يجب عليك الحصول على فحص البروستات الخاص بك؟

يجب عليك الحصول على فحص البروستات الخاص بك؟
رصيد فني: فيميو

مع اقتراب "موفمبير" من نهايته ، والرجل يتفاخر أو يحلق شعر الوجه الذي نماه ، هناك شيء يجب أن يعرفه الناس - إن فحص سرطان البروستاتا غير فعال ويمكن أن يضر أكثر مما ينفع.

Movember هي مؤسسة خيرية عالمية هذا يرفع المال لصحة الرجال. أحد مجالاتها الرئيسية لجمع التبرعات والتوعية هو الدعوة إلى اختبار سرطان البروستاتا مع اختبار PSA.

بصفتي طبيبة أسرية وباحثة في الصحة العامة ، لا أحصل على اختبار سرطان البروستاتا: لا فحص مستقيمي ولا فحص دم PSA.

كرجل في عمر معين ، من المحتمل أن أصاب بسرطان البروستات ، وأعرف أن المعاناة وحتى الموت من هذا السرطان هي على قائمة المصائر المحتملة التي تنتظرني. خياري ليس لأن لدي رأسي في الرمال. لأنه ، بعد دراسة الأدلة ، أعرف أن الاختبار لن يحسن من نتيجتي على الأرجح.

الفحص غير فعال

في السنوات الأخيرة ، تزايد الضغط على الرجال لفحص سرطان البروستات ، مع تشجيع المنظمات لنا "اعرف رقمك".

"إنه اختبار دم بسيط ،" بعد كل شيء.

البروستاتا كندا تقول ذلك واحد من كل سبعة رجال سيعاني من سرطان البروستاتا. وبمساعدة الفحص والعلاج الجراحي العلاجي ، يدعي كل من "موفمبر" و "بروستات كندا" ذلك سرطان البروستات لديها الآن نسبة شفاء أكثر من 97 في المائة.

للأسف ، هذه الادعاءات تعطي انطباعًا خاطئًا جدًا عن الواقع.

سرطان البروستاتا هو في الواقع شائع جدا ، ولكن أكثر من ذلك في البلدان التي تفحص الكثير ، مثل الولايات المتحدة وكندا. معدلات الوفاة لديها اختلاف أقل. وجدت الدراسات التي فحصت الرجال العاديين في مختلف الأعمار كثير من الرجال لديهم كميات صغيرة من ما يشبه السرطان في البروستاتا. أكثر من 30 في المائة من الرجال في 60s لديهم بعض خلايا سرطان البروستاتا ، وفي 80s ، أكثر من نصفهم. ولكن حتى لو لم يتم علاجهم ، فقط حوالي ثلاثة في المائة من الرجال سيموتون فعلا من سرطان البروستاتا، وأكثر من ذلك سيحدث في نهاية الحياةفي 70s أو 80s.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


إذا عثرنا على السرطان قبل عدة سنوات من المعتاد ، بالطبع سيبقى الرجال على قيد الحياة لمدة خمس سنوات ، على الرغم من أنهم قد لا يزالون يموتون في نفس العمر الذي كانوا سيعيشون فيه دون فحص. وهذا ما يسمى "التحيز في وقت البدء".

بما أن العديد من سرطانات البروستاتا تنمو ببطء شديد ، فإن العديد من الرجال سيموتون من شيء آخر قبل أن يصيبهم السرطان. يسمى هذا "التشخيص المفرط:" تحديد المرض الذي لن يكون مهمًا أبدًا.

الأدلة تظهر ذلك إذا تركنا الرجال بمفردنا ، فإننا نعترف فقط بسرطان البروستاتا في واحد ربما في الرجال 16. يبدو معدل الشفاء مرتفعاً ، لأننا نخلق إنذارات زائفة ونسم العديد من الرجال بأنهم مصابون بالسرطان لن يؤثر عليهم أبداً.

الفحص ليس "مجرد اختبار". لأخذ هذا الاختبار هو الدخول إلى زورق يهرول في نهر به منحدرات جامحة وغير متوقعة. دعني أشرح….

الاختبارات يصعب تفسيرها

اختبار PSA هو قياس مختبري يحتوي على أخطاء: كلاهما موجب كاذبة وسلبية خاطئة. ال عتبة الشذوذ غير واضح. تنصح السلطات المختلفة بمستويات مختلفة ، ويختلف الكثير مع العمر.

بالنسبة للرجال الذين يصابون بالإيجابية ، فإن أول فحص هو عادة خزعة البروستاتا - يتم دس إبرة في غدة البروستاتا عدة مرات للحصول على عينات من الغدة ، لفحصها تحت المجهر. هذا الإجراء يمكن أن تحمل العدوى إلى الغدة ، و ينتج عن العدوى الحادة في واحد في المائة من المرضى. في بعض الأحيان يصبح هذا التسمم (تسمم الدم) الذي يدمر الكلى وغيرها من الأعضاء ، أو يقتل الرجل.

يتم فحص عينات الخزعة تحت المجهر من قبل علماء الأمراض ، الذين يحاولون التنبؤ من مظهرهم ما إذا كانت هذه المجموعة من الخلايا ستستمر لقتل الرجل.

هذا أمر صعب: معظم تغيرات الخلايا التي تبدو مثل السرطان لا تتطور وتنتشر وتقتل. يكون التنبؤ أسهل للتغيرات الشديدة مقارنة بالتغييرات البسيطة المتكررة.

قد يكون العلاج مفيدًا لعدد قليل من الرجال الذين يعانون من تغيرات حادة ، ولكن بالنسبة للغالبية مع التغييرات الطفيفة ، من غير الواضح كيف يمكن المضي قدمًا.

سلس البول وصعوبة الانتصاب

يختلف العلاج ويمكن أن يضر أكثر مما ينفع. يعالج بعض أطباء المسالك البولية جميع "السرطانات". ويتبع آخرون نهجًا جديدًا للمراقبة ، مع إعادة اختبار منتظمة ، وربما تكرار خزعة. وهكذا يمكن تحويل رجل البئر إلى مريض "محتمل السرطان" ، والحصول على اختبارات منتظمة ، والتذكير بأنه قد يكون مصاباً بسرطان نامي. ليس من المستغرب أن العديد من هؤلاء الرجال يقررون إجراء جراحة ، فقط لإخراج الغدة ، وإنقاذ القلق.

وجود عملية جراحية لإزالة البروستاتا ليست عملية حميدة. كما هو الحال مع أي عملية هناك خطر حدوث مضاعفات. بعض الرجال سوف يصابون بالعدوى وجلطات الدم وعدد قليل سيموتون.

بعد الشفاء ، يعاني العديد من الرجال من سلس البول وصعوبة الانتصاب. من الصعب معرفة المعدلات الفعلية لأن قياس هذه الأمور صعب: كم من مراوغات البول ، أو كم عدد حالات الإلحاح المحرجة التي ينبغي أن تُحسب لتقرير أنها مهمة؟ عادة ما يتم نشر قياس جميع هذه النتائج فقط من قبل أفضل المراكز التي ترغب في وصف نتائجها بشكل علني. هناك اختلاف واسع عبر كندا: يبدو أن النتائج أسوأ بالنسبة للعديد من المراكز.

الجميع يفترض أن إجراء العلاج المبكر للسرطان سيعالجها.

نعم ، هذا صحيح بالنسبة لنسبة صغيرة من الرجال. التجارب القليلة المتاحة مقارنة الجراحة مع عدم علاج سرطان البروستاتا تظهر فائدة صغيرة جدا لعملية جراحية. إذا كنت مصاباً بسرطان مبكر لا يتطور ، فعالجتك الجراحة. (ولكنك لم تكن بحاجة إلى العلاج).

من ناحية أخرى ، فإن معظم الرجال المصابين بالسرطان الشديد لا يزالون يموتون على الرغم من الفحص والعلاج.

عدم كفاية الأدلة على فوائد الفحص

يؤكد المتحمسون لفحص PSA أنهم يمنعون تطور سرطان البروستاتا المتقدم. أتمنى أن كانت صحيحة.

وتأتي هذه الأدلة من مشروع واحد أُجري في أوروبا ، حيث بدأت سبعة مراكز بإجراء تجارب على آلاف الرجال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 55 و 70 ، أظهر اثنان فقط من المراكز نتائج إيجابية واضحة. حتى في التجارب ذات النتائج الإيجابية ، كانت فرصة الاستفادة صغيرة. لمنع كل وفاة من سرطان البروستاتا ، كان عليهم أن يدعوا حول رجال 800. وقعت الأضرار ، حيث كانت معدلات الإفراط في التشخيص عالية. وبعد 10 سنوات من المتابعة ، لموت ستة رجال بسبب هذا المرض. لذا فإن الفحص لا يمنع الوفاة من سرطان البروستاتا ، بل يقلله قليلاً.

كما أشارت انتقادات المحاكمات إلى أن هذه النتائج يمكن أن تكون نتيجة لقيام الرجال الذين تم فحصهم في مراكز عالية المهارة ، بتقديم علاج أكثر حداثة للمخدرات. إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، يجب على الرجال الانتظار حتى يصابوا بالسرطان ، ثم الحصول على علاج عالي الجودة. يمنح هذا الخيار خطر الإصابة بسرطان أعلى قليلاً ، ولكنه يقلل من فرصة الإفراط في التشخيص ، يليه العلاج غير الضروري.

بعد نشر نتائج التجارب الأوروبية ، قررت معظم المجموعات الطبية القائمة على الأدلة ، بما في ذلك فرقة العمل الكندية المعنية بالرعاية الصحية الوقائية ، أن الرجال أكثر عرضة للضرر أكثر من الاستفادة من الفحص. لذلك هم حذر من الفحص. أدلةهم ملخصة في يساعد القرار على مساعدة الرجال على فهم المخاطر والمنافع.

ماذا يقول المتخصصون في جراحة المسالك البولية؟

لدى جمعيات أمراض المسالك البولية نزاع: يرى أعضاؤها أن الرجال يموتون بشكل سيء من المرض ، ويريدون بطبيعة الحال أن يفعلوا كل شيء لوقفه. ومع ذلك ، فقد أصبحوا أكثر حذرا بعد رؤية نتائج التجربة ، والآن نوصي بإبلاغ الرجال بالمخاطر قبل البدء في مسار الفحص.

توصي جمعية المسالك البولية الأمريكية بعدم فحص الرجال الذين تقل أعمارهم عن السن عشر سنوات. ال جمعية المسالك البولية الكندية كان في اتفاق ، ولكن في الآونة الأخيرة خفضت العمر إلى 50 سنوات، باستثناء الحالات الخاصة للتاريخ العائلي القوي ، حيث يكون خطر الإصابة بالسرطان أعلى. ليس من الواضح مدى اتباع أعضائها لهذه التوصيات. العديد من الواضح لا.

الـ كالجاري ”مان فان“ - عيادة صحية متنقلة للرجال توفر اختبار PSA - توصي بالاختبار من عمر 40 ولا تبلغ الرجال عن حالات عدم اليقين التي تنطوي عليها. يتم إبلاغ هذه المنظمة من قبل أطباء المسالك البولية الذين لا يتبعون بوضوح سياسات المنظمة الخاصة بهم. ال حركة Movmber تقول عمر 50 و 45 لمن هم في خطر كبير.

وبالنسبة للرجال الذين لديهم مخاطر أكبر ، بسبب تاريخ عائلي قوي ، أو مخاطر مرتفعة قليلاً بسبب السلالة الإفريقية - ليس لدينا دليل واضح. نحن ببساطة لا نعرف ما إذا كان الفحص أكثر أو أقل فعالية بين هؤلاء الرجال ، ولا ما إذا كانت مخاطرهم تبدأ قبل الرجال الآخرين.

التسويق وراء اختبارات PSA.

تم تسويق اختبار PSA مباشرة إلى الرجال. لا يكون مقدمو الرعاية واضحين دائمًا ، ولكن يبدو أنهم مصنعو الاختبارات ، وغيرهم ممن يستفيدون من الفحص. يشملوا الشركات التي تصنع المعدات الجراحية والعقاقير المستخدمة لعلاج السرطان ، ومحلات السوبر ماركت التي تبيع منتجات سلس البول. بالنسبة إلى هؤلاء المانحين السخيين ، كلما زاد عدد الرجال الذين تم تشخيصهم ، زاد المنتج الذي يبيعونه.

كما أقنعت منظمات فحص البروستات العديد من الرجال ذوي النوايا الحسنة بأن هذا النشاط منقذ للحياة. وقد قاموا بتجنيد مانحين آخرين ممن يؤمنون بالحركة ، وغالباً بعد إزالة "السرطان" ، تم إقناعهم بأنهم شُفيوا من الجراحة.

من الصعب إخبار هؤلاء الناجين بأنهم على الأرجح قد أجروا عملية جراحية غير ضرورية تسببت في المخاطر والمضاعفات ، في حين أن معظم المصابين بسرطان شديد ما زالوا يموتون على الرغم من العلاج.

أفضل الطرق لتحسين صحة الرجال

الرجال يموتون في المتوسط ​​قبل ست سنوات من النساء. بالنسبة للشباب ، تعتبر الإصابات والعنف ، بما في ذلك حوادث الطرق ، السبب الأكثر شيوعًا ، وغالبًا ما يتغذى الكحول. في منتصف العمر حتى سن 75 ، السرطان هو أهم سبب للوفاة. بعد ذلك ، يسيطر مرض القلب والأوعية الدموية.

لكن سرطان البروستاتا لا يشمل سوى 20 في المائة من السرطانات. لا يزال سرطان الرئة أكثر أنواع السرطان المميتة بين الرجال ، ويرجع ذلك بشكل كبير إلى التدخين. في الواقع أكثر من نصف جميع المدخنين يموتون بسبب مرض التدخين، بالنسبة لهم ، أسباب أخرى بالكاد يهم.

رجال كثيرين يعانون من السمنة وارتفاع ضغط الدم والسكري (و هو في كثير من الأحيان سيئة التحكم). كل هذا يتحسن مع تغير السلوك: يحتاج الرجال إلى الإقلاع عن التدخين وتقليل الكحول وتناول الطعام الصحي وممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام. حتى زيادة صغيرة في النشاط ، مثل المشي بانتظام ، سوف إحداث فرق كبير في تأثير هذه الأمراض وخفض خطر الموت. كما أنه يساعد الناس على الشعور بتحسن.

المحادثةوبالتالي ، بدلاً من تشجيع "اختبار دم بسيط" ، من الأفضل بكثير أن يشجع الرجال بعضهم البعض على تغيير السلوكيات. من المحتمل أن يكون لهذا الأمر قيمة أكبر بكثير - مع تأثيرات سلبية أقل - من إجراء اختبارات PSA.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيمس ديكنسون ، أستاذ طب الأسرة ، جامعة كالجاري

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = منع سرطان البروستاتا ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Should You Get Your Prostate Checked?

Should You Get Your Prostate Checked?
Art credit: Vimeo

As Movember has come to a close, and men flaunt or shave the facial hair they have grown, there is something people should know — prostate cancer screening is ineffective and can do more harm than good.

Movember is a global charity that raises money for men’s health. One of its key areas for fundraising and awareness is to advocate for prostate cancer testing with a PSA test.

As a family physician and public health researcher, I am not getting a prostate cancer test: Neither a rectal examination nor a PSA blood test.

As a man of a certain age, I am likely to already have prostate cancer, and I know that suffering and even dying from this cancer is on the list of possible fates that await me. My choice is not because I have my head in the sand. It is because, after studying the evidence, I know that a test will likely not improve my outcome.

Screening is ineffective

In recent years, the pressure on men to be screened for prostate cancer has been mounting, with organisations encouraging us to “know your number.”

“It is only a simple blood test,” after all.

Prostate Canada says that one in seven men will have prostate cancer. With the help of screening and then curative surgical treatment, Movember and Prostate Canada claim that prostate cancer now has a cure rate of over 97 per cent.

Sadly, these claims give a very false impression of the reality.

Prostate cancer is indeed very common, but more so in countries that screen a lot, like the United States and Canada. Death rates have less variation. Studies that examined normal men at different ages found many men have small amounts of what looks like cancer in their prostate. Over 30 per cent of men in their 60s have some prostate cancer cells, and in their 80s, over half do. But even if they are not treated, only about three per cent of men will actually die of prostate cancer, and most of that will occur at the very end of life, in their 70s or 80s.

If we find cancer many years earlier than we would normally, of course the men will survive five years, though they may still die at the same age as they would have without screening. This is called “lead-time bias.”

Since many prostate cancers grow very slowly many men will die of something else before the cancer can affect them. This is called “overdiagnosis:” Identifying disease that will never be important.

The evidence shows that if we left men alone we would only recognise prostate cancer in perhaps one in 16 men. The cure rate looks high, because we create false alarms and label many men as having cancer that will never affect them.

Screening is not “just a test.” To take this test is to step into a canoe running down a river with wild and unpredictable rapids. Let me explain….

Tests are hard to interpret

The PSA test is a laboratory measurement with errors: Both false positive and false negative. The threshold for abnormality is not clear. Different authorities recommend different levels, and many vary with age.

For men who test positive, the first investigation is usually a prostate biopsy — a needle is poked into the prostate gland multiple times to obtain samples of the gland, to be examined under the microscope. This procedure can carry infection into the gland, and results in severe infections in one per cent of patients. Sometimes this becomes septicemia (blood poisoning) that damages kidneys and other organs, or kills the man.

The biopsy samples are examined under the microscope by pathologists, who try to predict from their appearance whether this collection of cells is likely to go on to kill the man.

This is difficult: Most cell changes that look like cancer do not develop, spread and kill. Prediction is easier for severe changes than for more frequent minor changes.

Treatment is potentially helpful for the few men with severe changes, but for the majority with minor changes it is unclear how best to proceed.

Incontinence and erectile difficulty

Treatment varies and can do more harm than good. Some urologists treat all “cancers.” Others follow a newer approach of surveillance, with regular re-testing, and possibly a repeat biopsy. Thus a well man can be converted into a “possible cancer” patient, getting regular tests, and being reminded that he might have a developing cancer. It is not surprising that many such men decide to have surgery, just to get the gland out, and save the anxiety.

Having surgery to remove the prostate is not a benign process. As with any operation there is a risk of complications. Some men will get infections, blood clots and a few will die.

After recovery, many men have urinary incontinence and erectile difficulty. It is hard to know the actual rates since measuring these is difficult: How much dribbling of urine, or how many embarrassing episodes of urgency should be counted to decide it is important? Measurement of all these outcomes is usually only published by the best centres that are willing to publicly describe their outcomes. There is wide variation across Canada: It appears that results are worse for many centres.

Everyone assumes that having the operation for early cancer will cure it.

Yes, it does, for a small proportion of men. The few trials available comparing surgery with not treating prostate cancer show a very small benefit for surgery. If you had an early cancer that would not develop, then the surgery cured you. (But you never needed the cure.)

On the other hand, most men with severe cancer still die despite screening and treatment.

Inadequate evidence on screening benefits

The enthusiasts for PSA screening assert that they are preventing development of advanced prostate cancer. I wish that were true.

Their evidence comes from one project conducted in Europe, where seven centres started running trials on thousands of men aged 55 to 70 years, but only two of the centres showed clear positive results. Even in the trials with positive results, the chance of benefit was small. To prevent each single death from prostate cancer, they had to invite around 800 men. Harms occurred, as over-diagnosis rates were high. And, after 13 years of follow-up, for one less death, six men still died of the disease. So screening does not prevent death from prostate cancer, only reduces it slightly.

Criticism of the trials has also pointed out that these results could be due to the screened men being treated at highly skilled centres, that offered more modern drug treatment. If so, men should simply wait until they get cancer, then obtain high-quality treatment. This choice gives a slightly higher risk of cancer spread, but reduces the chance of over-diagnosis followed by unnecessary treatment.

After the European trial results were published, most evidence-based medical groups including the Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care decided that men are more likely to experience harm than benefit from screening. So they warned against screening. Their evidence is summarized in decision aids to assist men to understand the risks and benefits.

What do urology specialists say?

Urology Associations have a conflict: their members see men dying miserably from the disease, and naturally want to do everything to stop it. However, they too became more cautious after seeing the trial outcome, and now recommend that men should be informed of the risks before they start down the screening pathway.

The American Urology Association recommends that men under age 55 should not be screened. The Canadian Urology Association was in agreement, but recently lowered the age to 50 years, except in special cases of strong family history, where the risk of cancer is higher. It is not clear how well their members follow these recommendations. Many clearly do not.

The Calgary “Man Van” — a mobile men’s health clinic offering PSA testing — recommends testing from the age of 40 and does not inform men of the uncertainties involved. This organisation is advised by urologists, who clearly do not follow their organisation’s policies. The Movember movement says age 50, and 45 for those at high risk.

And for men with higher risk, because of a strong family history, or slightly raised risk because of African ancestry — we have no clear evidence. We simply do not know whether screening is more or less effective among these men, nor whether their risk starts earlier than other men.

Marketing behind PSA tests.

The PSA test has been directly marketed to men. The sponsors are not always clear, but appear to be the manufacturers of the tests, and others who profit from screening. They include companies that make surgical equipment and drugs used to treat cancer, and supermarkets that sell incontinence products. For these generous donors, the more men who are diagnosed, the more product they sell.

Prostate screening organisations have also persuaded many men of goodwill that this is a life-saving activity. And they have enlisted other donors who believe in the movement, often after having had a “cancer” removed, persuaded they have been cured by surgery.

It is difficult to tell such survivors that they likely had unnecessary surgery that caused the risks and complications, while most who have severe cancer still die despite the treatment.

Better ways to improve men’s health

Men die on average six years earlier than women. For young men, injury and violence including road accidents are the commonest cause, often fuelled by alcohol. In midlife up to age 75, cancer is the most important cause of death. After that, cardiovascular disease dominates.

But prostate cancer only comprises 20 per cent of the cancers. Lung cancer is still the most common fatal cancer in men, largely caused by smoking. Indeed more than half of all smokers die of smoking-caused disease, so for them, other causes barely matter.

Many men are obese, have high blood pressure and diabetes (which are often poorly controlled). All these improve with behavioural change: men need to quit smoking, minimize alcohol, eat healthy food and take regular exercise. Even a small increase in activity, such as walking regularly, will make a substantial difference to the effect of these diseases and lower the risk of death. It also helps people feel better.

The ConversationThus rather than encouraging “a simple blood test,” it is far better for men to encourage one another to change behaviours. This is likely to have far more value — with fewer negative effects — than doing PSA tests.

About The Author

James Dickinson, Professor of Family Medicine, University of Calgary

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Prostatitis Syndromes: Approaches to Treating Bacterial Prostatitis, Non-Bacterial Prostatitis, Prostatodynia, Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia, ... And Possibly Preventing Prostate Cancer
healthAuthor: Bradley Hennenfent
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Prostatitis Foundation
List Price: $25.00

Buy Now

The Prostate Health Program: A Guide to Preventing and Controlling Prostate Cancer
healthAuthor: Daniel Nixon
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Free Press
List Price: $26.00

Buy Now

The Natural Way to a Healthy Prostate (Good Health Guides)
healthAuthor: Michael B. Schachter
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Education
List Price: $8.00

Buy Now

zh-CNtlfrdehiidptes

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}