيرمونت ، حيث يدير مزرعة للماشية والخضار المتنوعة ، ويكتب عن البيئة والغذاء والحياة الريفية لعدد من الدوريات. وهو مؤلف من خمسة كتب ، بما في ذلك المدينة التي تم حفظ الغذاء . محلية. هيويت بلوق في www.benhewitt.net

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Ben Hewitt؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Farmers Are Using Glyphosate To Kill Their Crops And What It Might Mean For You

Why Farmers Are Using Glyphosate To Kill Their Crops And What It Might Mean For You
Photo Credit: Anton Porsche

It was the spring of 1978 and I was 7 years old when the first scoops of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream were sold in Burlington, Vermont, about an hour from the rural home I shared with my parents and infant sister. I don’t remember when I got my first taste, but it probably wasn’t long after that, and it was the beginning of a nearly four-decade love affair that continues to this day.

Two years before the first Ben & Jerry’s scoop shop opened, the U.S. food system saw another first: The introduction of the herbicide glyphosate, commonly sold under the trade name Roundup. Glyphosate was introduced in the U.K. and Malaysia in 1974, but didn’t gain regulatory approval in North America until 1976, where it quickly earned favor in the agricultural industry for its weed-killing abilities. In the mid-1990s, genetically modified, glyphosate-resistant soybeans were introduced (other crops, including corn, canola, alfalfa and sorghum soon followed), allowing for broad-spectrum applications of the herbicide throughout the growing season and resulting in a massive uptick in use that, like my fondness for premium ice cream, continues unabated.

Another use that few consumers are aware of also has contributed to increased glyphosate use: Pre-harvest crop desiccation. Originating in Scotland in the 1980s, this practice involves applying the herbicide to a standing crop toward the end of the growing season with the express purpose of expediting the natural process that would occur, where a crop slowly dies and dries in the field. The glyphosate kills the crop so it can be dry enough to harvest sooner than if it were left to die naturally — allowing the farmer to clear the field before the onset of unfavorable weather. Given how long they are usually in storage, the moisture levels of grain crops need to be low enough to store without getting moldy. The practice has since gained significant traction in North America, particularly in the northern regions of the Great Plains and the grain belt of Midwestern and western Canada, where cold, wet weather comes early.

For these farmers glyphosate-induced pre-harvest crop desiccation provides a couple other advantages. The accelerated drying process reduces potential post-harvest energy inputs, such as the need to use a grain dryer. The practice also generates a physiological “last gasp” response in less mature plants that expedites ripening and helps them “catch up” to their companions, ensuring more consistent yields. This in turn allows successive crops to be sowed earlier and improves weed control.

Currently, few statistics exist regarding the acreage subject to glyphosate desiccation or the overall quantity of glyphosate use for drying, but there’s little doubt that the practice is expanding across a variety of crops including corn, peas, soybeans, flax, rye, lentils, triticale, buckwheat, canola, millet, potatoes, sugar beets, soybeans and other edible legumes.

As a result, glyphosate has been showing up in trace amounts in food — including Ben & Jerry’s ice cream — raising red flags among consumer groups and even causing companies to change their sourcing to avoid contamination.

The exact timing of the application depends on a number of factors, but generally ranges from three to seven days before the onset of harvesting activities. And herein lies a potential explanation for the appearance of glyphosate in Ben & Jerry’s, as well as a large number of other food products. “Pre-harvest desiccation may account for only a small percentage of overall glyphosate use,” says Charles Benbrook, a visiting scholar at the Bloomberg School of Public Health who has spent more than a decade studying the use of glyphosate and associated health risks. “But it accounts for over 50 percent of dietary exposure.”

Health Concerns

So what? That depends on whom you ask. The accepted regulatory stance is that glyphosate is relatively benign; indeed, in 2015 the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency increased threshold levels in both oats and wheat; in the case of oats, the allowable threshold for final processed grain was raised from 0.1 parts per million (ppm) to 30 ppm. For its part, Monsanto claims that glyphosate poses no health risk when used according to label instructions. And, in December 2017, the EPA released a draft human health risk assessment stating that glyphosate is not likely to be carcinogenic to humans, or present other meaningful risks, assuming the product is used according to labeling instructions — supporting Monsanto’s long-held position.

Why Farmers Are Using Glyphosate To Kill Their Crops And What It Might Mean For You
A common herbicide is ending up in our food, thanks to the growing practice of using it to dry crops in preparation for harvest. In addition to speeding crop drying, glyphosate can help synchronize ripening in plants at harvest time. Photo courtesy of bobistraveling

“There never has been, and still to this day there remains, not much certainty regarding the health risks associated with glyphosate.” – Charles BenbrookNot everyone agrees that glyphosate is as innocuous as its manufacturer and the EPA would have us believe, however. The World Health Organization, for one, has classified it as a possible carcinogen, as has the state of California. And although the European Union recently voted to reauthorize the use of glyphosate, license was granted for only five years, rather than the 15 years sought.

“There never has been, and still to this day there remains, not much certainty regarding the health risks associated with glyphosate,” says Benbrook.

Stephanie Seneff, a senior research scientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, suspects there is a link between increased uses of glyphosate — largely via the process of pre-harvest desiccation — and celiac disease, which has increased dramatically in recent years, particularly among adolescents. “Wheat-based products are showing up with a lot of glyphosate on them, and glyphosate interferes with protein digestion,” says Seneff (celiac disease is triggered by gluten, a protein).

No matter whose version of the health impacts one believes, one thing is clear: Many consumers do not find the idea glyphosate in their food an appetizing one. To this end, Ben & Jerry’s has pledged to stop sourcing ingredients subject to glyphosate-induced pre-harvest desiccation by 2020, and also advocate for policies that would put an end to the practice.

In the meantime, I haven’t given up my beloved Ben & Jerry’s. Indeed, just last week I picked up a pint (Phish Food, if you have to know). But this time, I did something highly unusual: I ate only half.

This article originally appeared on EnsiaView Ensia homepage

About The Author

Ben Hewitt lives with his family in northern Vermont, where he operates a diversified livestock and vegetable farm, and writes about the environment, food, and rural living for a number of periodicals. He is the author of five books, including The Town That Food Saved and Homegrown. Hewitt blogs at www.benhewitt.net

Books by this Author

Home Grown: Adventures in Parenting off the Beaten Path, Unschooling, and Reconnecting with the Natural World
healthAuthor: Ben Hewitt
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Roost Books
List Price: $14.95

Buy Now

The Nourishing Homestead: One Back-to-the-Land Family’s Plan for Cultivating Soil, Skills, and Spirit
healthAuthor: Ben Hewitt
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing
List Price: $29.95

Buy Now

The Town That Food Saved: How One Community Found Vitality in Local Food
healthAuthor: Ben Hewitt
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Rodale Books
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}