تعلم من الألم والمتعة

تعلمإن أقدم وأسلم طريقة للتعلم هي طريقة العقاب والمكافأة. يتم توبيخ الطفل أو معاقبته إذا قام بشيء خاطئ ، وأثنى عليه أو كافح لفعله شيئًا جيدًا. يمكن تدريب الفئران على تتبع المسارات المختارة مسبقًا عبر متاهة من خلال إعطائهم صدمة كهربائية بسيطة إذا اختاروا خطأ ، ووضع لقمة لذيذة في نهاية الاختيار الصحيح. تم الإبلاغ حتى الديدان لمعرفة هذه الطرق.

طبيعة يعلم عن طريق الألم والمتعة

يكمن نموذج هذا النوع من التدريب في الطبيعة نفسها. إن الألم الذي يختبره المرء إذا ما تعارض المرء مع الطبيعة ، والسرور إذا تعاون معه ، هو أحد الطرق التي تسترشد بها كل المخلوقات - ليس دائما بشكل لا يشوبه شائبة ، ولكن بالمعنى العام بشكل صحيح. يتعلم الطفل ، إذا كان يلمس موقد ساخن ، وليس لتكرار التجربة. تعطينا الحساسية للحرارة الشديدة من أجل حمايتنا ، وليس من أجل معاناتنا. جميع المخلوقات الحية تتعلم ، بسرعة أو ببطء وفقا لمعلوماتهم ، ما "يعمل" لهم وما لا.

إذا كان الطفل ينهب جرة ملف تعريف الارتباط ، فقد يتعلم من غزوات متكررة أن الكثير من ملفات تعريف الارتباط تعطي آلامًا في البطن. في هذه الأثناء ، قد يساعده توبيخ شديد ، لكن التجربة نفسها ، إن لم تكن جذرية للغاية ، هي دائما أفضل معلم.

تعلم لتجنب الألم ومرضاته

عندما تتعلم المخلوقات تجنب الألم والسعي إلى الحصول على المتعة ، يسعى الرجل إلى تجنب المعاناة النفسية والبحث عن السعادة. العقوبة والمكافأة يشجعان الحياة في عملية التطور الطويلة من الجراثيم المنخفضة إلى التنوير الروحي للسادة مثل يسوع المسيح وبوذا. في مراحل النمو العليا للحياة ، تنقذ رغبة الرجل المزدوجة لتجنب المعاناة والعثور على السعادة إلى رغبة شديدة في الهروب من عبودية الأنا ورغبة مرافقة للتوسع في النعيم الروحي.

الوعي والنعيم فطريان في كل شيء. وقد تجلى الكون من الروح المطلقة: "النعيم الواعي" الذي كان دائمًا واعيًا ، أو دائمًا ، أو "ساتسيداناندا" كما سماه سوامي شنكراتشاريا.

وتجنب التهديدات التي يتعرض لها متعة والسعادة المحتملة،

إن الدافع وراء التطور هو الدافع في جميع المخلوقات لتفادي التهديدات التي تتعرض لها إمكانات النعيم الخاصة بها. ما يعتمد عليه كل فرد من هذه الإمكانية يعتمد على مستوى التطور الخاص به. إلى المخلوقات الأكثر بدائية قد تعني الراحة فقط ؛ للآخرين ، الطعام. ومع ذلك ، وفقا لدرجة الوعي التي أعرب عنها في كل واحد ، هو النعيم يسعون. لذلك ، فإن فقدان النعيم هو ما يحاولون تجنبه.

أعلن تشارلز داروين أن البقاء هو الدافع الأساسي للحياة. هذه الغريزة ، على أية حال ، ليست حتمًا طائشًا. إذا كانت المخلوقات تكافح بوعي للحفاظ على وجودها ، فذلك لأن ، بالنسبة إليهم ، يمثل شيئًا مهمًا. إنهم يتشبثون به ليس مجرد عرض لقصور نيوتوني. بدلا من ذلك ، فإنهم يتشبثون لأن وعيهم هو مظهر من مظاهر النعيم ، مهما كان منجزًا. البقاء على قيد الحياة هو مصدر قلق كبير بالنسبة لهم فقط عندما تكون حياتهم مهدده بنشاط ، لأنهم يريدون الحفاظ على مقاييسهم الحالية من النعيم الواعي. خلاف ذلك ، كل ما يريدون هو الاستمتاع بالحياة.

يطمح لتجنب الألم وتجربة متعة

النعيم محجب بشدة في الأشكال الدنيا للحياة. وأعلى ما يطمحون إليه هو تجنب الألم الجسدي ، وتجربة المتعة الجسدية. يختلف الإنسان في أن طموحه أكثر تعمداً وأكثر شخصية. مع إدراكه المكرر نسبيا ، يدرك أيضا أن الأحاسيس الجسدية عادة ما تكون موجزة في مدتها ، وأن الصعود والهبوط العاطفي الذي يصاحب المتعة والألم مؤقت ، مثل إلقاء أمواج المحيط. وهكذا ، يتصور شيئًا دائمًا أكثر من المتعة ، ويبحث عن السعادة. إنه يحاول تجنب المعاناة العقلية أيضا - فقدان الوظيفة ، على سبيل المثال ، أو السمعة - ويتحمل عن طيب خاطر حتى الألم الجسدي لتحقيق أهداف بعيدة المدى. مع مزيد من تحسين وعيه ، يسعى إلى تجنب المشاعر والأفكار والأفعال التي قد تمنعه ​​من تحقيق النعيم الأبدي. لأنه اكتشف أن مصدر كل المعاناة يكمن في أن انتباهه قد تم تحويله عن واقعه الخاص.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لا شيء يمكن خارج أنفسنا تعريف السعادة لدينا ...

السعادة ينبع من داخل الذات. لا يعتمد على الظروف الخارجية. وبالتالي ، لا يمكن لأي شيء خارج نطاقنا تحديد السعادة أو تأهيلها إلا عندما نسمح لها بذلك. بمجرد أن تتحقق هذه الحقيقة الغير قابلة للتغيير ، تصبح السعادة ملكنا الدائم.

لسوء الحظ ، فإن الحياة تجعل الناس يبحثون عن تحقيق في الخارج ، وليس داخل أنفسهم. وبما أن الطاقة تشكل الجسم في الرحم ، فإنه يضر بالجنين ، وبعد ذلك على المولود الجديد أن يسعى للتعبير ظاهريًا أيضًا. الطفل يحتاج الحليب. يجب أن تعمل في تطوير حركات جسمها. الحياة نفسها هي مغامرة في تعلم كيفية التعامل مع واقع موضوعي. تدريجيا ، تصبح المغامرة واحدة من تعلم التمييز بين ما هو حقيقي ما يبدو فقط.

العالم كالحواس التي تقدمه لنا هو سراب. يبدو صعبًا أو ناعمًا على اللمس. ممتعة أو غير سارة للحنك؛ جميلة أو قبيحة للعيون. متناغم أو نازف للأذنين؛ حلوة أو كريهة إلى حاسة الشم. في الواقع ، لا شيء من هذه الأشياء. تعطينا الأدلة لواقع مختلف تمامًا. يمكن اختراق المواد الصلبة من خلال الموجات الصوتية ، والأشعة السينية. الغذاء الذي يكره البشر بشغف من مخلوقات أخرى. تخدعنا الحواس باستمرار ، لأنها تعرضنا لمجموعة محدودة للغاية من الاهتزازات الصوتية والخفيفة. إن ما يبدو لنا لطيفًا أو غير سار هو في كثير من الأحيان تقييم ذاتي للغاية ، ومتنوع على نطاق واسع حتى ضمن "الطيف" الضيق للأذواق البشرية. "الجمال" ، يقال ، "هو في عين الناظر". يمكن تدريب العين لرؤية الجمال في كل مكان. يمكن أيضا أن يكون الناس مشروط بخيبة أمل لرؤية القبح في كل مكان ، لأنها تزرع تجاربهم كبذور للتعاسة أخرى.

ردود الفعل لدينا إنشاء المعاناة والألم أو المتعة

إننا نحيل الأشياء باستمرار إلى ردود أفعالنا ، التي بدونها لن يكون للواقع الموضوعي معنى يذكر بالنسبة لنا. يدرك الناس في الوقت المناسب أن واقعهم الأكثر حميمية هو حالة الوعي الخاصة بهم. في ردود أفعالهم يعانون أو يفرحون. لذا يجب أن تكون ردود أفعال المرء مصدر قلقه الأول.

ما هو الإنسان ، نسبة إلى الكون الشاسع؟ هل هو تافه تماما ، كما قد توحي نتائج علم الفلك؟ نرى أنفسنا غريزيًا كمحور مركزي لكل شيء في الوجود. ولا هذه الغريزة مضللة. لأنه تصورنا الخاص الذي يجب أن يتوسع. في أنفسنا أيضا ، يمكن أن تتقلص تصوراتنا. الحياة تقودنا عن طريق توسيع التعاطف إلى وعي أكثر من أي وقت مضى. كما أننا ، إذا سمحنا بذلك ، يقودنا إلى تعاطف التعاقد ، والوعي المتناقص تدريجيًا ، والذي يتم من خلاله قمع إمكاناتنا للنعيم.

ألم ومتعة: معلمينا الأولى

الألم والمتعة هم معلمونا الأوائل. يسبب الألم لنا التعاقد داخليًا - ليس عقليًا فقط ، بل في التوتر الجسدي. المتعة يجلب الشعور بالاسترخاء والتوسع الذهني. نتعلم تدريجيا لربط المعاناة بالمزيد من الذهنية من التوتر الجسدي ، والسعادة أكثر بالرفاه العقلي.

من هذه الحقائق يتبين أن المبادئ الأخلاقية لها جذورها في الطبيعة. لماذا من الخطأ أن تسرق من الآخرين أو تجرحهم؟ ليس بسبب القيود الاجتماعية أو الكتابية ، ولكن بسبب معاقبة الشخص بطبيعته الخاصة ، والتي تسبب التقلص البدني والتوتر ، وموقف ذهني للدفاع عن النفس. إن الاعتراض على القانون الطبيعي هو الإساءة إلى أنفسنا. ونتيجة لذلك ، نشعر بالألم. وهكذا ، حتى لو كان القراصنة الذين يسرقون الآخرين ينظرون إلى أنفسهم على أنهم الرابحون ، من الناحية المادية ، فإن تعاطفه مع التعاطف وخوفه من العقاب هو عقاب مستمر لإزعاج الوئام في نفسه وفي محيطه. يصبح الكون ، بالنسبة له ، بيئة معادية. ويصبح عدم التنافر الداخلي في نهاية المطاف غير محتمل بالنسبة له في الاغتراب الذي يجلبه إليه من الآخرين ، وعلى الرغم من كل تأكيد على العكس ، في معناه المتناقض لقيمة الذات.

التطور: إن التقدم في الوعي الفردي

لا يمكن تحقيق النمو في الفهم إلا من قبل الفرد. من بين ما يستفيد منه الطفل ، هل يطمئن الآخرون ، في يوم ما ، إلى أن يصبحوا بالغين؟ التطور نفسه لا يركز كثيرا على تطوير أنواع جديدة كما هو على تقدم الوعي الفردي. قد يضطر المجتمع إلى كبح جماح أعضائه إذا استمروا في السلوك المعادي للمجتمع ، لكن قوانين الطبيعة البشرية تحدد سعرها في النهاية.

في النهاية يعاقب الشخص المخالف نفسه. الغبي هو الذي يسخر ، "أوه ، في النهاية! من يهتم" في النهاية "؟" في نهاية المطاف ، ومع ذلك ، سيكون كثيرا في الوقت الحالي ، عندما يصل!


تم اقتباس هذا المقال من كتاب: الله هو للجميع من قبل دونالد جيه. والترز.تم اقتباس هذا المقال بإذن من كتاب:

الله هو للجميع
والترز دونالد ج..

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر، الناشرون وضوح الكريستال. © 2003.
www.crystalclarity.com.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا الكاتب.


تعلمعن المؤلف

وقد كتب دونالد J. والترز (سوامي Kriyananda) أكثر من ثمانين كتابا وتحرير كتابين من ليوغاناندا Paramhansa التي أصبحت معروفة جيدا: شرح رباعيات عمر الخيام ومجموعة من أقوال السيد، وجوهر تحقيق الذات. في 1968 أناندا تأسست الترز، مجتمع المقصود بالقرب من مدينة نيفادا، كاليفورنيا، استنادا إلى تعاليم يوغاناندا Paramhansa. زيارة موقع أناندا في http://www.ananda.org


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Learning from Pain and Pleasure

learningThe oldest and surest method of learning is that of punishment and reward. A child is scolded or punished if he does something wrong, and praised or rewarded for doing something well. Rats can be trained to follow pre-selected paths through a maze by giving them a mild electric shock if they choose wrongly, and placing a tasty morsel at the end of the right choice. Even worms have been reported to learn by these methods.

Nature Teaches Using Pain & Pleasure

The model for this kind of training lies in Nature herself. The pain one experiences if one goes against Nature, and the pleasure if one cooperates with it, is one way all creatures are guided -- not always infallibly, but in a general sense correctly. A child learns, if it touches a hot stove, not to repeat the experiment. Sensitivity to extreme heat is given us for our protection, not for our misery. All living creatures learn, quickly or slowly according to their intelligence, what "works" for them and what doesn't.

If a child plunders the cookie jar, it may learn from repeated forays that too many cookies give tummy aches. Meanwhile, he may be helped by a stern reprimand, but experience itself, if not too drastic, is always the best teacher.

Learning to Avoid Pain & Seek Pleasure

As creatures learn to avoid pain and to seek pleasure, so man strives to avoid also mental suffering and to seek happiness. Punishment and reward encourage life in the long process of evolution from the lowly germ to the spiritual enlightenment of masters like Jesus Christ and Buddha. At life's higher stages of development, man's twofold desire to avoid suffering and find happiness becomes refined to an intense desire for escape from ego-bondage and a companion desire for expansion in spiritual bliss.

Consciousness and bliss are innate in everything. The very universe was manifested out of Absolute Spirit: ever-conscious, ever-existing, ever-new Bliss, or Satchidananda as Swami Shankaracharya called it.

Avoiding Threats to Pleasure and Bliss-Potential

Evolution is driven by the impulse in all creatures to avoid threats to their own bliss-potential. What each one perceives of that potential depends on its own level of evolution. To the more primitive creatures it may mean only comfort; to others, food. Nevertheless, according to the degree of awareness expressed in each one, it is bliss they seek. Therefore, the loss of bliss is what they try to avoid.

Charles Darwin declared that survival is the primary impulse of life. This instinct, however, is no mindless urge. If creatures struggle consciously to maintain their existence, it is because, to them, it represents something important. They cling to it not as a mere projection of Newtonian inertia. Rather, they cling because their awareness is a manifestation, however inchoate, of bliss. Survival is a paramount concern for them only when their lives are actively threatened, for they want to preserve their present measure of conscious bliss. Otherwise, all they want is simply to enjoy life.

Aspiring to Avoid Pain & Experience Pleasure

Bliss is heavily veiled in the lower forms of life. The highest to which they aspire is to avoid physical pain, and to experience physical pleasure. Man is different in that his aspiration is more deliberate, and more personal. With his relatively refined awareness, he realizes also that physical sensations are usually brief in duration, and that the emotional ups and downs that accompany pleasure and pain are temporary, like tossing ocean waves. Thus, he envisions something more permanent than pleasure, and seeks happiness. He tries to avoid mental suffering also -- the loss of a job, for instance, or of reputation -- and willingly endures even physical pain to achieve long-range goals. With further refinement of his awareness, he seeks to avoid feelings, thoughts, and actions that might prevent him from realizing eternal bliss. For he has discovered that the source of all suffering lies in the fact that his attention has been diverted from his own reality.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Nothing Outside of Ourselves Can Define Our Happiness...

Happiness springs from within the self. It doesn't depend on outer conditions. Nothing outside ourselves, therefore, can define or qualify our happiness except as we allow it to do so. Once this unalterable truth is realized, happiness become our permanent possession.

Unfortunately, life conditions people to seek fulfillment outside, not inside, themselves. As energy forms the body in the womb, it conditions the fetus, and later on the newborn baby to seek expression outwardly also. The baby needs milk. It must work at developing its body's movements. Life itself is an adventure in learning how to relate to objective reality. Gradually, the adventure becomes one of learning to discriminate between what is real what merely seems so.

The world as the senses present it to us is a mirage. It seems hard or soft to the touch; pleasant or unpleasant to the palate; beautiful or ugly to the eyes; harmonious or cacophonous to the ears; sweet or acrid to the sense of smell. In fact, it is none of these things. Clues are given us to a very different reality. Solid-seeming matter can be penetrated by sound waves, and by x-rays. Food that human beings abominate is eagerly ingested by other creatures. The senses constantly deceive us, for they expose us to a very limited range of sound and light vibrations. What seems to us pleasant or unpleasant is often a very subjective evaluation, widely varied even within the narrow "spectrum" of human tastes. "Beauty," it is said, "is in the eye of the beholder." The eye can be trained to see beauty everywhere. People can also be conditioned by disappointment to see ugliness everywhere, as they sow their experiences as seeds of further unhappiness.

Our Reactions Create Suffering & Pain or Pleasure

We refer things back constantly to our reactions, without which objective reality would hold little meaning for us. People realize in time that their most intimate reality is their own state of consciousness. It is in their reactions that they suffer or rejoice. One's reactions should therefore be his paramount concern.

What is man, relative to the vast universe? Is he utterly insignificant, as the findings of astronomy might suggest? We see ourselves instinctively as central to everything in existence. Nor is this instinct misguided. For it is our own perception that must expand. In ourselves also, our perceptions can shrink. Life leads us by expanding sympathy to an ever-more refined awareness. It also, if we allow it to, leads us to a contracting sympathy, and a gradually diminishing awareness, by which our potential for bliss is suppressed.

Pain & Pleasure: Our First Teachers

Pain and pleasure are our first teachers. The pain causes us to contract inwardly -- not mentally only, but in physical tension. Pleasure brings a feeling of relaxation and mental expansion. We gradually learn to associate suffering more with mental than with physical tension, and happiness more with mental well-being.

From these facts it emerges that moral principles have their roots in Nature. Why is it wrong to steal from others, or to injure them? Not because of societal or scriptural strictures, but because one is punished by his own nature, which causes physical contraction and tension, and a mentally self-defensive attitude. To go against natural law is to offend against ourselves. As a consequence, we experience pain. Thus, even if the pirate who robs others views himself as the gainer, materially speaking, his contraction of sympathy and his accompanying fear of retribution is a constant punishment for disturbing the harmony in himself and in his surroundings. The very universe becomes, for him, a hostile environment. Increasing inner disharmony becomes at last intolerable to him in the alienation it brings him from others, and, despite every affirmation to the contrary, in his diminishing sense of self-worth.

Evolution: The Progress of Individual Awareness

Growth in understanding can be accomplished only by the individual. Of what use to a child the reassurances that others, some day, will become adults? Evolution itself is not focused so much on developing new species as it is on the progress of individual awareness. Society may have to restrain its members if they persist in anti-social behavior, but the laws of human nature exact their own price, ultimately.

The wrongdoer eventually punishes himself. Foolish is he who scoffs, "Oh, eventually! Who cares about 'eventually'?" Eventually, however, will be very much right now, when it arrives!


This article was excerpted from the book:  God Is For Everyone by J. Donald Walters. This article was excerpted with permission from the book:

God Is For Everyone
by J. Donald Walters.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Crystal Clarity Publishers. ©2003.
www.crystalclarity.com.

Info/Order this book.

More books by this author.


 

learningAbout the Author

 J. Donald Walters (Swami Kriyananda) has written over eighty books and edited two books of Paramhansa Yogananda's which have become well known: The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam Explained and a compilation of sayings of the Master, The Essence of Self-Realization. In 1968 Walters founded Ananda, an intentional community near Nevada City, California, based on the teachings of Paramhansa Yogananda. Visit the Ananda website at http://www.ananda.org


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}