تعرض أمي للمواد الكيميائية السامة يظهر في حديثي الولادة

الصحة

تعرض أمي للمواد الكيميائية السامة يظهر في حديثي الولادة

تعرضت النساء الحوامل ذوات الدخل المنخفض والنساء اللاتينيات في دراسة حديثة للتعرض على نطاق واسع للملوثات البيئية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ظهرت العديد من السموم حتى عند مستويات أعلى في الأطفال حديثي الولادة.

هذه الدراسة هي الأولى في الولايات المتحدة لقياس التعرض للمواد الكيميائية السامة 59 في النساء الحوامل والأطفال حديثي الولادة.

تقول تريسي وودروف ، "تتعرض النساء الحوامل في الولايات المتحدة للكثير من المواد الكيميائية الصناعية الضارة التي تم ربطها بالولادات المبكرة ، وانخفاض الوزن عند الولادة ، والعيوب الخلقية ، لكن التقديرات حول كيفية انتقال الملوثات بكفاءة من الأم إلى الجنين اختلفت بشكل كبير". أستاذ في التوليد وأمراض النساء والعلوم الإنجابية ومعهد فيليب آر لي لدراسات السياسات الصحية في جامعة كاليفورنيا بسان فرانسيسكو.

"توصلت نتائجنا إلى أن العديد من المواد الكيميائية تتراكم بالفعل في بيئة الجنين ويتم امتصاصها على مستويات أعلى من قبل الجنين من قبل النساء الحوامل أنفسهن. قد يكون لهذا عواقب وخيمة بالنسبة للجنين المتنامي ، حيث أن العديد من هذه المواد الكيميائية معروفة بتأثيرها على التنمية. "

وقام الباحثون بقياس مركبات ثنائي الفينيل متعدد الكلور (PCBs) والمبيدات الكلورية العضوية (OCPs) والإيثرات الثنائية الفينيل المتعددة البروم (PBDEs) والمركبات المشبعة بالفلور (PFCs) والزئبق والرصاص ، ضمن مواد كيميائية أخرى. هذه الملوثات الصناعية شائعة في البيئة ، وفي دراسات سابقة تم اكتشاف العديد منها في أكبر من نسبة 99 في المئة من النساء الحوامل في الولايات المتحدة ، وفقا لبيانات مسح الصحة الوطنية والتغذية (NHANES).

في الحبل السري

تقول راشيل موريلو فروش ، أستاذة العلوم البيئية والسياسات والإدارة في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي: "على عكس الأبحاث السابقة ، وجدنا أدلة على أن العديد من مركبات ثنائي الفينيل متعدد الكلور ومركب الرعاية الصحية الخارجية كانت غالباً أعلى في عينات الحبل السري منها في عينات دم الأم".

ووجدت الدراسة أيضاً أن تركيزات الزئبق وبعض الإثيرات متعددة البروم ثنائية الفينيل كانت غالباً أعلى في عينات الحبل السري منها في عينات الأمهات ، وبالنسبة لمعظم مركبات الكربون الهيدروفلورية والرصاص ، كانت تركيزات دم الحبل السري مساوية عموماً أو أقل من تركيزات الأم ، وهو ما يتسق مع البحث السابق.

كما تم الكشف عن نسبة 80 تقريباً من المواد الكيميائية المكتشفة في عينات دم الأم في عينات دم الحبل السري ، مما يشير إلى أنها مرت عبر المشيمة ودخلت البيئة الجنينية ، حيث يمكن أن تشكل خطراً على صحة الطفل النامي.

بالنسبة لتلك المواد الكيميائية المكتشفة في عينات الحبل السري والحبل السري 20 على الأقل ، كانت نسبة 77 في الارتباطات ذات دلالة معنوية بين تركيزات الأمومة والسرة السريّة.

مجموعات ضائعة

كانت النساء المشاركات في الدراسة يشاركن في دراسة المواد الكيميائية في أجسادنا ، والتي يشار إليها أيضًا باسم مشروع التعرض البيئي للأمهات والأطفال. من بين النساء المشاركات في الدراسة الحالية ، كانت نسبة 95 في المائة مجتمعة دخل أسرة سنوي أقل من $ 40,000 ، وثلثيها كانت لاتينية ، وثلث ولدوا في المكسيك ، حيث ربما كانوا قد تعرضوا أقل للتكسرات البيئية مثل الإثيرات متعددة البروم ثنائية الفينيل. وجدت في مثبطات اللهب التي استخدمت على نطاق واسع في الولايات المتحدة.

وغالبا ما لا تكون هذه الديموغرافية ممثلة تمثيلا جيدا في الدراسات الأوسع للرصد البيولوجي ، مثل NHANES ، التي تشكل أساس معظم ما هو معروف عن تعرض النساء الحوامل للسموم البيئية على المستوى الوطني.

"من المهم للباحثين أن يفهموا بشكل أكمل اتجاهات التعرض الكيميائي بين النساء ذوات البشرة الملونة ، وكذلك النساء المهاجرات وذوات الدخل المنخفض ،

كما تقدم الدراسة أول مؤشر على كيفية وجود عدة فئات مختلفة من المواد الكيميائية البيئية الموجودة في دم المرأة الحامل في المولود الجديد. وهو يفعل ذلك مع مجموعة أوسع من المواد الكيميائية البيئية مما تم قياسه من قبل في دراسة واحدة.

من 2010 إلى 2011 ، جمع الباحثون عينات من دم الأم من نساء 77 الحوامل في Zuckerberg San Francisco General. وبمجرد تسليمهم لأطفالهم ، جمع الباحثون عينات دم الحبل السري من 65 لهؤلاء النساء.

من بين هذه العينات التي تم اختبارها لجميع المواد الكيميائية 59 ، كان العدد الوسطي 25 في دم الأم و 17 في دم الحبل السري. تم الكشف عن ثمانية من المواد الكيميائية 59 التي تم تحليلها في أكثر من نسبة 90 في كل من عينات دم الأم و الحبل السري.

"إن النتائج التي توصلنا إليها تسلط الضوء على الحاجة إلى إعلام صانعي السياسة والجمهور حول المخاطر الصحية المحتملة للتعرضات الكيميائية السابقة للولادة وتقليل مصادر التعرض لهذه المركبات" ، كما يقول وودروف.

تظهر الدراسة في المجلة العلوم والتكنولوجيا البيئية.

مصدر: جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = التعرض لتوكسين الحمل ؛ maxresults = 3}

الصحة
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

A Mom’s Exposure To Toxic Chemicals Shows Up In Their Newborn

A Mom’s Exposure To Toxic Chemicals Shows Up In Their Newborn

Low-income and Latina pregnant women in a recent study had widespread exposure to environmental pollutants. In addition, many of the toxins showed up at even higher levels in their newborns.

The study is the first in the United States to measure exposure to 59 toxic chemicals in pregnant women and their newborns.

“Pregnant women in the US are exposed to many harmful industrial chemicals that have been linked to premature birth, low birth weight, and birth defects, but estimates of how efficiently pollutants are transferred from mother to fetus have varied widely,” says Tracey Woodruff, professor of obstetrics, gynecology, and reproductive sciences and the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies at the University of California, San Francisco.

“Our findings have found that many chemicals do indeed accumulate in the fetal environment and are absorbed at greater levels by fetuses than by the pregnant women themselves. This may have significant consequences for the growing fetus, since many of these chemicals are known to affect development.”

Researchers measured polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), organochlorine pesticides (OCPs), polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs), perfluorinated compounds (PFCs), mercury, and lead, among other chemicals. These industrial pollutants are common in the environment, and in previous studies many have been detected in greater than 99 percent of US pregnant women, according to National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) data.

In the umbilical cord

“Contrary to previous research, we found evidence that several PCBs and OCPs were often higher in umbilical cord samples than in maternal blood samples,” says Rachel Morello-Frosch,  professor of environmental science, policy and management at the University of California, Berkeley.

The study also found that concentrations of mercury and certain PBDEs were often higher in umbilical cord samples than in maternal samples, and for most PFCs and lead, cord blood concentrations were generally equal to or lower than maternal concentrations, which is consistent with previous research.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Almost 80 percent of the chemicals detected in maternal blood samples were also detected in the umbilical cord blood samples, indicating that they passed through the placenta and entered the fetal environment, where they can pose a health risk to the developing baby.

For those chemicals detected in at least 20 paired maternal and umbilical cord samples, 77 percent had significant correlations between maternal and umbilical cord concentrations.

Understudied groups

The women in the study were participating in the Chemicals in Our Bodies Study, also referred to as the Maternal and Infant Environmental Exposure Project. Of the women participating in the current study, 95 percent had a combined annual household income of less than $40,000, two-thirds were Latina, and a third were born in Mexico, where they may have had less exposure to environmental toxics like the PBDEs found in flame retardants that have been widely used in the US.

This demographic is often not well-represented in larger biomonitoring studies, such as NHANES, that form the basis of most of what is known about pregnant women’s exposure to environmental toxics nationally.

“It is important for researchers to more fully understand chemical exposure trends among women of color, as well as immigrant and low-income women, as thes

The study also provides a first indication of how several different classes of environmental chemicals found in a pregnant woman’s blood are also present in the newborn. And it does so with a broader array of environmental chemicals than has been measured before in a single study.

From 2010 to 2011, researchers collected maternal blood samples from 77 pregnant women at Zuckerberg San Francisco General. Once they delivered their babies, researchers collected umbilical cord blood samples from 65 of these women.

Of those samples tested for all 59 chemicals, the median number was 25 in maternal blood and 17 in umbilical cord blood. Eight of the 59 chemicals analyzed were detected in more than 90 percent of both the maternal and cord blood samples.

“Our findings highlight the need to inform policymakers and the public about the potential health risks of prenatal chemical exposures and reduce the sources of exposure to these compounds,” Woodruff says.

The study appears in the journal Environmental Science and Technology.

Source: UC Berkeley

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=pregnancy toxin exposure;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…