Ce que l'on sait sur le coronavirus et les enfants

Ce que l'on sait sur le coronavirus et les enfants Les enfants risquent de tomber malades du coronavirus et doivent également pratiquer la distanciation sociale et le port du masque. Photo AP / Seth Wenig, dossier

Nous sommes trois pédiatriques spécialistes des maladies infectieuses qui vivent et travaillent en Virginie occidentale. le Système de santé de l'Université de Virginie-Occidentale dessert 400,000 enfants et selon nos données internes, à ce jour, 2,520 enfants jusqu'à 17 ans ont été testés pour le coronavirus. Soixante-sept d'entre eux ont été testés positifs et un est devenu suffisamment malade pour être admis à l'hôpital.

On nous interroge presque quotidiennement sur les enfants et le COVID-19: reçoivent-ils le COVID-19? Devraient-ils aller à la garderie ou à l'école, faire du sport, voir des amis et participer à des camps d'été? Quels sont les risques pour eux-mêmes et pour les autres?

Sur la base des recherches actuelles et de nos propres expériences, il semblerait que les enfants de 17 ans et moins soient peu exposés au coronavirus. Presque tous les enfants ont maladie asymptomatique, très légère ou légère, mais un petit pourcentage de les enfants tombent très malades. De plus, il est prouvé que les enfants peuvent transmettre le virus à d'autres, et avec d'énormes flambées qui se produisent partout aux États-Unis, ces réalités soulèvent de sérieuses préoccupations concernant la réouverture des écoles et la façon dont les enfants devraient naviguer dans le monde pandémique.

Ce que l'on sait sur le coronavirus et les enfants Bien que quelque peu rares, les enfants peuvent être gravement malades du coronavirus et quelques-uns sont décédés. John Moore / Getty Images News via Getty Images

Enfants à risque

Lorsqu'on examine le rôle des enfants dans cette pandémie, la première question à se poser est de savoir s'ils peuvent être infectés et, dans l'affirmative, à quelle fréquence.

Sur les 149,082 19 cas signalés de COVID-XNUMX aux États-Unis à la fin avril, seulement 2,572 - 1.7% - étaient des enfants, bien que les enfants représentent 22% de la population américaine.

Mais les recherches actuelles montrent que les enfants sont physiologiquement tout aussi susceptible d'être infecté avec le SRAS-CoV-2 à l'âge adulte. Cet écart entre le nombre de cas et la sensibilité biologique peut être dû au fait que les enfants ont généralement symptômes minimes à légers infectés par le coronavirus et sont donc moins susceptibles d'être testés. Il se peut également que les enfants en général aient été moins exposés au virus que les adultes. Les enfants ne vont pas travailler, ils vont probablement moins dans les magasins que les adultes, et dans les États qui avaient des mesures de quarantaine assouplies, ils ne vont pas dans les bars ou les gymnases.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Même si les enfants sont moins susceptibles de tomber malades du coronavirus, ils ne sont certainement pas immunisés. Les données montrent que les enfants de moins d'un an et ceux avec des conditions sous-jacentes sont les plus susceptibles d'être hospitalisés. Ces enfants souffrent généralement de la détresse respiratoire généralement associée au COVID-19 et ont souvent besoin d'oxygène et de soins intensifs. À compter du 11 juillet, 36 enfants de 14 ans ou moins sont décédés du virus.

En plus des cas typiques de COVID-19, il y a eu récemment des rapports effrayants selon lesquels le système immunitaire des enfants se détraquait après avoir été exposés au SRAS-CoV-2.

Les rapports de Maladie de Kawasaki. Normalement, la maladie de Kawasaki affecte les tout-petits et les enfants d'âge préscolaire, provoquant une forte fièvre prolongée, des éruptions cutanées, des rougeurs oculaires, un gonflement de la bouche et un gonflement des artères du cœur. La grande majorité des enfants atteints de la maladie de Kawasaki survivent lorsqu'ils reçoivent des traitements qui réduisent l'enflure, mais malheureusement, un peu d'enfants sont morts de celui-ci, après une exposition au coronavirus a conduit à la maladie. Les médecins ne savent pas ce qui cause normalement la maladie de Kawasaki ou pourquoi une infection à coronavirus pourrait la déclencher.

Au cours des derniers mois, il a également été signalé que certains enfants, après avoir été infectés par le coronavirus, ont eu de la fièvre et des éruptions cutanées ainsi qu'un chute de tension artérielle potentiellement mortelle et insuffisance cardiaque sévère soudaine. Les enfants et adolescents atteints de ce syndrome de choc lié au COVID-19 - désormais nommé syndrome inflammatoire multisystémique chez l'enfant, ou MIS-C - sont plus âgés que ceux que les médecins voient habituellement avec la maladie de Kawasaki. Les experts pensent que ces deux maladies ne sont pas les mêmes, malgré des caractéristiques similaires et des traitements similaires.

Ce que l'on sait sur le coronavirus et les enfants La recherche montre que les enfants sont capables de propager le coronavirus - les enfants plus âgés plus facilement que les enfants plus jeunes. Photo AP / Ted S. Warren

Les enfants comme épandeurs

Donc, si les enfants peuvent attraper le coronavirus, la prochaine question importante est la suivante: avec quelle facilité peuvent-ils le propager? Puisque les enfants ont des symptômes plus légers, certains experts pensent que les enfants probablement pas les moteurs de la pandémie COVID-19. De plus, des recherches récentes ont montré que la plupart des enfants qui attrapent le coronavirus l'obtenir de leurs parents, pas d'autres enfants.

Les petits enfants peuvent avoir une toux plus faible et libéreraient donc moins de particules virales infectieuses dans leur environnement. Une étude récente menée en Corée du Sud a révélé que si les jeunes enfants semblent moins capables de propager la maladie que les adultes, les enfants de 10 à 19 ans transmettent le virus. au moins aussi bien que les adultes. Le manque de preuves que les enfants sont les principales sources de transmission peut simplement être dû au fait que la voie de l'infection a été interrompue en raison des fermetures d'écoles à l'échelle nationale au printemps. Au fur et à mesure que les enfants reprennent leurs activités quotidiennes normales - comme l'école, les sports et la garderie - nous pourrions trouver la réponse à la facilité avec laquelle les enfants transmettent ce dangereux virus.

Ce que l'on sait sur le coronavirus et les enfants Les écoles devraient-elles rouvrir si les enfants peuvent tomber malades et propager le coronavirus? AP Photo / LM Otero, Fichier

Alors quoi maintenant?

Les preuves montrent clairement que toutes les personnes, quel que soit leur âge, peuvent être infectées par le SRAS-CoV-2. Bien que la recherche montre que les enfants sont plus résistants aux maladies graves causées par le coronavirus, ils sont toujours à risque et peuvent propager le virus même s'ils ne sont pas eux-mêmes malades.

Au vu de toutes ces informations, une question se pose naturellement: les écoles doivent-elles rouvrir dans les semaines à venir? Dans les endroits où les taux de transmission sont faibles, la réouverture des écoles pourrait être une option viable. Mais à l'heure actuelle, aux États-Unis, le nombre de nouveaux cas augmente dans la plupart des États. Cela nécessite une approche plus nuancée qu'une réouverture à grande échelle des écoles.

Depuis les jeunes enfants font face à un faible risque de tomber gravement malade, sont moins susceptibles de propager la maladie et bénéficient grandement des interactions en personne, nous croyons que l’apprentissage à l’école devrait être envisagé. Ouvrir des écoles aux élèves du primaire et proposer de plus en plus d'options en ligne pour les élèves plus âgés pourrait être une façon d'aborder ce problème épineux.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Kathryn Moffett-Bradford, professeur de pédiatrie, chef de division des maladies infectieuses pédiatriques, West Virginia University; Martin Weisse, professeur de pédiatrie, West Virginia University, et Shipra Gupta, professeur adjoint de maladies infectieuses pédiatriques, West Virginia University

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.


Livres recommandés: santé

Fresh Fruit CleanseCleanse de fruits frais: Detox, perdre du poids et de restaurer votre santé avec les aliments les plus délicieux de la Nature [Broché] par Leanne Hall.
Perdre du poids et se sentir en bonne santé vibrante tout en dégageant votre corps des toxines. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offre tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour une cure de désintoxication facile et puissant, y compris le jour par jour des programmes, de succulentes recettes et des conseils pour la transition au large de la nettoyer.
Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive aliments: 200 à base de plantes pour la santé Recettes de pointe [Broché] par Brendan Brazier.
S'appuyant sur de réduction du stress, de santé stimuler la philosophie nutritionnelle introduit dans son guide de nutrition végétalienne acclamé Prospérer, Professionnel Ironman Brendan Brazier se tourne maintenant son attention à votre assiette (bol de petit déjeuner et un plateau repas trop).
Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

Mort par la médecine par Gary NullMort par la médecine par Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio et Carolyn Dean
Le milieu médical est devenu un labyrinthe de verrouillage d'entreprise, l'hôpital, et les conseils d'administration gouvernementales, infiltré par les compagnies pharmaceutiques. Les substances les plus toxiques sont souvent approuvées en premier, alors que plus douces et plus naturelles alternatives sont ignorées pour des raisons financières. C'est la mort par la médecine.
Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

DES ÉDITEURS

InnerSelf Newsletter: Septembre 20, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
Le thème de la newsletter de cette semaine peut se résumer comme suit: «vous pouvez le faire» ou plus précisément «nous pouvons le faire!». C'est une autre façon de dire "vous / nous avons le pouvoir de faire un changement". L'image de…
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Je peux le faire!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
La raison pour laquelle je partage «ce qui fonctionne pour moi» est que cela peut également fonctionner pour vous. Si ce n'est pas exactement la façon dont je le fais, puisque nous sommes tous uniques, une certaine variation de l'attitude ou de la méthode pourrait très bien être quelque chose ...
InnerSelf Newsletter: Septembre 6, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
Nous voyons la vie à travers les lentilles de notre perception. Stephen R. Covey a écrit: «Nous voyons le monde, non pas tel qu’il est, mais tel que nous sommes - ou tel que nous sommes conditionnés à le voir.» Alors cette semaine, nous jetons un coup d'œil à certains…
Bulletin d’InnerSelf: Août 30, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
Les routes que nous parcourons ces jours-ci sont aussi vieilles que le temps, mais sont nouvelles pour nous. Les expériences que nous vivons sont aussi anciennes que le temps, mais elles sont aussi nouvelles pour nous. Il en va de même pour le…
Quand la vérité est si terrible que ça fait mal, agissez
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Au milieu de toutes les horreurs qui se déroulent ces jours-ci, je suis inspiré par les rayons d'espoir qui brillent à travers. Des gens ordinaires qui défendent ce qui est juste (et contre ce qui ne va pas). Joueurs de baseball,…

What Is Known About Coronavirus And Children

What Is Known About Coronavirus And Children Children are at risk of getting sick from coronavirus and need to practice social distancing and mask wearing too. AP Photo/Seth Wenig, File

We are three pediatric infectious disease specialists who live and work in West Virginia. The West Virginia University health system serves 400,000 children and according to our internal data, to date, 2,520 children up to 17 years of age have been tested for the coronavirus. Sixty-seven of them tested positive and one became sick enough to be admitted to the hospital.

We are asked almost daily about children and COVID-19: Do they get COVID-19? Should they attend day care or school, play sports, see friends and attend summer camps? What are the risks to themselves and to others?

Based on current research and our own experiences, it would seem that kids 17 years old and younger face little risk from the coronavirus. Nearly all children have asymptomatic, very mild or mild disease, but a small percentage of children do get very sick. Additionally, there is evidence that children can spread the virus to others, and with huge outbreaks occurring all across the U.S, these realities raise serious concerns about school reopenings and how children should navigate the pandemic world.

What Is Known About Coronavirus And Children Though somewhat rare, children can get severely ill from the coronavirus and a few have died. John Moore/Getty Images News via Getty Images

Children at risk

When considering the role of children in this pandemic, the first question to ask is whether they can get infected, and if so, how often.

Of the 149,082 reported cases of COVID-19 in the U.S. as of late April, only 2,572 – 1.7% – were children, despite children making up 22% of the U.S population.

But current research shows that children are physiologically just as likely to become infected with SARS-CoV-2 as adults. This discrepancy between case numbers and biological susceptibility may be due to the fact that children generally generally have minimal to mild symptoms when infected with the coronavirus and are therefore less likely to get tested. It also may be that children in general have had less exposure to the virus compared to adults. Kids aren’t going to work, they are probably going out to stores less than adults, and in the states that had relaxed quarantine measures, they aren’t going out to bars or gyms.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Even though children are less likely to get sick from the coronavirus, they are definitely not immune. Data shows that children less than one year old and those with underlying conditions are the most likely to be hospitalized. These kids usually experience the respiratory distress commonly associated of COVID-19 and often need oxygen and intensive care support. As of July 11, 36 kids 14 or younger had died from the virus.

In addition to the typical COVID-19 cases, recently there have been some frightening reports of children’s immune systems going haywire after they are exposed to SARS-CoV-2.

Notable are reports of Kawasaki disease. Normally, Kawasaki disease affects toddlers and preschool children, causing prolonged high fever, rash, eye redness, mouth swelling and swelling of arteries in the heart. The vast majority of children that get Kawasaki disease survive when given treatments that bring down the swelling, but sadly, a few children have died from it, after exposure to the coronavirus led to the disease. Physicians don’t know what causes Kawasaki disease normally or why a coronavirus infection could trigger it.

In the past few months, there have also been reports of some children, after becoming infected with the coronavirus, experiencing fever and rash along with a life-threatening blood pressure drop and sudden severe heart failure. The children and teenagers with this COVID-19-related shock syndrome – now named multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children, or MIS-C – are older than those doctors usually see with Kawasaki disease. Experts think these two illness are not the same, despite having similar features and similar treatments.

What Is Known About Coronavirus And Children Research shows that kids are able to spread the coronavirus – older children more easily than younger children. AP Photo/Ted S. Warren

Children as spreaders

So if kids can catch the coronavirus, the next important question is: How easily can they spread it? Since children have milder symptoms, some experts think that children are probably not the drivers of the COVID-19 pandemic. Additionally, recent research has shown that most kids who catch the coronavirus get it from their parents, not other children.

Small children may have weaker coughs and therefore would release fewer infectious virus particles into their environment. A recent study from South Korea found that while young children seem less able to spread the disease compared to adults, children 10 to 19 years old spread the virus at least as well as the adults do. The lack of evidence that children are major sources of transmission may simply be because the pathway of infection was interrupted due to the nationwide school closures in the spring. As children resume more of their normal daily activities – like school, sports and day care – we just might find the answer to how easily children spread this dangerous virus.

What Is Known About Coronavirus And Children Should schools reopen if children can get sick from and spread the coronavirus? AP Photo/LM Otero, File

So what now?

The evidence clearly shows that all people, regardless of age, can get infected by SARS-CoV-2. While research shows that kids are more resistant to severe illness from the coronavirus, they are still at risk and can spread the virus even if they themselves are not sick.

Given all this information, a question naturally arises: Should schools reopen in the coming weeks? In places where transmission rates are low, reopening schools could be a viable option. But at the present time, in the U.S., new case numbers are surging in most states. This requires a more nuanced approach than a full-scale reopening of schools.

Since young children face low risk of getting seriously ill, are less likely to spread the disease and benefit greatly from in-person interactions, we believe in-school learning should be considered. Opening schools for elementary school children, and coming up with increasingly online options for the older grades, could be one way to approach this thorny problem.The Conversation

About The Author

Kathryn Moffett-Bradford, Professor of Pediatrics, Division Chief of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, West Virginia University; Martin Weisse, Professor of Pediatrics, West Virginia University, and Shipra Gupta, Assistant Professor of Pediatric Infectious Disease, West Virginia University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Horoscope for Astrological Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…

MOST READ

Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
Plant Flower Billboards In Your Garden To Help Bugs In Trouble
by Samantha Murray, University of Florida
Insects are attracted to landscapes where flowering plants of the same species are grouped together…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
Inner Child Speaks: "Listen To Me! I Can Help You!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The inner child waits patiently for the adult to notice it, to talk to it. It asks itself: "How can…
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
by Bishakh Rout, McGill University
Over the years, new scientific discoveries have led to softer and more comfortable contact lenses.…
DNA-based Cancer Vaccine Triggers Immune Attack On Tumors
DNA Based Cancer Vaccine Triggers Immune Attack On Tumors
by Jim Goodwin, Washington University in St. Louis
We think this is the first report of the use of a neoantigen DNA vaccine in a human, and our…
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
by Anne Fishel, Harvard University
Most parents already know that family mealtimes are great for the bodies, the brains and the mental…
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
Clearing the Residue of an Abusive, Unloving Parent
by Maureen J. St. Germain
You are about to learn a very specific technique for clearing your subconscious of all the old…
Why QAnon Hasn't Gone Away
Why QAnon Hasn't Gone Away
by Sophie Bjork-James, Vanderbilt University
By this point, almost everyone has heard of QAnon, the conspiracy spawned by an anonymous online…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.