Les hystérectomies sont liées à une mort précoce si les ovaires sont supprimés

Les hystérectomies sont liées à une mort précoce si les ovaires sont supprimés

Les scientifiques disent que l'enlèvement des ovaires au cours d'une hystérectomie pourrait augmenter le risque de maladie cardiaque, de cancer et de décès prématuré chez une femme.

Une étude de l'année 10, la plus grande de son genre, a comparé les femmes qui ont été traitées pour une maladie bénigne et qui ont eu les deux ovaires enlevés avec ceux qui en ont eu un ou n'en ont pas été retirés. Les chercheurs ont examiné les cas 113,679 de femmes âgées de 35-45 d'avril 2004 à Mars 2014. Un tiers des patients étudiés ont eu les deux ovaires enlevés.

"... L'élimination d'un organe métaboliquement actif tel que l'ovaire peut avoir des effets nocifs à long terme."

Les femmes dont un ou plusieurs ovaires ont été retirés étaient moins susceptibles de développer une cardiopathie ischémique (coronaropathie) ou un cancer après une hystérectomie que celles qui avaient subi une ablation des deux ovaires (bilatéraux). De plus, moins de femmes qui ont gardé un ovaire ou les deux par rapport à celles qui ont été enlevées sont mortes pendant la durée de l'étude - 0.6 pourcentage par rapport à 1.01%.

Bien que l'ablation des deux ovaires protège contre le développement ultérieur du cancer de l'ovaire, les chercheurs croient que les femmes préménopausées devraient être avisées que ce bénéfice se fait au prix d'un risque accru de maladies cardiovasculaires et d'autres cancers plus répandus.

«La combinaison de la plausibilité biologique et de la« taille de l'effet »massive montre que les femmes peuvent être informées que leur risque de cancer de l'ovaire est grandement réduit par l'ablation chirurgicale des deux ovaires», explique Richard Lilford, professeur d'obstétrique et de gynécologie. Université de Warwick Medical School.

"Cependant, le risque de développer un cancer de l'ovaire au cours de la vie en est un chez 52 au Royaume-Uni, et l'élimination d'un organe métaboliquement actif tel que l'ovaire peut avoir des effets nocifs à long terme.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


"Si tel est le cas, ces inconvénients à long terme (combinés avec les effets désagréables à court terme de la privation d'oestrogène aiguë) doivent être compensés contre le bénéfice conféré par la protection contre le cancer de l'ovaire."

Les chercheurs ont utilisé une base de données nationale des admissions à l'hôpital qu'ils ont reliée au registre national des décès. Contrairement à une précédente étude sur la santé des infirmières, la nouvelle étude a été menée à l'échelle nationale plutôt que sur un échantillon et a examiné les associations entre le type d'opération et les hospitalisations subséquentes, ainsi que la mortalité.

Quarante pour cent des femmes sans facteurs de risque spécifiques de cancer de la reproduction ont eu leurs ovaires enlevés au cours de l'hystérectomie abdominale dans le groupe d'âge 35-45.

"Cela pourrait être une proportion plus élevée que ce que l'on pourrait attendre chez les femmes qui étaient pleinement conscientes des pires conséquences sur la santé avec le retrait bilatéral que nous avons signalé", dit Lilford. "Dans ce cas, nous pourrions nous attendre à ce que la proportion de femmes qui choisissent l'enlèvement ovarien bilatéral diminue alors que les risques pour la santé qui doivent être échangés contre une incidence réduite du cancer de l'ovaire deviennent plus précis."

L'étude a également mis en évidence une légère diminution du nombre d'hystérectomies pratiquées. Près de femmes 9,000 ont subi une hystérectomie pour une affection bénigne appartenant à la tranche d’âge cible sous 2014, par rapport à presque 13,000 sous 2004-05.

Les chercheurs reconnaissent que les données disponibles n'étaient pas aussi détaillées qu'elles l'auraient souhaité, en particulier il n'y avait aucune information sur l'utilisation de l'hormonothérapie substitutive - mais ils prévoient de réexaminer les données à une date ultérieure pour examiner les tendances sur le long terme. terme.

La source: Université de Warwick

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = Hystérectomies; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Hysterectomies Are Tied To Early Death If Ovaries Are Removed

Hysterectomies Are Tied To Early Death If Ovaries Are Removed

Scientists say removing ovaries during a hysterectomy could increase a woman’s risk for heart disease, cancer, and premature death.

A 10-year study, the largest of its kind, compared women who were treated for a benign disease who had both ovaries removed with those who had one or none removed. Researchers looked at 113,679 cases of women aged 35-45 from April 2004 to March 2014. A third of the patients studied had both ovaries removed.

“…The removal of a metabolically active organ such as the ovary may have harmful effects in the long term.”

Women who had one or no ovaries removed were less likely to develop ischemic heart disease (coronary artery disease) or cancer after hysterectomy than those who had both (bilateral) ovaries removed. Further, fewer women who kept one or both ovaries compared to those who had both removed died within the duration of the study—0.6 percent compared to 1.01 percent.

Although removal of both ovaries protects against subsequent development of ovarian cancer, researchers believe premenopausal women should be advised that this benefit comes at the cost of an increased risk of cardiovascular disease and of other more prevalent cancers and higher overall mortality.

“The combination of biological plausibility and the massive ‘effect size’ make a compelling case that women can be advised that their risk of ovarian cancer is greatly reduced by surgical removal of both ovaries,” says Richard Lilford, professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Warwick Medical School.

“However, the lifetime risk of developing ovarian cancer is one in 52 in the UK, and the removal of a metabolically active organ such as the ovary may have harmful effects in the longterm.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“If so, these long-term disadvantages (combined with the unpleasant shorter term effects of acute estrogen deprivation) must be offset against the benefit conferred by protection from ovarian cancer.”

The researchers used a national database of hospital admissions which they linked to the national register of deaths. Unlike a previous, smaller Nurses’ Health Study, the new research was conducted on a countrywide basis rather than in a sample, and examined associations between operation type and subsequent hospital admissions, as well as mortality.

Forty percent of women with no specific risk factors for reproductive cancer had their ovaries removed during abdominal hysterectomy in the 35-45 age group.

“This might be a higher proportion than would be expected among women who were fully aware of the worse health outcomes with bilateral removal that we’ve reported,” Lilford says. “In that case, we might expect the proportion of women who select bilateral ovarian removal to decline as the health risks that must be traded for a reduced incidence of ovarian cancer come into sharper focus.”

The study also pointed to a small decline in the number of hysterectomies performed. Nearly 9,000 women had a hysterectomy for a benign condition in the target age range in 2014, compared to almost 13,000 in 2004-05.

The researchers acknowledge the data available wasn’t as detailed as they would have liked, in particular there was no information on the use of hormone replacement therapy—but they plan to re-examine the data at a later date to examine trends over the long term.

Source: University of Warwick

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Hysterectomies;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…