9 / 11-Responder zeigen den Zusammenhang zwischen PTBS und kognitiver Abnahme

9 / 11-Responder zeigen den Zusammenhang zwischen PTBS und kognitiver Abnahme

Es gibt einen Zusammenhang zwischen einer posttraumatischen Belastungsstörung und dem Auftreten einer leichten kognitiven Beeinträchtigung bei 9 / 11-Respondern, die sich im World Trade Center befanden, wie eine neue Studie von 1,800-Mitarbeitern zeigt.

Die Studie ergab auch, dass Expositionen über einen längeren Zeitraum bei Ground Zero zu einem erhöhten Risiko für kognitive Beeinträchtigungen bei Respondern führten, die ein mit Demenz assoziiertes spezifisches Gen tragen.

Die Ergebnisse bauen auf einem früheren auf Pilotstudie Unter der Leitung von Sean Clouston, außerordentlicher Professor für Familien- und Präventivmedizin im Programm für öffentliche Gesundheit an der Stony Brook University, und Kollegen an der Renaissance School of Medicine.

Diese Studie analysierte die kognitive Gesundheit von Respondern, die im Rahmen des Gesundheits- und Wellnessprogramms des Stony Brook World Trade Centers behandelt und auf ihre gesundheitlichen Bedenken hin überwacht wurden. Jeder hatte zu Studienbeginn normale kognitive Kapazitäten in 2014 und 2015, gefolgt von anschließenden Tests auf kognitive Abnahme.

"Einer der besorgniserregendsten Aspekte unserer Ergebnisse ist, dass wir festgestellt haben, dass ein erheblicher Teil der Responder eine neu auftretende kognitive Beeinträchtigung aufweist, wenn viele von ihnen innerhalb der letzten Jahre kognitiv normal waren", sagt Clouston.

Das Durchschnittsalter der Responder betrug bei den Basistests nur 53 Jahre, wenn alle über normale kognitive Fähigkeiten und eine Altersretention verfügten. Laut der Studie hatten mehr als 14% der Responder eine leichte kognitive Beeinträchtigung (MCI) bei der Nachuntersuchung nach Studienbeginn. Das Risiko eines MCI-Auftretens erhöhte die 2.6-Zeiten bei Personen mit einem höheren Schweregrad der Symptome einer posttraumatischen Belastungsstörung (PTBS).

Die Forscher absolvierten Tests zur Messung des MCI bei Respondern in Übereinstimmung mit der Definition des MCI der National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer Association. Um Vorspannungen beim Testen und erneuten Testen zu vermeiden, die zu unterschiedlichen Ergebnissen der neuropsychologischen Tests führen können, verwendeten die Forscher bei jedem Bürobesuch alternative Versionen der Tests.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Anhand von Blutproben untersuchten die Forscher auch die Inzidenz von MCI bei Personen, die Apoliopoprotein-e4 tragen, was mit einem erhöhten Risiko für Demenz einhergeht und ein Marker für die Alzheimer-Krankheit ist. Sie stellten fest, dass diejenigen, die über das Gen verfügten und Langzeitbelichtungen am Haufen oder in der Grube von Ground Zero ausgesetzt waren, auch einen höheren Gehalt an neu erfahrenen MCI aufwiesen.

Clouston betont, dass die zukünftige Forschung in Bezug auf MCI und mögliche frühe Demenz in 9 / 11-Responder sollten sich auf multifaktorielle Risiken konzentrieren, wie die Schwere der PTBS-Symptome und einen weiteren Risikofaktor für Demenz, der nicht mit der Erfahrung des Ansprechers zusammenhängt.

"Diese Studie untermauert den zunehmend offensichtlichen Beweis, dass PTBS nicht nur eine psychische Erkrankung ist, sondern auch signifikante pathologische Auswirkungen auf Gehirn und Körper haben kann", sagt Co-Autor Benjamin Luft, Direktor des Gesundheits- und Wellnessprogramms des Stony Brook World Trade Centers und klinischer Leiter der Studie, die in erscheint Alzheimer & Demenz: Diagnose, Bewertung und Krankheitsüberwachung.

Das National Institute of Health des National Institute on Aging und das National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health finanzierten die Arbeit.

Die Quelle für diesen Artikel ist aus Stony Brook University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

9/11 Responders Show Link Between PTSD And Cognitive Decline

9/11 Responders Show Link Between PTSD And Cognitive Decline

There’s a connection between post-traumatic stress disorder and the onset of mild cognitive impairment in 9/11 responders who were at the World Trade Center, a new study of 1,800 workers shows.

The study also finds that longer duration exposures working at Ground Zero led to an increased an increased risk of cognitive impairment in responders who carry a specific gene associated with dementia.

The findings build on a previous pilot study led by Sean Clouston, associate professor in the family population and preventive medicine department in the Program in Public Health at Stony Brook University, and colleagues at the Renaissance School of Medicine.

This study analyzed the cognitive health of responders treated and monitored for their health concerns at the Stony Brook World Trade Center Health and Wellness Program. Each had normal cognitive capacities at baseline in 2014 and 2015 followed by subsequent testing for cognitive decline.

“One of the most concerning aspects of our findings is that we found a significant portion of responders have new onset cognitive impairment when many of them were cognitively normal within just the past few years,” Clouston says.

The average age of the responders was only 53 years at baseline testing when all had normal cognitive abilities and retention for their age. More than 14% of the responders had mild cognitive impairment (MCI) at follow-up testing post baseline, according to the study. The risk of MCI onset increased 2.6 times among those who had higher post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptom severity.

Researchers completed tests used to gauge MCI in responders in a manner consistent with the National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer’s Association definition of MCI. To avoid test and re-test biases that could vary neuropsychological testing results, researchers used alternate versions of the tests at each office visit.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Based on blood samples, the researchers also looked at the incidence of MCI in individuals who carry Apoliopoprotein-e4, which is associated with increased risks of dementia and is a marker for Alzheimer’s disease. They found that those who had the gene and had experienced long exposures working on the pile or pit at Ground Zero also had higher levels of newly experienced MCI.

Clouston emphasizes that future research regarding MCI and possible early dementia in 9/11 responders should focus on multifactorial risks, such as severity of PTSD symptoms and having one more other risk factors for dementia not related to their responder experience.

“This study underlies the increasingly apparent evidence that PTSD is not merely a psychological condition but also can have significant pathological effects on the brain and body,” says coauthor Benjamin Luft, director of the Stony Brook World Trade Center Health and Wellness Program and clinical lead of the study, which appears in Alzheimer’s & Dementia: Diagnosis, Assessment, and Disease Monitoring.

The National Institute of Health’s National Institute on Aging and the National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health funded the work.

Source: Stony Brook University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…