الهباء الجوي هو تهديد أكبر للفيروس التاجي مما تقترحه الإرشادات - إليك ما تحتاج إلى معرفته

الهباء الجوي هو تهديد أكبر للفيروس التاجي مما تقترحه الإرشادات - إليك ما تحتاج إلى معرفته تتكون الهباء الجوي من قطرات تنفسية صغيرة معلقة في الهواء. جيفري كوليدج عبر صور غيتي

عندما يسعل شخص ما أو يتحدث أو حتى يتنفس ، يرسل قطرات صغيرة من الجهاز التنفسي إلى الهواء المحيط. يمكن أن تطفو أصغر هذه القطرات لساعات ، وهناك قوى دليل ما يستطيعون تحمل الفيروس التاجي الحي إذا كان الشخص مصابًا.

الخطر من هذه الهباء الجوي غير مدرج حاليا في التوجيه الرسمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية بالنسبة للأمم ، رغم ذلك. تقترح منظمة الصحة العالمية أن الفيروس التاجي ينتقل بشكل أساسي عن طريق السعال أو العطس في قطرات كبيرة في وجه شخص ما ، وليس تهديدًا طويل الأمد يمكن أن يطفو في الهواء.

بعد ضغوط من العلماء ، قد يتغير ذلك قريبا.

نشر هذا الأسبوع أكثر من 200 عالم رسالة مفتوحة إلى منظمة الصحة العالمية تحذير من انتقال COVID-19 عن طريق الهباء الجوي وحث المنظمة على التعرف على المخاطر. منظمة الصحة العالمية منذ ذلك الحين اعترف أدلة متزايدة انتشار المرض جواً ، لكنها لم تغير بعد نصيحتها لحماية الناس من الإصابة بـ COVID-19 من الهباء الجوي.

As أساتذة من يدرس ديناميكا السوائل والهباء الجوي ، نعتقد أنه من المهم للناس فهم المخاطر وما يمكنهم القيام به لحماية أنفسهم.

ما هو الهباء الجوي وكيف ينتشر؟

الهباء الجوي عبارة عن جسيمات معلقة في الهواء. عندما يتنفس البشر أو يتحدثون أو يغنون أو يسعلون أو يعطسون ، تختلط قطرات الجهاز التنفسي المنبعثة في الهواء المحيط وتشكل الهباء الجوي. نظرًا لسقوط قطرات أكبر بسرعة على الأرض ، غالبًا ما توصف الهباء الجوي التنفسي بأنها تتكون من قطرات أصغر يقل حجمها عن 5 ميكرون ، أو حوالي عُشر عرض شعر الإنسان.

بشكل عام ، تتشكل قطرات على شكل ورقة من السائل ينهار. ربما واجهت هذه الظاهرة من خلال نفخ فقاعات الصابون. في بعض الأحيان لا تتشكل الفقاعة بشكل كامل ، ولكنها بدلاً من ذلك تنقسم إلى العديد من القطرات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وبالمثل ، في البشر ، غالبًا ما تمتد الصفائح الصغيرة وخيوط السوائل - المخاط - عبر أجزاء من مجرى الهواء. يحدث هذا غالبًا في المواقع التي يفتح فيها مجرى الهواء ويغلق مرة بعد مرة. يحدث ذلك عميقًا داخل الرئتين مع تمدد القصيبات والحويصلات السنخية وتقلصها أثناء التنفس ، داخل الحنجرة مع اهتزاز الطيات الصوتية أثناء الكلام ، أو في الفم ، أثناء تحرك اللسان والشفاه أثناء التحدث. يكسر تدفق الهواء الناتج عن التنفس والتحدث والسعال أوراق المخاط هذه ، تمامًا مثل نفخ فقاعة الصابون.

يظهر هذا العرض البطيء للعطس قطرات معلقة. الائتمان: ليديا بورويبة عبر شبكة جاما.

يختلف حجم القطرات بناءً على كيفية ومكان إنتاجها داخل مجرى الهواء. في حين أن السعال يولد أكبر كمية من القطرات ، اظهرت الأبحاث أن دقيقتين إلى ثلاث دقائق فقط من الكلام يمكن أن تنتج قطرات مثل السعال الواحد.

قطرات أصغر من 5 ميكرون يمكن أن تبقى معلقة في الهواء لعدة دقائق إلى ساعات لأن تأثير سحب الهواء بالنسبة للجاذبية كبير. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يتبخر المحتوى المائي للقطرات الحاملة للفيروسات أثناء حملها في الهواء ، مما يقلل من حجمها. حتى لو تبخر معظم السوائل من قطرات محملة بالفيروسات ، فإن القطرة لا تختفي ؛ تصبح أصغر ، وكلما كانت القطرة أصغر ، كلما بقيت معلقة في الهواء لفترة أطول. لأن قطرات أصغر قطرها أكثر فعالة في اختراق عمق الجهاز الرئوي، كما أنها تشكل خطرًا أكبر للإصابة.

جميع إرشادات منظمة الصحة العالمية اقترح أن الفيروس RNA الموجود في قطرات صغيرة لم يكن قابلاً للتطبيق في معظم الظروف. ومع ذلك ، فقد أظهرت الأبحاث المبكرة حول فيروس سارس - CoV - 2 أنه كذلك قابلة للبقاء مثل الهباء الجوي لمدة تصل إلى 3 ساعات.

هل تحمي الأقنعة من انتقال الهباء الجوي؟

أغطية الوجه والأقنعة ضرورية للغاية للحماية من انتقال الهباء الجوي. يخدمون غرض مزدوج.

أولاً ، يقومون بتصفية الهواء الذي يطرده الفرد ، والتقاط قطرات الجهاز التنفسي وبالتالي تقليل خطر التعرض للآخرين. هذا مهم بشكل خاص لأنها أكثر فعالية في التقاط قطرات أكبر من المرجح أن تحتوي على كميات أكبر من الفيروسات مغلفة داخلها. هذا يمنع القطرات الأكبر من التأثير المباشر على شخص ما ، أو التبخر إلى حجم أصغر ودوران في الهواء.

هم ايضا تقليل السرعة من نفخة الهواء التي تنتج عند العطس أو السعال أو التحدث. إن تقليل سرعة الهواء المطرد يقلل من المسافة التي يتم فيها نقل القطرات في البداية إلى محيط الشخص.

ومع ذلك ، من المهم إدراك أن الحماية التي توفرها الأقنعة وأغطية الوجه تختلف اعتمادًا على المواد التي يتم تصنيعها منها ومدى ملاءمتها. ومع ذلك، ارتداء أغطية الوجه لتقليل مخاطر التعرض المحمولة جوا أمر بالغ الأهمية.

هل البقاء على بعد 6 أقدام يكفي للبقاء في أمان؟

تستند التوصية بالحفاظ على فصل 6 أقدام إلى أ دراسة من قبل WF Wells في عام 1934 التي أظهرت قطرات ماء مطروحة إما تسقط على الأرض ، أو تتبخر ، على مسافة تقارب مترين أو 2 أقدام. ومع ذلك ، لم تأخذ الدراسة في الحسبان حقيقة أنه بعد تبخر الماء في قطرات محملة بالفيروسات ، تبقى النوى ، وبالتالي لا تزال تشكل خطر الإصابة بالعدوى المحمولة جواً.

وبالتالي ، في حين أن البقاء على بعد 6 أقدام من الأشخاص الآخرين يقلل من التعرض ، فقد لا يكون كافياً في جميع المواقف ، كما هو الحال في الغرف المغلقة ذات التهوية السيئة.

كيف يمكنني حماية نفسي من الهباء الجوي في الداخل؟

تتشابه استراتيجيات التخفيف من التعرض الجوي في الهواء مع استراتيجيات البقاء جافًا عندما تمطر. كلما بقيت في المطر لفترة أطول ، وكلما كانت الأمطار أكثر صعوبة ، كلما أصبحت أكثر رطوبة. وبالمثل ، كلما تعرضت لقطرات أكثر ، وكلما طالت مدة بقائك في تلك البيئة ، زادت مخاطر التعرض. وبالتالي ، فإن تخفيف المخاطر يعتمد على تقليل مستويات تركيز الهباء الجوي ووقت التعرض.

يمكن تقليل تركيزات الهباء الجوي مع زيادة التهوية ، على الرغم من أنه يجب تجنب إعادة تدوير نفس الهواء ما لم يكن من الممكن ترشيح الهواء بشكل فعال قبل إعادة استخدامه. عند الإمكان ، افتح الأبواب والنوافذ لزيادة تدفق الهواء النقي.

يمكن أن يؤدي تقليل عدد مصادر الانبعاث - الأشخاص - داخل مساحة معينة ، والتأكد من ارتداء أغطية الوجه في جميع الأوقات إلى انخفاض مستويات التركيز.

طرق تعطيل الفيروس مثل ضوء الأشعة فوق البنفسجية مبيد للجراثيم، يمكن أن تستخدم أيضا.

أخيرًا ، يعد تقليل مقدار الوقت الذي تقضيه في المناطق المزدحمة ذات التهوية السيئة طريقة جيدة لتقليل مخاطر التعرض المحمولة جواً.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بايرون إيراث ، أستاذ مشارك في ميكانيكا الموائع ، جامعة كلاركسون ؛ أندريا فيرو ، أستاذ الهندسة المدنية والبيئية ، جامعة كلاركسون ، وجودارز أحمدي ، أستاذ الهندسة الميكانيكية ، جامعة كلاركسون. ساهم في هذا المقال أمير موفم ، باحث مشارك في الهندسة الميكانيكية بجامعة كلاركسون.المحادثة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

Aerosols Are A Bigger Coronavirus Threat Than Guidelines Suggest – Here's What You Need To Know

Aerosols Are A Bigger Coronavirus Threat Than  Guidelines Suggest – Here's What You Need To Know Aerosols are made up of tiny respiratory droplets suspended in the air. Jeffrey Coolidge via Getty Images

When someone coughs, talks or even breathes, they send tiny respiratory droplets into the surrounding air. The smallest of these droplets can float for hours, and there is strong evidence that they can carry live coronavirus if the person is infected.

The risk from these aerosols isn’t currently incorporated into the World Health Organization’s formal guidance for nations, though. The WHO suggests that the coronavirus is primarily transmitted by coughing or sneezing large droplets into someone’s face, not a longer-term threat that can be floating in the air.

After pressure from scientists, that may soon change.

This week, more than 200 scientists published an open letter to the WHO warning about airborne transmission of COVID-19 via aerosols and urging the organization to recognize the risks. The WHO has since acknowledged growing evidence of airborne spread of the disease, but it has not yet changed its advice to protect people from contracting COVID-19 from aerosols.

As professors who study fluid dynamics and aerosols, we believe it is important for people to understand the risks and what they can do to protect themselves.

What is an aerosol and how does it spread?

Aerosols are particles that are suspended in the air. When humans breathe, talk, sing, cough or sneeze, the emitted respiratory droplets mix in the surrounding air and form an aerosol. Because larger droplets quickly fall to the ground, respiratory aerosols are often described as being made up of smaller droplets that are less than 5 microns, or about one tenth the width of a human hair.

In general, droplets form as a sheet of liquid breaks apart. You’ve probably experienced this phenomenon by blowing soap bubbles. Sometimes the bubble doesn’t fully form, but instead breaks apart into many droplets.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Similarly, in humans, small sheets and strands of liquid – mucus – often stretch across portions of the airway. This most often occurs in locations where the airway opens and closes again and again. That happens deep within the lungs as the bronchioles and alveolar sacs expand and contract during breathing, within the larynx as the vocal folds vibrate during speech, or at the mouth, as the tongue and lips move while talking. The airflow produced by breathing, speaking and coughing breaks apart these sheets of mucus, just like blowing the soap bubble.

This slow-motion view of a sneeze shows suspended droplets. Credit: Lydia Bourouiba via JAMA Network.

The size of the droplets varies based on how and where they are produced within the airway. While coughing generates the largest quantity of droplets, research has shown that just two to three minutes of talking can produce as many droplets as one cough.

Droplets that are smaller than 5 microns can remain suspended in the air for many minutes to hours because the effect of air drag relative to gravity is large. In addition, the water content of virus-carrying droplets evaporates while they are airborne, decreasing their size. Even if most of the fluid evaporates from a virus-laden droplet, the droplet does not disappear; it just becomes smaller, and the smaller the droplet, the longer it will stay suspended in the air. Because smaller diameter droplets are more efficient at penetrating deep into the pulmonary system, they also pose a much greater infection risk.

The WHO guidelines suggested that the virus RNA found in small droplets wasn’t viable in most circumstances. However, early research on the SARS-CoV-2 virus has shown that it is viable as an aerosol for up to 3 hours.

Do masks protect from aerosol transmission?

Face coverings and masks are absolutely necessary for protection against aerosol transmission. They serve a twofold purpose.

First, they filter the air expelled by an individual, capturing respiratory droplets and thereby reducing the exposure risk for others. This is particularly important as they are most effective at capturing larger droplets that are more likely to have larger quantities of viruses encapsulated within them. This prevents the larger droplets from directly affecting someone, or evaporating down to a smaller size and circulating in the air.

They also reduce the speed of the puff of air that is produced when sneezing, coughing or talking. Decreasing the velocity of the expelled air reduces the distance that droplets are initially transported into the person’s surroundings.

It is important to realize, however, that the protection provided by masks and face coverings varies depending on the material they are constructed from and how well they fit. Nevertheless, wearing face coverings to decrease airborne exposure risk is critical.

Is staying 6 feet away enough to stay safe?

The recommendation to maintain a 6-foot separation is based on a study by W. F. Wells in 1934 that showed an expelled water droplet either falls to the ground, or evaporates, within a distance of roughly 2 meters, or 6 feet. The study did not, however, account for the fact that following evaporation of the water in a virus-laden droplet, the nuclei remains, thereby still posing a risk of airborne infection.

Consequently, while staying 6 feet from other people reduces exposure, it might not be sufficient in all situations, such as in enclosed, poorly ventilated rooms.

How can I protect myself from aerosols indoors?

Strategies to mitigate airborne exposure are similar to strategies for staying dry when it’s raining. The longer you stay in the rain, and the harder it’s raining, the wetter you will get. Similarly, the more droplets you are exposed to, and the longer you stay in that environment, the higher the exposure risk. Mitigating risk is therefore based on decreasing both aerosol concentration levels and exposure time.

Aerosol concentrations can be reduced with increased ventilation, although recirculating the same air should be avoided unless the air can be effectively filtered prior to reuse. When possible, open doors and windows to increase fresh air flow.

Decreasing the number of emission sources – people – within a space, and ensuring that face coverings are worn at all times can further decrease concentration levels.

Methods of deactivating the virus, such as germicidal ultraviolet light, can also be used.

Finally, reducing the amount of time you spend in poorly ventilated, crowded areas is a good way to reduce airborne exposure risk.

About The Author

Byron Erath, Associate professor of fluid mechanics, Clarkson University; Andrea Ferro, Professor of civil & environmental engineering, Clarkson University, and Goodarz Ahmadi, Professor of mechanical engineering, Clarkson University. Amir Mofakham, a research associate in mechanical engineering at Clarkson University, contributed to this article.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…