Warum der Ansatz zur Bewältigung dieses stillen Mörders sich geändert hat

Warum der Ansatz zur Bewältigung dieses stillen Mörders sich geändert hat

Traditionell wurde jemand, der an Bluthochdruck oder Bluthochdruck litt, nur dann behandelt, wenn sein Blutdruck gemessen wurde und der Messwert höher als normal war. Das bedeutete aber, dass der Zustand oft nur dann aufgegriffen wurde, wenn die Person einen Schlaganfall oder einen Herzinfarkt hatte - und in vielen Fällen war es zu spät.

In der Folge hat sich in den letzten Jahren die Überlegung zur Behandlung von Bluthochdruck geändert. Die Forschung hat gezeigt, dass Bluthochdruck nicht nur auf der Grundlage einer einzigen Blutdruckmessung diagnostiziert werden sollte, da diese Messung variieren und durch andere Auslöser wie Stress ausgelöst werden könnte.

Stattdessen machen Ärzte Gebrauch von Risikobewertungsinstrument das misst das gesamte kardiovaskuläre Risiko eines Patienten. Das Tool schätzt das Risiko, dem eine Person in den nächsten zehn Jahren nach einem Herzinfarkt ausgesetzt ist.

Sie tun dies, indem sie die Risikofaktoren betrachten, denen Patienten ausgesetzt sind: Welches Alter und welches Geschlecht haben sie? Rauchen sie? Sind sie übergewichtig oder fettleibig und haben sie hohe Cholesterinwerte oder Diabetes? Das Tool ermittelt das Risiko eines Patienten, in den nächsten zehn Jahren eine kardiovaskuläre Erkrankung zu entwickeln und weist die Ärzte darauf hin, ob sie eine Behandlung mit Bluthochdruck verschreiben sollten, um das Risiko des Patienten zu reduzieren.

Dies liegt daran, dass die Bluthochdruckraten und die damit verbundenen riskanten Lebensgewohnheiten - insbesondere in den Entwicklungsländern - zunehmen.

Weltweit ungefähr 22% von Erwachsenen im Alter von 18 leiden nach Angaben der Weltgesundheitsorganisation in 2014 an Bluthochdruck. Aber in Afrika ist diese Zahl höher und sitzt bei 30%.

In Südafrika, 28% der erwachsenen Bevölkerung leidet unter Bluthochdruck im Vergleich zu 23% in Brasilien und 25% in China. Und bei Erwachsenen älter als 50 ist die Rate der Hypertonie so hoch wie 70%.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Bluthochdruck ist eine der Hauptursachen für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen wie Schlaganfall, Herzinfarkt, Herzversagen, periphere arterielle Verschlusskrankheit und Nierenerkrankungen.

Warum Behandlungsmethoden sich verändert haben

Die Herausforderung bei Bluthochdruck besteht darin, dass es für jemanden, der an Bluthochdruck leidet, normalerweise keine Warnzeichen oder Symptome gibt. Bluthochdruck wird oft als "stiller Killer" bezeichnet, da ein Herzinfarkt oder ein Schlaganfall das erste Warnsignal sein kann.

Aber Patienten haben klassisch eine Kombination von anderen Risikofaktoren. Dazu gehören eine ungesunde Ernährung, keine sportliche Betätigung und zu viel Rauchen und Trinken. Und es sind die Auswirkungen dieser Verhaltensrisikofaktoren, die sich bei Patienten als Bluthochdruck, erhöhter Blutzuckerspiegel, erhöhtes Cholesterin und Übergewicht und Fettleibigkeit zeigen können.

Als Ergebnis wird geschätzt, dass in Südafrika nur 26% der Männer und 51% der Frauen sind sich bewusst dass sie an Bluthochdruck leiden.

Der Forschung zeigt, dass Hypertonie in Südafrika der Hauptgrund dafür ist, dass Menschen Hilfe von medizinischen Einrichtungen wie Kliniken suchen. Es ist auch die häufigste Diagnose in der medizinischen Grundversorgung des Landes.

Ändern Sie Ihren Lebensstil kann helfen

Bei der Behandlung von Bluthochdruck geht es nicht nur um Tabletten. Jemand mit erhöhtem Blutdruck kann es auch reduzieren, indem er ihr Verhalten ändert. Es gibt mehrere Richtlinien, die befolgt werden sollten:

  • Reduzieren Sie die Salzaufnahme, da es den Blutdruck erhöht. Die südafrikanische Regierung hat kürzlich gesetzlich Salzzufuhr, die besagt, dass der Salzgehalt in gewöhnlichen Lebensmitteln wie Brot reduziert werden sollte. Als zusätzliche Maßnahme sollten die Menschen kein zusätzliches Salz zu ihrer Nahrung hinzufügen und sehr salzige verarbeitete Lebensmittel wie Päckchensuppen, Brühwürfel oder Bratensoße vermeiden.

  • Abnehmen. Menschen, die übergewichtig oder fettleibig sind, haben ein höheres Risiko für Bluthochdruck. Der Schlüssel ist gesund zu essen, zu trainieren und reduzieren Portionen. Anstelle von großen Mengen stärkehaltigen Lebensmitteln muss die Obst- und Gemüseaufnahme erhöht und fetthaltige Nahrung und Zucker reduziert werden.

  • Trink weniger. Alkohol erhöht auch den Blutdruck, so dass es wichtig ist, nur in Maßen zu trinken. Männer sollten nicht mehr als zwei Drinks pro Tag und Frauen einen Drink pro Tag trinken.

  • Trainiere mehr. Mindestens 150 Minuten Training pro Woche werden in 30 Minuten pro Tag übersetzt, was die Herzfrequenz erhöht.

  • Rauch weniger. Eine Person, die raucht, kann ihr kardiovaskuläres Risiko weiter reduzieren, indem sie das Rauchen ganz reduziert oder ganz aufgibt.

Selbst wenn Patienten in der Behandlung von Bluthochdruck behandelt werden, ist es dennoch wichtig, dass sie versuchen, ihr Verhalten zu ändern, da dies die Menge an Medikamenten reduziert, die sie benötigen, um ihren Blutdruck zu kontrollieren.

Aber am wichtigsten ist die Diagnose wichtig. Viele Menschen sind sich ihres kardiovaskulären Risikos nicht bewusst und erhöhen den Blutdruck. Menschen sollten ihren Blutdruck mindestens einmal alle fünf Jahre überprüfen, um sicherzustellen, dass es normal ist. Dies kann in einer Klinik oder sogar in einer Apotheke erfolgen.

Über den Autor

Bob Mash, Abteilung für Familienmedizin und Primary Care, Stellenbosch University

Zelra Malan, Senior Lecturer, Abteilung für Familienmedizin und Primary Care, Fakultät für Medizin und Gesundheitswissenschaften, Stellenbosch University

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Hypertonie; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why The Approach To Tackle This Silent Killer Has Changed

Why The Approach To Tackle This Silent Killer Has Changed

Traditionally, someone who suffered from hypertension – or high blood pressure – would only receive treatment when his or her blood pressure was measured and the reading was found be higher than normal. But this meant that the condition was often picked up only when the person had a stroke or a heart attack – and in many instances this was too late.

As a result of this, the thinking on when to treat hypertension has changed in the past few years. Research has shown that hypertension should not only be diagnosed on the basis of one blood pressure reading, as this reading could vary and be raised by other triggers such as stress.

Instead, doctors make use of a risk assessment tool that measures the overall cardiovascular risk of a patient. The tool estimates the risk that a person faces over the next ten years of having a heart attack.

They do this by looking at the risk factors patients are exposed to: what is their age and gender? Do they smoke? Are they overweight or obese and do they have high cholesterol levels or diabetes? The tool determines a patient’s risk of developing cardiovascular disease in the next ten years and guides doctors on whether or not they should prescribe high blood pressure treatment to reduce the patient’s risk.

This is because hypertension rates and associated risky lifestyle behaviours are on the rise – especially in the developing world.

Globally about 22% of adults over the age of 18 suffer from hypertension, according to statistics from the World Health Organisation in 2014. But in Africa, this figure is higher and sits at 30%.

In South Africa, 28% of the adult population suffers from hypertension compared with 23% in Brazil and 25% in China. And among adults older than 50 the rate of hypertension is as high as 70%.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Hypertension is one of the leading causes of cardiovascular diseases such as stroke, heart attacks, heart failure, peripheral vascular disease and kidney disease.

Why treatment methods have changed

The challenge with hypertension is that there are usually no warning signs or symptoms for someone suffering from hypertension. Hypertension is often referred to as the “silent killer”, as a heart attack or a stroke may be the first warning sign.

But patients do classically have a combination of other risk factors. These include having an unhealthy diet, not exercising, and smoking and drinking too much. And it is the effects of these behavioural risk factors that may show up in patients as hypertension, raised blood glucose, raised cholesterol, and being overweight and obese.

As a result, it is estimated that in South Africa only 26% of men and 51% of women are aware that they suffer from hypertension.

The research shows that in South Africa hypertension is the leading reason that people seek help from primary care facilities such as clinics. It is also the most common diagnosis in primary care in the country.

Changing your lifestyle can help

Treating hypertension is not only about taking tablets. Someone with raised blood pressure can also reduce it by changing their behaviour. There are several guidelines that should be followed:

  • Reduce salt intake as it raises blood pressure. The South African government has recently legislated salt intake, ruling that salt content in common foods such as bread should be reduced. As an extra measure, people should not add extra salt to their food and avoid very salty processed foods such as packet soups, stock cubes or gravies.

  • Lose weight. People who are overweight or obese have a higher risk of suffering from hypertension. The key is to eat healthily, exercise and reduce meal portions. Instead of large amounts of starchy food, fruit and vegetable intake must be increased and fatty foods and sugar reduced.

  • Drink less. Alcohol also increases blood pressure so it is important to only drink in moderation. Men should not exceed two drinks a day and women one drink a day.

  • Exercise more. At least 150 minutes of exercise a week translates into 30 minutes a day, which raises the heart rate.

  • Smoke less. A person who smokes can reduce their cardiovascular risk further by cutting down or stopping smoking altogether.

Even when patients are on treatment for hypertension it is still important for them to try to change their behaviour as this reduces the amount of medication they need to control their blood pressure.

But most importantly, diagnosis is important. Many people are unaware of their cardiovascular risk and raised blood pressure. People should check their blood pressure at least once every five years to ensure that it is normal. This can be done at a clinic or even a pharmacy.

About The Authors

Bob Mash, Division of Family Medicine and Primary Care, Stellenbosch University

Zelra Malan, Senior Lecturer, Division of Family Medicine and Primary Care, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=hypertension;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…