لماذا هناك أمل جديد لمرضى السكتة الدماغية الذين يكافحون من أجل التواصل

لماذا هناك أمل جديد لمرضى السكتة الدماغية الذين يكافحون من أجل التواصل

"لدي شيء لأقوله. أريد أن أشاركه معك ". من خلال النقر على بضعة مفاتيح في تسلسل محدد ، قمت بإنشاء رمز على الشاشة. عندما ترى هذه الكلمات ، فإن منطقة اللغة في الدماغ (عادةً الجانب الأيسر) تقوم بتحويل التسلسل إلى معنى. إذا قمت باختيار جيد ، فإن هذا المعنى سيتطابق مع الرسالة التي أردت إيصالها.

لكن هذا ممكن فقط إذا كانت منطقة اللغة في دماغك تعمل بشكل طبيعي. بالنسبة إلى الأشخاص 50,000 تقريبًا في المملكة المتحدة كل عام ، قد تكون الكتابة والقراءة والتحدث والفهم تتأثر عن طريق الأضرار الناجمة عن السكتة الدماغية. هذا هو المعروف باسم فقدان القدرة على الكلام.

اللغة معقدة. لقراءة وفهم فقرتي الافتتاحية ، على سبيل المثال ، تحتاج إلى مهارات بصرية لترى الكلمات ، والاهتمام المستمر للقراءة في نهاية كل جملة ، وذاكرة لمعنى الجمل السابقة. وفي الوقت نفسه ، التواصل المنطوق يمكن أن يكون تقوضها العاهات ذات الصلة بالسكتة إلى العضلات اللازمة لإنتاج الكلام (رتة) ، لسماع القدرة ، وغيرها من الآثار مثل الاكتئاب أو التعب.

لإضفاء المزيد من التحدي ، تعمل اللغة على مستويات مختلفة من التعقيد - بدءًا من الكلمات أحادية المقطع إلى النصوص الطويلة والتقنية للغاية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يستخدم عدد متزايد من الناس في مجتمعات اليوم أكثر من لغة واحدة - خذ لندن، حيث توجد أكثر من 100 لغات مختلفة في الاستخدام اليومي. عندما يتعلق الأمر بإعادة تأهيل المهارات اللغوية لشخص ما ، يجب على المعالجين المتخصصين أخذ كل هذه الأمور في الاعتبار.

العلاج التأهيلي

هناك أنواع مختلفة من العلاج التي نستخدمها لعلاج الأشخاص الذين يعانون من فقدان القدرة على الكلام. نهج القيد، على سبيل المثال ، تنطوي على حظر عناصر البيئة التي يمكن أن تساعد في نقل المعنى. على سبيل المثال ، يضع المعالجون المرضى خلف الشاشات لإجبارهم على استخدام اللغة المحكية بدلاً من الاعتماد على تعبيرات الوجه أو الإشارة إلى مساعدتهم في نقل رسالة. من خلال التركيز على وسيلة الاتصال هذه ، لا يملك المريض أي خيار سوى محاولة تحسين تلك المهارة.

نهج آخر يسمى العلاج التجويدي لحني. ويهدف إلى الاستفادة من حقيقة أن اللحن والإيقاع والأغنية غالبا ما يتم تخزينها على الجانب الأيمن من الدماغ ، وبالتالي قد لا تتأثر بالسكتة الدماغية. هذه هو لماذا كثير من الناس الذين لديهم مشاكل في استخدام اللغة المنطوقة يمكنهم الغناء بسهولة نسبية. إنهم "يغنونها أفضل من قولها" ، كما نقول.

We إعلم أن العلاجات مثل هذه تفيد الناس مع فقدان القدرة على الكلام. نظام العلاج يبدو أيضا أن يكون لها تأثير. يتم تقديم العلاج بسرعة عالية تتراوح من خمسة إلى 17 ساعة أسبوعيًا يبدو ل أكثر فائدة من العلاج في كثافة أقل - على الرغم فقط بالنسبة لأولئك الناس الذين يمكن أن يتسامح مع هذا النظام.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ومع ذلك ، تظل هناك أسئلة أخرى كثيرة. نحن بحاجة إلى مزيد من الأفكار في تصميم النهج الأمثل لإعادة التأهيل لكل شخص. كم مرة ، وكم وكم يجب أن يتم تقديم العلاج ، على سبيل المثال؟ هل يمكن لمتطوع مدرّب أو أحد أفراد العائلة أن يلعب دورًا؟ يمكن أن يعمل العلاج الجماعي وكذلك العلاج الفردي؟ ما هي الفوائد الموجودة في باستخدام أجهزة الكمبيوتر لتقديم علاجات مثل تلك الموجودة في الفيديو أدناه؟

تحسين التواصل بين الباحثين

ولمعالجة هذه الأسئلة وغيرها من الأسئلة ، فأنا واحد من مجموعة تضم أكثر من باحثين عن الحبسة من 125 من بلدان 30 والعديد من التخصصات في مبادرة ممولة من الاتحاد الأوروبي تسمى التعاون من محاميي فقدان القدرة على الكلام. من بين أنشطتنا خلال العامين الماضيين ، قمنا بتهيئة أداة مشتركة لدعم قياس اللغة مع الأشخاص الذين يعانون من فقدان القدرة على الكلام عبر لغات مختلفة 13. والغرض من ذلك هو أن العديد من المعالجين الدوليين لا يستطيعون الوصول إلى أداة صالحة وموثوق بها لتقييم لغة مرضاهم.

نحن نهدف إلى دعم نهج أكثر تنسيقا في البحث عن فقدان القدرة على الكلام من خلال تعريف متفق عليه للحبسة ونظرة عامة على مناهج إعادة تأهيل الحبسة. وأخيرًا ، نهدف إلى تطوير بحثنا من خلال تطوير أولويات البحث للحبسة بعد السكتة الدماغية ومراجعة تدخلات إعادة تأهيل الحبسة التي تمت تغطيتها في الأوراق البحثية

وبدلاً من تدمير البيانات التي نجمعها كباحثين ، نحن وقد تلقى التمويل من وزارة الصحة في المملكة المتحدة لإنشاء قاعدة بيانات مشتركة. سوف نستخدم هذه المعلومات لفحص الأسئلة البحثية الرئيسية ، والتي ستجعل أنشطتنا البحثية أكثر فعالية ، ونأمل أن نحسن العلاجات للأشخاص الذين يعانون من فقدان القدرة على الكلام وبالتالي على شفائهم. يجب أن نحصل على نتائجنا الأولى من تحليل قاعدة البيانات هذه بواسطة 2017. ونأمل أيضًا في إتاحة البيانات عبر مجتمع أبحاث الحبسة الدولية.

ومع ذلك ، فإن كل هذه المشاركة والتعاون تقوم على المهارة الأساسية للتواصل ، وهي مهارة اكتسبتها في السنوات الأولى من الحياة ، وتستخدم يوميا بدون تفكير. إن القدرة على مشاركة هذه التطورات معك من خلال بضع ضربات رئيسية أمر مذهل حقًا. وكلما زادت القدرات التي يمكن أن نعيدها إلى الأشخاص الذين أصيبوا بجلطة ، كانت حياتهم أفضل.

نبذة عن الكاتب

برادي ماريانماريان برادي ، أستاذة في رعاية السكتة الدماغية وإعادة التأهيل ، جامعة غلاسكو كالدونيان. تشمل اهتماماتها البحثية قضايا الرعاية الأساسية (مثل السلس ، العناية بالصحة الفموية) ، التدخلات العلاجية (مثل علاج النطق واللغة للأشخاص الذين يعانون من فقدان القدرة على الكلام) والتدخلات التي تعالج احتياجات الناجين من السكتة الدماغية أثناء تكيّفهم مع الحياة بعد السكتة (على سبيل المثال العودة إلى العمل ، القضايا النفسية والاجتماعية).

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = السكتات الدماغية. maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why There's Fresh Hope For Stroke Patients Who Are Struggling To Communicate

Why There's Fresh Hope For Stroke Patients Who Are Struggling To Communicate

“I have something to say. I want to share it with you.” By tapping a few keys in a specific sequence, I have made a code emerge on the screen. When you see these words, the language area of your brain (usually the left side) converts the sequence into meaning. If I have selected well, this meaning will match the message I wanted to convey.

But this is only possible if the language area of your brain is functioning normally. For approximately 50,000 people in the UK each year, writing, reading, speaking and understanding may be affected by stroke-related damage. This is known as aphasia.

Language is complicated. To read and understand my opening paragraph, for instance, you need visual skills to see the words, sustained attention to read to the end of each sentence, and a memory of the meaning of earlier sentences. Meanwhile, spoken communication can be undermined by stroke-related impairments to the muscles required to produce speech (dysarthria), to hearing ability, and by other effects such as depression or fatigue.

To add to the challenge, language operates at different levels of complexity – from single-syllable words to lengthy and highly technical texts. Additionally, a growing number of people in today’s societies use more than one language – take London, where more than 100 different languages are in daily use. When it comes to rehabilitating someone’s language skills, specialist therapists have to take all of these issues into account.

Rehabilitation Therapy

There are various different kinds of therapy that we use to treat people with aphasia. Constraint approaches, for example, involve blocking elements of the environment that can aid the communication of meaning. For instance, therapists put patients behind screens to force them to use spoken language rather than relying on facial expressions or pointing to help them convey a message. By focusing on this one means of communication, the patient has no option but to try and improve that skill.

Another approach is called melodic intonation therapy. It aims to take advantage of the fact that melody, rhythm and song are often stored on the right side of the brain and may thus be unaffected by the stroke. This is why many people having problems using spoken language can sing with relative ease. They “sing it better than saying it,” as we say.

We know that therapies such as these benefit people with aphasia. The therapy regimen also seems to have an impact. Therapy delivered at a high intensity of between five to 17 hours per week appears to yield more benefit than therapy at a lower intensity – though only for those people that can tolerate this regimen.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Many other questions remain, however. We need more insights into designing the optimum approach to rehabilitation for each person. How often, how much and for how long should therapy be delivered, for example? Can a trained volunteer or family member play a role? Can group therapy work as well as individual therapy? What benefits are there in using computers to deliver therapies such as the one in the video below?

Improved Communication Between Researchers

To address these and other questions, I am one of a group of more than 125 aphasia researchers from 30 countries and many disciplines in an EU-funded initiative called the Collaboration of Aphasia Trialists. Among our activities over the past two years, we have been adapting a common tool to support language measurement with people with aphasia across 13 different languages. The purpose is that many international therapists have no access to a valid and reliable tool for assessing their patients' language.

We aim to support a more coordinated approach to international aphasia research through an agreed definition of aphasia and an overview of approaches to aphasia rehabilitation. Finally, we aim to progress our research by developing research priorities for aphasia after stroke and by reviewing the aphasia rehabilitation interventions that have been covered in research papers

And rather than destroying the data that we collect as researchers, we have received funding from the UK Department of Health to create a shared database. We will use this information to examine key research questions, which will make our research activities more efficient and hopefully improve treatments for people with aphasia and in turn their recovery. We should have our first findings from analysing this database by 2017. We also hope to make the data available across the international aphasia research community.

Yet all of this sharing and collaboration is based on the fundamental skill of communication, a skill acquired in the early years of life and used daily without thought. The ability to share these developments with you with just a few key strokes is truly amazing. The more of those abilities that we can restore to people who have had a stroke, the better their lives will be.

About The Author

brady marianMarian Brady, Professor of Stroke Care and Rehabilitation, Glasgow Caledonian University. Her research interests include basic care issues (e.g. incontinence, oral health care), therapeutic interventions (e.g. speech and language therapy for people with aphasia) and interventions that address the needs of stroke survivors as they adapt to life after stroke (e.g. returning to work, psychosocial issues).

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=strokes;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Physicist and The Inner Self
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I just read a wonderful article by Alan Lightman, a writer and physicist who teaches at MIT. Alan is the author of "In Praise of Wasting Time". I find it inspiring to find scientists and physicists…
The Hand Washing Song
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
We all heard it many times in the past few weeks... wash your hands for at least 20 seconds. OK, one and two and three... For those of us who are timing-challenged, or perhaps slightly ADD, we've…
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.
Ghost Town: Flyovers of Cities on COVID-19 Lockdown
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
We sent drones out in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Seattle to see how the cities have changed since the COVID-19 lockdown.
We're All Being Home-Schooled... on Planet Earth
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
During challenging times, and probably mostly during challenging times, we need to remember that "this too shall pass" and that in every problem or crisis, there is something to be learned, another…
Monitoring Health In Real Time
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Seems to me this process is very important going forward. Coupled with other devices we are now able to distantly monitor people's health in real time.
Game Changing Cheap Antibody Test Sent For Validation In Coronavirus Fight
by Alistair Smout and Andrew MacAskill
LONDON (Reuters) - A British company behind a 10-minute coronavirus antibody test, which will cost about a $1, has begun sending prototypes to laboratories for validation, which could be a…
How To Counteract The Epidemic of Fear
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Sharing a message sent by Barry Vissell about the epidemic of fear that has infected many people...
What Real Leadership Looks And Sounds Like
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Lt. Gen. Todd Semonite, Chief of Engineers and commanding general of the Army Corps of Engineers, talks with Rachel Maddow about how the Army Corps of Engineers works with other federal agencies and…
What Works For Me: Listening To My Body
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The human body is an amazing creation. It works without needing our input as to what to do. The heart beats, the lungs pump, the lymph nodes do their thing, the evacuation process works. The body…