Warnung
  • JUser :: _load: Kann nicht mit Benutzer-ID zu laden: 2658

Forschung Hinweise auf Neuer Ansatz für die Sucht

Neuer Zugang zu Sucht

Eine Studie an Ratten festgestellt, dass ein bestimmter Teil des Gehirns zwanghaftem Kokain stimulierenden seeking reduziert. Der Befund legt nahe, ein möglicher Ansatz Suchtverhalten zu ändern.

Zwangsmedikamente, die eine Reihe negativer gesundheitlicher und sozialer Konsequenzen mit sich bringen, sind eine der größten Herausforderungen für die Drogenabhängigkeit des Menschen. In 2011, eine geschätzte 1. 4 Millionen Amerikaner Alter 12 und älter waren letzten Monat Kokainkonsumenten. Keine Medikamente wurden von der US-amerikanischen Food and Drug Administration zur Behandlung von Kokainsucht zugelassen.

Um Einblicke in die Neurobiologie von zwanghaftem Drogenkonsum, Drs. Billy Chen und Antonello Bonci am NIH National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) haben ein Tiermodell von Kokainsucht wurden unter Verwendung. Ausgebildete Ratten gelernt Hebel zu drücken, um Kokain zu erhalten. Wenn die Kokain Dosen später durch einen leichten elektrischen Schlag auf den Fuß gefolgt waren, hielten die meisten Ratten die Hebel drücken. Einige Ratten jedoch zeigten compulsive cocaine seeking durch Fortsetzen der Hebel trotz der Fussschocks zu schieben.

Die Forscher verglichen Nervenzell-Zündmuster in den Gehirnen der schockempfindlichen und schockresistenten Rattengruppen. Sie untersuchten eine Region des präfrontalen Cortex, die bei Menschen an der Entscheidungsfindung und der Kontrolle der hemmenden Reaktion beteiligt ist, die beide in der Sucht beeinträchtigt sind. Ihre Analyse konzentrierte sich auf tiefschichtige pyramidale prälimische Kortexneuronen, da diese Zellen in Bereiche des Gehirns eindringen, die mit dem Drogensuchverhalten in Verbindung gebracht wurden. im April 3, 2013.

Die Wissenschaftler fanden heraus, dass fast doppelt so viel Strom benötigt wurde, um diese Neuronen in zwanghaften Kokain suchenden Ratten zu aktivieren als in den schocksensitiven Ratten oder Ratten, die Kokain nicht ausgesetzt waren. Wenn diese Neuronen hinter dem zwanghaften Verhalten der Ratten stehen, argumentierte das Team, dann könnte die Aktivierung der Ratten das Kokainkonsum der Ratten reduzieren.

Die Wissenschaftler verwendeten eine lichtbasierte genetische oder optogenetische Technik, um Pyramidenzellen im präliminären Kortex nach Belieben zu aktivieren oder zu hemmen. Sie injizierten harmlose Viren, die manipuliert wurden, um Gene zur Herstellung von Proteinen zu liefern, die, sobald sie in der Oberfläche des Neurons eingebettet waren, die Aktivität der Zellen als Reaktion auf Licht bestimmter Wellenlängen induzieren oder hemmen konnten. Im Gehirn der Ratten wurden optische Fasern implantiert, um Lichtimpulse an die Zellen abzugeben.

Wie vorhergesagt, die Aktivierung dieser Gehirnzellen reduziert Kokain suche in den zwanghaft, schlagfest Ratten. die Zellen in stoßempfindlichen Ratten Die Hemmung erhöht Kokain während der Sitzungen Fuß-Schock zu suchen.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Diese spannende Studie bietet eine neue Forschungsrichtung für die Behandlung von Kokain und möglicherweise auch für andere Süchte ", sagt NIDA-Direktorin Dr. Nora D. Volkow. Wir wussten bereits, hauptsächlich aus Bildgebungsstudien am menschlichen Gehirn, dass Defizite im präfrontalen Kortex in die Drogenabhängigkeit involviert sind. Jetzt, da wir gelernt haben, wie grundlegend diese Defizite sind, fühlen wir uns mehr denn je von dem therapeutischen Versprechen, diesen Teil des Gehirns anzugreifen.

Bonci sagt, dass seine Gruppe jetzt klinische Studien plant, um nichtinvasive Methoden zur Stimulierung dieser Hirnregion in Menschen zu testen. Indem wir gezielt auf einen Teil des präfrontalen Kortex zielen, hoffen wir, das zwanghafte Kokainsuchen und -sehnen bei Patienten zu reduzieren.

Artikel Quelle: NIH Research Matters

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Warning
  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 2658

Research Hints at New Approach to Addiction

New Approach to Addiction

A study in rats found that stimulating a specific part of the brain reduces compulsive cocaine seeking. The finding suggests a potential approach to changing addictive behavior.

Compulsive drug taking, which brings a range of negative health and social consequences, is one of the most challenging aspects of human drug addiction. In 2011, an estimated 1. 4 million Americans age 12 and older were past-month cocaine users. No medications have been approved by the U. S. Food and Drug Administration for treating cocaine addiction.

To gain insights into the neurobiology of compulsive drug use, Drs. Billy Chen and Antonello Bonci at NIH’s National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) have been using an animal model of cocaine addiction. Trained rats learned to push levers to receive cocaine. When the cocaine doses were later followed by a mild electric shock to the foot, most rats stopped pushing the levers. Some rats, however, exhibited compulsive cocaine seeking by continuing to push the levers in spite of the foot shocks.

The researchers compared nerve cell firing patterns in the brains of the shock-sensitive and shock-resistant groups of rats. They studied a region of the prefrontal cortex that, in humans, is involved in decision making and inhibitory response control, which are both compromised in addiction. Their analysis focused on deep-layer pyramidal prelimbic cortex neurons because these cells reach into areas of the brain that have been implicated in drug-seeking behaviors. on April 3, 2013.

The scientists found that almost twice as much current was needed to activate these neurons in compulsive cocaine-seeking rats than in the shock-sensitive rats or rats that hadn’t been exposed to cocaine. If these neurons are behind the rats’ compulsive behavior, the team reasoned, then activating them might reduce the rats’ cocaine seeking.

The scientists employed a light-based genetic, or optogenetic, technique to activate or inhibit pyramidal neurons in the prelimbic cortex at will. They injected harmless viruses engineered to deliver genes for producing proteins that, once embedded in the neuron’s surface, could induce or inhibit the cells’ activity in response to light of specific wavelengths. ny optic fibers were implanted in the rats’ brains to deliver light pulses to the cells.

As predicted, activating these brain cells reduced cocaine seeking in the compulsive, shock-resistant rats. Inhibiting the cells in shock-sensitive rats increased cocaine seeking during foot-shock sessions.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


This exciting study offers a new direction of research for the treatment of cocaine and possibly other addictions,” says NIDA Director Dr. Nora D. Volkow. We already knew, mainly from human brain imaging studies, that deficits in the prefrontal cortex are involved in drug addiction. Now that we have learned how fundamental these deficits are, we feel more confident than ever about the therapeutic promise of targeting that part of the brain.

Bonci says that his group is now planning clinical trials to test noninvasive methods for stimulating this brain region in people. By targeting a specific portion of the prefrontal cortex, our hope is to reduce compulsive cocaine seeking and craving in patients.

Article Source: NIH Research Matters

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…