هل تزيد الأدوية أو اللثة أو الرقع من فرص الإقلاع؟

هل تزيد الأدوية أو اللثة أو الرقع من فرص الإقلاع؟

لن يؤدي استخدام العقاقير التي تستلزم وصفة طبية أو المنتجات التي لا تحتاج إلى وصفة طبية مثل اللثة والنعناع أو البقع إلى زيادة فرصك في الإقلاع عن التدخين بعد عام ، وفقًا دراسة جديدة.

اتبع الباحثون الأمريكيون مجموعتين من الأشخاص 2002 / 03 و 2010 / 11 وتم العثور عليهما في نهاية فترة شهر 12 ، اللذان يستخدمان varenicline (يباعان في أستراليا باسم Champix) ، bupropion (Zyban) ، أو العلاج ببدائل النيكوتين (اللثة) لم يكن من المرجح أن يقلع عن التدخين لـ 30 يوما أو أكثر من أولئك الذين لم يستخدموا هذه الأدوية.

الإقلاع عن التدخين على أساس الأدلة؟

يتم إخبارنا أن أفضل طريقة للاقلاع عن التدخين هي استخدام طريقة "مبنية على الأدلة": وهي استراتيجية مدعومة بأدلة بحثية عالية الجودة. وبالنسبة لآخر سنوات 30 أو حتى ذلك ، كان هذا العلاج ببدائل النيكوتين والبوبروبيون (زيبان) والفارينيكلين (تشامبكس) ، التي تدعي أنها تزيد (و مضاعفة في بعض الأحيانفرصتك للنجاح.

في ال التسلسل الهرمي للأدلة، أدنى شكل هو حكاية أو دراسات الحالة ("أنا المدخن لسنوات 20 ، ثم رش المعالج البديل مسحوق سحري على لي ، وفي اليوم التالي توقفت عن التدخين!"). هذه لا تستطيع تحمل التقييم الأكثر انتقائية ، بدءا من السؤال الأساسي عن عدد المدخنين الذين تم رشهم مع المسحوق الذي أبقى على التدخين وعدد من ذهب إلى أي مكان توقف عن التدخين.

أعلى بكثير أعلى الهرم هو دليل مزدوجة التعمية ، محاكمة العشوائية (تجارب معشاة ذات شواهد). في هذه ، كل من الشخص الذي يأخذ العلاج وتلك التي تقدمه لا يعلمون من الذي يأخذ الدواء الفعال والذي يأخذ الدواء الوهمي أو مقارنة المقارنة. يتم بشكل عشوائي تخصيص جميع المسجلين في التجارب العشوائية العشوائية لمجموعات نشطة أو وهمي / المقارنة. عدد المشاركين كبير بما فيه الكفاية بما يكفي للسماح بإعلان أن النتيجة ذات دلالة إحصائية (أو لا) أعلى من فرصة العثور عليها.

حاول البعض تجاهل النتائج السابقة حول الأداء الضعيف للعلاج ببدائل النيكوتين من خلال التأكيد على "التحيز إشارة". في العالم الواقعي ، من المرجح أن يكون أولئك الذين يختارون استخدام الأدوية في محاولة الإقلاع عن التدخين أكثر قابلية للمدخنين ، وأكثر مدمنين على النيكوتين ، وتاريخ الفشل في الإقلاع دون مساعدة. لذا لا ينبغي لأحد أن يفاجأ إذا فشلت في كثير من الأحيان من أولئك الذين يحاولون الاستقالة من تلقاء نفسها.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في هذه الدراسة الجديدة ، كانت هذه القضية متوقعة وتم تقييم جميع المدخنين حسب ما سماه مؤلفو الدراسة درجة "النزوع إلى الإقلاع". هذه النتيجة حسابات لعوامل مثل كثافة التدخين ، والاعتماد على النيكوتين ، وتاريخ الإقلاع عن التدخين ، والاكتفاء الذاتي للإقلاع عن التدخين ، وعما إذا كانوا يعيشون في منزل خالٍ من التدخين حيث من المرجح أن يكون الإقلاع أكثر دعماً.

في التحليل ، أولئك الذين حاولوا الإقلاع بالمخدرات وأولئك الذين لم تتم مطابقتهم على درجة الميل هذه ، يمكن مقارنة "مثل مع الإعجاب" في التحليل. النتائج التي تم التوصل إليها حتى عندما تم أخذ هذه "الميل" إلى ترك العوامل في الاعتبار.

المضبوطات العشوائية مختلفة جدا لاستخدام العالم الحقيقي

لقد أشار النقاد منذ فترة طويلة إلى أن التجارب المعشاة ذات الشواهد لديها العديد من الميزات التي تجعلهم ظلًا باهتًا لكيفية استخدام المخدرات في العالم الحقيقي.

الهيكل الإقليمي استبعاد في كثير من الأحيان الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض عقلي ، اللغة الإنجليزية الفقيرة ، وليس لديهم عنوان ثابت. ومن المرجح أن يؤدي استبعاد المشاركين الذين يصعب الوصول إليهم ومعالجتهم إلى الحصول على نتائج أكثر إرضاءً.

في العالم الواقعي ، لا يحصل الناس على رواتب أو يحفزون على الاستمرار في تناول الأدوية طوال الفترة الكاملة من التجربة ، لذا فإن الالتزام يكون دائمًا أقل بكثير.

في العالم الحقيقي ، لا يحصل الأشخاص على مكالمات أو نصوص أو زيارات تذكيرية من الباحثين الذين لديهم دوافع قوية للحد من تسرب الدراسة. لا يوجد "تأثير هاوثورن": عندما تؤدي مشاركة التجربة والاهتمام بالمشاركين إلى تغيير النتائج.

يعرف الأشخاص المدمنون على النيكوتين بسرعة كبيرة إذا كانوا قد خصصوا للذراع الغفل في تجارب العلاج ببدائل النيكوتين لأن أدمغتهم تشعر بالحرمان من النيكوتين. انهم يعانون دائما أعراض غير سارة. مع العلم أنها قد خصصت إلى الدواء الوهمي يقوض سلامة المحاكمة لأن المشاركين المهمين يعتقدون أن الدواء قد يكون فعالاً.

لذلك فإن الدراسات العالمية الكبيرة مثل التي نشرناها للتو ، والتي تقيم النجاح على المدى الطويل ، وليس فقط نتائج العلاج النهائي أو النتائج قصيرة الأجل ، هي الأكثر أهمية في تقييم الفعالية. هذه البيانات الجديدة يجب أن تسبب مثل هذه البلاغة لتبرد إلى أسفل.

أما بالنسبة للأدلة على السجائر الإلكترونية في الإقلاع ، لا الولايات المتحدة فرقة العمل للخدمات الوقائية الصحيةولا في المملكة المتحدة المعهد الوطني للصحة والرعاية المتميزة أو أستراليا المجلس الوطني للصحة والبحوث الطبية، وقد أقرت السجائر الإلكترونية كوسيلة فعالة للإقلاع عن التدخين.

إن الإقلاع عن التدخين هو أهم شيء يمكن لأي شخص فعله لتقليل احتمالية الإصابة بأمراض القلب والرئة وسلسلة كاملة من السرطانات.

لقد كان في مصلحة واضحة للمستحضرات الصيدلانية ، ومؤخرا ، الصناعات vaping (e-cigarette) ، للترويج لفكرة أن أي شخص يحاول الإقلاع وحده هو ما يعادل شخص مصاب بالتهاب رئوي يرفض المضادات الحيوية. مئات الملايين حول العالم قد تركوا التدخين دون استخدام أي تدخل صيدلي.

قبل أن تصبح علاجات استبدال النيكوتين متوفرة في 1980s ، نجح الملايين من المدخنين في الإقلاع التدخين دون استخدام أي عقار أو بديل النيكوتين. نفس الشيء لا يزال يحدث اليوم: استقال معظم المدخنين السابقين عن طريق الذهاب تركيا الباردة.

المحادثةتكمن المشكلة ، في السنوات الأخيرة ، أن الحكومة قد علت الحملة الوطنية للإقلاع عن التدخين ، وهي مكبر الصوت لتعزيز هذه الرسالة الإيجابية للغاية. إن المصالح التجارية الآن تسوّق شيئًا لطالما فعله الملايين لأنفسهم.

نبذة عن الكاتب

تشابمان سيمونسايمون تشابمان ، أستاذ متفرغ في الصحة العامة ، جامعة سيدني. يتضمن بحثه الأخير دراسة السياسة حول كيفية تغطية القضايا الصحية والطبية في وسائل الإعلام الإخبارية ؛ كيف يتوقف الناس عن التدخين دون مساعدة ؛ الجوانب النفسية من مزارع الرياح والصحة ؛ وخصائص بحوث الصحة العامة (ونشرها) التي تؤثر على سياسة الصحة العامة. يحتوي أحدث مؤلفاته كتاب بعنوان "Smoke Signals: Selected Writing [Darlington Press، 2016] على 71 من مقالاته المنشورة منذ 1985. هو حر ، الوصول المفتوح هنا: https://ses.library.usyd.edu.au//bitstream/2123/17026/1/Smoke-Signals-Simon-Chapman-2016.pdf

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = quit smoking؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Do Drugs, Gums Or Patches Increase Your Chances Of Quitting?

health

Do Drugs, Gums Or Patches Increase Your Chances Of Quitting?

Using prescription drugs or over-the-counter products like gums, mints or patches won’t increase your chances of quitting smoking a year later, according to a new study.

The US researchers followed two groups of people 2002/03 and 2010/11 and found at the end of the 12-month period, those using varenicline (sold in Australia as Champix), bupropion (Zyban), or nicotine-replacement therapy (gums, mints or patches) were no more likely to have quit smoking for 30 days or more than those who didn’t use these drugs.

Evidence based smoking cessation?

We’re told the best way to quit smoking is to use an “evidence-based” method: a strategy supported by high-quality research evidence. And for the last 30 or so years, this has been nicotine-replacement therapy, bupropion (Zyban) and varenicline (Champix), which claim to increase (and sometimes double) your chance of success.

In the hierarchy of evidence, the lowest form is anecdote or case studies (“I smoked for 20 years, then an alternative therapist sprinkled magic powder on me, and the next day I stopped smoking!”). These cannot withstand the most elementary critical appraisal, starting with the basic question of how many similar smokers sprinkled with the powder kept smoking and how many who went nowhere it also stopped smoking.

Far higher up the evidence pyramid is the double-blinded, randomised controlled trial (RCTs). In these, both the person taking the treatment and those delivering it are unware of who is taking the active drug and who is taking the comparison placebo or comparison drug. All enrolled in RCTs are randomly allocated to the active or placebo/comparison groups. The numbers of participants are sufficiently large enough to allow for an outcome to be declared statistically significant (or not) above a chance finding.

Some have tried to dismiss earlier findings about the poor performance of nicotine-replacement therapy by emphasising “indication bias”. In the real world, those who opt to use medications to try to quit are likely to be more intractable smokers, more highly addicted to nicotine, and with histories of failure at quitting unaided. No one should therefore be surprised if they fail more often than those who try to quit on their own.

In this new study, this issue was anticipated and all smokers were assessed by what the study authors called a “propensity to quit” score. This score accounts for factors such as smoking intensity, nicotine dependence, their quitting history, self-efficacy to quit, and whether they lived in a smoke-free home where quitting would likely be more supported.

In the analysis, those who tried to quit with drugs and those who didn’t were matched on this propensity score, so “like with like” could be compared in the analysis. The findings held even when these “propensity” to quit factors were taken into account.

RCTs are very different to real world use

Critics have long pointed out that RCTs have many features which make them a pale shadow of how drugs are used in the real world.

RCTs often exclude people with mental illness, poor English, and no fixed address. Excluding hard-to-reach and treat participants is likely to produce more flattering results.

In the real world, people are not paid or otherwise incentivised to keep taking the drugs across the full period of the trial, so compliance is almost always far lower.

In the real world, people do not get reminder calls, texts or visits from researchers highly motivated to minimise trial drop-out. There is no “Hawthorne effect”: when trial involvement and the attention paid to participants alters the outcomes.

Nicotine-addicted people generally know very quickly if they have been allocated to the placebo arm in NRT trials because their brains feel deprived of nicotine. They invariably experience unpleasant symptoms. Knowing they have been allocated to the placebo undermines the integrity of the trial because it is important participants believe the drug might be effective.

Large, real world studies like the one just published, which assess long-term success, not just end-of-treatment or short-term results, are therefore of most importance in assessing effectiveness. These new data ought to cause such rhetoric to cool right down.

As for the evidence on e-cigarettes in quitting, neither the US Preventive Health Services Task Force, nor the UK’s National Institute for Health and Care Excellence or Australia’s National Health and Medical Research Council, have endorsed e-cigarettes as an effective way of quitting smoking.

Quitting smoking is the single most important thing anyone can do to reduce the likelihood they will get heart or lung disease, and a whole string of cancers.

It has been in the clear interests of the pharmaceutical and, more recently, the vaping (e-cigarette) industries, to promote the notion that anyone who tries to quit alone is the equivalent of someone with pneumonia refusing antibiotics. Hundreds of millions around the world have quit smoking without using any pharmaceutical intervention.

Before nicotine-replacement therapies became available in the 1980s, many millions of smokers successfully quit smoking without using any drug or nicotine substitute. The same still happens today: most ex-smokers quit by going cold turkey.

The ConversationThe problem is, in recent years, the government has moth-balled the national quit campaign, the megaphone for promoting this very positive message. Commercial interests are now commodifying something millions have always done for themselves.

About The Author

chapman simonSimon Chapman, Emeritus Professor in Public Health, University of Sydney. His recent research involves examining policy how health and medical issues are covered in the news media; how people stop smoking unaided; the psychogenic aspects of wind farms and health; and characteristics of public health research (and its dissemination) which impact on public health policy. His most recent books, Smoke Signals: Selected Writing [Darlington Press, 2016] contains 71 of his essays published since 1985. It is free, open access here: https://ses.library.usyd.edu.au//bitstream/2123/17026/1/Smoke-Signals-Simon-Chapman-2016.pdf

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Allen Carr's Easy Way To Stop Smoking
healthAuthor: Allen Carr
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Clarity Marketing USA LLC
List Price: $16.99

Buy Now

The Smoking Cure: How To Quit Smoking Without Feeling Like Sh*t
healthAuthor: Caroline Cranshaw
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

Allen Carr's Quit Smoking Without Willpower: Be a happy nonsmoker (Allen Carr's Easyway)
healthAuthor: Allen Carr
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Arcturus Publishing Limited
List Price: $14.95

Buy Now

health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}