Il y a plus d'un type de maladie d'Alzheimer

Il y a plus d'un type de maladie d'Alzheimer

S'appuyer sur les symptômes cliniques de la perte de mémoire pour diagnostiquer la maladie d'Alzheimer peut manquer d'autres formes de démence causée par la maladie d'Alzheimer qui n'affectent pas initialement la mémoire, une nouvelle étude suggère.

«Ces personnes sont souvent négligées dans les essais cliniques et manquent des occasions de participer à des essais cliniques pour traiter la maladie d'Alzheimer», explique Emily Rogalski, première professeure agrégée à la neurologie cognitive de l'Université Northwestern et au Alzheimer's Disease Center.

La maladie d'Alzheimer peut causer des problèmes de langage, perturber le comportement, la personnalité et le jugement, ou même affecter le concept de l'endroit où les objets se trouvent dans l'espace.

Si cela affecte la personnalité, cela peut entraîner un manque d'inhibition, dit Rogalski. "Quelqu'un qui était très timide peut aller à l'épicerie-qui est un étranger-et essayer de lui donner un câlin ou un baiser."

Le type d'Alzheimer qu'une personne a dépend de la partie du cerveau qu'elle attaque, disent les chercheurs. Un diagnostic définitif ne peut être réalisé qu'avec une autopsie. Des preuves émergentes suggèrent qu'un TEP amyloïde, un test d'imagerie qui suit la présence d'amyloïde - une protéine anormale dont l'accumulation dans le cerveau est une caractéristique de la maladie d'Alzheimer - peut être utilisé pendant la vie pour déterminer la probabilité de pathologie de la maladie d'Alzheimer.

Dans l'étude, publié dans la revue Neurologie, les chercheurs identifient les caractéristiques cliniques des personnes atteintes d’aphasie progressive primaire (PPA), une démence rare causant un déclin progressif des capacités linguistiques en raison de la maladie d’Alzheimer. Au début du PPA, la mémoire et les autres capacités de réflexion sont relativement intactes.

La PPA peut être causée soit par la maladie d'Alzheimer, soit par une autre maladie neurodégénérative appelée dégénérescence lobaire frontotemporale. La présence de la maladie d'Alzheimer a été évaluée dans cette étude par imagerie TEP amyloïde ou confirmée par autopsie.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


L'étude démontre que connaître les symptômes cliniques d'un individu n'est pas suffisant pour déterminer si quelqu'un a un PPA dû à la maladie d'Alzheimer ou à un autre type de maladie neurodégénérative. Par conséquent, les biomarqueurs, tels que l'imagerie TEP amyloïde, sont nécessaires pour identifier la cause neuropathologique.

Les scientifiques du Nord-Ouest ont examiné les personnes en phase légère de la perte de la langue causée par la maladie d'Alzheimer et ont décrit leur atrophie cérébrale basée sur l'IRM et leurs résultats sur les tests cognitifs.

«Nous voulions décrire ces personnes afin de les sensibiliser aux caractéristiques cliniques et cérébrales précoces de la PPA afin de développer des paramètres qui plaideraient en faveur de leur inclusion dans les essais cliniques ciblant la maladie d'Alzheimer», explique Rogalski. "Ces personnes sont souvent exclues parce qu'elles n'ont pas de déficits de mémoire, mais elles partagent la même maladie [Alzheimer] qui cause leurs symptômes."

Les National Institutes of Health ont financé le travail.

La source: Northwestern University

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = Maladie d'Alzheimer; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

There Is More Than One Kind Of Alzheimer’s Disease

There Is More Than One Kind Of Alzheimer’s Disease

Relying on clinical symptoms of memory loss to diagnose Alzheimer’s disease may miss other forms of dementia caused by Alzheimer’s that don’t initially affect memory, a new study suggests.

“These individuals are often overlooked in clinical trial designs and are missing out on opportunities to participate in clinical trials to treat Alzheimer’s,” says first author Emily Rogalski, associate professor at Northwestern University’s Cognitive Neurology and Alzheimer’s Disease Center.

Alzheimer’s disease can cause language problems, disrupt behavior, personality, and judgment or even affect concept of where objects are in space.

If it affects personality, it may cause lack of inhibition, Rogalski says. “Someone who was very shy may go up to grocery store clerk—who is a stranger—and try to give her a hug or kiss.”

The type of Alzheimer’s a person has depends on what part of the brain it attacks, researchers say. A definitive diagnosis can only be achieved with an autopsy. Emerging evidence suggests an amyloid PET scan, an imaging test that tracks the presence of amyloid—an abnormal protein whose accumulation in the brain is a hallmark of Alzheimer’s—may be used during life to determine the likelihood of Alzheimer’s disease pathology.

In the study, published in the journal Neurology, researchers identify the clinical features of individuals with primary progressive aphasia (PPA), a rare dementia that causes progressive declines in language abilities due to Alzheimer’s disease.  Early on in PPA, memory and other thinking abilities are relatively intact.

PPA can be caused either by Alzheimer’s disease or another neurodegenerative disease family called frontotemporal lobar degeneration. The presence of Alzheimer’s disease was assessed in this study by amyloid PET imaging or confirmed by autopsy.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The study demonstrates that knowing an individual’s clinical symptoms isn’t sufficient to determine whether someone has PPA due to Alzheimer’s disease or another type of neurodegenerative disease. Therefore, biomarkers, such as amyloid PET imaging, are necessary to identify the neuropathological cause.

Northwestern scientists looked at people in mild stages of language loss caused by Alzheimer’s disease and described their brain atrophy based on MRI scans and their results on cognitive tests.

“We wanted to describe these individuals to raise awareness about the early clinical and brain features of PPA to develop metrics which would advocate for their inclusion in clinical trials targeting Alzheimer’s disease,” Rogalski says. “These individuals are often excluded because they don’t have memory deficits, but they share the same disease [Alzheimer’s] that’s causing their symptoms.”

The National Institutes of Health funded the work.

Source: Northwestern University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Alzheimer’s Disease;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…