يظهر المستجيبون 9 / 11 الرابط بين PTSD والانخفاض المعرفي

يظهر المستجيبون 9 / 11 الرابط بين PTSD والانخفاض المعرفي

هناك دراسة بين اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة وظهور ضعف الإدراك المعتدل لدى المستجيبين 9 / 11 الذين كانوا في مركز التجارة العالمي ، حسبما أظهرت دراسة جديدة لعمال 1,800.

ووجدت الدراسة أيضًا أن التعرض لمدة أطول أثناء العمل في جراوند زيرو أدى إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بضعف الإدراك لدى المستجيبين الذين يحملون جينًا محددًا مرتبطًا بالخرف.

النتائج بناء على السابق دراسة الطيار بقيادة شون كلوستون ، أستاذ مشارك في قسم الأسرة والطب الوقائي في برنامج الصحة العامة بجامعة ستوني بروك ، وزملاء في كلية النهضة للطب.

حللت هذه الدراسة الصحة المعرفية للمستجيبين الذين عولجوا ورصدوا لمخاوفهم الصحية في برنامج الصحة والعافية بمركز ستوني بروك التجاري العالمي. كان لكل منهما القدرات المعرفية العادية في الأساس في 2014 و 2015 متبوعًا باختبار لاحق للهبوط المعرفي.

يقول كلوستون: "أحد الجوانب الأكثر أهمية في نتائجنا هو أننا وجدنا أن جزءًا كبيرًا من المستجيبين يعانون من ضعف إدراكي جديد عندما كان الكثير منهم طبيعيين إدراكيًا خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية فقط".

كان متوسط ​​عمر المستجيبين 53 سنوات فقط في اختبار خط الأساس عندما كان جميعهم يتمتعون بقدرات معرفية طبيعية والاحتفاظ بهم لسنهم. أكثر من 14٪ من المستجيبين يعانون من ضعف إدراكي معتدل (MCI) في مرحلة ما بعد اختبار المتابعة الأساسي ، وفقًا للدراسة. زاد خطر ظهور MCI مرات 2.6 بين أولئك الذين عانوا من شدة أعراض اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة (PTSD).

أكمل الباحثون الاختبارات المستخدمة لقياس MCI في المستجيبين بطريقة تتفق مع تعريف الرابطة الوطنية للشيخوخة ومرض الزهايمر من MCI. لتجنب الاختبار وإعادة اختبار التحيزات التي يمكن أن تختلف نتائج الاختبارات العصبية والنفسية ، استخدم الباحثون نسخًا بديلة من الاختبارات في كل زيارة مكتبية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


واستنادا إلى عينات الدم ، درس الباحثون أيضا حدوث MCI في الأفراد الذين يحملون Apoliopoprotein-e4 ، والذي يرتبط بزيادة مخاطر الإصابة بالخرف وهو مؤشر لمرض الزهايمر. ووجد الباحثون أن أولئك الذين لديهم الجين وتعرضوا لمخاطر طويلة يعملون على الكومة أو الحفرة في Ground Zero لديهم أيضًا مستويات أعلى من MCI من ذوي الخبرة حديثًا.

يشدد كلوستون على أن الأبحاث المستقبلية المتعلقة بـ MCI والخرف المبكر المحتمل في المستجيبين 9 / 11 يجب أن تركز على المخاطر متعددة العوامل ، مثل شدة أعراض اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة وتسبب أحد عوامل الخطر الأخرى للخرف غير المرتبطة بتجربة المستجيب.

يقول المؤلف المشارك بنجامين لوفت ، مدير برنامج الصحة والعافية بمركز ستوني بروك التجاري العالمي والرصاص السريري: "تؤكد هذه الدراسة على الأدلة الواضحة بشكل متزايد على أن اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة ليس مجرد حالة نفسية ، بل يمكن أن يكون له أيضًا آثار مرضية كبيرة على الدماغ والجسم". من الدراسة ، والتي تظهر في مرض الزهايمر والخرف: التشخيص والتقييم ومراقبة الأمراض.

قام المعهد الوطني للصحة والمعهد الوطني للشيخوخة والمعهد الوطني للسلامة والصحة المهنية بتمويل العمل.

مصدر هذا المقال هو من جامعة ستوني بروك

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

9/11 Responders Show Link Between PTSD And Cognitive Decline

9/11 Responders Show Link Between PTSD And Cognitive Decline

There’s a connection between post-traumatic stress disorder and the onset of mild cognitive impairment in 9/11 responders who were at the World Trade Center, a new study of 1,800 workers shows.

The study also finds that longer duration exposures working at Ground Zero led to an increased an increased risk of cognitive impairment in responders who carry a specific gene associated with dementia.

The findings build on a previous pilot study led by Sean Clouston, associate professor in the family population and preventive medicine department in the Program in Public Health at Stony Brook University, and colleagues at the Renaissance School of Medicine.

This study analyzed the cognitive health of responders treated and monitored for their health concerns at the Stony Brook World Trade Center Health and Wellness Program. Each had normal cognitive capacities at baseline in 2014 and 2015 followed by subsequent testing for cognitive decline.

“One of the most concerning aspects of our findings is that we found a significant portion of responders have new onset cognitive impairment when many of them were cognitively normal within just the past few years,” Clouston says.

The average age of the responders was only 53 years at baseline testing when all had normal cognitive abilities and retention for their age. More than 14% of the responders had mild cognitive impairment (MCI) at follow-up testing post baseline, according to the study. The risk of MCI onset increased 2.6 times among those who had higher post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) symptom severity.

Researchers completed tests used to gauge MCI in responders in a manner consistent with the National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer’s Association definition of MCI. To avoid test and re-test biases that could vary neuropsychological testing results, researchers used alternate versions of the tests at each office visit.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Based on blood samples, the researchers also looked at the incidence of MCI in individuals who carry Apoliopoprotein-e4, which is associated with increased risks of dementia and is a marker for Alzheimer’s disease. They found that those who had the gene and had experienced long exposures working on the pile or pit at Ground Zero also had higher levels of newly experienced MCI.

Clouston emphasizes that future research regarding MCI and possible early dementia in 9/11 responders should focus on multifactorial risks, such as severity of PTSD symptoms and having one more other risk factors for dementia not related to their responder experience.

“This study underlies the increasingly apparent evidence that PTSD is not merely a psychological condition but also can have significant pathological effects on the brain and body,” says coauthor Benjamin Luft, director of the Stony Brook World Trade Center Health and Wellness Program and clinical lead of the study, which appears in Alzheimer’s & Dementia: Diagnosis, Assessment, and Disease Monitoring.

The National Institute of Health’s National Institute on Aging and the National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health funded the work.

Source: Stony Brook University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…