مقاومة القناع أثناء الوباء ليست جديدة - في عام 1918 كان العديد من الأمريكيين متكسرين

مقاومة القناع أثناء الوباء ليست جديدة - في عام 1918 كان العديد من الأمريكيين متكسرينرجال شرطة في سياتل ، واشنطن ، يرتدون أقنعة صنعها الصليب الأحمر ، خلال جائحة الأنفلونزا ، ديسمبر 1918. الأرشيف الوطني

لقد رأينا جميعًا العناوين الرئيسية المقلقة: حالات فيروسات كورونا ترتفع في 40 ولاية، مع حالات جديدة ومعدلات الاستشفاء ترتفع بمعدل ينذر بالخطر. حذر مسؤولو الصحة من أنه يجب على الولايات المتحدة التحرك بسرعة لوقف انتشار المرض - وإلا فإننا نخاطر بفقدان السيطرة على الوباء.

هناك إجماع واضح أن الأمريكيين يجب أن يرتدوا الأقنعة في الأماكن العامة وأن يواصلوا ممارسة التباعد الاجتماعي المناسب بينما أغلبية الأمريكيين دعم ارتداء الأقنعة ، وقد ثبت أنه من الصعب الحفاظ على الامتثال على نطاق واسع ومتسق في المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد. تجمع المتظاهرون خارج قاعات المدينة في سكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا; أوستن، تكساس؛ وغيرها من المدن للاحتجاج على تفويضات الأقنعة المحلية. العديد من أعلن عمداء ولاية كارولينا الجنوبية أنهم لن يفرضوا أمر القناع في ولايتهم.

لقد بحث ال تاريخ جائحة عام 1918 على نطاق واسع. في ذلك الوقت ، مع عدم وجود لقاحات فعالة أو علاجات دوائية ، اتخذت المجتمعات المحلية في جميع أنحاء البلاد مجموعة من الإجراءات الصحية العامة لإبطاء انتشار وباء الإنفلونزا القاتل: أغلقوا المدارس والشركات ، وحظروا التجمعات العامة وعزلوا المصابين بالحجر الصحي وعزلوه . أوصت أو طلبت العديد من المجتمعات أن يرتدي المواطنون أقنعة الوجه في الأماكن العامة - وهذا ، وليس عمليات الإغلاق المرهقة ، كان أكثر غضبًا.

المسؤولون الذين يرتدون أقنعة الشاش يتفقدون منظفات الشوارع في شيكاغو للكشف عن الأنفلونزا ، 1918المسؤولون الذين يرتدون أقنعة الشاش يتفقدون منظفات الشوارع في شيكاغو للكشف عن الأنفلونزا ، 1918. بيتمان / جيتي إيماجيس

في منتصف أكتوبر عام 1918 ، في خضم تفشي الوباء في شمال شرق البلاد وتفشي سريع الانتشار على الصعيد الوطني ، خدمة الصحة العامة بالولايات المتحدة منشورات متداولة توصي بأن يرتدي جميع المواطنين القناع. نشر الصليب الأحمر إعلانات صحفية تشجع على استخدامها وقدم تعليمات حول كيفية بناء الأقنعة في المنزل باستخدام الشاش والخيوط القطنية. أطلقت بعض إدارات الصحة بالولاية مبادراتها الخاصة ، وأبرزها كاليفورنيا ويوتا وواشنطن.

على الصعيد الوطني ، قدمت الملصقات ارتداء القناع كواجب مدني - تم تضمين المسؤولية الاجتماعية في النسيج الاجتماعي من خلال حملة دعائية اتحادية ضخمة في زمن الحرب انطلقت في أوائل عام 1917 عندما دخلت الولايات المتحدة الحرب العظمى. سان فرانسيسكو أعلن رئيس بلدية جيمس رولف أن "الضمير والوطنية والحماية الذاتية تتطلب الامتثال الفوري والصارم" لارتداء القناع. في أوكلاند المجاورة ، صرح العمدة جون ديفي أن "من المعقول والوطني ، بغض النظر عن معتقداتنا الشخصية ، حماية مواطنينا من خلال الانضمام إلى هذه الممارسة" من ارتداء قناع.

أدرك مسؤولو الصحة أن تغيير السلوك العام جذريًا كان مهمة صعبة ، خاصة وأن الكثيرين وجدوا أقنعة غير مريحة للارتداء. يمكن أن تذهب مناشدات الوطنية إلى الآن فقط. وكما أشار أحد المسؤولين في سكرامنتو ، يجب "إجبار الناس على القيام بالأشياء التي تخدم مصلحتهم الفضلى". الصليب الأحمر صرح بصراحة أن "الرجل أو المرأة أو الطفل الذي لن يرتدي القناع الآن هو كسول خطير". فرضت العديد من المجتمعات ، وخاصة عبر الغرب ، مراسيم إلزامية. حكم البعض على scofflaws لفترات سجن قصيرة ، وتراوحت الغرامات من 5 دولارات إلى 200 دولار.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مقاومة القناع أثناء الجائحة ليست جديدةمجموعة عناوين الصحف المتعلقة بوباء الإنفلونزا العام الماضي ، شيكاغو ، إلينوي ، 1919. تشمل العناوين "غارات الشرطة على الصالونات في الحرب على الإنفلونزا" ، و "حظر التجول بالإنفلونزا" الذي سيصدر لمدينة "ساترداي نايت" و "العطس المكشوف للاعتقال". متحف شيكاغو للتاريخ / جيتي إيماجيس

وكثيرا ما كان تمرير هذه القوانين مسألة خلافية. على سبيل المثال ، استغرق الأمر عدة محاولات لضابط الصحة في سكرامنتو لإقناع مسؤولي المدينة بسن الأمر. في لوس انجليس ، تم سحقه. أدى مشروع قرار في بورتلاند ، أوريغون إلى جدل ساخن في مجلس المدينة ، مع يعلن مسؤول واحد الإجراء "استبدادي وغير دستوري" ، مضيفاً أنه "لن أكون مكبوتاً تحت أي ظرف من الظروف مثل كلب مسعور". تم رفضه.

نظر مجلس الصحة في ولاية يوتا في إصدار أمر إلزامي لقناع على مستوى الولاية لكنه قرر ضده ، مجادلة أن يأخذ المواطنون الأمن الزائف في فعالية الأقنعة ويخففوا يقظتهم. مع عودة ظهور الوباء ، طرح أوكلاند نقاشه حول أمر قناع ثان بعد أن روى العمدة بغضب اعتقاله في سكرامنتو لعدم ارتدائه قناعًا. أ وعلق الطبيب البارز في الحضور أنه "إذا ظهر رجل الكهف ... فإنه يعتقد أن المواطنين الملثمين جميعهم مجانين".

في الأماكن التي تم فيها تنفيذ أوامر القناع بنجاح ، سرعان ما أصبح عدم الامتثال والتحدي الصريح مشكلة. العديد من الشركات ، غير راغبة في إبعاد المتسوقين ، لن تمنع العملاء غير المقنعين من متاجرهم. اشتكى العمال من أن الأقنعة كانت غير مريحة للارتداء طوال اليوم. رفضت إحدى مندوبات المبيعات في دنفر لأنها قالت أن "أنفها ذهب للنوم" في كل مرة ترتدي واحدة منها. قال آخر كانت تعتقد أن "سلطة أعلى من وزارة الصحة في دنفر كانت تعتني برفاهها". مثل صحيفة محلية، أمر ارتداء الأقنعة "تم تجاهله بالكامل تقريبًا من قبل الناس ؛ في الواقع ، كان النظام سبب السعادة ". تم تعديل القاعدة لتطبيقها فقط على موصلات الترام - الذين هددوا بعد ذلك بالإضراب. تم تجنب الخروج عندما خففت المدينة الأمر مرة أخرى. تحملت دنفر ما تبقى من الوباء دون أي تدابير لحماية الصحة العامة.

موصل يمنع راكب غير مقنع من الصعود إلى الطائرةإن الاحتياطات التي تم اتخاذها خلال جائحة إنفلونزا عام 1918 لن تسمح لأي شخص بركوب سيارات الشوارع بدون قناع. هنا ، موصل يمنع راكبا غير مقنع من الصعود إلى الطائرة. أرشيف التاريخ العالمي / غيتي إيمدجز

في سياتل ، رفضت موصلات الترام ابعاد الركاب غير المقنعين. كان عدم الامتثال واسع الانتشار في أوكلاند لدرجة أن المسؤولين انتدبوا 300 متطوعًا مدنيًا في خدمة الحرب لتأمين أسماء وعناوين المخالفين حتى يمكن اتهامهم. عندما دخل أمر القناع حيز التنفيذ في سكرامنتو ، أصدر قائد الشرطة تعليمات للضباط بأن "يخرجوا إلى الشوارع ، وكلما رأيت رجلاً بدون قناع ، أدخله أو أرسله للعربة". في غضون 20 دقيقة ، غمرت مراكز الشرطة بالجناة. في سان فرانسيسكو ، كان هناك الكثير من الاعتقالات لدرجة أن قائد الشرطة حذر مسؤولي المدينة من أنه ينفد من زنزانات السجن. واضطر القضاة والضباط للعمل في وقت متأخر من الليالي وعطلات نهاية الأسبوع لإزالة القضايا المتراكمة.

يعتقد الكثير ممن تم القبض عليهم بدون أقنعة أنهم قد يفلتون من خلال تشغيل مهمة أو الانتقال إلى العمل دون أن يتم القبض عليهم. في سان فرانسيسكو ، ومع ذلك ، تحول عدم الامتثال الأولي إلى تحدٍ واسع النطاق عندما سنت المدينة قانون القناع الثاني في يناير 1919 مع ارتفاع الوباء من جديد. شجب الكثيرون ما اعتبروه انتهاكًا غير دستوري لحرياتهم المدنية. في 25 يناير 1919 ، حوالي 2,000 عضو في "رابطة مكافحة القناع" معبأة حلبة دريم لاند القديمة في المدينة لمسيرة تستنكر قانون القناع واقتراح طرق لهزيمته. وقد ضم الحضور العديد من الأطباء البارزين وعضو مجلس المشرفين في سان فرانسيسكو.

ملصق لممرضة للصليب الأحمر ترتدي قناع الشاش فوق أنفها وفمها - مع نصائح لمنع جائحة الإنفلونزا.ملصق لممرضة للصليب الأحمر ترتدي قناع الشاش فوق أنفها وفمها - مع نصائح لمنع جائحة الإنفلونزا. المكتبة الوطنية للطب / NIH

من الصعب التأكد من فعالية الأقنعة المستخدمة في عام 1918. واليوم لدينا مجموعة متزايدة من الأدلة أن أغطية الوجه القماش جيدة البناء هي أداة فعالة في إبطاء انتشار COVID-19. ومع ذلك ، يبقى أن نرى ما إذا كان الأمريكيون سيحافظون على الاستخدام الواسع لأقنعة الوجه مع استمرار تفشي الوباء الحالي. أثبتت المثل العليا الراسخة للحرية الفردية ، والافتقار إلى الرسائل المتماسكة والقيادة حول ارتداء القناع ، والمعلومات الخاطئة المنتشرة ، عوائق رئيسية حتى الآن ، على وجه التحديد عندما تتطلب الأزمة إجماعًا وامتثالًا واسع النطاق. كان هذا هو الحال بالتأكيد في العديد من المجتمعات خلال خريف عام 1918. هذا الوباء في نهاية المطاف قتل حوالي 675,000 شخص في الولايات المتحدة. نأمل أن التاريخ ليس في عملية إعادة نفسه اليوم.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

أ. ألكسندر نافارو ، مساعد مدير مركز تاريخ الطب ، جامعة ميشيغان

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
by إيما سويني وإيان والش
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

Mask Resistance During A Pandemic Isn't New – In 1918 Many Americans Were Slackers

Mask Resistance During A Pandemic Isn't New – In 1918 Many Americans Were SlackersPolicemen in Seattle, Washington, wearing masks made by the Red Cross, during the influenza pandemic, December 1918. National Archives

We have all seen the alarming headlines: Coronavirus cases are surging in 40 states, with new cases and hospitalization rates climbing at an alarming rate. Health officials have warned that the U.S. must act quickly to halt the spread – or we risk losing control over the pandemic.

There’s a clear consensus that Americans should wear masks in public and continue to practice proper social distancing. While a majority of Americans support wearing masks, widespread and consistent compliance has proven difficult to maintain in communities across the country. Demonstrators gathered outside city halls in Scottsdale, Arizona; Austin, Texas; and other cities to protest local mask mandates. Several South Carolina sheriffs have announced they will not enforce their state’s mask order.

I’ve researched the history of the 1918 pandemic extensively. At that time, with no effective vaccine or drug therapies, communities across the country instituted a host of public health measures to slow the spread of a deadly influenza epidemic: They closed schools and businesses, banned public gatherings and isolated and quarantined those who were infected. Many communities recommended or required that citizens wear face masks in public – and this, not the onerous lockdowns, drew the most ire.

Officials wearing gauze masks inspect Chicago street cleaners for the flu, 1918Officials wearing gauze masks inspect Chicago street cleaners for the flu, 1918. Bettman/Getty Images

In mid-October of 1918, amidst a raging epidemic in the Northeast and rapidly growing outbreaks nationwide, the United States Public Health Service circulated leaflets recommending that all citizens wear a mask. The Red Cross took out newspaper ads encouraging their use and offered instructions on how to construct masks at home using gauze and cotton string. Some state health departments launched their own initiatives, most notably California, Utah and Washington.

Nationwide, posters presented mask-wearing as a civic duty – social responsibility had been embedded into the social fabric by a massive wartime federal propaganda campaign launched in early 1917 when the U.S. entered the Great War. San Francisco Mayor James Rolph announced that “conscience, patriotism and self-protection demand immediate and rigid compliance” with mask wearing. In nearby Oakland, Mayor John Davie stated that “it is sensible and patriotic, no matter what our personal beliefs may be, to safeguard our fellow citizens by joining in this practice” of wearing a mask.

Health officials understood that radically changing public behavior was a difficult undertaking, especially since many found masks uncomfortable to wear. Appeals to patriotism could go only so far. As one Sacramento official noted, people “must be forced to do the things that are for their best interests.” The Red Cross bluntly stated that “the man or woman or child who will not wear a mask now is a dangerous slacker.” Numerous communities, particularly across the West, imposed mandatory ordinances. Some sentenced scofflaws to short jail terms, and fines ranged from US$5 to $200.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


mask resistance during a pandemic isn't newCollage of newspaper headlines related to the previous year’s influenza pandemic, Chicago, Illinois, 1919. Headlines include ‘Police Raid Saloons in War on Influenza,’ ‘Flu Curfew to Sound for City Saturday Night’ and ‘Open-Face Sneezers to Be Arrested.’ Chicago History Museum/Getty Images

Passing these ordinances was frequently a contentious affair. For example, it took several attempts for Sacramento’s health officer to convince city officials to enact the order. In Los Angeles, it was scuttled. A draft resolution in Portland, Oregon led to heated city council debate, with one official declaring the measure “autocratic and unconstitutional,” adding that “under no circumstances will I be muzzled like a hydrophobic dog.” It was voted down.

Utah’s board of health considered issuing a mandatory statewide mask order but decided against it, arguing that citizens would take false security in the effectiveness of masks and relax their vigilance. As the epidemic resurged, Oakland tabled its debate over a second mask order after the mayor angrily recounted his arrest in Sacramento for not wearing a mask. A prominent physician in attendance commented that “if a cave man should appear…he would think the masked citizens all lunatics.”

In places where mask orders were successfully implemented, noncompliance and outright defiance quickly became a problem. Many businesses, unwilling to turn away shoppers, wouldn’t bar unmasked customers from their stores. Workers complained that masks were too uncomfortable to wear all day. One Denver salesperson refused because she said her “nose went to sleep” every time she put one on. Another said she believed that “an authority higher than the Denver Department of Health was looking after her well-being.” As one local newspaper put it, the order to wear masks “was almost totally ignored by the people; in fact, the order was cause of mirth.” The rule was amended to apply only to streetcar conductors – who then threatened to strike. A walkout was averted when the city watered down the order yet again. Denver endured the remainder of the epidemic without any measures protecting public health.

conductor bars an unmasked passenger from boardingPrecautions taken during the 1918 flu pandemic would not allow anyone to ride street cars without a mask. Here, a conductor bars an unmasked passenger from boarding. Universal History Archive/Getty Images

In Seattle, streetcar conductors refused to turn away unmasked passengers. Noncompliance was so widespread in Oakland that officials deputized 300 War Service civilian volunteers to secure the names and addresses of violators so they could be charged. When a mask order went into effect in Sacramento, the police chief instructed officers to “Go out on the streets, and whenever you see a man without a mask, bring him in or send for the wagon.” Within 20 minutes, police stations were flooded with offenders. In San Francisco, there were so many arrests that the police chief warned city officials he was running out of jail cells. Judges and officers were forced to work late nights and weekends to clear the backlog of cases.

Many who were caught without masks thought they might get away with running an errand or commuting to work without being nabbed. In San Francisco, however, initial noncompliance turned to large-scale defiance when the city enacted a second mask ordinance in January 1919 as the epidemic spiked anew. Many decried what they viewed as an unconstitutional infringement of their civil liberties. On January 25, 1919, approximately 2,000 members of the “Anti-Mask League” packed the city’s old Dreamland Rink for a rally denouncing the mask ordinance and proposing ways to defeat it. Attendees included several prominent physicians and a member of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors.

Poster of a Red Cross nurse wearing a gauze mask over her nose and mouth – with tips to prevent the influenza pandemic.Poster of a Red Cross nurse wearing a gauze mask over her nose and mouth – with tips to prevent the influenza pandemic. The National Library of Medicine/NIH

It is difficult to ascertain the effectiveness of the masks used in 1918. Today, we have a growing body of evidence that well-constructed cloth face coverings are an effective tool in slowing the spread of COVID-19. It remains to be seen, however, whether Americans will maintain the widespread use of face masks as our current pandemic continues to unfold. Deeply entrenched ideals of individual freedom, the lack of cohesive messaging and leadership on mask wearing, and pervasive misinformation have proven to be major hindrances thus far, precisely when the crisis demands consensus and widespread compliance. This was certainly the case in many communities during the fall of 1918. That pandemic ultimately killed about 675,000 people in the U.S. Hopefully, history is not in the process of repeating itself today.The Conversation

About the Author

J. Alexander Navarro, Assistant Director, Center for the History of Medicine, University of Michigan

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…