هذان الكريمان كفريق واحد لخفض خطر الاصابة بسرطان الجلد

هذان الكريمان كفريق واحد لخفض خطر الاصابة بسرطان الجلدأخصائي الأمراض الجلدية لين كورنيليوس (يسار) يجري فحص الجلد مع المريض روبرت مانشستر. كان مانشستر مشاركًا في تجربة سريرية اختبرت فعالية العلاج المناعي الموضعي ضد آفات الجلد السابقة للتسرطن المسماة القرنية الشعاعية ، وغالبًا ما تكون على الجلد المتضرر من الشمس. يشير تحليل المتابعة الذي استمر ثلاث سنوات إلى أن العلاج يقلل أيضًا من خطر تطور الآفات السرطانية إلى سرطان الجلد. (الائتمان: واشنطن كلية الطب)

أظهرت دراسة جديدة أن وجود مزيج من اثنين من الكريمات الموضعية التي تم توضيحها بالفعل لإزالة الآفات السرطانية من الجلد التالف من أشعة الشمس يقلل أيضًا من خطر إصابة المرضى بسرطان الخلايا الحرشفية في وقت لاحق.

يقول مؤلف الدراسة لين أ. كورنيليوس ، أستاذ ومدير قسم الأمراض الجلدية بجامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس: "سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية في الجلد هو ثاني أكثر أنواع السرطان شيوعًا في الولايات المتحدة ، ومعدلات الإصابة في ارتفاع مستمر".

"يمكن أن يكون سرطان الجلد هذا وعلاجه مشوِّهًا ومكلفًا وحتى يهدد حياته ، مما يجعله ضروريًا لتحسين الاستراتيجيات الوقائية".

يجمع العلاج بين تركيبة كريم من دواء علاج كيميائي شائع يسمى 5-fluorouracil مع شكل اصطناعي من فيتامين (د) يسمى كالسيبوتريول. العلاج المعياري للآفات الجلدية السابقة للتسرطن - يطلق عليه التقرن الشعاعي - هو 5-fluorouracil الموضعي وحده. Calcipotriol هو علاج قياسي لمرض الصدفية ، وهو اضطراب المناعة الذاتية الذي يسبب بقع متقشرة من الجلد.

أظهر فريق البحث نفسه أن الكالسيبوتريول ينشط خلايا T المناعية ، والتي تهاجم خلايا الورم. في تجربة سريرية سابقة أجراها في مركز سرطان سيتيمان في مستشفى بارنز اليهودي وكلية الطب بجامعة واشنطن ، مزيج من هذا العلاج المناعي بالإضافة إلى العلاج الكيميائي أزالوا التقرن الشعاعي أفضل من العلاج الكيميائي القياسي وحده.

حصل الباحثون على بيانات متابعة لأكثر من نصف مرضى 132 في التجربة السريرية الأصلية لمدة تصل إلى ثلاث سنوات بعد العلاج الأولي. وجد الباحثون أن المرضى الذين تلقوا العلاج المركب لديهم خطر أقل للإصابة بسرطان الخلايا الحرشفية على جلد الوجه وفروة الرأس من المرضى الذين تلقوا علاجًا قياسيًا.

من بين مرضى 30 الذين تلقوا العلاج المركب ، أصيب اثنان (7 بالمائة) بسرطان الخلايا الحرشفية الجلدية في غضون ثلاث سنوات. من مرضى 40 الذين تلقوا علاجًا قياسيًا ، طور 11 (28 بالمائة) سرطان خلايا حرشفية جلدية في نفس الإطار الزمني. كان هذا الاختلاف ذو دلالة إحصائية.

يقول الباحث الكبير شون ديميري من مستشفى ماساتشوستس العام وكلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد: "هذا الاكتشاف يوفر أول دليل سريري على المفهوم بأن العلاج المناعي الموجه ضد الأورام الخبيثة يمكن أن يمنع الإصابة بالسرطان".

"نأمل أن تثبت النتائج التي توصلنا إليها أن استخدام الآفات البدائية كأهداف علاجية شخصية يمكن أن يدرب جهاز المناعة على محاربة التقدم إلى السرطان."

وجد الباحثون أن العلاج قلل من تطور سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية على فروة الرأس والوجه ولكن ليس الذراعين. وتكهنوا بأن العلاجات الموضعية قد تخترق جلد الوجه وفروة الرأس أكثر من جلد الذراعين وتحث على استجابة مناعية أقوى في تلك المناطق. لاحظ الباحثون أيضًا أن نظام العلاج هذا كان قصيرًا نسبيًا - علاجات موضعية مرتين يوميًا لمدة أربعة أيام - وقد يكون من الضروري اتباع نظام أطول ليكون فعالًا على جلد الذراعين والأجزاء الأخرى من الجسم.

يعد كورنيليوس وديميري مخترعين مشاركين في براءة اختراع مودعة لاستخدام الكالسيبوتريول بالإضافة إلى 5- فلورويوراسيل لعلاج آفات الجلد السابقة للتسرطن. صندوق بوروز ويلكوم. مؤسسة سيدني كيميل ؛ معهد أبحاث السرطان والمعاهد الوطنية للصحة مولت الدراسة.

حول المؤلف

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس

تظهر الدراسة في JCI Insight. ساهم في الدراسة باحثون آخرون من كلية الطب بجامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس ومستشفى ماساتشوستس العام وكلية هارفارد الطبية.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = skin cancer؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
by روبرت تي. لندن ، دكتوراه في الطب

These Two Creams Team Up To Cut Skin Cancer Risk

These Two Creams Team Up To Cut Skin Cancer RiskDermatologist Lynn Cornelius (left) conducts a skin exam with patient Robert Manchester. Manchester was a participant in a clinical trial testing the effectiveness of a topical immunotherapy against precancerous skin lesions called actinic keratoses, often on sun-damaged skin. A three-year follow-up analysis suggests the therapy also reduces the risk that the precancerous lesions will progress to skin cancer. (Credit: Washington U. School of Medicine)

A combination of two topical creams already shown to clear precancerous lesions from sun-damaged skin also lowers the risk that patients will later develop squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, according to a new study.

“Squamous cell carcinoma of the skin is the second most common cancer in the US, and its incidence is continuing to rise,” says study coauthor Lynn A. Cornelius, professor in and director of the dermatology division at Washington University in St. Louis.

“This skin cancer and its treatment can be disfiguring, costly, and even life-threatening, making it essential to improve preventive strategies.”

The therapy combines a cream formulation of a common chemotherapy drug called 5-fluorouracil with a synthetic form of vitamin D called calcipotriol. Standard therapy for the precancerous skin lesions—called actinic keratoses—is topical 5-fluorouracil alone. Calcipotriol is a standard therapy for psoriasis, an autoimmune disorder that causes red, scaly patches of skin.

The same research team has shown that calcipotriol activates the immune system’s T cells, which then attack the tumor cells. In a past clinical trial they conducted at Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine, a combination of this immunotherapy plus chemotherapy cleared actinic keratoses better than standard chemotherapy alone.

The investigators obtained follow-up data for more than half of the 132 patients in the original clinical trial for up to three years after initial treatment. The researchers found that patients who had received the combination therapy had a lower risk of developing squamous cell carcinoma on the skin of the face and scalp than patients who had received standard therapy.

Of 30 patients who received the combination therapy, two (7 percent) developed skin squamous cell carcinoma within three years. Of 40 patients who received standard therapy, 11 (28 percent) developed skin squamous cell carcinoma in the same time frame. This difference was statistically significant.

“This finding provides the first clinical proof-of-concept that an immunotherapy directed against premalignant tumors can prevent cancer,” says senior author Shawn Demehri of Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“We hope our findings will establish that the use of premalignant lesions as personalized therapeutic targets can train the immune system to fight against the progression to cancer.”

The investigators found that the therapy reduced the development of skin squamous cell carcinoma on the scalp and face but not the arms. They speculated that the topical therapies may penetrate the skin of the face and scalp more than that of the arms and induce a stronger immune response in those areas. The researchers also note that this treatment regimen was relatively short—topical treatments twice daily for four days—and a longer regimen may be necessary to be effective on the skin of the arms and other parts of the body.

Cornelius and Demehri are co-inventors on a filed patent for the use of calcipotriol plus 5-fluorouracil for the treatment of precancerous skin lesions. The Burroughs Wellcome Fund; the Sidney Kimmel Foundation; the Cancer Research Institute; and the National Institutes of Health funded the study.

About the Authors

Source: Washington University in St. Louis

The study appears in JCI Insight. Additional researchers from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Massachusetts General Hospital, and Harvard Medical School contributed to the study.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=skin cancer;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}