Les intervenants 9 / 11 montrent un lien entre le TSPT et le déclin cognitif

Les intervenants 9 / 11 montrent un lien entre le TSPT et le déclin cognitif

Il existe un lien entre le syndrome de stress post-traumatique et l'apparition d'une déficience cognitive légère chez les répondants 9 / 11 présents au World Trade Center, révèle une nouvelle étude sur les travailleurs de 1,800.

L'étude a également révélé que des expositions de plus longue durée à Ground Zero entraînaient une augmentation du risque de déficience cognitive chez les répondeurs porteurs d'un gène spécifique associé à la démence.

Les résultats s'appuient sur une précédente étude pilote dirigé par Sean Clouston, professeur agrégé au département de médecine familiale et de médecine préventive du programme en santé publique de l'Université Stony Brook et par des collègues de la Renaissance School of Medicine.

Cette étude a analysé la santé cognitive des intervenants traités et surveillés en ce qui concerne leurs problèmes de santé dans le cadre du programme de santé et de bien-être du Centre de commerce international Stony Brook. Chacun avait des capacités cognitives normales au départ dans 2014 et 2015, suivies par des tests ultérieurs du déclin cognitif.

«L'un des aspects les plus préoccupants de nos résultats est le fait que nous avons constaté qu'une partie importante des répondants avait une nouvelle déficience cognitive alors que beaucoup d'entre eux étaient normaux sur le plan cognitif au cours des dernières années», a déclaré Clouston.

L’âge moyen des répondants n’était que de 53 au moment du test de référence lorsque tous avaient des capacités cognitives et une rétention normales pour leur âge. Selon l'étude, plus de 14% des répondants présentaient une déficience cognitive légère (MCI) lors des tests de suivi postérieurs à l'inclusion. Le risque d'apparition d'une MCI augmentait la fréquence de traitement 2.6 chez les patients présentant une sévérité plus sévère des symptômes du syndrome de stress post-traumatique (SSPT).

Les chercheurs ont effectué des tests permettant de mesurer le MCI chez les répondants, conformément à la définition du MCI donnée par l'Association nationale du vieillissement et de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Pour éviter des biais de test et de test à nouveau susceptibles de faire varier les résultats des tests neuropsychologiques, les chercheurs ont utilisé d'autres versions des tests à chaque visite de bureau.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Sur la base d’échantillons de sang, les chercheurs ont également étudié l’incidence de la MCI chez les personnes porteuses de Apoliopoprotein-e4, associé à un risque accru de démence et à un marqueur de la maladie d’Alzheimer. Ils ont découvert que les porteurs du gène qui avaient fait de longues expositions sur le pieu ou la fosse à Ground Zero présentaient également des taux plus élevés de MCI récemment expérimentés.

Clouston souligne que les recherches futures sur le MCI et la démence précoce possible dans 9 / 11 répondeurs devraient se concentrer sur les risques multifactoriels, tels que la gravité des symptômes d’ESPT et la présence d’un autre facteur de risque de démence non lié à l’expérience du patient.

«Cette étude sous-tend la preuve de plus en plus apparente que le SSPT n'est pas simplement une affection psychologique, mais peut également avoir des effets pathologiques importants sur le cerveau et le corps», déclare le coauteur Benjamin Luft, directeur du programme de santé et de bien-être du World Trade Center du Stony Brook et responsable clinique de l'étude, qui apparaît dans Alzheimer et démence: diagnostic, évaluation et surveillance des maladies.

Les travaux ont été financés par l'Institut national du vieillissement de l'Institut national de la santé et l'Institut national de la sécurité et de la santé au travail.

La source: Stony Brook University

9/11 Responders Show Link Between PTSD And Cognitive Decline

9/11 Responders Show Link Between PTSD And Cognitive Decline

There’s a connection between post-traumatic stress disorder and the onset of mild cognitive impairment in 9/11 responders who were at the World Trade Center, a new study of 1,800 workers shows.

The study also finds that longer duration exposures working at Ground Zero led to an increased an increased risk of cognitive impairment in responders who carry a specific gene associated with dementia.

The findings build on a previous pilot study led by Sean Clouston, associate professor in the family population and preventive medicine department in the Program in Public Health at Stony Brook University, and colleagues at the Renaissance School of Medicine.

This study analyzed the cognitive health of responders treated and monitored for their health concerns at the Stony Brook World Trade Center Health and Wellness Program. Each had normal cognitive capacities at baseline in 2014 and 2015 followed by subsequent testing for cognitive decline.

“One of the most concerning aspects of our findings is that we found a significant portion of responders have new onset cognitive impairment when many of them were cognitively normal within just the past few years,” Clouston says.

The average age of the responders was only 53 years at baseline testing when all had normal cognitive abilities and retention for their age. More than 14% of the responders had mild cognitive impairment (MCI) at follow-up testing post baseline, according to the study. The risk of MCI onset increased 2.6 times among those who had higher post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptom severity.

Researchers completed tests used to gauge MCI in responders in a manner consistent with the National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer’s Association definition of MCI. To avoid test and re-test biases that could vary neuropsychological testing results, researchers used alternate versions of the tests at each office visit.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Based on blood samples, the researchers also looked at the incidence of MCI in individuals who carry Apoliopoprotein-e4, which is associated with increased risks of dementia and is a marker for Alzheimer’s disease. They found that those who had the gene and had experienced long exposures working on the pile or pit at Ground Zero also had higher levels of newly experienced MCI.

Clouston emphasizes that future research regarding MCI and possible early dementia in 9/11 responders should focus on multifactorial risks, such as severity of PTSD symptoms and having one more other risk factors for dementia not related to their responder experience.

“This study underlies the increasingly apparent evidence that PTSD is not merely a psychological condition but also can have significant pathological effects on the brain and body,” says coauthor Benjamin Luft, director of the Stony Brook World Trade Center Health and Wellness Program and clinical lead of the study, which appears in Alzheimer’s & Dementia: Diagnosis, Assessment, and Disease Monitoring.

The National Institute of Health’s National Institute on Aging and the National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health funded the work.

Source: Stony Brook University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…