الميكروبيوم والفيروس التاجي والطب الشرقي: توصيات لجسم وعقل سليمين

الفيروس التاجي والطب الشرقي والميكروبيوم

الطب الشرقي ليس غريبا على الأوبئة. كانت الأوبئة عاملاً مساهماً رئيسياً في تطور الأدوية التقليدية على الأقل منذ ألفي عام. هناك العديد من الأطروحات حول طبيعة مسببات الأمراض ، وكيف تغزوها وتنتقل عبر الجسم ، وكيفية علاجها حتى تتمكن من دفعها للخارج.

تمامًا كما يفعل الأطباء التقليديون والحديثون اليوم باستخدام COVID-19 ، تعلم الأطباء القدماء الطريقة الصعبة لصفات العامل الممرض ، وكيفية منعه من غزو الجسم ، وكيفية علاج الجسم إذا دخل بنجاح. في تحليل هذا الفيروس التاجي ، صنفه ممارسو الطب الصيني المتمرسون على أنه طاعون رطب بارد. ما يعنيه هذا هو أن لديه عمل مقنع ، مقيد ، لزج ، سائل ، ومانع للحيوية في الجسم.

عادة ما يُنظر إلى مسببات الأمراض على أنها إما ساخنة أو باردة في طبيعتها ، لكن عنصر الرطوبة الإضافي هذا غير عادي حقًا ، خاصة وأن الرطوبة تظهر على أنها جفاف وتؤدي إلى الحرارة في معظم الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الأعراض. يتسلل ويختبئ ، طوال الوقت يكرر ويسبب الخراب في الجهاز التنفسي والجهاز الهضمي ، ويظهر في عدد لا يحصى من الطرق وفقًا لنقاط القوة والضعف الدستورية الشخصية.

خلق بيئة داخلية أقل ملاءمة

الدستور هو تكوين العقل والجسد الفريد للشخص. بدلاً من النظر فقط إلى الميكروبات المسببة للأمراض على أنها عدو يجب استئصاله ، يدرك ممارسو الطب التقليدي أن هناك بعض البيئات الأكثر قابلية للسكن لبعض الميكروبات. ما نريد القيام به هو فهم طبيعة العامل الممرض ومن ثم خلق بيئة داخلية أقل قابلية للسكن بناءً على ما نعرفه عنه وما يجعله يتكرر أو يزدهر. في هذه الحالة ، تكون البيئة الرطبة الأقل قوة هي الأمثل لهذا الفيروس لإحداث دمار على جسم الشخص. ما نريد القيام به لمنعه هو تقوية أنفسنا وحيويتنا ، وفي نفس الوقت منع تراكم الرطوبة وإزالة أي رطوبة موجودة في النظام.

في الأيورفيدا ، يعرف هذا الرطوبة باسم يحب أو السمية. عندما تبرز لسانك في المرآة ، يمكنك معرفة ما إذا كان هناك رطوبة في نظامك من خلال ملاحظة ما إذا كان لسانك كبيرًا مقارنة بحجم فمك ، وإذا كان هناك أبيض سميك ، أو أصفر سميك ، أو كل الطلاء فوق عليه. يجب أن يكون اللسان الصحي لونه أحمر ورديًا يمكن رؤيته من خلال طلاء أبيض رفيع لا يغطي الجوانب. إذا كان يغطي الجوانب ، فهناك رطوبة أو أما في النظام. إذا كان سميكًا جدًا بحيث لا يمكنك رؤية جسم اللسان من خلاله ، فهناك رطوبة. إذن ما الذي يمكننا القيام به للقضاء على الرطوبة التي يحبها هذا العامل الرطب البارد؟

القضاء على البيئة المفضلة للممرض

يفهم ممارسو الطب الشرقي أن جسم الإنسان يعمل وفقًا لنفس القواعد مثل بقية الوجود. وهي مكونة من نفس المواد مثل باقي المادة ، وهي تحتوي على مزيج فريد من البيئات والكائنات الحية التي تعيش في النظام البيئي الجماعي للفرد. هذه الكائنات التي تقع في تعريفات اجنى, برانا, qi، أو الطحال تشي، هي ما نعرفه الآن الميكروبات المفيدة التي تتكون منها ميكروبات الجسم. يلعبون دورًا محوريًا في كل من المناعة والاستجابة الالتهابية ، وعلى نفس القدر من الأهمية في هذا الوقت من عدم اليقين ، في النظرة العقلية والعاطفية الصحية من خلال محور الأمعاء الدماغية.

لحسن الحظ ، تم وضع خريطة الطريق لفهم وموازنة أنظمتنا البيئية الداخلية بشكل واضح بالنسبة لنا لنتبعها حتى يتسنى لنا من خلال زراعة الميكروبات لدينا ، تعزيز مقاومتنا للمسببات المرضية وتصبح بيئات أقل قابلية للسكن حتى تتأقلم مع الإجهاد بشكل أفضل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الرطوبة في الجسم

عندما تكون الرطوبة وفيرة في الجسم، هناك ركود يعزز اختلال التوازن الميكروبي ، أو ما يسمى dysbiosis. يرتبط dysbiosis الميكروبي إلى حد كبير بكل حالة مرض تمت دراستها ولها علاقة بظروف المناعة الذاتية والمزمنة وانخفاض تحمل الإجهاد.

نحن نعلم أن الإجهاد له تأثير ضعيف على مناعتنا ، وهذا يحدث جزئيًا من خلال علاقة الجهاز المناعي بالميكروبات المفيدة في الأمعاء. ما نريد القيام به الآن هو اتباع التوصيات الغذائية ونمط الحياة التي وضعتها لنا تقاليد العلاج الشرقية حتى نتمكن من تقليل الرطوبة في النظام ، وتصحيح dysbiosis ، وتجربة حيوية أكبر.

توصيات لصحة الجسم والعقل

واحدة من التوصيات الأساسية لصحة الجسم والعقل هو تجنب الأكل أثناء الانزعاج. قبل أن تأكل ، اجلس للحظة ، خذ أنفاسًا قليلة ، واستقر في مقعدك. فكر في الرحابة في الداخل واسمح بإحساس السلام بالظهور. قد يكون هذا عابرًا أو جزئيًا فقط ، ولكن على الأقل ستهدأ بشكل كافٍ لاستقلاب الوجبة بشكل صحيح.

أظهرت الدراسات أن تناول الطعام أثناء الانزعاج أو الخجل لما يأكله المرء يقلل بشكل كبير من كفاءة الجهاز الهضمي. لا شك أن هذا يحدث جزئياً بسبب تأثير القتال أو الهروب على الميكروبيوم.

عندما نأكل عندما نكون غاضبين أو خائفين ، نقول للجسد أن يفعل شيئًا آخر غير هضم الطعام وأنه قد يكون في خطر. هذا يغير تماما علم وظائف الأعضاء. تتمثل إحدى طرق الإصابة بالرطوبة في الجسم نتيجة قصور الجهاز الهضمي ، والذي يحدث بسهولة نتيجة لعادات الأكل المزعجة المزمنة وكذلك الإفراط في تناول الطعام.

ما الوقت الذي نأكله مهم

الميكروبات في الأمعاء تستقلب بشكل أفضل في وقت مبكر من اليوم. تصر التقاليد الشرقية على تناول أكبر وجبة لتناول الإفطار أو الغداء ، ووجبة أخف في وقت العشاء. يجب الانتهاء من العشاء عند الغسق ، أو الساعة 8 مساءً على الأكثر.

بعد حلول الظلام ، يدخل الجسم في وضع تخزين الدهون ويصبح أكثر مقاومة للأنسولين. هذا ليس مثاليًا في عملية التمثيل الغذائي ، لذا لا ينبغي أن يكون تناول الطعام بعد الساعة 8 مساءً معتادًا. يُنظر إليه على أنه شكل من أشكال إيذاء النفس لفرض ضرائب على الكائنات التي تعيش في داخلنا عن طريق تناول وجبات ثقيلة في وقت متأخر من الليل.

ما نأكله مهم

بالإضافة إلى كيفية تناول الطعام ، فإن ما نأكله مهم لصحة العقل والجسد والميكروبيوم. ربما سمع الكثير منكم عن البروبيوتيك. البروبيوتيك هي مكملات تحتوي على ميكروبات مفيدة مفيدة يأخذها الناس لتهدئة العقل وتحسين وظيفة الجهاز الهضمي وموازنة المناعة وتقليل الالتهاب. الشيء هو أننا مصانع البروبيوتيك.

ما أدركه القدماء هو أن هناك أطعمة وأعشاب طبية تساعد في تشكيل البيئة داخل الجسم وفي داخله بحيث يكون للميكروبات المفيدة الشخصية الخاصة بنا منزل جيد وأطعمة مفضلة لتناولها. بمجرد أن يتمكنوا من تناول الطعام بشكل جيد ، يمكنهم صنع منتجات يتم توزيعها في جميع أنحاء الجسم. هذه المنتجات ، تسمى المستقلبات ، تفعل كل شيء من إطعام خلايانا البشرية إلى تقليل الالتهاب إلى تنظيم هرموناتنا. بدون مزيج صحي متنوع من الميكروبات المفيدة السعيدة لن نشعر بتحسن عاطفيًا أو عقليًا أو جسديًا.

الألياف التي نتناولها مهمة

نظام غذائي غني بالبريبايوتك ، أو غذاء للميكروبيوم، هو مفتاح صحتنا الجيدة. أيضا ، مجموعة من الأطعمة الليفية مثالية. هذا يعني أنه إذا لم يكن هناك سبب طبي قوي للامتناع عن مجموعة طعام ، فلا يجب أن نفعل ذلك.

تحتوي جميع الكربوهيدرات على الألياف ، ولكن الكربوهيدرات المكررة والمعالجة مثل السكر الأبيض والدقيق الأبيض يمكن أن تولد رطوبة في النظام. ما نريد القيام به هو دمج مجموعة متنوعة من الحبوب الكاملة والفاصوليا والبقوليات والفواكه الكاملة والبذور والمكسرات والخضروات المطبوخة في وجبات أسبوعية.

لا يزال بإمكانك تناول اللحوم باعتدال ، لكن حاول تناول ثلاثين نوعًا من الأطعمة النباتية على الأقل كل أسبوع. هذا يساعد على تعزيز ميكروبيوم صحي ومتنوع ولا يمكن أن يؤدي فقط إلى صحة أفضل ولكن شعور أكبر بالرفاهية.

هناك العديد من الممارسات الطبيعية الأخرى التي تساعد على تهدئة العقل ، وتغذية الجسم ، ودعم قدرة الجسم على إزالة السموم من نفسه ، وزيادة صحة الجهاز التنفسي ، وتعزيز وظائف المناعة. أناقش الكثير منهم في دليل الطب الصيني والأيورفيدا: الممارسة المتكاملة للتقاليد الشفاء القديمة. لمزيد من المعلومات حول علاج الأمعاء وخلق بيئة داخلية مثالية للميكروبات المفيدة ، راجع كتابي الجديد زراعة الميكروبيوم الخاص بك: الممارسات الايورفيدا والصينية من أجل الأمعاء الصحية والعقل الواضح.

© 2020 by Bridgette Shea.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
فنون الشفاء الصحافة. www.InnerTraditions.com

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

دليل الطب الصيني والأيورفيدا: الممارسة المتكاملة للتقاليد الشفاء القديمة
بواسطة Bridgette Shea L.Ac. MAcOM

دليل الطب الصيني والأيورفيدا: ممارسة متكاملة لتقاليد الشفاء القديمة بواسطة بريدجيت شيا L.Ac. MAcOMأداة مرجعية شاملة لتحقيق أقصى قدر من الشفاء للعقل والجسم والروح من خلال التآزر الكلي للطب الصيني والأيورفيدا. * تفاصيل المبادئ الأساسية لكل تقليد والمفاهيم العديدة التي يتشاركون فيها ، مثل تشي وبرانا ، وخطوط الطول والنادي ، ومراكز الطاقة والشاكرات * توفر أدوات للتقييم الذاتي بما في ذلك التمهيدي على تشخيص اللسان والعقلية والعاطفية ، الاستبيان الدستوري * يقدم تمارين التنفس ، والنظام الغذائي ، والتوصيات العشبية ، وأدلة لإزالة السموم ، بما في ذلك التطهير الآمن واللطيف في المنزل

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب غلاف فني (أو تنزيل إصدار eTextbook)

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

عن المؤلف

Bridgette Shea، L.Ac.، MAcOMBridgette Shea ، L.Ac ، MAcOM ، هو أخصائي علاج بالوخز ، ممارس للطب الصيني ، ومعلم الأيورفيدا الذي تمارس ممارسته الخاصة دمج الطب الصيني والايورفيدا. تكتب وتعلِّم ورش عمل حول الأيورفيدا ، وطب الطاقة ، والتنفس الصحي. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في https://www.bridgetteshea.com/

فيديو / مقابلة مع بريدجيت شيا: Covid 19 تحديث

فيديو / مقابلة مع بريدجيت شيا: الطب الصيني والأيورفيدا

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
by كاثرين موفيت برادفورد وآخرون
هل يجب أن يرسلك طبيبك للتنزه في الحديقة؟
هل يجب أن يرسلك طبيبك للتنزه في الحديقة؟
by آنا يورجنسن وجيك م. روبنسون

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

The Microbiome, Coronavirus, and Eastern Medicine: Recommendations For A Healthy Body and Mind

Coronavirus, Eastern Medicine, and the Microbiome

Eastern medicine is no stranger to plagues. Epidemics have been a major contributing factor to the evolution of traditional medicines for at least the last two thousand years. There are numerous treatises on the nature of pathogens, how they invade and travel through the body, and how to treat the body so it can push them back out.

Just as traditional and modern doctors are doing today with COVID-19, ancient doctors learned the hard way the qualities of a pathogen, how to prevent it from invading the body, and how to treat the body if it does successfully enter. In analyzing this coronavirus, experienced Chinese medicine practitioners have classified it as a cold damp plague. What this means is that it has a congealing, constricting, sticky, fluid, and vitality-blocking action in the body.

Usually pathogens are looked at as being either hot or cold in nature, but this added element of dampness is truly unusual, especially since the dampness is presenting as dryness and leading to heat in most people who develop symptoms. It sneaks in and hides out, all the while replicating and wreaking havoc over the respiratory and digestive systems, manifesting in a myriad of ways according to one’s personal constitutional strengths and weaknesses.

Creating A Less Habitable Internal Environment

Constitution is a person’s unique mind-body make-up. Instead of only viewing a pathogenic microbe as an enemy to be eradicated, traditional medicine practitioners recognize that there are some environments that are more habitable for some microbes. What we want to do is understand the nature of a pathogen and then create an internal environment that is less habitable for it based on what we know about it and what makes it replicate or thrive. In this case, a less robust, damp environment is optimal for this virus to wreak havoc over a person’s body. What we want to do to prevent it is to strengthen ourselves, our vitality, while at the same time preventing the accumulation of dampness and eradicating any existing damp in the system.

In Ayurveda, this dampness is known as ama or toxicity. When you stick out your tongue in the mirror, you can see if there is damp in your system by noting if your tongue is big compared to the size of your mouth, and if there’s a thick white, thick yellow, or all over coating on it. A healthy tongue should be a pinkish red color that is visible through a thin white coating that doesn’t cover the sides. If it does cover the sides, there is dampness or ama present in the system. If it is so thick that you can’t see the body of the tongue through it, there is dampness. So what can we do to eradicate the dampness that this cold damp pathogen likes to proliferate in?

Eradicating The Pathogen's Preferred Environment

Eastern medicine practitioners understand that the human body operates according to the same rules as the rest of existence. It is made up of the same materials as the rest of matter, and it harbors a unique mix of environments and living beings that inhabit an individual’s collective ecosystem. These beings, that fall into definitions of agni, prana, qi, or spleen qi, are what we now know to be the beneficial microbes that make up the microbiomes of the body. They play a pivotal role in both immunity and inflammatory response and, equally as important in this time of uncertainty, in a healthy mental and emotional outlook through the gut-brain axis.

Thankfully, the roadmap to understanding and balancing our internal ecosystems has been distinctly laid out for us to follow so that by cultivating our microbiomes, we can strengthen our resistance to pathogens and become less habitable environments for them to take hold while better coping with stress.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Dampness In The Body

When dampness is in abundant in the body, there is a stagnancy that fosters microbial imbalance, or what is called dysbiosis. Microbial dysbiosis is linked to pretty much every disease state that’s been studied and has a relationship to chronic and autoimmune conditions and decreased stress tolerance.

We know that stress has a weakening effect on our immunity, and this happens in part through the immune system’s relationship to the beneficial microbes in the gut. What we want to do right now is follow the dietary and lifestyle recommendations that have been laid out for us by Eastern healing traditions so that we may minimize dampness in the system, correct dysbiosis, and experience greater vitality.

Recommendations For A Healthy Body and Mind

One of the primary recommendations for a healthy body and mind is to avoid eating while upset. Before you eat, sit for a moment, take a few breaths, and settle into your seat. Reflect on the spaciousness within and allow a sense of peace to surface. This may be fleeting or only partial, but at least you’ll have calmed enough to properly metabolize the meal.

Studies have shown that eating while upset or shaming oneself for what one eats dramatically reduces the digestive efficiency. No doubt this happens in part by the effect of fight-or-flight on the microbiome.

When we eat while we’re angry or fearful, we are telling the body to do something other than digest food and that it may be in danger. This completely changes the physiology. One way ama or dampness forms in the body is as a result of digestive insufficiency, which easily occurs as a result of chronic upset eating habits as well as overeating.

What Time We Eat Is Important

The microbes in the gut metabolize best in the early part of the day. Eastern traditions insist on the largest meal being eaten for breakfast or lunch, and a lighter meal at dinnertime. Dinner should be finished by dusk, or at 8 pm the absolute latest.

After dark, the body goes into fat-storing mode and becomes more insulin resistant. This is not ideal metabolically, so eating after 8 pm should not be habitual. It is looked at as a form of self-harm to unnecessarily tax the beings that live within us by eating heavy meals late at night.

What We Eat Is Important

In addition to how we eat, what we eat is important to the health of the mind, body, and microbiome. Many of you have probably heard of probiotics. Probiotics are supplements that contain live beneficial microbes that people take in order to calm the mind, improve digestive function, balance immunity, and reduce inflammation. The thing is, we are probiotic factories.

What the ancients recognized is that there are foods and medicinal herbs that help shape the environment on and in the body so that our own personal beneficial microbes have a good home and their favorite foods to eat. Once they are able to nestle in and eat well, they can make products that are distributed all over the body. These products, called metabolites, do everything from feeding our own human cells to decreasing inflammation to regulating our hormones. Without a diverse, healthy mix of happy beneficial microbes we won’t feel good emotionally,  mentally, or physically.

The Fiber We Eat Is Important

A diet rich in prebiotic, or food for the microbiome, is key to our good health. Also, a range of fibrous foods is ideal. This means that if there is no solid medical reason for abstaining from a food group, we shouldn’t do it.

All carbohydrates contain fiber, but refined and processed carbohydrates like white sugar and white flour can generate dampness in the system. What we want to do is incorporate a variety of whole grains, beans, legumes, whole fruits, seeds, nuts, and cooked vegetables into weekly meals.

You can still eat meat in moderation, but try to eat at least thirty different plant foods each week. This helps foster a healthy, diverse microbiome and can not only lead to better health but a greater sense of well-being.

There are many other natural practices that help to soothe the mind, nourish the body, support the body’s ability to detoxify itself, increase respiratory health, and enhance immune function. I discuss many of them in Handbook of Chinese Medicine and Ayurveda: An Integrated Practice of Ancient Healing Traditions. For more information on healing the gut and creating an optimal internal environment for beneficial microbes, check out my new book Cultivating Your Microbiome: Ayurvedic and Chinese Practices for a Healthy Gut and a Clear Mind.

©2020 by Bridgette Shea.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Healing Arts Press. www.InnerTraditions.com
 

Book by this Author

Handbook of Chinese Medicine and Ayurveda: An Integrated Practice of Ancient Healing Traditions
by Bridgette Shea L.Ac. MAcOM

Handbook of Chinese Medicine and Ayurveda: An Integrated Practice of Ancient Healing Traditions by Bridgette Shea L.Ac. MAcOMA comprehensive reference tool for maximizing healing of the mind, body, and spirit through a holistic synergy of Chinese medicine and Ayurveda. * Details the foundational principles of each tradition and the many concepts they share, such as qi and prana, meridians and nadis, and energy centers and chakras * Provides tools for self-assessment including a primer on tongue diagnosis and a mental, emotional, and physical constitutional questionnaire * Offers breathing exercises, dietary regimens, herbal recommendations, and guides for detoxification, including safe and gentle at-home cleansing

Click here for more info and/or to order this hardcover book  (or download the eTextbook edition)

Books by this Author

About the Author

Bridgette Shea, L.Ac., MAcOMBridgette Shea, L.Ac., MAcOM, is an acupuncturist, Chinese medicine practitioner, and Ayurveda educator whose private practice is an integration of Chinese and Ayurvedic medicine. She writes and teaches workshops on Ayurveda, energy medicine, and healthy breathing. Visit her website at https://www.bridgetteshea.com/

Video/Interview with Bridgette Shea: Covid 19 Update

Video/Interview with Bridgette Shea: Chinese Medicine and Ayurveda

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…