فتق حجابي

العلاج "الثوري" للولادة
عيب يحسن بقاء
مع الأطفال حديثي الولادة
فتق حجابي

يمكن للأسلوب الذي يستخدمه الأطباء عادة لعلاج فتق حجابي ، وهو عيب خلقي يهدد الحياة ، أن يزيد حالة الرئة سوءًا ، ويجب التخلي عنها لصالح استراتيجية العلاج "الثورية" التي تزيد بشكل كبير من فرص بقاء الأطفال حديثي الولادة المتأثرين ، باحثو جامعة فلوريدا. تقرير في عدد سبتمبر 1999 من حوليات الجراحة.

في دراسة مقارنة للعلاجات الجديدة والتقليدية ، أفاد جراحو الأطفال في مستشفى UF باستخدام تقنية جديدة سمحت لـ 23 من 25 أن يصابوا بمواليد جدد ويعالجون في مستشفى Shands للأطفال في جامعة UF منذ 1992 من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة والعودة إلى المنزل بصحة جيدة والتنفس من تلقاء أنفسهم .

وفقا لطبيب الأطفال في جامعة كولومبيا ديفيد كايس ، دكتوراه في الطب ، المؤلف الرئيسي للتقرير ، فإن معدل بقاء نسبة 92 بين هؤلاء الأطفال المصابين 25 "ثوري" بالمقارنة مع معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة الوطنية بين 50 و 60 في المئة.

ويولد واحد من أطفال 3,500 في الولايات المتحدة بفتق حجابي ، مما يترك ثقبًا في عضلات الحجاب الحاجز الذي يسمح لأعضاء البطن - مثل المعدة والأمعاء والكلى والكبد - بالهجرة إلى الصدر. ويعوق هذا الخلل قدرة الرئة ونموها ، كما يمكن أن يضر بالأعضاء النازحة. الأطفال حديثو الولادة الذين لا يبقون على قيد الحياة يموتون عادة خلال الأيام أو الأسابيع الأولى من الحياة.

وقال كايز ، وهو أستاذ مشارك في جراحة الأطفال في كلية الطب في جامعة فلوريدا: "في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، هناك مجموعة كاملة من الأطفال المصابين بفتق حجابي يموتون". "النقطة الرئيسية في بحثنا هي أن العلاج القياسي الذي تم استخدامه منذ حوالي 20 سنوات لم ينجح ، وفي الواقع ، هو ضار لهؤلاء الأطفال."

يتميز العلاج الجديد بثلاثة مكونات أساسية: - علاج التنفس "اللطيف" - أقل عدوانية من "فرط التنفس" القياسي - كمساعد للرئتين المتخلفتين في الرضيع ؛ - استخدام جهاز القلب والرئة المسمى ECMO ، وهو اختصار لأوكسجين الغشاء خارج الجسم ، والتي تتطلب نسبة 40 من الرضع المتأثرين لتولي عمل أعضاءهم الهشة ؛ - تأخير عملية جراحية تصحيحية لمدة تتراوح بين يوم واحد وخمسة أيام ، مما يتيح المزيد من الوقت للمصابين حديثي الولادة المرضى من الولادة قبل الإجهاد الإضافي لعملية كبيرة.

الجانب الأكثر تطرفا في هذا العلاج الجديد ، وقال Kays ، هو القضاء على فرط التنفس.

"العلاج المعياري هو تبديد الطفل ، ليطلب من رئتي الرضيع الصغير أن تتصرف مثل الرئتين الكبيرتين. وبذلك ، قد تعمل رئتاهما بشكل جيد لبضع ساعات أو ربما بضعة أيام ، لكنهما في النهاية سيخفقان". قال. من ناحية أخرى ، إذا سمحت لرئة صغيرة من الأطفال حديثي الولادة بالتصرف مثل رئة صغيرة وقبول كميات معتدلة من التهوية ، نجد أن الأطفال يتحسنون ببطء ويحسنون على المدى الطويل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"حتى الإفراط في التهوية يمكن أن يثبت أنه مميت ، مما يحول دون تعافي الطفل المحتمل".

في دراسة UF ، قام الباحثون بفحص السجلات الطبية لجميع الأطفال حديثي الولادة المعالجين للفتق الحجابي منذ 1983 في مستشفى Shands Children's ، وهو جزء من مركز Shands at UF الطبي في Gainesville. تم تحديد ما مجموعه 89 الرضع المتضررين ، بما في ذلك 60 منذ 1992 ، عندما قدم Kays ، وهو متخصص في فتق الحجاب الحاجز ، طريقة جديدة لدى وصوله إلى UF. وقد تضاعف معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة للأطفال المصابين الذين يولدون ويعالجون في شاندس - من 45 في المئة إلى 92 في المئة - منذ بدأ Kays وزملاؤه في Shands باستخدام العلاج الجديد.

وقد تعلمت كايز هذه التقنية من مخترعي جامعة كولومبيا ، والجراح تشارلز ستولار ، وأخصائي التهوية ، جين وونغ ، أثناء تقديمهم لزمالة إكلينيكية هناك في أوائل 1990s. تعد كولومبيا ومستشفى شاندز للأطفال في مستشفى UF ومستشفى بوسطن للأطفال (المرتبطين بجامعة هارفارد) المراكز الوليدية الوحيدة في البلاد التي تبلغ عن النتائج باستخدام العلاج الجديد.

وقال كايز "منذ فترة طويلة ، كان الناس يقولون إن هؤلاء الأطفال حديثي الولادة ليس لديهم رئة كافية للبقاء على قيد الحياة. ونحن لا نتفق". "في مرض يعتمد فيه البُقْيا في نهاية المطاف على وظائف الرئة ، يجب أن تحافظ على كل وظيفة صغيرة من الرئة والرئة. والطريقة للقيام بذلك هي للتهوية.
لهم بلطف شديد ".

وقال كايز إن فرط التنفس المعتاد يؤدي في كثير من الأحيان إلى إصابة الرئتين بـ "البوب" مثل البالونات المتراكمة.

وقال كايس: "إن استراتيجيتنا هي استخدام التنفس من أجل الأطفال الذين يعانون من ضيق التنفس". "إذا لم تقم بتوزيع الرئتين بشكل مفرط ، فإنها ستعمل وتتعافى بشكل أفضل." نعتقد أن الأطفال أكثر ذكاءً مما نحن عليه. هدفنا هو تعزيز محرك التنفس الخاص بها وإيجاد إستراتيجية تهوية أكثر راحة لهم. "إن سبب الفتق الحجابي غير معروف ، ولكن غالباً ما يتم تشخيصه خلال فحص الموجات فوق الصوتية الروتينية قبل الولادة.

إن كايز ، التي تغطي جدران مكتبها صور لمرضاه الصغار الذين نجوا من فتق الحجاب الحاجز ، يبشرون بشكل قاطع بالفضائل المنقذة للحياة لاستراتيجية العلاج المحسنة. ويعتقد أيضًا أن النساء الحوامل المعروفات بحمل الأجنة المصابة يجب أن يخضعن للولادة في مركز رعاية مكثفة حديثي الولادة ، حيث تتوفر التكنولوجيا الأساسية مثل العلاج بالتهوية والمركز الطبي للوقاية من الأمراض. في دراسة UF ، كان معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة للمواليد المتأثرين الذين ولدوا في مستشفيات أخرى ونقلهم إلى Shands بعد الولادة 80 في المئة - لا يزال أعلى بكثير من معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة الوطنية ، ولكن 12 في المئة أقل من الأطفال المولودين في Shands.

شمل باحثو كايز المشاركون في الدراسة البارزة ماكس ر. لانغهام جونيور ، دكتوراه في الطب ، رئيس جراحة الأطفال في الجبهة المتحدة ، الذي كان ثاني مؤلف لتقرير الدورية.

وقال كيز إن جعل المجتمع الطبي وعامة الناس على دراية بمزايا العلاج الجديد على العلاج القياسي من شأنه أن ينقذ الأرواح.

وقال كايز: "لا يزال يتم استخدام فرط التنفس على نطاق واسع في إدارة مرضى الفتق الحجابي". "لقد سمعت العديد من الأمهات اللواتي انتهى أطفالهن المولودات وُلدن بنجاح هنا (في شاندز) يقولون إن أخصائي التوليد أخبرهن بأن طفلهن الذي لم يولد بعد سوف يموت.

"لقد تم بحث وبحث بياناتنا بعناية شديدة ، بعد أن قرأها الناس ليس لديهم خيار سوى تصديقها. معدل البقاء لدينا في 92 غير مسبوق في الأدبيات الطبية. وهذا يجب أن يجذب انتباه الجميع."


مؤخرا العلوم الصحية نشرات الأخبار مركز الجبهة المتحدة متوفرة في www.health.ufl.edu / hscc / index.html و

الخميس، مايو 20، 1999 جامعة العلوم فلوريدا مركز الصحة والرعاية الصحية Shands. لمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى الاتصال 352 / 392 2755، أو البريد الإلكتروني: [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

أولوياتي كانت خاطئة
أولوياتي كانت خاطئة
by تيد دبليو باكستر

Diaphragmatic Hernia

'Revolutionary' treatment for birth
defect improves  survival of
newborns with
diaphragmatic hernia

       The method doctors traditionally use to treat diaphragmatic hernia, a life-threatening birth defect, can actually worsen the lung condition and should be abandoned in favor of a "revolutionary" treatment strategy that dramatically increases the survival chances of affected newborns, University of Florida researchers report in the September 1999 issue of the Annals of Surgery.

        In a comparative study of new and conventional treatments, UF pediatric surgeons report using a new technique that has allowed 23 of 25 affected newborns delivered and treated at Shands Children's Hospital at UF since 1992 to survive the defect and go home healthy and breathing on their own.

         According to UF pediatric surgeon David Kays, MD, the report's lead author, the 92 percent survival rate among those 25 affected babies "is revolutionary" when compared with the national survival rate of between 50 and 60 percent.

        About one in 3,500 babies in the United States are born with diaphragmatic hernia, which leaves a hole in their diaphragm muscle that allows their abdominal organs -- such as the stomach, bowels, kidney and liver -- to migrate into their chest. The defect impedes lung capacity and development and also can damage the displaced organs. Newborns who don't survive usually die during the first days or weeks of life.

        "Across the country, there are a whole bunch of kids with diaphragmatic hernia who are dying," said Kays, an associate professor of pediatric surgery at UF's College of Medicine. "The main point of our research paper is that standard therapy that has been in use for about 20 years hasn't worked and, in fact, is harmful to these kids."

        The new treatment features three key components: - "Gentle" ventilator therapy -- less aggressive than standard "hyperventilation" -- as an aid to the infant's underdeveloped lungs; - The use of a heart-lung machine called ECMO, short for extracorporeal membrane oxygenation, which about 40 percent of affected infants require to take over the work of their fragile organs; - Delaying corrective surgery by one to five days, allowing more time for sick newborns to recover from childbirth before the added stress of a major operation.

        The most radical aspect of this new treatment, said Kays, is the elimination of hyperventilation.

        "Standard therapy has been to overventilate the baby, to ask the infant's little lungs to act like big lungs. In so doing, their lungs may work well for a few hours or maybe even a few days, but eventually they will fail," Kays said. "If, on the other hand, you allow a newborn's little lungs to behave like little lungs and accept moderate amounts of ventilation, we find that the babies slowly get better and do better in the long run.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


        "Even a little overventilation can prove lethal, preventing a potentially survivable baby from recovering."

        In the UF study, researchers examined the medical records of all newborns treated for diaphragmatic hernia since 1983 at Shands Children's Hospital, part of the Shands at UF medical center in Gainesville. A total of 89 affected infants were identified, including 60 since 1992, when Kays, a specialist in diaphragmatic hernia, introduced the new method upon his arrival at UF. The survival rate of affected babies born and treated at Shands has more than doubled -- from 45 percent to 92 percent -- since Kays and his colleagues at Shands began using the new therapy.

        Kays had learned the technique from its Columbia University inventors, surgeon Charles Stolar and ventilation specialist Jen Wung, while serving a clinical fellowship there in the early 1990s. Columbia, Shands Children's Hospital at UF and Boston Children's Hospital (affiliated with Harvard) are the only neonatal centers in the nation to report results using the novel treatment.

        "For a long time, people have been saying that these newborns don't have enough lung to survive. We disagree," Kays said. "In a disease where survival ultimately depends on lung function, you have to preserve every little bit of lung and lung function. The way to do that is to ventilate
them very gently."

        Kays said standard hyperventilation often causes the lungs to "pop" like overinflated balloons.

        Using milder ventilator therapy, "our strategy  is to breathe for the babies with small breaths," Kays said. "If you don't excessively distend the lungs, they will function and recover better.         "We believe babies are smarter than we are. It's our goal to augment their own respiratory drive and find a gentler ventilator strategy that is comfortable for them."         The cause of diaphragmatic hernia is unknown, but it's often diagnosed during routine prenatal ultrasound examination.

        Kays, whose office walls are covered with photos of his young patients who have survived diaphragmatic hernia, emphatically preaches the life-saving virtues of the improved treatment strategy. He also believes that pregnant women known to carry affected fetuses should undergo childbirth at a major neonatal intensive care center, where essential technology such as ventilation therapy and ECMO is available. In the UF study, the survival rate for affected newborns born at other hospitals and transferred to Shands after birth was 80 percent -- still significantly higher than the national survival rate, but 12 percent lower than for babies born at Shands.

        Kays' co-researchers in the landmark study included Max R. Langham Jr., MD, UF chief of Pediatric Surgery, who was the second author of the journal report.

        Kays said making the medical community and the general public aware of the new treatment's advantages over standard therapy would save lives.

         "Hyperventilation is still widely utilized in the management of diaphragmatic hernia patients," Kays said. " I've heard many moms whose sick kids ended up being born and treated successfully here (at Shands) say that their obstetrician had told them their unborn baby was going to die.

        "Our data is so painstakingly researched and reported, that after people read it they have no choice but to believe it. Our 92 percent survival rate is unsurpassed in the medical literature. This should grab everyone's attention."


Recent UF Health Science Center news releases are available at www.health.ufl.edu/hscc/index.html

Thursday, May 20, 1999 University of Florida Health Science Center and Shands HealthCare. For more information, please call 352/392-2755 or e-mail: [email protected]

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}