لماذا لا يحب الرجال الحديث عن تضخم البروستاتا

لماذا لا يحب الرجال الحديث عن تضخم البروستاتا

ربما لا يكون الحديث عن عدد المرات التي يتعين عليك النهوض فيها أثناء الليل لخطاب أكثر العبارات إثارة. ولكن هناك سبب أكبر بكثير للرجال لا يحبون التحدث عن حالات البروستاتا.

إن تجربتي كطبيب مسالك بولية تشير إلى أن معظم الرجال لا يحبون التحدث عن البروستات المتضخمة لأنهم في الواقع ليس لديهم أي فكرة عن ماهية البروستات لديهم أو حتى فعله ، ناهيك عن الكيفية التي يمكن أن يسبب بها المشاكل عندما يكبر مع تقدم العمر. لقد سمعوا به بالطبع ، إنهم يعلمون أنه في مكان ما هناك وأنه يمكن أن يصاب بالسرطان فيه ، لكن في الغالب أظن أن الأمر يتعلق بحجمه.

لذا ، دعنا نعود إلى الأساسيات ونوضح لهؤلاء الأشخاص (أنت؟) ما هي البروستاتا وماذا تفعل وما الذي يمكن أن يحدث عندما تتوسع بسبب تضخم البروستاتا الحميد (التوسيع).

ما هي البروستاتا؟

البروستاتا هي غدة مصنوعة من أنسجة صلبة تقع مباشرة تحت مثانة الرجل وتحيط بمنفذها. وظيفة البروستاتا هي جعل السائل المنوي الذي يتم تساقطه من الخصية عند القذف قد حصل على النقل والغذاء لرحلته إلى الأرض الموعودة لأنبوب فالوب الأنثوي.

عادة ما يكون حجم البروستات بحجم الجوز ، ولكن بمجرد إصابة الرجال بـ 50 وما بعدها من الشائع جدًا أن تنمو البروستاتا لديهم. هذا ليس سرطان ويبدو أنه لا علاقة له بالسرطان. نحن لا نعرف بالضبط لماذا تقرر البروستاتا أن تنمو في هذه المرحلة ، ولكن يبدو أن ذلك يرجع إلى بعض التفاعل بين الهرمونات.

لأن البروستاتا تحيط بمأخذ المثانة ، فعندما تقوم بتوسيعها تضيق المخرج في بعض الأحيان ، مما يؤدي إلى ضعف تدفق البول وإفراغ المثانة غير المكتمل. هذا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى أعراض أخرى مثل إلحاح وتواتر التبول ، عادة في الليل (بيلة ليلية). معًا ، نسمي هذه الأعراض المسالك البولية الأقل.

أسوأ سيناريو في تضخم البروستاتا الحميد هو عندما تسد المثانة تمامًا (الاحتباس الحاد). هذا أمر مؤلم للغاية ويتطلب إدخال عاجل لقسطرة ، والتي تستنزف البول من الخارج.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


التشخيص

العرض الكلاسيكي هو رجل في منتصف العمر أو أكبر يشكو من أعراض المسالك البولية السفلية هذه. فحص الطبيب عن طريق المستقيم ، حيث يمكن رؤية الجزء الخلفي من البروستاتا ، أو الكشف عن الموجات فوق الصوتية عادة البروستاتا الموسع. بالمناسبة ، نادراً ما يسبب سرطان البروستاتا أعراضًا أقل للمسالك البولية ، ولكنه شائع في نفس الفئة العمرية تمامًا ، مما يعقد تشخيصه.

الأعراض التي ترفع علامة حمراء تشير إلى أن تضخم البروستاتا الحميد القديم البسيط قد لا يكون السبب الكامن وراء انخفاض أعراض المسالك البولية وهي التبول المؤلم (عسر البول) والدم في البول (بيلة دموية). قد يشير أي من هذين المرضين إلى سرطان أو إصابة في المسالك البولية ويتطلب دائمًا إجراء مزيد من الاختبارات لاستبعادها. إذا كانت الأعراض مجرد أعراض قياسية في الجهاز البولي السفلي مثل الإلحاح وتواتر التبول ، فلا يلزم إجراء مزيد من الاختبارات.

علاجات

أهم شيء يجب معرفته هو إذا لم تزعجك الأعراض بشكل خاص لا تحتاج إلى أي علاج على الاطلاق. قد تزداد الأعراض سوءًا بمرور الوقت ، لكن يمكن التعامل معها بفعالية إذا تسببت في حدوث تأثير كاف على نوعية الحياة ومتى يحدث ذلك.

الأدوية هي العلاج الأكثر شيوعا لأعراض المسالك البولية المزعجة بسبب تضخم البروستاتا. يمكن إعطاء العديد من هذه كجهاز لوحي يومي واحد.

Alpha1 حاصرات يبدو أنه يعمل عن طريق تخفيف ألياف العضلات في البروستاتا ، مما يقلل من انقباض مخرج المثانة. هذه عادة ما توفر تخفيف الأعراض في غضون أيام فقط من بدايتها.

ومن المثير للاهتمام ، واحدة من الأدوية عادة ما تستخدم لعلاج ضعف الانتصاب (كو) يعمل بطريقة مماثلة. كما تمت الموافقة على شكل جرعة منخفضة للاستخدام في علاج هذه الأعراض البولية.

مثبطات 5-alpha-reductase (5-ARIs) هو نوع مختلف تمامًا من المخدرات ، مما يؤدي إلى تقليص النسيج الغدي للبروستاتا ، مما يقلل حجمه إلى الحد من انقباض البروستاتا في النهاية. ولكن هذه تستغرق وقتًا أطول من العمل ، لذلك عادة ما لا يتم ملاحظة تأثيرها لعدة أشهر. أيضا ، يمكن لهذه الأدوية في بعض الأحيان تسبب ضعف الانتصاب وانخفاض الرغبة الجنسية. واحد المخدرات المتاحة يجمع بين كلا alpha1-blocker و 5-ARI في قرص واحد.

تعمل حاصرات Alpha1 و 5-ARI على البروستاتا ، ولكن في بعض الأحيان قد لا تكون البروستاتا نفسها هي التي تسبب هذه الأعراض ، ولكن فرط نشاط المثانة في حين أن. لذلك إذا كانت إلحاح وتواتر التبول هي الأعراض الرئيسية ، وهو الدواء الذي يعمل بشكل مباشر استرخاء العضلات المثانة (النافصة) قد يكون خيارا أفضل. مجموعة متنوعة من هذه متاحة الآن.

على الرغم من أن بعض الناس أقسم الطب الطبيعي شهدت بالميتويخبرنا الفحص الأكثر صرامة للأدلة أنه ليس أفضل من الدواء الوهمي.

خيارات جراحيةعلى الرغم من فعاليته الكبيرة ، إلا أنه عادة ما يكون مخصصًا للأعراض الأكثر حدة ، أو عندما يكون إفراغ المثانة غير الكافي قد أدى إلى عواقب نادرة نسبيًا لحصوات المثانة ، أو التهاب البول المتكرر أو الفشل الكلوي.

حتى الآن أنت الآن على اطلاع مع تضخم البروستاتا والحميد ، لا يجب أن تخاف من سؤال زملائك عن الجوز.

نبذة عن الكاتب

grummet جيريميجيريمي غرميت ، أخصائي أمراض المسالك البولية ، أستاذ مساعد سريري مساعد ، قسم الجراحة ، جامعة موناش. وهو جراح المسالك البولية مع التدريب والخبرة المتخصصة في سرطانات المسالك البولية. انه يؤدي خزعة transperineal المستهدفة التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للتأكد من دقتها القصوى والحد الأدنى من الاعتلال في تشخيص سرطان البروستاتا.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تضخم البروستاتا ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Men Don't Like To Talk About Their Enlarged Prostate

Why Men Don't Like To Talk About Their Enlarged Prostate

Conversation about how often you have to get up at night for a piddle is probably not the most scintillating discourse. But there’s a much bigger reason men don’t like to talk about prostate conditions.

My experience as a practising urologist suggests most men don’t like talking about their enlarged prostate because they actually have no idea what their prostate even is or does, let alone how it can cause problems when it gets bigger with age. They’ve heard of it of course, they know it’s somewhere down there and that it can get cancer in it, but mostly I suspect that’s about the extent of it.

So, let’s get back to basics and explain to these guys (you?) what the prostate is, what it does, and what can happen when it enlarges due to benign prostate hyperplasia (enlargement).

What is the prostate?

The prostate is a gland made of solid tissue that sits right under a man’s bladder and surrounds its outlet. The prostate’s job is to make semen so sperm that are shot up from the testes at ejaculation have got transport and food for their journey to the promised land of the female fallopian tube.

The prostate is normally about the size of a walnut, but once men hit their 50s and beyond it’s very common for their prostate to grow. This is not cancer and appears to have nothing to do with cancer. We don’t know exactly why the prostate decides to grow at this point, but it appears to be due to some interplay between hormones.

Because the prostate surrounds the bladder outlet, when it enlarges it sometimes constricts the outlet, causing a weak flow of urine and incomplete bladder emptying. This can lead to other symptoms such as urgency and frequency of urination, commonly at night (nocturia). All together, we call these lower urinary tract symptoms.

The worst-case scenario in benign prostate hyperplasia is when the bladder blocks off altogether (acute retention). This is excruciatingly painful and requires urgent insertion of a catheter, which externally drains the urine.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Diagnosis

The classic presentation is a middle-aged or older man complaining of these lower urinary tract symptoms. A doctor’s rectal examination, where the back of the prostate can be felt, or an ultrasound will usually then reveal an enlarged prostate. Incidentally, prostate cancer rarely causes lower urinary tract symptoms, but is common in exactly the same age group, complicating its diagnosis.

Symptoms raising a red flag that plain old benign prostate hyperplasia may not be the underlying cause of lower urinary tract symptoms are painful urination (dysuria) and blood in the urine (haematuria). Either of these may indicate cancer or infection of the urinary tract and always require further tests to rule them out. If symptoms are just standard lower urinary tract symptoms such as urgency and frequency of urination, no further tests are required.

Treatment

The most important thing to know is if the symptoms don’t particularly bother you, you don’t need any treatment at all. Your symptoms might get worse over time, but they can be effectively dealt with if and when they do cause a sufficient impact on quality of life.

Medicines are the most common treatment for bothersome urinary tract symptoms due to prostate enlargement. Many of these can be given as a single daily tablet.

Alpha1-blockers appear to work by relaxing the muscle fibres in the prostate, reducing its constriction of the bladder outlet. These typically provide relief of symptoms within just days of starting them.

Interestingly, one of the drugs usually used to treat erectile dysfunction (tadalafil) works in a similar fashion. Its low-dose form is also approved for use in treating these urinary symptoms.

5-alpha-reductase inhibitors (5-ARIs) are a totally different kind of drug, which shrink the glandular tissue of the prostate, reducing its bulk to eventually reduce constriction by the prostate as well. But these take much longer to work, so their effect typically isn’t noticed for several months. Also, these drugs can sometimes cause erectile dysfunction and reduced libido. One available drug combines both alpha1-blocker and 5-ARI in the one tablet.

Alpha1 blockers and 5-ARIs both act on the prostate, but sometimes it may not be the prostate itself that is causing these symptoms, but overactivity of the bladder instead. So if urgency and frequency of urination are the main symptoms, a drug that works directly on relaxing the bladder muscle (detrusor) might be a better option. A variety of these are now available.

Although some people swear by the natural medicine saw palmetto, the most rigorous examination of the evidence tells us it is no better than placebo.

Surgical options, although highly effective, tend to be reserved for more severe symptoms, or when inadequate bladder emptying has led to the relatively rare consequences of bladder stones, recurring urine infection or kidney failure.

So now you’re up to date with your prostate and benign prostate hyperplasia, you don’t have to be afraid to ask your mates about their walnuts.

About The Author

grummet jeremyJeremy Grummet, Urologist, Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, Monash University. He is a urological surgeon with specific training and expertise in urological cancers. He performs MRI-targeted transperineal biopsy for maximal accuracy and minimal morbidity in prostate cancer diagnosis.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=enlarged prostate;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…