Мигрень и усталость Спайк возле участков Fracking

Мигрень и усталость Спайк возле участков Fracking

Соседи с наибольшим воздействием на природный газ fracking почти в два раза чаще страдают от некоторой комбинации головных болей мигрени, хронических носовых и синусовых симптомов и сильной усталости.

Полученные данные дополняют растущую совокупность доказательств, связывающих fracking - формально известные как гидравлические разрывы - с проблемами со здоровьем.

«Эти три состояния здоровья могут иметь изнурительные последствия для жизни людей», - говорит Аарон У. Тустин, резидент-врач по экологическим наукам в Университете Джона Хопкинса в Школе здравоохранения Блумберга, и автор книги, опубликованной в журнале Экологические перспективы здоровья, «Кроме того, они дорого стоят системе здравоохранения. Наши данные свидетельствуют о том, что эти симптомы связаны с близостью к индустрии хищников ».

Fracking предполагает впрыскивание миллионов литров воды в скважины для разрушения глубоких горных пород и освобождения природного газа или нефти. В начале 2000, когда цены на природный газ были высокими, энергетические компании двинулись в сторону fracking, а поставки были низкими.

Для нового исследования исследователи из 2014 подвергли сомнению пациентов первичной медико-санитарной помощи взрослых 7,785 системы здравоохранения Geisinger, которая охватывает округа 40 на севере и в центральной Пенсильвании. Исследователи обнаружили, что 23 процент респондентов страдал от мигрени, 25-процент испытывал сильную усталость, а 24-процент имел симптомы хронического риносинусита (определялись как три или более месяцев носовых и синусных симптомов).

Исследователи использовали общедоступные данные для оценки воздействия участников на фрахтовые скважины. Их модели учитывали размеры и количество колодцев, а также расстояние между скважинами и домами людей. Хотя ни одно состояние здоровья не было связано с близостью к активным колодцам, те, кто соответствовал критериям для двух или более состояний здоровья, были почти в два раза чаще, чем другие, чтобы жить ближе к большему или большему количеству колодцев.

«Мы не знаем конкретно, почему люди, находящиеся в непосредственной близости от этих более крупных скважин, чаще болеют», - говорит старший автор исследования Брайан С. Шварц, профессор природоохранных наук. «Нам нужно найти способ лучше понять соотношение и, надеюсь, сделать что-то, чтобы защитить здоровье этих людей».

Предыдущие исследования связали отрасль fracking с увеличением преждевременных родов, приступов астмы и концентраций радона в помещении.

Есть правдоподобные объяснения того, как травма может вызвать эти состояния здоровья. Развитие скважин создает загрязнение воздуха, которое может провоцировать симптомы носа и синуса. Он также производит запахи, шум, яркие огни и интенсивное движение грузовиков. Любой из этих стрессоров может увеличить риск возникновения симптомов. Запахи известны, например, для того, чтобы вызвать головные боли мигрени у некоторых людей.

Пенсильвания охватила промышленность. За последние десять лет в Пенсильвании были пробурены скважины 9,000 fracking. В последние годы гидравлические трещины быстро расширялись в таких штатах, как Колорадо, Северная Дакота, Вайоминг, Западная Вирджиния и Огайо. Нью-Йорк запретил fracking, и штат Мэриленд задерживает производство скважин, по крайней мере, до октября 2017.

Национальным институтом аллергии и инфекционных заболеваний, Национальным институтом наук об охране окружающей среды, Робертом Вудом Джонсоном, Фондом Дегенштейна и Национальным научным фондом финансировалась работа.

источник: Университет Джонса Хопкинса

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = опасность взлома; maxresults = 2}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Безусловная любовь: способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
Безусловная любовь: способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
by Эйлин Кэдди MBE и Дэвид Эрл Платтс, доктор философии.

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

Migraines And Fatigue Spike Near Fracking Sites

Migraines And Fatigue Spike Near Fracking Sites

Neighbors with the most exposure to natural gas fracking are nearly twice as likely to suffer from some combination of migraine headaches, chronic nasal and sinus symptoms, and severe fatigue.

The findings add to a growing body of evidence linking fracking—formally known as hydraulic fracturing—to health problems.

“These three health conditions can have debilitating impacts on people’s lives,” says Aaron W. Tustin, a resident physician in environmental health sciences at Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health and lead author of the study that is published in in the journal Environmental Health Perspectives. “In addition, they cost the health care system a lot of money. Our data suggest these symptoms are associated with proximity to the fracking industry.”

Fracking involves injecting millions of liters of water into wells to fracture deep rock formations and liberate natural gas or petroleum. Energy companies moved toward fracking in the early 2000s when natural gas prices were high and supplies were low.

For the new study, researchers in 2014 questioned 7,785 adult primary care patients of Geisinger Health System, which covers 40 counties in north and central Pennsylvania. The researchers found that 23 percent of respondents suffered from migraines, 25 percent experienced severe fatigue, and 24 percent had symptoms of chronic rhinosinusitis (defined as three or more months of nasal and sinus symptoms).

The researchers used publicly available data to estimate participants’ exposure to fracking wells. Their models accounted for the size and number of wells, as well as the distance between wells and people’s homes. While no single health condition was associated with proximity to active wells, those who met criteria for two or more of the health conditions were nearly twice as likely as others to live closer to more or larger wells.

“We don’t know specifically why people in close proximity to these larger wells are more likely to be sick,” says the study’s senior author Brian S. Schwartz, professor of environmental health sciences. “We need to find a way to better understand the correlation and, hopefully, do something to protect the health of these people.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Previous research has linked the fracking industry to increases in premature births, asthma attacks, and indoor radon concentrations.

There are plausible explanations for how fracking could cause these health conditions. Well development generates air pollution, which could provoke nasal and sinus symptoms. It also produces odors, noise, bright lights, and heavy truck traffic. Any of these stressors could increase the risk of symptoms. Odors are known, for instance, to trigger migraine headaches in some individuals.

Pennsylvania has embraced the industry. Over 9,000 fracking wells have been drilled in Pennsylvania in the past decade. Hydraulic fracturing has expanded rapidly in recent years in states such as Colorado, North Dakota, Wyoming, West Virginia and Ohio. New York has banned fracking and Maryland has delayed well production until at least October 2017.

The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, the Robert Wood Johnson, the Degenstein Foundation, and the National Science Foundation funded the work.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=fracking hazards;maxresults=2}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)