يمكن أن بذور الجنكه بيلوبا مكافحة الالتهابات الجلدية؟

يمكن أن بذور الجنكه بيلوبا مكافحة الالتهابات الجلدية؟

مقتطفات من بذور الجنكه بيلوبا كشفت دراسة جديدة أن الأشجار تظهر نشاطًا مضادًا للبكتيريا على مسببات الأمراض التي يمكن أن تسبب التهابات الجلد مثل حب الشباب والصدفية والتهاب الجلد والأكزيما.

أظهرت النتائج أن المقتطفات تمنع نمو حب الشباب الجلدية, المكورات العنقودية الذهبيةو العقدية المقيحة.

قامت بن تساو قانغ مو بتوجيه الباحثين في تجاربهم إلى نسخة عمرها حوالي 200 من نص يعود إلى القرن 16 حول الطب الصيني التقليدي.

"لقد كان الأمر أشبه بنفخ الغبار عن المعرفة من الماضي وإعادة اكتشاف شيء كان موجودًا طوال الوقت" ، كما يقول المؤلف المشارك الأول للصحيفة Xinyi (Xena) Huang.

بدأت هوانغ ، وهي من مواليد الصين ، مشروع أطروحتها العليا في تخصص علم الأحياء في جامعة إيموري. هي الآن طالبة في كلية الصيدلة بجامعة ماريلاند.

"الكيمياء المعقدة"

"على حد علمنا ، هذه هي الدراسة الأولى التي توضح النشاط المضاد للبكتيريا لبذور الجنكة على مسببات الأمراض الجلدية" ، كما يقول كاساندرا كواف ، كبير مؤلفي الورقة والأستاذ المساعد في مركز إيموري لدراسة صحة الإنسان والأمراض الجلدية قسم في كلية الطب.

"تعد هذه الورقة مجرد مثال آخر على مقدار ما زال علينا أن نتعرف على الإمكانات الدوائية للكيمياء المعقدة للنباتات."

Quave هو عالم إثني ، يدرس كيفية استخدام السكان الأصليين للنباتات في ممارساتهم العلاجية ، للكشف عن المرشحين الواعدين للأدوية الجديدة.

يقول المؤلف المشارك الأول فرانسوا شاساني ، وهو صيدلي في مختبر Quave: "نتائجنا تعطي صلاحية لاستخدام بذور الجنكة كمضاد موضعي موضعي كما هو موصوف في نص القرن 16th".

ويضيف أنه لا يزال هناك العديد من العقبات قبل أن يتمكن العلماء من النظر في مقتطفات بذور الجنكة للاستخدام في سياق طبي حديث. في شكله المركّز ، تم إثبات أن المركب الرئيسي الذي تم تحليله إحصائياً على أنه المسؤول المحتمل عن النشاط المضاد للبكتيريا ، حمض الجنكوليك C15: 1 ، لديه سمية جلدية.

يقول تشاساني: "إحدى الاستراتيجيات الممكنة في البحث عن مضادات حيوية جديدة تتمثل في البحث عن طرق لتعديل هيكل حمض الجنكوليك المرتبط بنشاط مضاد للجراثيم ، لمحاولة تحسين فعاليته وتقليل سمية خلايا الجلد البشرية". .

يعد الجنكه بيلوبا ، وهو موطنه الصين ، أحد أقدم أنواع الأشجار التي تعود إلى ما لا يقل عن 270 مليون عام. الشجرة لها أوراق مميزة على شكل مروحة وتاريخ طويل في الطب الصيني التقليدي.

لقد درس الباحثون المعاصرون الجنكة على نطاق واسع بحثًا عن الفوائد الطبية لكل شيء بدءًا من تحسين الذاكرة إلى الضمور البقعي ، ولكن لا يزال "لا يوجد دليل قاطع على أن الجنكة مفيدة لأي حالة صحية" ، وفقًا لصفحة الويب الخاصة بالمعاهد الوطنية لل المركز الوطني للصحة للصحة التكميلية والتكاملية. ركزت معظم الدراسات السابقة على أوراق الجنكة.

بذرة الإلهام

خلال عامها الأول في Emory ، بدأت هوانغ التطوع في Emory Herbarium ، حيث عالجت الأعشاب الطبية التي جمعها Quave في البحر الأبيض المتوسط. التحقت في نهاية المطاف بمختبر Quave بسبب اهتمامها بالصيدلية.

عند المشي عبر الحرم الجامعي ، للتفكير في ما يجب التركيز عليه في أطروحتها العليا ، جذبت شجرة الجنكة عين هوانغ. كانت تعرف أن الشجرة استخدمت في الطب الصيني التقليدي ، رغم أنها لم تكن تعرف أي تفاصيل ، لذلك قررت البحث عنها.

نما اهتمام هوانغ عندما علمت أن إيموري لديه نسخة 1826 من Ben Cao Gang Mu ، أو Compendium of Materia Medica. يعتبر لي شي تشن الكتاب الأكثر شمولاً حول الطب الصيني التقليدي ، وقام بتجميع وكتابة الكتاب في القرن 16th خلال ذروة عهد أسرة مينغ. الخلاصة الأصلية واسعة ، تضم عشرات المجلدات ، لكن هوانغ لم يشاهد سوى نسخ مكثفة للغاية تباع في المكتبات الصينية.

النسخة التي قرأها هوانغ موجودة في مكتبة بيتس اللاهوتية التابعة لمدرسة كاندلر اللاهوتية. مرت نسخة 1826 في مرحلة واحدة من خلال وكيل كتب في لندن. تحتوي الصفحات غير المرقمة على كتل مطبوعة بالأحرف الصينية ، ولكن في مرحلة ما قام شخص ما باستعادتها إلى وحدات تخزين 10 مع أغطية مكتوبة باللغة الإنجليزية.

وصل Ben Cao Gang Mu إلى Emory كجزء من شراء الجامعة لأكثر من مجلدات 200,000 من مدرسة هارتفورد اللاهوتية في 1975.

يقول براندون واسون ، أعلاه ، أمين المحفوظات والمخطوطات في مكتبة بيتس اللاهوتية "في ذلك الوقت ، كان هذا أكبر نقل لمجموعة من الكتب على الإطلاق بين المكتبات الأكاديمية".

لمس التاريخ

لم تتخيل هوانغ أبدًا أنها سوف تلمس هذه النسخة القديمة من بن كاو قانغ مو.

"يمكنك أن تشعر بالتاريخ فيه" ، كما تقول. "الورقة صفراء ورقيقة وهشة لدرجة أنني كنت أخشى أن أقوم بتحطيم الصفحات عندما كنت أقلبها".

في مجلد يحمل عنوان "الحبوب والخضروات والفواكه" ، وجد هوانغ إشارات إلى استخدامات الجنكة ، المكتوبة بأسلوب جذاب جذاب. وصف الكتاب الاستخدامات التقليدية للبذور 17 ، بما في ذلك ثمانية لاضطرابات الجلد مثل تشقق اليدين والقدمين ، والوردية ، وحكة السلطعون الناجم عن سرطان البحر ، وخراجات جروح الكلاب الصغيرة ، والبثرات.

أوصى لي شي تشن بإعداد عجينة من البذور المطحونة المخلوطة بنبيذ الأرز أو غيرها من الكحول ، أو عن طريق غمر البذور المسحوقة في زيت بذور الاغتصاب. يمكن بعد ذلك تطبيق اللصق على المنطقة المصابة.

يقول هوانغ: "لقد فوجئت لأنني لم أفكر مطلقًا في فعل أي شيء ببذور الجنكة باستثناء أكلها". أتذكر أن أول مرة تذوقتها فيها كانت في الحساء الكانتوني. تتحول البذرة إلى أصفر لامع لا يُنسى عندما ينضج. النكهة مميزة حقًا - مرارة قليلاً ولكنها حلوة أيضًا. إنها جيدة ، لكن والديّ حذروني من تناول الطعام أكثر من خمسة في وقت واحد. "

علمت بن تساو قانغ مو ، أثناء قراءتها لها ، أيضًا الحد من استهلاك البذور.

الماضي والحاضر

وجدت دراسة سابقة أن معاطف بذور الجنكة أظهرت نشاطًا مضادًا للبكتيريا ضد بعض مسببات الأمراض البكتيرية المعوية. وأظهرت أوراق الجنكة نشاطًا مضادًا للبكتيريا على كل من البكتيريا المعوية وعلى مسببات الأمراض الجلدية س. الذهبية.

ومع ذلك ، أرادت هوانغ اختبار المعلومات التي كانت قد استخلصتها من النص القديم لاستخدام بذور الجنكة كعلاج موضعي لاضطرابات الجلد. تعد مسببات الأمراض ذات أهمية خاصة لمختبر Quave ، الذي يركز على إيجاد طرق جديدة لعلاج البكتيريا المقاومة للمضادات الحيوية.

جمع هوانغ عينات الجنكة من الأشجار في الحرم الجامعي ، بما في ذلك البذور والبذور الكاملة غير الناضجة. اشترت بذورًا طازجة إضافية من سوق المزارعين المحليين من أجل البحث وحصلت على تسع مواد كيميائية معروفة بأنها في الجنكة من موردي المواد الكيميائية في شكلها النقي.

قام الباحثون بمعالجة عمليات الاستخراج من البذور بأكبر قدر ممكن من توصيات بن تساو قانغ مو ، إما باستخدام الماء أو الإيثانول أو زيت بذور الاغتصاب. أجرى هوانغ وشاساني تجارب جرثومية - بما في ذلك تقييم مقتطفات الجنكة من الجوز ، والبذور غير الناضجة ، ومعطف البذور - على سلالات بكتيرية مختلفة من 12.

أظهرت النتائج أن معاطف بذور الجنكة والبذور غير الناضجة أظهرت نشاطًا مضادًا للبكتيريا على ثلاثة من السلالات التي تم اختبارها: جيم حب الشباب, س. الذهبيةو S. الجينات. وجد التحليل الإحصائي أيضًا وجود علاقة إيجابية بين نشاط مضادات الميكروبات لعينات الجنكة وتركيز حمض الجنكوليك C15: 1 ، مما يشير إلى أنه متورط في النشاط.

"لا يزال اكتشافنا في مرحلة أساسية من الفوق - لم يتم اختبار هذه المقتطفات حتى الآن في الدراسات التي أجريت على الحيوانات أو البشر - لكن ما زال من دواعي سروري أن أتعلم أن هذه القصة القديمة في Ben Cao Gang Mu تبدو حقيقية ، يقول هوانغ. "كصيادلة طلابية ، هذا يعطيني المزيد من التقدير لقيمة استخدام العلاجات النباتية القديمة لتوجيه أبحاث العصر الحديث."

يظهر البحث في الحدود في علم الأحياء الدقيقة.

مصدر: جامعة إيموري

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = التهابات الجلد ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
by يوهانا ليسيو ، دكتوراه
السعادة لا تتبع النجاح: إنها العكس
السعادة لا تتبع النجاح: إنها العكس
by ليزا والش ، جوليا ك. بوهم وسونيا ليوبوميرسكي

Can Ginkgo Biloba Seeds Fight Skin Infections?

Can Ginkgo Biloba Seeds Fight Skin Infections?

Extracts from the seeds of the Ginkgo biloba tree show antibacterial activity on pathogens that can cause skin infections such as acne, psoriasis, dermatitis, and eczema, a new study finds.

The findings show that the extracts inhibit the growth of Cutibacterium acnes, Staphylococcus aureus, and Streptococcus pyogenes.

A nearly 200-year-old copy of a 16th-century text on traditional Chinese medicine, the Ben Cao Gang Mu, guided the researchers in their experiments.

“It was like blowing the dust off knowledge from the past and rediscovering something that had been there all along,” says co-first author of the paper Xinyi (Xena) Huang.

Huang, a native of China, began the project for her senior thesis as a biology major at Emory University. She is now a student at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy.

‘Complex chemistry’

“To the best of our knowledge, this is the first study to demonstrate the antibacterial activity of ginkgo seeds on skin pathogens,” says Cassandra Quave, senior author of the paper and assistant professor at Emory’s Center for the Study of Human Health and the dermatology department at the School of Medicine.

“This paper is just one more example of how much we still have to learn about the pharmacological potential of the complex chemistry of plants.”

Quave is an ethnobotanist, studying how indigenous people use plants in their healing practices, to uncover promising candidates for new drugs.

“Our results give validity to the use of ginkgo seeds as a topical antimicrobial as prescribed in this 16th-century text,” says co-first author Francois Chassagne, a pharmacist in the Quave lab.

Many hurdles remain, he adds, before scientists can consider ginkgo seed extracts for use in a modern-day medical context. In its concentrated form, the main compound that a statistical analysis identified as likely responsible for the antibacterial activity, ginkgolic acid C15:1, has been demonstrated to have skin toxicity.

“One possible strategy in the search for new antibiotics would be to investigate ways to modify the structure of the particular ginkgolic acid tied to the antibacterial activity, to try to improve its efficacy and also to reduce its toxicity to human skin cells,” Chassagne says.

The ginkgo biloba, which is native to China, is one of the oldest tree species, going back at least 270 million years. The tree has distinctive fan-shaped leaves and a long history in traditional Chinese medicine.

Modern-day researchers have studied ginkgo extensively in search of medical benefits for everything from memory enhancement to macular degeneration, but there is still “no conclusive evidence that ginkgo is helpful for any health condition,” according to the web page of the National Institutes of Health’s National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. Most previous studies have focused on the ginkgo leaves.

A seed of inspiration

During her first year at Emory, Huang began volunteering in the Emory Herbarium, where she processed medicinal herbs that Quave collected in the Mediterranean. She eventually joined the Quave lab, due to her interest in pharmacy.

When walking across campus, pondering what to focus on for her senior thesis, a ginkgo tree caught Huang’s eye. She knew that the tree was used in traditional Chinese medicine, although she did not know any details, so she decided to research it.

Huang’s interest grew when she learned that Emory has an 1826 version of the Ben Cao Gang Mu, or Compendium of Materia Medica. Considered the most comprehensive book on traditional Chinese medicine, Li Shi-zhen compiled and wrote the book in the 16th century during the heyday of the Ming Dynasty. The original compendium is vast, encompassing dozens of volumes, but Huang had only seen greatly condensed versions sold in Chinese bookstores.

The copy Huang read resides in the Candler School of Theology’s Pitts Theology Library. The 1826 version passed at one stage through a London book dealer. The unnumbered pages contain block-printed in Chinese characters, but at some point someone rebound them into 10 volumes with covers labeled in English.

The Ben Cao Gang Mu arrived at Emory as part of the university’s purchase of more than 200,000 volumes from Hartford Theological Seminary in 1975.

“At the time, it was the largest transfer of a book collection ever between academic libraries,” says Brandon Wason, above, curator of archives and manuscripts at Pitts Theology Library.

Touching history

Huang never imagined she would be touching such an old copy of the Ben Cao Gang Mu.

“You can feel the history in it,” she says. “The paper is so yellow, thin and fragile that I was afraid I would break the pages as I was turning them.”

In a volume labeled “Grains, Vegetables, Fruits,” Huang found references to the uses of ginkgo, written in an engaging, narrative style. The book described 17 traditional uses for the seed, including eight for skin disorders such as chapped hands and feet, rosacea, crab louse-induced itchiness, dog-bit wound abscesses, and pustules.

Li Shi-Zhen recommended preparing a paste of ground up seeds mixed with rice wine or other alcohol, or by immersing the crushed seeds in rape seed oil. The paste could then be applied to the affected area.

“I was surprised because I had never thought about doing anything with gingko seeds except eating them,” Huang says. “I remember the first time I tasted them was in Cantonese soup. The seed turns an unforgettable bright yellow when it’s cooked. The flavor is really distinct—a little bit bitter but also sweet. They’re good, but my parents warned me not to eat more than five at a time.”

The Ben Cao Gang Mu, she learned as she read it, also advised limiting consumption of the seeds.

The past and the present

A previous study found that ginkgo seed coats demonstrated antibacterial activity against some intestinal bacterial pathogens. And ginkgo leaves have shown antibacterial activity on both some intestinal bacteria and on the skin pathogen S. aureus.

Huang, however, wanted to test the information she had gleaned from the ancient text for the use of ginkgo seeds as a topical treatment for skin disorders. Skin pathogens are of particular interest to the Quave lab, which focuses on finding new approaches to treat antibiotic-resistant bacteria.

Huang gathered ginkgo samples from trees on campus, including seeds and immature whole seeds. She purchased additional fresh seeds from a local farmer’s market for the research and obtained nine chemicals known to be in ginkgo from chemical suppliers in their pure form.

The researchers processed the extractions from the seeds as closely as possible to the recommendations of the Ben Cao Gang Mu, using either water, ethanol, or rape seed oil. Huang and Chassagne conducted microbial experiments—including the evaluation of ginkgo extracts from the seed nut, immature seeds, and the seed coat—on 12 different bacterial strains.

The results showed that the ginkgo seed coats and the immature seeds exhibited antibacterial activity on three of the strains tested: C. acnes, S. aureus, and S. pyogenes. Statistical analysis also found a positive correlation between the antimicrobial activity of the ginkgo samples and the concentration of ginkgolic acid C15:1, suggesting it was involved in the activity.

“Our finding is still in a basic, benchtop phase—these extracts have not yet been tested in animal or human studies—but it is still a thrill for me to learn that this ancient story in the Ben Cao Gang Mu appears to be real,” Huang says. “As a student pharmacist, this gives me more appreciation for the value of using ancient plant remedies to guide modern-day research.”

The research appears in Frontiers in Microbiology.

Source: Emory University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Skin Infections;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}