لماذا تغيرت طريقة التعامل مع هذا القاتل الصامت

لماذا تغيرت طريقة التعامل مع هذا القاتل الصامت

تقليديا ، فإن الشخص الذي يعاني من ارتفاع ضغط الدم - أو ارتفاع ضغط الدم - لن يتلقى العلاج إلا عندما يقاس ضغط دمه ويصبح القراءة أعلى من المعدل الطبيعي. لكن هذا يعني أن الشرط كان يتم التقاطه فقط عندما يصاب الشخص بسكتة دماغية أو نوبة قلبية - وفي كثير من الأحيان كان ذلك متأخرا جدا.

ونتيجة لذلك ، تغير التفكير في وقت علاج ارتفاع ضغط الدم في السنوات القليلة الماضية. أظهرت الأبحاث أن ارتفاع ضغط الدم يجب ألا يتم تشخيصه فقط على أساس قراءة ضغط دم واحدة ، حيث أن هذه القراءة يمكن أن تختلف وتثار من خلال محفزات أخرى مثل الإجهاد.

بدلا من ذلك ، يستفيد الأطباء من أداة تقييم المخاطر يقيس الخطر القلبي الوعائي الكلي للمريض. تقدر الأداة خطر تعرض الشخص خلال السنوات العشر القادمة من نوبة قلبية.

يفعلون ذلك من خلال النظر في عوامل الخطر التي يتعرض لها المرضى: ما هو عمرهم ونوعهم؟ هل يدخنون؟ هل يعانون من زيادة الوزن أو السمنة وهل لديهم مستويات عالية من الكوليسترول أو السكري؟ تحدد الأداة خطر إصابة المريض بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية في السنوات العشر القادمة وتوجه الأطباء حول ما إذا كانوا يصفون علاج ارتفاع ضغط الدم أم لا ، وذلك للحد من مخاطر المريض.

وذلك لأن معدلات ارتفاع ضغط الدم والسلوكيات المرتبطة بنمط الحياة الخطرة في ازدياد - خاصة في العالم النامي.

على الصعيد العالمي حول 22% من البالغين فوق عمر 18 يعانون من ارتفاع ضغط الدم ، وفقا لإحصاءات منظمة الصحة العالمية في 2014. لكن في أفريقيا ، هذا الرقم أعلى ويجلس عند 30٪.

فى جنوب افريقيا، 28٪ من السكان البالغين يعاني من ارتفاع ضغط الدم مقارنة مع 23 ٪ في البرازيل و 25 ٪ في الصين. وبين البالغين الأكبر سنا من 50 فإن معدل ارتفاع ضغط الدم مرتفع مثل 70٪.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ارتفاع ضغط الدم هو واحد من الأسباب الرئيسية لأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية مثل السكتة الدماغية والنوبات القلبية وفشل القلب وأمراض الأوعية الدموية الطرفية وأمراض الكلى.

لماذا تغيرت طرق العلاج

التحدي مع ارتفاع ضغط الدم هو أنه لا توجد عادة علامات التحذير أو أعراض لشخص يعاني من ارتفاع ضغط الدم. يشار إلى ارتفاع ضغط الدم باسم "القاتل الصامت" ، حيث أن النوبة القلبية أو السكتة الدماغية قد تكون علامة التحذير الأولى.

لكن المرضى لديهم مجموعة من عوامل الخطر الأخرى. وتشمل هذه اتباع نظام غذائي غير صحي ، وعدم ممارسة ، والتدخين والشرب أكثر من اللازم. ومن آثار عوامل الخطر السلوكية هذه التي قد تظهر في المرضى مثل ارتفاع ضغط الدم ، وارتفاع نسبة الجلوكوز في الدم ، وارتفاع نسبة الكولسترول في الدم ، وزيادة الوزن والسمنة.

نتيجة لذلك ، تشير التقديرات إلى أنه في جنوب أفريقيا فقط 26٪ من الرجال و 51٪ من النساء هم على بينة أنهم يعانون من ارتفاع ضغط الدم.

الـ بحث يظهر أن ارتفاع ضغط الدم في جنوب أفريقيا هو السبب الرئيسي في أن الناس يبحثون عن المساعدة من مرافق الرعاية الأولية مثل العيادات. هو أيضا التشخيص الأكثر شيوعا في الرعاية الصحية الأولية في البلاد.

يمكن أن يساعد تغيير نمط حياتك

علاج ارتفاع ضغط الدم ليس فقط حول تناول الأقراص. يمكن لشخص ما مع ارتفاع ضغط الدم أيضا تقليله عن طريق تغيير سلوكهم. هناك عدة إرشادات يجب اتباعها:

  • تقليل تناول الملح لأنه يرفع ضغط الدم. حكومة جنوب افريقيا لديها مؤخرا تشريع تناول الملح ، التي تقرر أن محتوى الملح في الأطعمة الشائعة مثل الخبز يجب أن ينخفض. كإجراء إضافي ، لا ينبغي على الناس إضافة ملح إضافي إلى طعامهم وتجنب الأطعمة المملحة جداً مثل حساء الرزم ، مكعبات الأوراق المالية أو مرق اللحم.

  • فقدان الوزن. الأشخاص الذين يعانون من زيادة الوزن أو السمنة يكونون أكثر عرضة للمعاناة من ارتفاع ضغط الدم. المفتاح هو تناول الطعام الصحي وممارسة الرياضة وخفض عدد الوجبات. وبدلاً من تناول كميات كبيرة من الطعام النشوي ، يجب زيادة تناول الفاكهة والخضراوات وتخفيض الأطعمة الدهنية والسكر.

  • اشرب أقل كما يزيد الكحول من ضغط الدم لذا من المهم شربه فقط باعتدال. يجب ألا يتجاوز الرجال مشروبين في اليوم وتشرب النساء يومًا واحدًا.

  • ممارسة أكثر. يترجم دقائق 150 على الأقل من التدريب أسبوعيًا إلى دقائق 30 في اليوم ، مما يرفع معدل نبضات القلب.

  • دخان أقل. يمكن للشخص الذي يدخن أن يقلل من خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية بشكل أكبر عن طريق الحد من التدخين أو إيقافه تمامًا.

حتى عندما يكون المرضى في علاج ارتفاع ضغط الدم ، لا يزال من المهم بالنسبة لهم محاولة تغيير سلوكهم لأن هذا يقلل من كمية الأدوية التي يحتاجون إليها للتحكم في ضغط الدم لديهم.

لكن الأهم من ذلك ، التشخيص مهم. كثير من الناس غير مدركين لخطر القلب والأوعية الدموية ورفع ضغط الدم. يجب على الناس فحص ضغط الدم مرة واحدة على الأقل كل خمس سنوات للتأكد من أنه طبيعي. يمكن القيام بذلك في العيادة أو حتى الصيدلية.

عن المؤلفين

بوب ماش ، قسم طب الأسرة والرعاية الأولية ، جامعة ستيلينبوش

زيلرا مالان ، محاضر أول ، قسم طب الأسرة والعناية الأولية ، كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية ، جامعة ستيلينبوش

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = ارتفاع ضغط الدم، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why The Approach To Tackle This Silent Killer Has Changed

Why The Approach To Tackle This Silent Killer Has Changed

Traditionally, someone who suffered from hypertension – or high blood pressure – would only receive treatment when his or her blood pressure was measured and the reading was found be higher than normal. But this meant that the condition was often picked up only when the person had a stroke or a heart attack – and in many instances this was too late.

As a result of this, the thinking on when to treat hypertension has changed in the past few years. Research has shown that hypertension should not only be diagnosed on the basis of one blood pressure reading, as this reading could vary and be raised by other triggers such as stress.

Instead, doctors make use of a risk assessment tool that measures the overall cardiovascular risk of a patient. The tool estimates the risk that a person faces over the next ten years of having a heart attack.

They do this by looking at the risk factors patients are exposed to: what is their age and gender? Do they smoke? Are they overweight or obese and do they have high cholesterol levels or diabetes? The tool determines a patient’s risk of developing cardiovascular disease in the next ten years and guides doctors on whether or not they should prescribe high blood pressure treatment to reduce the patient’s risk.

This is because hypertension rates and associated risky lifestyle behaviours are on the rise – especially in the developing world.

Globally about 22% of adults over the age of 18 suffer from hypertension, according to statistics from the World Health Organisation in 2014. But in Africa, this figure is higher and sits at 30%.

In South Africa, 28% of the adult population suffers from hypertension compared with 23% in Brazil and 25% in China. And among adults older than 50 the rate of hypertension is as high as 70%.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Hypertension is one of the leading causes of cardiovascular diseases such as stroke, heart attacks, heart failure, peripheral vascular disease and kidney disease.

Why treatment methods have changed

The challenge with hypertension is that there are usually no warning signs or symptoms for someone suffering from hypertension. Hypertension is often referred to as the “silent killer”, as a heart attack or a stroke may be the first warning sign.

But patients do classically have a combination of other risk factors. These include having an unhealthy diet, not exercising, and smoking and drinking too much. And it is the effects of these behavioural risk factors that may show up in patients as hypertension, raised blood glucose, raised cholesterol, and being overweight and obese.

As a result, it is estimated that in South Africa only 26% of men and 51% of women are aware that they suffer from hypertension.

The research shows that in South Africa hypertension is the leading reason that people seek help from primary care facilities such as clinics. It is also the most common diagnosis in primary care in the country.

Changing your lifestyle can help

Treating hypertension is not only about taking tablets. Someone with raised blood pressure can also reduce it by changing their behaviour. There are several guidelines that should be followed:

  • Reduce salt intake as it raises blood pressure. The South African government has recently legislated salt intake, ruling that salt content in common foods such as bread should be reduced. As an extra measure, people should not add extra salt to their food and avoid very salty processed foods such as packet soups, stock cubes or gravies.

  • Lose weight. People who are overweight or obese have a higher risk of suffering from hypertension. The key is to eat healthily, exercise and reduce meal portions. Instead of large amounts of starchy food, fruit and vegetable intake must be increased and fatty foods and sugar reduced.

  • Drink less. Alcohol also increases blood pressure so it is important to only drink in moderation. Men should not exceed two drinks a day and women one drink a day.

  • Exercise more. At least 150 minutes of exercise a week translates into 30 minutes a day, which raises the heart rate.

  • Smoke less. A person who smokes can reduce their cardiovascular risk further by cutting down or stopping smoking altogether.

Even when patients are on treatment for hypertension it is still important for them to try to change their behaviour as this reduces the amount of medication they need to control their blood pressure.

But most importantly, diagnosis is important. Many people are unaware of their cardiovascular risk and raised blood pressure. People should check their blood pressure at least once every five years to ensure that it is normal. This can be done at a clinic or even a pharmacy.

About The Authors

Bob Mash, Division of Family Medicine and Primary Care, Stellenbosch University

Zelra Malan, Senior Lecturer, Division of Family Medicine and Primary Care, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=hypertension;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…