Die Exposition einer Mutter gegenüber giftigen Chemikalien zeigt sich in ihrem Neugeborenen

Die Exposition einer Mutter gegenüber giftigen Chemikalien zeigt sich in ihrem Neugeborenen

Schwangeren Frauen mit niedrigem Einkommen und Latina in einer aktuellen Studie hatten eine weit verbreitete Exposition gegenüber Umweltschadstoffen. Darüber hinaus zeigten viele der Toxine bei ihren Neugeborenen sogar noch höhere Werte.

Die Studie ist die erste in den Vereinigten Staaten, die die Exposition gegenüber 59 toxischen Chemikalien bei Schwangeren und ihren Neugeborenen misst.

"Schwangere Frauen in den USA sind vielen schädlichen Industriechemikalien ausgesetzt, die mit Frühgeburten, niedrigem Geburtsgewicht und Geburtsfehlern in Verbindung gebracht werden, aber die Schätzungen, wie effizient Schadstoffe von der Mutter auf den Fötus übertragen werden, sind sehr unterschiedlich", sagt Tracey Woodruff. Professor für Geburtshilfe, Gynäkologie und Reproduktionswissenschaften und das Philip R. Lee Institut für Gesundheitspolitik an der Universität von Kalifornien, San Francisco.

"Unsere Ergebnisse haben gezeigt, dass sich viele Chemikalien tatsächlich in der fetalen Umgebung anreichern und von Föten stärker aufgenommen werden als von den Schwangeren selbst. Dies kann erhebliche Auswirkungen auf den wachsenden Fötus haben, da viele dieser Chemikalien bekanntermaßen die Entwicklung beeinflussen. "

Unter anderem wurden polychlorierte Biphenyle (PCB), Organochlorpestizide (OCP), polybromierte Diphenylether (PBDE), perfluorierte Verbindungen (PFC), Quecksilber und Blei gemessen. Diese industriellen Schadstoffe sind in der Umwelt verbreitet, und in früheren Studien wurden viele von ihnen in mehr als 99 Prozent der US-schwangeren Frauen gefunden, gemäß den Daten von NHANES (National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey).

In der Nabelschnur

"Im Gegensatz zu früheren Untersuchungen fanden wir Hinweise, dass mehrere PCBs und OCPs in Nabelschnurproben oft höher waren als in mütterlichen Blutproben", sagt Rachel Morello-Frosch, Professorin für Umweltwissenschaft, Politik und Management an der University of California, Berkeley.

Die Studie ergab auch, dass die Konzentrationen von Quecksilber und bestimmten PBDEs in Nabelschnurproben oft höher waren als in mütterlichen Proben, und bei den meisten PFCs und Blei waren Nabelschnurblutkonzentrationen im Allgemeinen gleich oder niedriger als die Mutterkonzentrationen, was mit früheren Untersuchungen übereinstimmt.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Nahezu 80 Prozent der Chemikalien, die in mütterlichen Blutproben nachgewiesen wurden, wurden auch in den Nabelschnurblutproben gefunden, was darauf hinweist, dass sie die Plazenta passierten und in die fötale Umgebung gelangten, wo sie ein Gesundheitsrisiko für das sich entwickelnde Baby darstellen können.

Bei diesen Chemikalien, die in mindestens 20-paarigen Mutter- und Nabelschnurproben nachgewiesen wurden, wiesen 77-Prozent signifikante Korrelationen zwischen der Mutter- und Nabelschnurkonzentration auf.

Untersuchte Gruppen

Die Frauen in der Studie nahmen an der Chemicals in Our Bodies Study teil, die auch als Mutter-Kind-Umweltprojekt bezeichnet wird. Von den Frauen, die an der aktuellen Studie teilnahmen, hatten 95 Prozent ein jährliches Haushaltseinkommen von weniger als $ 40,000, zwei Drittel waren Latina und ein Drittel wurde in Mexiko geboren, wo sie möglicherweise weniger Umweltgiften wie den PBDEs ausgesetzt waren gefunden in Flammschutzmitteln, die in den USA weit verbreitet sind.

Diese Bevölkerungsgruppe ist in größeren Biomonitoring-Studien wie NHANES oft nicht gut vertreten. Sie bilden die Grundlage für das meiste, was über die Exposition von Schwangeren gegenüber Umweltgiften auf nationaler Ebene bekannt ist.

"Es ist wichtig, dass Forscherinnen und Forscher chemische Expositions-Trends bei farbigen Frauen sowie bei Einwanderern und Frauen mit niedrigem Einkommen besser verstehen

Die Studie liefert auch einen ersten Hinweis darauf, wie verschiedene Klassen von Umweltchemikalien, die im Blut einer schwangeren Frau vorkommen, auch beim Neugeborenen vorhanden sind. Und dies mit einer breiteren Palette von Umweltchemikalien, als zuvor in einer einzigen Studie gemessen wurde.

Von 2010 bis 2011 sammelten Forscher mütterliche Blutproben von 77-Schwangeren im Zuckerberg San Francisco General. Sobald sie ihre Babys geliefert hatten, sammelten Forscher Nabelschnurblutproben von 65 dieser Frauen.

Von diesen Proben, die für alle 59-Chemikalien getestet wurden, war der Medianwert 25 im Blut der Mutter und 17 im Nabelschnurblut. Acht der analysierten 59-Chemikalien wurden in mehr als 90-Prozent der Mutter- und Nabelschnurblutproben nachgewiesen.

"Unsere Ergebnisse unterstreichen die Notwendigkeit, politische Entscheidungsträger und die Öffentlichkeit über die potenziellen Gesundheitsrisiken von pränatalen chemischen Belastungen zu informieren und die Quellen der Exposition gegenüber diesen Verbindungen zu reduzieren", sagt Woodruff.

Die Studie erscheint in der Zeitschrift Environmental Science and Technology.

Quelle: UC Berkeley

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Schwangerschaftstoxin-Exposition; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

A Mom’s Exposure To Toxic Chemicals Shows Up In Their Newborn

A Mom’s Exposure To Toxic Chemicals Shows Up In Their Newborn

Low-income and Latina pregnant women in a recent study had widespread exposure to environmental pollutants. In addition, many of the toxins showed up at even higher levels in their newborns.

The study is the first in the United States to measure exposure to 59 toxic chemicals in pregnant women and their newborns.

“Pregnant women in the US are exposed to many harmful industrial chemicals that have been linked to premature birth, low birth weight, and birth defects, but estimates of how efficiently pollutants are transferred from mother to fetus have varied widely,” says Tracey Woodruff, professor of obstetrics, gynecology, and reproductive sciences and the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies at the University of California, San Francisco.

“Our findings have found that many chemicals do indeed accumulate in the fetal environment and are absorbed at greater levels by fetuses than by the pregnant women themselves. This may have significant consequences for the growing fetus, since many of these chemicals are known to affect development.”

Researchers measured polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), organochlorine pesticides (OCPs), polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs), perfluorinated compounds (PFCs), mercury, and lead, among other chemicals. These industrial pollutants are common in the environment, and in previous studies many have been detected in greater than 99 percent of US pregnant women, according to National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) data.

In the umbilical cord

“Contrary to previous research, we found evidence that several PCBs and OCPs were often higher in umbilical cord samples than in maternal blood samples,” says Rachel Morello-Frosch,  professor of environmental science, policy and management at the University of California, Berkeley.

The study also found that concentrations of mercury and certain PBDEs were often higher in umbilical cord samples than in maternal samples, and for most PFCs and lead, cord blood concentrations were generally equal to or lower than maternal concentrations, which is consistent with previous research.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Almost 80 percent of the chemicals detected in maternal blood samples were also detected in the umbilical cord blood samples, indicating that they passed through the placenta and entered the fetal environment, where they can pose a health risk to the developing baby.

For those chemicals detected in at least 20 paired maternal and umbilical cord samples, 77 percent had significant correlations between maternal and umbilical cord concentrations.

Understudied groups

The women in the study were participating in the Chemicals in Our Bodies Study, also referred to as the Maternal and Infant Environmental Exposure Project. Of the women participating in the current study, 95 percent had a combined annual household income of less than $40,000, two-thirds were Latina, and a third were born in Mexico, where they may have had less exposure to environmental toxics like the PBDEs found in flame retardants that have been widely used in the US.

This demographic is often not well-represented in larger biomonitoring studies, such as NHANES, that form the basis of most of what is known about pregnant women’s exposure to environmental toxics nationally.

“It is important for researchers to more fully understand chemical exposure trends among women of color, as well as immigrant and low-income women, as thes

The study also provides a first indication of how several different classes of environmental chemicals found in a pregnant woman’s blood are also present in the newborn. And it does so with a broader array of environmental chemicals than has been measured before in a single study.

From 2010 to 2011, researchers collected maternal blood samples from 77 pregnant women at Zuckerberg San Francisco General. Once they delivered their babies, researchers collected umbilical cord blood samples from 65 of these women.

Of those samples tested for all 59 chemicals, the median number was 25 in maternal blood and 17 in umbilical cord blood. Eight of the 59 chemicals analyzed were detected in more than 90 percent of both the maternal and cord blood samples.

“Our findings highlight the need to inform policymakers and the public about the potential health risks of prenatal chemical exposures and reduce the sources of exposure to these compounds,” Woodruff says.

The study appears in the journal Environmental Science and Technology.

Source: UC Berkeley

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=pregnancy toxin exposure;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…