يمكن لتغيرات الدماغ ترك كبار السن عرضة للالغش

يمكن لتغيرات الدماغ ترك كبار السن عرضة للالغش

كبار السن الذين سقطوا من أجل الحيل من قبل الأصدقاء أو الأقارب أو الغرباء يتصرفون كما يفعل أقرانهم الذين تجنبوا الشقوق. انهم قادرون على تحقيق التوازن بين دفاتر الشيكات الخاصة بهم. يمكنهم تذكر وتقييم المعلومات. شخصياتهم طبيعية ، وحسابهم على ما يرام.

لكن أدمغتهم مختلفة.

لأول مرة ، وجد الباحثون أساسا بيولوجيا للاستغلال المالي في كبار السن. في دراسة جديدة ، كان لدى كبار السن الذين تم استغلالهم ضمور أكثر واتصال أقل في مجالين رئيسيين من الدماغ.

"ليس خطأهم أنهم تعرضوا لسوء المعاملة. ليس لأنهم اتخذوا قرارًا سيئًا. "

تشير إحدى المناطق إلى الشخص عندما يحدث شيء مهم حوله ، بينما يخبره الآخر بكيفية قراءة الإشارات الاجتماعية ، مثل نوايا الآخرين.

معا ، هذه التغييرات المرتبطة بالعمر في الدماغ يمكن أن تجعل كبار السن أكثر عرضة للاستغلال المالي - خاصة عندما يعتبر المرء أن أفراد الأسرة هم أكثر مرتكبي الانتهاكات المالية شيوعا.

"ليس خطأهم أنهم تعرضوا لسوء المعاملة. يقول الكاتب الرئيسي ناثان سبرنغ ، الأستاذ المساعد في التنمية البشرية في جامعة كورنيل: "ليس السبب أنهم اتخذوا قرارًا سيئًا". هناك أسباب بيولوجية وراء حدوث هذه الانتهاكات ، ونحن نحاول أن نتعامل مع ذلك.

"يعاني الكبار الأكبر سناً من صعوبة في اجتياز هذه المواقف الاجتماعية الصعبة. يجب أن نبدأ في التعامل مع هذه المشكلة باعتبارها مشكلة طبية وليست مشكلة مجتمعية. "

وقد أظهرت الدراسات السابقة أن أفراد الأسرة هم أكثر المسيئين المالية شيوعا. في الدراسة الحالية ، نشرت في مجلات علم الشيخوخة، واصل رجل سرقة من جدته حتى بعد أن واجهته. قامت ابنة بتحصيل مبلغ $ 2,000 إلى حساب أحد المشاركين في الدراسة دون إذن. في حالة أخرى ، استعارت صديقة أحد الابن $ 4,000 ولم تدفعها أبدًا.

يمكن أن يتوقع واحد تقريبا من كبار السن في 20 أن يستغل ماليا ما بعد سن 60 ، وهو معدل الإصابة الذي هو أعلى من العديد من الأمراض المرتبطة بالعمر مثل أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والسرطان والتهاب المفاصل.

لكن هذه المنطقة ليست مدروسة بشكل جيد ، لأن العديد من كبار السن غير مدركين أو غير راغبين في الإبلاغ عن الاستغلال ، أو يشعرون بالحرج من الكشف عن أنهم خدعوا ، أو يريدون حماية خصوصيتهم. "من الصعب الحصول على جاذبية علمية" ، يقول Spreng.

بالنسبة للدراسة ، قام الباحثون باختبار كبار السن من 26 ، نصفهم تعرض للسرقة من قبل أفراد العائلة أو الجيران أو تم خداعهم عبر الإنترنت أو عبر الهاتف. وكان النصف الآخر قد تعرّض لنظام شقاوة ، لكنهم اعترفوا به وتجنّبه.

قام الباحثون بإجراء اختبارات سلوكية واسعة على كلا المجموعتين لمعرفة ما إذا كانوا يتصرفون بشكل مختلف. باستخدام تقييم 45 ، قاموا بقياس ذاكرة المشاركين في الدراسة ، والقدرة على الاهتمام بالمعلومات وتقييمها ، والتحكم المثبط ، وجوانب الشخصية ، والتفكير المالي.

وكان الاختلاف الوحيد في السلوك بين المجموعتين هو أن كبار السن الذين تم استغلالهم أفادوا بأنهم يشعرون بمزيد من الغضب والعداء.

ولكن ظهرت اختلافات أكثر أهمية في صور الدماغ.

"هناك مبلغ ضخم من المال يحبس في أصول شيوخنا. والناس يسعون بنشاط لهم ".

كان للشيوخ المستغلين ضمور في الوعاء الأمامي واتصالات أقل منه إلى شبكة دماغية أوسع. إشارة الواصلة الأمامية عندما يحدث شيء بارز في البيئة. بشكل عام ، هذه المنطقة ليست مستجيبة في كبار السن مقارنة مع الشباب ، ولا سيما في المواقف السلبية ، يقول Spreng.

"إذا كان كبار السن ، على سبيل المثال ، يمارسون القمار ، فإنهم يحصلون على نفس الإثارة التي قد يفوزون بها شيئًا مثلما يفعل الشباب الأصغر ، لكنهم لا يشعرون بنفس الشعور بالخوف أو الإحباط بسبب الخسائر. لذا ، فهم ليسوا حساسين لفقدان المال.

وقد انحلت المنطقة بشكل خاص في المجموعة المستغلة للدراسة ، مما يشير إلى أن الدماغ لم يكن يشير إلى أنهم يواجهون حالة خطرة.

كان للشيوخ المستغلين أيضًا ضمورًا أقل واتصالات عصبية أقل في قشرة الفص الجبهي الإنسي ، والتي تساعدنا على تقييم المواقف الاجتماعية ، مثل استنتاج أفكار أو نوايا الآخرين.

من المثير للدهشة ، شبكات من insula الأمامية والقشرة الفص الجبهي الإنسي كانت أكثر ارتباطا ببعضها البعض. هذا يشير إلى أن ضعف الحساسية تجاه المخاطر المالية جنبا إلى جنب مع الحد من الكشف عن عدم الجدارة بالثقة قد يترك كبار السن عرضة لعمليات الاحتيال.

أكثر ، هناك حاجة لدراسات أكبر للتحقق من صحة الآلية العصبية ، ولكن هذه الدراسة يمكن أن تكون الخطوة الأولى في تحديد طريقة للتنبؤ بمن قد يكون عرضة للاستغلال المالي ، كما يقول سبيرجن.

يقول سبيرجن إن الوقت مناسب ، لأن الجيل الحالي من كبار السن هم الأغنى على الإطلاق.

يقول: "هناك مبلغ ضخم من المال يحبس في أصول شيوخنا". "والناس تسعى بنشاط لهم".

مصدر: جامعة كورنيل

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الخرف. maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
by روبرت تي. لندن ، دكتوراه في الطب

Brain Changes Can Leave Seniors Vulnerable To Scams

Brain Changes Can Leave Seniors Vulnerable To Scams

Older adults who have fallen for scams by friends, relatives, or strangers behave just as their peers who have avoided rip-offs do. They are able to balance their checkbooks. They can remember and evaluate information. Their personalities are normal, and their arithmetic is fine.

But their brains are different.

For the first time, researchers have found a biological basis for financial exploitation in the elderly. In a new study, exploited older people had more atrophy and less connectivity in two key areas of the brain.

“It’s not their fault they’ve been abused. It’s not because they made a bad decision.”

One region signals a person when something significant is happening around them, and the other tells them how to read social cues, like other people’s intentions.

Together, these age-related changes in the brain can make older adults more vulnerable to financial exploitation—especially when one considers that family members are the most common perpetrators of financial abuse.

“It’s not their fault they’ve been abused. It’s not because they made a bad decision,” says lead author Nathan Spreng, assistant professor of human development at Cornell University. “There are biological reasons why these abuses have occurred, and we’re trying to get a handle on that.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Older adults are having a harder time navigating these tough social situations. We need to start treating this as a medical problem and not a societal one.”

Previous studies have shown that family members are the most common financial abusers. In the current study, published in the Journals of Gerontology, a man continued to steal from his grandmother even after she confronted him. A daughter charged $2,000 to a study participant’s account without permission. In another instance, a son’s girlfriend borrowed $4,000 and never paid it back.

Nearly one in 20 older adults can expect to be financially exploited beyond age 60, an incidence rate that is higher than many age-related diseases like cardiovascular disease, cancer, and arthritis.

But this area is not very well studied, because many older adults are unaware or unwilling to report exploitation, embarrassed to reveal they have been scammed, or want to protect their privacy. “It’s hard to get scientific traction,” Spreng says.

For the study, researchers tested 26 older adults, half of whom had been robbed by family members or neighbors or scammed online or by phone. The other half had been exposed to a rip-off scheme but had recognized and avoided it.

The researchers did extensive behavioral tests on both groups to see if they behaved differently. Using 45 assessments, they measured the study participants’ memory, ability to pay attention to information and evaluate it, inhibitory control, aspects of personality, and financial reasoning.

The only difference in behavior between the two groups was that older adults who had been exploited reported feeling more anger and hostility.

But more significant differences showed up in the brain images.

“There’s a huge amount of money locked up in our elders’ assets. And people are actively pursuing them.”

Exploited elders had atrophy in the anterior insula and fewer connections from it to a broader brain network. The anterior insula signals when something salient is happening in the environment. In general, this area isn’t as responsive in older adults compared with the young, particularly in negative situations, Spreng says.

“If older adults are, say, gambling, they get the same excitement that they might win something as younger adults do, but they don’t have the same feeling of dread or disappointment for the losses. So, they’re not as sensitive to losing money,” he says.

The region was particularly atrophied in the study’s exploited group, suggesting that the brain wasn’t signaling they were facing a risky situation.

Exploited elders also had more atrophy and fewer neural connections in the medial prefrontal cortex, which helps us appraise social situations, like inferring the thoughts or intentions of others.

Surprisingly, networks of the anterior insula and the medial prefrontal cortex were more connected to each other. This suggests that poor sensitivity to financial risk combined with reduced detection of untrustworthiness may leave older adults vulnerable to scams.

More, larger studies are needed to validate the neural mechanism, but this study could be a first step in identifying a way to predict who might be vulnerable to financial exploitation, Spreng says.

The time is right, Spreng says, because the current generation of elders is the wealthiest ever.

“There’s a huge amount of money locked up in our elders’ assets,” he says. “And people are actively pursuing them.”

Source: Cornell University

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=dementia;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…