الألم المزمن بعد الصدمة قد تعتمد على الجينات الخاصة بك

الألم المزمن بعد الصدمة قد تعتمد على الجينات الخاصة بك
أكثر من 100 مليون أمريكي يعانون من الألم المزمن - حيث تستمر إشارات الألم في الجهاز العصبي لأسابيع أو شهور أو حتى سنوات.
pathdoc / Shutterstock.com

لسوء الحظ ، سيختبر كل فرد في العالم تقريبًا على الأقل حدث واحد مؤلم، مثل حادث سيارة أو اعتداء أو التعرض لمقاتل الحرب أو كارثة طبيعية خلال حياتهم. سوف يتحمل العديد من أكثر من واحد.

على الرغم من أن غالبية الأفراد يتعافون من حادثة مؤلمة ، فإن نسبة كبيرة سوف تتسبب في مشاكل مزمنة ، بما في ذلك أعراض الإجهاد اللاحق للصدمة ، والاكتئاب والألم المزمن.

ألم مزمن؟ ألم الألم الناجم عن إصابة العصب؟ حسنا ، ليس دائما. الألم المزمن يمكن أن يتطور وهو كذلك تماما مشترك التالي التعرض للصدمة. قد تفاجئك هذه الحقيقة بالنظر إلى حقيقة أن العديد من الصدمات تنطوي على ضرر نسبي قليل أو بدون تلف.

أنا متخصص في علم الوراثة والبيولوجيا الجزيئية لدراسة المتنبئين والوسطاء للألم المزمن وغيره من الحالات العصبية النفسية المزمنة التي تتطور بعد تجربة مؤلمة. أنا مهتم بشكل خاص بفهم الأسباب البيولوجية التي تجعل بعض الأفراد أكثر عرضة للألم المزمن من غيرهم.

نحو تلك الغاية ، على أساس النتائج السابقة من مجموعتنا و مجموعات أخرىافترضنا أنا وزملائي أن التباين الوراثي الفردي يؤثر على من يتطور في الألم ، ومن يتعافى بعد التعرض للصدمة. لاختبار هذه الفرضية ، فإن مجموعتنا في معهد لاستعادة الصدماتبقيادة د. صامويل ماكلينوالأفراد المسجلين في دراسة طولية عن الأوروبيين والأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي الذين تورطوا في حادث سيارة مؤلمة. قمنا بتجميع عينات الدم من أكثر من 1,500 مثل هؤلاء الأفراد وتقييم الحمض النووي ومستويات الألم لديهم بعد ستة أسابيع من حادث السيارة.

كيف يمكن أن تسبب الصدمة والتوتر الألم المزمن؟

قبل الخوض في التفاصيل حول أحدث دراستنا ، دعونا نتساءل كيف يمكن للألم المزمن أن يتطور بعد الصدمة. هذا سؤال مهم لأنه إذا عرفنا كيف يتطور الألم ، فيمكننا إيجاد علاجات تمنع ظهوره. وعن طريق منع ظهور الآلام المزمنة ، فإننا نخفف تماما من الحاجة إلى استخدام تلك الإدمان و الأفيونيات القاتلة المحتملة ربما سمعت عنها.

التعرض لأحداث مؤلمة يسبب لك نظام الضغط لتنشيط. يرسل نظام الإجهاد هذا إشارات بين ما تحت المهاد في الدماغ والغدة النخامية والغدة الكظرية ، وينتج في النهاية عن إطلاق الكورتيزول ، المعروف باسم "هرمون الإجهاد".

الكثير من هرمون الإجهاد ، الكورتيزول ، يسبب أضرار في جميع أنحاء الجسم.
الكثير من هرمون الإجهاد ، الكورتيزول ، يسبب أضرار في جميع أنحاء الجسم.
brgfx / Shutterstock.com


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الكورتيزول هو حلقة حاسمة بين الصدمة والألم المزمن. هذا بسبب وقد ظهر الكورتيزول وهرمون هرمون آخر يسمى الأدرينالين إلى مباشرة توعية الأعصاب الطرفية - إعطائها القدرة على الإشارة إلى الألم في غياب إصابة العصب. لهذا السبب ، من الأهمية بمكان أن تقوم أجسامنا بتنظيم مستويات الكورتيزول بعناية ، وأن تحل بسرعة الاستجابة الفعالة للضغط النفسي.

تنظيم هرمون الكورتيزول الإجهاد

لحسن الحظ أن جميع أجسامنا لديها منظمات تنظيمية طبيعية لمستويات الكورتيزول في الدم. عادة ، يرتبط بروتين يسمى مستقبل الجلوكوكورتيكويد (GR) بالكورتيزول الذي تم إطلاقه بعد التعرض للضغط ويسبب الخلايا لتغيير أنشطة الجهاز المناعي و دماغ. لكن بروتين آخر يسمى FKBP5 يمكنه أيضًا التعامل مع مستويات الكورتيزول عن طريق ربط GR ومنعها من الكورتيزول المُلزم.

إذا كانت مستويات FKBP5 عالية ، فإنها تلتقط الـ GR وتمنع GR من الارتباط وخفض مستويات الكورتيزول في الدم. وبالتالي ، يمكن أن ترتفع مستويات الكورتيزول في الدم ويمكن أن تتسبب في حدوث ضرر من النهايات العصبية الملزمة وتسبب أحاسيس الألم. السابق دراسات أظهرت أن جينات الشخص يمكن أن تؤثر على المستويات النسبية لهذه البروتينات.

وبناءً على هذه المعرفة ، افترضنا أن قدرة FKBP5 على تنظيم الكورتيزول والتي من المحتمل أن تؤثر على مستويات الألم قد تنشأ في حمضنا النووي. اختبرنا هذه الفرضية باستخدام بيانات من مجموعة من الأفراد المسجلين في تصادم السيارات. الأهم من ذلك ، هؤلاء الأفراد الذين عانوا من الصدمات لم يكن لديهم كسور العظام أو إصابة الأنسجة.

حتى عندما لا يتعرض شخص ما لأذى جسديا بعد حادث سيارة ، لا يزال الحدث المؤلم يسبب الألم المزمن.
حتى عندما لا يتعرض شخص ما لأذى جسديا بعد حادث سيارة ، لا يزال الحدث المؤلم يسبب الألم المزمن.
توم وانغ / Shutterstock.com

لقد اخترنا اصطدام السيارات كتعرضنا للصدمة لأنها شائعة وصدمة عالية ، وتتيح لنا التقاط البيانات في أعقاب الحادث الصادم مباشرة. ساعد الأطباء في أقسام الطوارئ في جميع أنحاء البلاد على تسجيل الأفراد وجمع الدم منهم حتى نتمكن من قياس الحمض النووي ، والرنا ، الرنا الميكروي ، ومستويات الهرمون. كان هذا أمرًا مهمًا لأننا أردنا في هذه الدراسة أن نفهم كيفية ارتباط جميع هذه الأنواع من الجزيئات وكيف يمكن أن يختلف تكوينها من فرد إلى آخر.

يعتمد مقدار الألم الذي تعاني منه على جيناتك

في دراستنا الأخيرة ، نحن اكتشف ما هو البديل الجيني لجين FKBP5 الذي يحمله الشخص وهو تنبأ بكمية الألم المزمن اللاحق للصدمة الذي سيتعرض له الفرد بعد الاصطدام بالسيارة.

وكشفت تحليلاتنا الجينية أن الأفراد الأفارقة-الأمريكيين والأوروبيين الأمريكيين الذين يحملون نسخة واحدة على الأقل من المتغيرات الأقل شيوعًا ، FKBP5-TG أو FKBP5-GG ، يعانون من ألم أكثر من الأفراد الذين يحملون فقط النوع الأكثر شيوعًا FKBP5-TT . (تذكر ، لدينا جميعاً نسختين من كل كروموسوم وهذا هو السبب في أننا نستطيع حمل نسختين أو تنوعات مختلفة من نفس الجين).

ثم أردنا أن نعرف كيف تؤثر هذه الاختلافات على الاستجابة للضغط والألم المزمن اللاحق.

في هذه المرحلة ، كنا نعرف أن الأفراد الذين لديهم المتغيرات الأقل شيوعًا ، FKBP5-TG أو FKBP5-GG أكثر عرضة للألم بعد التعرض للصدمة. ثم توقعنا أنه في هؤلاء الأفراد الذين يعانون من ألم أعلى ، فإن تنظيم FKBP5 للكورتيزول سيكون غير طبيعي. لذلك ، قمنا بقياس الكورتيزول في هؤلاء الأفراد ووجدنا بالفعل أن مستويات الكورتيزول كانت أعلى بالنسبة لمستويات FKBP5 بالمقارنة مع الأفراد الذين يحملون FKBP5-TT الذين لديهم ألم أقل.

عموما هذا الاكتشاف الأخير من مجموعتنا مهم لأنه يشير إلى طريقة يمكن للبشر أن يصابوا بها بألم مزمن بعد التعرض للصدمة دون التعرض لإصابة في الأنسجة. كما أنه يسلط الضوء على جين مهم ينخرط في تطور الألم المزمن اللاحق للصدمة والذي يمكن أن يكون هدفا جديدا واعدا للعلاج بالعقاقير. وتقترح آلية يتم من خلالها تنظيم هذا الجين المهم بشكل طبيعي.

يمكن أن تساعدنا هذه النقطة الأخيرة في سعينا لاكتشاف أنواع معينة من العلاجات ، على سبيل المثال ، إذا لم نكن نرغب في استهداف FKBP5 مباشرة ، فيمكننا تقليد عمل هذه الآلية التنظيمية التي تحدث بشكل طبيعي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يشير عملنا إلى أنه مع مثل هذا العلاج المحتمل ، سنحتاج فقط إلى علاج الأفراد الذين لديهم نوع DNA الذي يسبب المزيد من الألم.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

سارة لينستيدت ، أستاذ مساعد في التخدير ، جامعة كارولينا الشمالية في تشابل هيل

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تخفيف الألم المزمن ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Chronic Pain After Trauma May Depend On Your Genes

pain

Chronic Pain After Trauma May Depend On Your Genes
More than 100 million American suffer from chronic pain – in which pain signals continue in the nervous system for weeks, months, or even years.
pathdoc/Shutterstock.com

Unfortunately, almost every individual in the world will experience at least one traumatic event, such as a car crash, assault, exposure to war combat or a natural disaster during their lifetime. Many will endure more than one.

Although the majority of individuals recover from a traumatic incident, a substantial proportion will develop chronic problems, including post-traumatic stress symptoms, depression and chronic pain.

Chronic pain? Isn’t pain caused by nerve injury? Well, not always. Chronic pain can develop and is quite common following trauma exposure. This fact might surprise you given the fact that many traumas involve very little or no tissue damage.

I am a geneticist and molecular biologist studying predictors and mediators of chronic pain and other chronic neuropsychiatric conditions that develop following a traumatic experience. I am particularly interested in understanding the biological reasons why some individuals are more vulnerable to chronic pain than others.

Towards that end, based on previous findings from our group and other groups, my colleagues and I hypothesized that individual genetic variation affects who develops pain, and who recovers following trauma exposure. To test this hypothesis, our group at the Institute for Trauma Recovery, led by Dr. Samuel McLean, enrolled individuals in a longitudinal study of European and African-Americans who had been involved in a traumatic motor vehicle accident. We collected blood samples from over 1,500 such individuals and assessed their DNA and their pain levels six weeks following the car crash.

How might trauma and stress cause chronic pain?

Before I go into details about our most recent study, let’s brainstorm how chronic pain might develop following trauma. This is an important question because if we know how pain develops, we can find treatments that prevent its onset. And by preventing the onset of chronic pain, we completely alleviate the need to use those addictive and potentially deadly opioids you might have heard about.

Exposure to traumatic events causes your stress system to activate. This stress system sends signals between your hypothalamus in the brain, your pituitary gland and your adrenal gland, and ultimately results in the release of cortisol, commonly known as the “stress hormone.”

Too much of the stress hormone, cortisol, causes damage throughout the body.
Too much of the stress hormone, cortisol, causes damage throughout the body.
brgfx/Shutterstock.com

Cortisol is a critical link between trauma and chronic pain. This is because cortisol and another stress hormone called adrenaline have been shown to directly sensitize peripheral nerves – giving it the ability to signal pain in the absence of nerve injury. For this reason, it is vital for our bodies to carefully regulate cortisol levels, and to quickly and effectively resolve the stress response.

Regulating the stress hormone cortisol

Fortunately all of our bodies have natural regulators of blood cortisol levels. Typically, a protein called the glucocorticoid receptor (GR) binds to cortisol that has been released after stress exposure and causes cells to alter activities of the immune system and brain. But another protein called FKBP5 can also manipulate cortisol levels by binding GR and preventing it from binding cortisol.

If FKBP5 levels are high, it sequesters the GR and prevents the GR from binding and lowering blood cortisol levels. Consequently, levels of cortisol in the blood can rise and potentially cause harm by binding nerve endings and causing pain sensations. Previous studies have shown that a person’s genes can influence relative levels of these proteins.

Based on this knowledge, we hypothesized that the ability of FKBP5 to regulate cortisol and potentially affect pain levels might originate in our DNA. We tested this hypothesis using data from our cohort of individuals enrolled following motor vehicle collision. Importantly, these individuals who experienced trauma did not have bone fractures or tissue injury.

Even when an individual is physically unharmed after a car crash, the traumatic event can still cause chronic pain.
Even when an individual is physically unharmed after a car crash, the traumatic event can still cause chronic pain.
Tom Wang/Shutterstock.com

We chose motor vehicle collision as our trauma exposure because it is common and highly traumatic, and allows us to capture data in the immediate aftermath of the traumatic incident. Physicians in emergency departments across the country helped us enroll individuals and collect blood from them so that we could measure DNA, RNA, microRNA and hormone levels. This was important because for this study we wanted to understand how all of these types of molecules are related and how their composition can vary from one individual to the next.

How much pain you experience depends on your genes

In our recent study, we discovered that which genetic variant of the FKBP5 gene a person carries is predictive of how much post-traumatic chronic pain an individual will experience following motor vehicle collision.

Our genetic analyses revealed that in both African-American and European-American individuals who carry at least one copy of the less common variants, FKBP5-TG or FKBP5-GG, experienced more pain than the individuals carrying only the more common FKBP5-TT variant. (Remember, we all have two copies of every chromosome and this is why we can carry two different versions or variants of the same gene).

We then wanted to know how these variations affect the stress response and subsequent chronic pain.

At this point we knew that individuals who have the less common variants, FKBP5-TG or FKBP5-GG are more likely to experience pain following trauma exposure. We then predicted that in these individuals with higher pain, FKBP5 regulation of cortisol would be abnormal. Therefore, we measured cortisol in these individuals and indeed found that their cortisol levels were higher with respect to FKBP5 levels when compared to individuals carrying the FKBP5-TT who have less pain.

Overall this recent discovery from our group is important because it suggests a way that humans can develop chronic pain following trauma exposure without experiencing tissue injury. It also highlights an important gene involved in the development of post-traumatic chronic pain that could be a promising new target for drug therapies. And it proposes a mechanism through which this important gene is naturally regulated.

This last point can help us in our quest to discover specific types of therapeutics because, for instance, if we didn’t want to try to target FKBP5 directly, we could mimic the action of this naturally occurring regulatory mechanism. Additionally, our work suggests that with such a potential therapeutic, we’d only need to treat individuals with the DNA variant that causes more pain.The Conversation

About The Author

Sarah Linnstaedt, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

CBD Hemp Oil And Rheumatoid Arthritis: A Complete Guide To Healing Inflammation, Alleviating Chronic Pains & Restoring Physical Health Naturally ... (101 Anti-inflammatory Recipes Included)
painAuthor: James Felder MD
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $11.85

Buy Now

Living Successfully with Chronic Pain
painAuthor: Ruth Stella MacLean
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Ruth Stella MacLean

Buy Now

The Secrets of Pain Relief: Natural Remedies That Will End Your Suffering
painAuthor: Luis Aliaga
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

Buy Now

pain
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}