Es gibt mehr Krebs in Florida Counties, die Superfund Websites haben

Es gibt mehr Krebs in Florida Counties, die Superfund Websites haben

In den Vereinigten Staaten hat Florida die sechsthöchste Anzahl von Sondermüll-Standorten, die als Superfund-Standorte bekannt sind - und in 2016 wird prognostiziert, dass es die zweitgrößte Anzahl von neuen Krebsfällen in dem Land hat.

Neue Forschungsergebnisse zeigen eine mögliche Verbindung zwischen den beiden - eine Entdeckung, die, wie Forscher sagen, die öffentliche Gesundheit unterstützen könnte.

"Wir haben die Krebsraten von Erwachsenen in Florida von 1986 bis 2010 überprüft", sagt Emily Leary, Assistenzprofessorin an der School of Medicine der University of Missouri. "Unser Ziel war es festzustellen, ob es in Ländern mit Superfund-Standorten Unterschiede oder Assoziationen hinsichtlich der Krebsinzidenz gibt im Vergleich zu Ländern, die dies nicht tun.

"Wir haben festgestellt, dass die Rate der Krebsinzidenz in Counties mit Superfund-Sites um mehr als 6 Prozent gestiegen ist."

Florida ist die Heimat von 77-Sites, die derzeit von der United States Environmental Protection Agency als Superfund-Sites klassifiziert sind oder wurden. Unter Verwendung von Krebsinzidenzdaten, die vom Florida Department of Health gesammelt wurden, suchten die Forscher nach Krebsgruppen oder "hot spots" von Fällen, die höher als normal waren. Da pädiatrische Krebserkrankungen oft genetisch bedingt und nicht auf Umweltfaktoren zurückzuführen sind, wurden nur Krebserkrankungen bei Erwachsenen eingeschlossen. Die Forscher unterschieden nicht zwischen verschiedenen Krebsarten.

"Die Ergebnisse zeigen räumliche Unterschiede sowie Geschlechterunterschiede in Florida bei erwachsenen Krebsinzidenzen", sagt Leary, Mitautor der Studie in der Zeitschrift Statistiken und öffentliche Politik. "Diese Arbeit ist neu, weil sie ein weiterer Beweis für eine umweltbedingte Krebserkrankung ist.

"Es wäre verfrüht zu sagen, dass diese Unterschiede den Superfund-Sites zugeschrieben werden, es scheint jedoch eine Assoziation zu geben. Es bedarf weiterer Forschung, um zu bestimmen, was diese Beziehung ist und warum sie existiert, aber zu erkennen, dass ein Unterschied besteht, ist ein notwendiger erster Schritt. "


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


"Unsere Ergebnisse können dazu beitragen, dass öffentliche Gesundheitsbehörden ihre Politik anpassen und sich mehr für Bereiche mit Krebsherden einsetzen", sagt Alexander Kirpich, Co-Autor und Postdoktorand. "Diese Ergebnisse unterstützen den Zusammenhang zwischen giftigen Umweltabfällen und negativen Gesundheitsergebnissen, es sind jedoch noch weitere Anstrengungen erforderlich, um diese Verbindung besser zu verstehen und zu verstehen, was dies für die Bewohner in diesen Ländern bedeutet."

Die University of Florida und die School of Medicine der University of Missouri unterstützten die Arbeit.

Quelle: University of Missouri

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Stichwörter = Gefahr durch Superfund; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

There Is More Cancer In Florida Counties That Have Superfund Sites

There Is More Cancer In Florida Counties That Have Superfund Sites

In the United States, Florida has the sixth highest number of hazardous waste sites known as Superfund sites—and in 2016 was projected to have the second largest number of new cancer cases in the country.

New research shows a possible link between the two—a discovery that could help direct public health efforts, researchers say.

“We reviewed adult cancer rates in Florida from 1986 to 2010,” says Emily Leary, assistant professor in the University of Missouri School of Medicine. “Our goal was to determine if there were differences or associations regarding cancer incidence in counties that contain Superfund sites compared to counties that do not.

“We found the rate of cancer incidence increased by more than 6 percent in counties with Superfund sites.”

Florida is home to 77 sites that currently are or have been classified as Superfund sites by the United States Environmental Protection Agency. Using cancer incidence data collected by the Florida Department of Health, the researchers looked for cancer clusters, or “hot spots,” of cases that were higher than normal. Because pediatric cancers often are genetic and not attributed to environmental factors, only adult cancers were included. Researchers did not distinguish between different types of cancer.

“The findings show spatial differences—as well as gender differences—across Florida in adult cancer incidences,” says Leary, coauthor of the study in the journal Statistics and Public Policy. “This work is novel because it is another piece of evidence to support an environmental cause of cancer.

“While it would be premature to say these differences are attributed to Superfund sites, there does appear to be an association. More research is needed to determine what this relationship is and why it exists, but identifying that a difference exists is a necessary first step.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Our results can help public health agencies adjust policies and dedicate more efforts to areas with cancer hot spots,” says coauthor and postdoctoral associate Alexander Kirpich. “These results support the link between toxic environmental waste and adverse health outcomes, but more efforts are needed to better understand this link and what it means for residents in these counties.”

The University of Florida and the University of Missouri School of Medicine supported the work.

Source: University of Missouri

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=superfund toxic hazards;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…