كيف السرطان يأكل نفسه البقاء على قيد الحياة لدينا العلاج

كيف السرطان يأكل نفسه البقاء على قيد الحياة لدينا العلاج

هل يمكنك أن تتخيل نفسك يائسا للحصول على الطعام الذي كنت تأكله لنفسك من أجل البقاء؟ لا يستطيع معظم الناس إلا أن تقوم خلاطنا بذلك بالضبط.

عندما يتم حرمان الخلايا من الطاقة والمغذيات من بيئتها الخارجية ، فإنها تبدو داخليا ، وتعبئ وتستهلك مكوناتها الخاصة للبقاء على قيد الحياة حتى يصبح مصدر الطاقة متاحًا. وبمجرد توفر مصدر غذائي أو غذائي ، تستطيع الخلايا استبدال هذه المكونات.

وتسمى هذه العملية الخلوية الالتهام الذاتي، من كلمة "auto" ، الكلمة اليونانية عن الذات و "phagein" بمعنى أن تأكل. وتستفيد الخلايا السرطانية من هذه الآلية للبقاء على قيد الحياة للتهرب من بعض العلاجات المضادة للسرطان.

ظلت الالتهام الذاتي دون تغيير إلى حد كبير عبر الأنواع في جميع أنحاء التطور التي تحدث في الكائنات الحية من الخميرة (خلايا بسيطة) لحقيقيات النوى (خلايا معقدة، مثل بلدنا) نظم استجابة لظروف ضاغطة.

ونحن نتعلم المزيد عن هذه العملية، نحن نحصل على فهم لكيفية الخلايا السرطانية البقاء على قيد الحياة العلاج (من الإشعاع إلى العلاج الكيميائي والعلاجات المستهدفة الجديدة) عن طريق هضم وإعادة تدوير مكوناتها الخاصة لتجميع العناصر الغذائية الأساسية وتوفير الطاقة.

سرطان الجياع للطاقة

تتطلب الخلايا السرطانية الكثير من الطاقة للنمو، وجعل الخلايا الجديدة وانتشارها. انهم تحقيق ذلك من خلال تسخير عمليات بقاء المستخدمة من قبل الخلايا الطبيعية، غير الخبيثة.

عادة ، يتم التحكم في عمليات البقاء هذه بواسطة عوامل خارجية ، مثل الوصول إلى إمدادات الدم أو جزيئات تشوير النمو من الخلايا المجاورة. بما أن هذه العمليات تحدد حياة وموت الخلايا غير الخبيثة ، فهي منظمة للغاية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


والأهم من ذلك ، في هذه الخلايا السرطانية تكون عمليات البقاء هذه مستقلة عن آليات التحكم الطبيعية ، وبالتالي تدفع النمو غير المنضبط وانتشار السرطان.

في سرطانات مثل سرطان الدم النخاعي المزمن حيث نعرف ما الذي يدفع المرض (جينة طافرة ، يشار إليها باسم الجين الورمي ، الذي يروي الخلايا للتكاثر والتقدم) ، الهدف العلاجات الخلايا السرطانية بينما يترك الخلايا غير السرطانية وحدها.

كما تم استخدام هذا النهج المستهدف في أنواع السرطان الأخرى التي يعرف فيها سائق المرض ، مما أدى إلى المزيد من العلاجات المضادة للسرطان الشخصية مع آثار جانبية أقل.

مثل هذه العلاجات المستهدفة تجويع الخلايا السرطانية عن طريق منع عمليات البقاء على قيد الحياة. هذا يسبب موتهم وينتج مغفرة لمعظم مريضات.

البقاء على قيد الحياة الذاتية للسرطان البقاء على قيد الحياة

كيف السرطان يأكل نفسه البقاء على قيد الحياة لدينا العلاجمقاومة العلاج هي عقبة تواجه كل من علاجات السرطان التاريخية والحالية. واحد من أكبر التحديات التي نواجهها الآن في تطوير علاجات السرطان الجديدة هو مرض مستمر منخفض المستوى. في حين أن بعض العلاجات الجديدة تتحكم في السرطان بشكل جيد للغاية ، إلا أن العلاج لم يثبت بعد في العديد من الظروف.

أثبتنا العمل من مجموعتنا مؤخراً أنه عندما نستخدم العلاج الموجه لمهاجمة عمليات بقاء السرطانات ، مثل الإشارات التي تحفز نمو الخلايا ، تبدأ الخلايا السرطانية بحزم محتوياتها واستهلاكها.

إن تناول مكوناتها يسمح لها بتوليد الطاقة اللازمة للبقاء على قيد الحياة. هذا يؤدي إلى مرض مستمر ، أو انتكاس.

الأكل إلى الموت

تشير الأدلة المتزايدة إلى أن البلعمة الذاتية هي آلية مقاومة تستخدمها العديد من أنواع السرطان ، بما في ذلك ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، المبيض, البنكرياس, دماغ, القولون و ثدي السرطان. ولكن إذا كانت هذه آلية للبقاء تتلاقى فيها عدة أنواع من السرطان ، فهل يمكننا استخدام فهمنا للالتهام الذاتي ضد الخلايا السرطانية؟

والجواب هو نعم ، بسبب قاعدة المعرفة الواسعة والمتنامية حول البلعمة الذاتية ، نحن نعرف الآن كيفية منعها.

في ضربة حظ ، وجدنا حتى عقارًا شائعًا يستخدم لحالات أخرى تحجب الالتهام الذاتي. يفعل ذلك عن طريق منع انهيار المكونات الخلوية.

عندما يتم استخدام حاصرات البلعمة الذاتية مع العلاج الموجه في خلايا سرطان الدم ، تبدأ الخلايا في تناول الطعام بنفسها ، ولكن يتم منعها من استخدام ما تستهلكه للحصول على الطاقة.

ويجري الآن اتخاذ النهج التي تستهدف الالتهام الذاتي في التجارب السريرية في تركيبة مع العلاج المضاد للسرطان لسرطان الدم و سرطانات أخرى.

السرطان مسؤول عن أكثر من ثمانية ملايين حالة وفاة في جميع أنحاء العالم كل عام (من أصل 46 مليون تشخيص). من خلال التحقيق في كيفية تجنب الخلايا السرطانية للقتل عندما يكون المرضى على العلاج ، يمكننا علاج السرطان بشكل أكثر فعالية عن طريق "تناول السرطان" في لعبته الخاصة. وهذا بالضبط ما نفعله.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة.
قراءة المقال الأصلي.


حول المؤلف

أبيض ديبديب وايت هو مدير أبحاث السرطان. السرطان في معهد جنوب أستراليا للبحوث الطبية والصحية. توفر الأستاذة ديبوراه وايت القيادة الاستراتيجية والتوجيه لمجموعة أبحاث اللوكيميا وتقود فرق المشروع كرئيسة علمية. عملت البروفيسور وايت في علم أمراض الدم في SA Pathology لأكثر من سنوات 30 في مختلف القدرات الجزئية والكامل ، وتشمل مؤهلاتها شهادة الدكتوراه في الطب ، و FFSc (RCPA). ديب الأبيض تتلقى تمويلا من شركة نوفارتيس وBMS. أيضا من NHMRC، LFA وفاز السرطان (مجلس السرطان SA).

schafranek ليزاليزا شافرانك هي باحثة ما بعد الدكتوراه في معهد جنوب أستراليا للأبحاث الطبية والصحية. هي عالمة بيولوجيا للسرطان وقد أكملت للتو شهادة الدكتوراه في الطب. التركيز المحدد على سرطان الدم النخاعي المزمن وآليات مقاومة العلاج. تتلقى ليزا شافرانيك تمويلاً للدكتوراة من مؤسسة لوكيميا في أستراليا.


قد ترغب في قراءة:

كل هزت: بلدي الكفاح الطبيعي ضد السرطان (مع القليل من المساعدة من الفيس)
من سوزي ديريت ، كما أخبرت جولييت سوليفان.

جميع هز: كفاحي الطبيعية لمكافحة السرطان (مع القليل من المساعدة من ألفيس) من خلال سوزي Derrett، كما قال لجولييت سوليفان.كل هز هو كتاب عن عزم امرأة وشجاعتها ... للسيطرة على السرطان ، والفوز. سيجعلك تضحك ، سيجعلك تبكي ، وقبل كل شيء ، تأمل سوزي ، ستجعلك تصدق. يدور الكتاب حول تشخيص سرطان الثدي في سنّ الـ 52 ، وسرطان الرحم في سنّ الـ 60. وكيف تمكنت بعد ذلك من التغلب على المرض في كلتا الحالتين ، وليس مع أي علاجات تقليدية ولكن فقط مع العلاجات البديلة ، والفكاهة ، وإلفيس.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
by غابرييلا يوروش لاندا
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
by إيان هاميلتونك وسالي مارلو

How Cancer Eats Itself To Survive Our Therapies

How Cancer Eats Itself To Survive Our Therapies

Can you imagine being so desperate for food that you would eat yourself to survive? Most people can’t but our cells do exactly this.

When cells are deprived of energy and nutrients from their external environment, they look internally, packaging up and consuming their own components to survive until an energy source becomes available. Once a food or nutrient source is available, cells are able to replace these components.

This cellular process is called autophagy, from “auto-” the Greek word for self and “phagein” meaning to eat. And cancer cells take advantage of this survival mechanism to evade some anti-cancer therapies.

Autophagy has remained largely unchanged across species throughout evolution occurring in organisms from yeast (simple cells) to eukaryotic (complex cells, like ours) systems in response to stressful conditions.

As we learn more about this process, we are garnering an understanding of how cancer cells survive therapy (from radiation to chemotherapy and novel targeted therapies) by digesting and recycling their own components to synthesise essential nutrients and provide energy.

Cancer Hungry For Energy

Cancer cells require a lot of energy to grow, make new cells and spread. They achieve this by harnessing survival processes used by normal, non-malignant cells.

Ordinarily, these survival processes are controlled by external factors, such as access to blood supply or growth signalling molecules from nearby cells. As these processes determine the life and death of non-malignant cells, they are highly regulated.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Importantly, in cancer cells these survival processes are independent of normal control mechanisms and therefore drive the uncontrolled growth and spread of the cancer.

In cancers such as chronic myeloid leukemia where we know what drives the disease (a mutant gene, referred to as the oncogene, which tells the cells to multiply and progress), therapies target cancer cells while leaving non-malignant cells alone.

This targeted approach has also been utilized in other cancers in which the driver of disease is known, resulting in more personalized anti-cancer therapies with fewer side effects.

Such targeted treatments essentially starve cancer cells by blocking their survival processes. This causes their death and results in remission for most patients.

Cancer’s Self-Cannibalizing Survival

How Cancer Eats Itself To Survive Our TherapiesResistance to therapy is an obstacle faced by both historic and current cancer therapies. One of the biggest challenges we now face in the development of new cancer treatments is persistent, low-level disease. While some new treatments control cancer very well, cure is yet to be proven in many settings.

Work from our group recently demonstrated that when we use targeted therapy to attack cancer’s survival processes, such as signals to trigger cell growth, cancerous cells start to package up and consume their own contents.

Eating their own components allows them to generate the energy required to survive therapy. This results in persistent disease, or relapse.

Eating Itself To Death

Increasing evidence indicates that autophagy is a resistance mechanism used by several cancers, including, but not limited to, ovarian, pancreatic, brain, colon and breast cancers. But if this is a survival mechanism on which several cancers converge, can we use our understanding of autophagy against cancer cells?

And the answer is yes, because of the vast and ever-increasing knowledge base about autophagy, we now know how to block it.

In a stroke of luck, we’ve even found a common drug used for other conditions that blocks autophagy. It does this by preventing the breakdown of cellular components.

When autophagy blockers are used in combination with targeted treatment in the leukemia cells, the cells start to eat themselves, but are prevented from using what they consume for energy.

Approaches targeting autophagy are now being taken into clinical trials in combination with anti-cancer therapy for leukemia and other cancers.

Cancer is responsible for over eight million deaths worldwide every year (out of 46 million diagnoses). By investigating how cancer cells avoid being killed when patients are on therapy, we can more effectively treat cancers by “eating” cancer at its own game. And that’s exactly what we’re doing.

This article was originally published on The Conversation.
Read the original article.


About the Authors

white debDeb White is Director of Cancer Research. CANCER THEME at South Australian Health & Medical Research Institute. Professor Deborah White provides strategic leadership and direction to the Leukaemia Research Group and leads the project teams as Scientific Head. Prof. White has worked in Haematology at SA Pathology for more than 30 years in various part- and full-time capacities, and her qualifications include a PhD in Medicine, and FFSc (RCPA). Deb White receives funding from Novartis and BMS. Also from the NHMRC, LFA and Beat Cancer (Cancer Council SA).

schafranek lisaLisa Schafranek is a Post-Doctoral Researcher at South Australian Health & Medical Research Institute. She is a cancer biologist and just completed a PhD in Medicine. Specific focus on Chronic Myeloid Leukaemia and mechanisms of resistance to therapy. Lisa Schafranek receives PhD funding from the Leukaemia Foundation of Australia.


You might want to read:

All Shook Up: My Natural Fight Against Cancer (with a little help from Elvis)
by Suzie Derrett, as told to Juliet Sullivan.

All Shook Up: My Natural Fight Against Cancer (with a little help from Elvis) by Suzie Derrett, as told to Juliet Sullivan.All Shook Up is a book about one woman's determination and courage... to take on cancer, and win. It will make you laugh, it will make you cry, and above all, Suzie hopes, it will make you believe. The book is about how she was diagnosed with breast cancer aged 52, and uterine cancer aged 60. And how she then went on to beat the disease both times, not with any conventional treatments but solely with alternative therapies, humour, and Elvis.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…