هناك أكثر من السرطان في ولاية فلوريدا المقاطعات التي لديها مواقع متميزة

هناك أكثر من السرطان في ولاية فلوريدا المقاطعات التي لديها مواقع متميزة

في الولايات المتحدة ، يوجد في فلوريدا سادس أكبر عدد من مواقع النفايات الخطرة المعروفة باسم مواقع Superfund ، وفي 2016 كان من المتوقع أن يكون ثاني أكبر عدد من حالات السرطان الجديدة في البلاد.

أظهر بحث جديد أن هناك صلة محتملة بين الاثنين ، وهو اكتشاف يمكن أن يساعد في توجيه جهود الصحة العامة.

"قمنا بمراجعة معدلات سرطان البالغين في ولاية فلوريدا من 1986 إلى 2010" ، تقول إميلي ليري ، أستاذة مساعدة في كلية الطب في جامعة ميسوري. "كان هدفنا هو تحديد ما إذا كانت هناك اختلافات أو ارتباطات بشأن حدوث السرطان في المقاطعات التي تحتوي على مواقع Superfund مقارنة بالمقاطع التي لا تفعل ذلك.

"لقد وجدنا أن معدل الإصابة بالسرطان يزداد بأكثر من نسبة 6 في المقاطعات مع مواقع Superfund".

فلوريدا هي موطن لمواقع 77 التي تم تصنيفها حاليًا أو تم تصنيفها كمواقع Superfund من قبل وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية. باستخدام بيانات السرطان التي تم جمعها من قبل وزارة الصحة في ولاية فلوريدا ، بحث الباحثون عن مجموعات السرطان ، أو "النقاط الساخنة" ، من الحالات التي كانت أعلى من المعتاد. ولأن سرطانات الأطفال غالباً ما تكون وراثية ولا تُعزى إلى عوامل بيئية ، فإن سرطانات البالغين فقط تكون مشمولة. لم يميز الباحثون بين أنواع السرطان المختلفة.

يقول ليري ، المؤلف المشارك للدراسة في المجلة: "تظهر النتائج اختلافات مكانية ـ وكذلك الاختلافات بين الجنسين ـ عبر ولاية فلوريدا في حالات سرطان البالغين". الإحصاءات والسياسة العامة. "هذا العمل جديد لأنه دليل آخر لدعم سبب بيئي للسرطان.

"في حين أنه من السابق لأوانه القول أن هذه الاختلافات تُعزى إلى مواقع Superfund ، إلا أنه يبدو أن هناك ارتباطًا. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الأبحاث لتحديد ماهية هذه العلاقة ولماذا توجد ، ولكن تحديد وجود فرق هو خطوة أولى ضرورية ".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"يمكن أن تساعد نتائجنا وكالات الصحة العامة على تعديل السياسات وتكريس المزيد من الجهود في المناطق التي تعاني من البقع الساخنة للسرطان" ، كما يقول المؤلف المشارك وزميل ما بعد الدكتوراه ألكسندر كيربيتش. "تدعم هذه النتائج الصلة بين النفايات البيئية السامة والنتائج الصحية المعاكسة ، لكن يلزم بذل المزيد من الجهود لفهم هذا الارتباط بشكل أفضل وما يعنيه بالنسبة للمقيمين في هذه المقاطعات".

دعمت جامعة فلوريدا وكلية الطب في جامعة ميسوري العمل.

مصدر: جامعة ميسوري

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = المخاطر السامة ذات التمويل الزائد ؛ الحد الأقصى = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

There Is More Cancer In Florida Counties That Have Superfund Sites

There Is More Cancer In Florida Counties That Have Superfund Sites

In the United States, Florida has the sixth highest number of hazardous waste sites known as Superfund sites—and in 2016 was projected to have the second largest number of new cancer cases in the country.

New research shows a possible link between the two—a discovery that could help direct public health efforts, researchers say.

“We reviewed adult cancer rates in Florida from 1986 to 2010,” says Emily Leary, assistant professor in the University of Missouri School of Medicine. “Our goal was to determine if there were differences or associations regarding cancer incidence in counties that contain Superfund sites compared to counties that do not.

“We found the rate of cancer incidence increased by more than 6 percent in counties with Superfund sites.”

Florida is home to 77 sites that currently are or have been classified as Superfund sites by the United States Environmental Protection Agency. Using cancer incidence data collected by the Florida Department of Health, the researchers looked for cancer clusters, or “hot spots,” of cases that were higher than normal. Because pediatric cancers often are genetic and not attributed to environmental factors, only adult cancers were included. Researchers did not distinguish between different types of cancer.

“The findings show spatial differences—as well as gender differences—across Florida in adult cancer incidences,” says Leary, coauthor of the study in the journal Statistics and Public Policy. “This work is novel because it is another piece of evidence to support an environmental cause of cancer.

“While it would be premature to say these differences are attributed to Superfund sites, there does appear to be an association. More research is needed to determine what this relationship is and why it exists, but identifying that a difference exists is a necessary first step.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Our results can help public health agencies adjust policies and dedicate more efforts to areas with cancer hot spots,” says coauthor and postdoctoral associate Alexander Kirpich. “These results support the link between toxic environmental waste and adverse health outcomes, but more efforts are needed to better understand this link and what it means for residents in these counties.”

The University of Florida and the University of Missouri School of Medicine supported the work.

Source: University of Missouri

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=superfund toxic hazards;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…