فقد الرائحة المفاجئ - لماذا هو سبب عزل الذات

فقد الرائحة المفاجئ - لماذا هو سبب عزل الذات Mangostar / شترستوك

قد يكون الاستيقاظ وعدم القدرة على شم القهوة علامة على COVID-19. ال أعلنت منظمة الصحة العالمية مؤخرا أنه يجب إضافة فقدان مفاجئ لحاسة الشم (فقر الدم) إلى أعراض COVID-19. حكومة المملكة المتحدة فعلت ذلك للتو، قائلاً: "من اليوم ، يجب على جميع الأفراد أن يعزلوا أنفسهم إذا أصيبوا بسعال أو حمى أو فقر دم مستمر".

يعد تضمين فقر الدم المفاجئ أمرًا مهمًا لأنه قد يكون عرضًا مبكرًا - وأحيانًا فقط - لعدوى COVID-19. وهو أيضًا عرض ، مثل الحمى ، يمكننا اكتشافه بدون اختبار معملي. تشير الدلائل إلى أنه إذا أردنا جميعًا الاستجابة لهذا الإشارات عن طريق العزل الذاتي ، فيمكننا تقليل انتشار الفيروس.

جاء دليل مبكر على أن فقدان الرائحة قد يكون مرتبطًا بـ COVID-19 في أوائل مارس 2020 من أ الفيسبوك آخر عن طبيب أنف وأذن وحنجرة فقد فجأة حاسة الشم. ما تبع ذلك كان تراكمًا تدريجيًا للأدلة التي تربط فقر الدم بـ COVID-19.

ازدادت عضوية مجموعات Facebook المغلقة المخصصة لأولئك الذين يعانون من فقدان الرائحة بشكل كبير ، تبحث Google عن "anosmia" زيادة، وتم الإبلاغ عن حالات رفيعة المستوى في أخبار. شهد أطباء الأنف والأذن والحنجرة زيادة في المرضى الذين أبلغوا عن فقر الدم وبدأوا في نشر دراسات الحالة بناءً على تجربة مرضاهم المرضى - العديد منهم متخصصون في الرعاية الصحية. واحد ، جراح الأعصاب ، أبلغ عن فقر الدم دون أي أعراض أخرى. بعد ذلك بيومين ، أظهر اختبار إيجابي لـ COVID-19.

ظهر مشروب ظهور مفاجئ لفقر الدم تم وصفه بأنه اكتشاف جديد قد يميز COVID-19 عن نزلات البرد أو الأنفلونزا. An بيان مبكر صدر عن ENT-UK وجمعية علم الأنف البريطانية يدعو إلى الاعتراف بفقر الدم كعلامة للفيروس. ومع ذلك ، في حين أن دراسات الحالة والحكايات مقنعة ، إلا أنها تفتقر إلى مجموعات البيانات الكبيرة للدراسة العلمية.

جاءت أول مجموعة بيانات كبيرة من إيران. كانت دراسة منزلية من 10,000 شخص تظهر العلاقة بين فقر الدم وفقر الدم كوفيد-19. تم نشر نتائج مجموعة البيانات الكبيرة الثانية من قبل فريق مقره في King's College London. هم دراسة أعراض COVID التطبيق أظهر أن 65٪ من أولئك الذين ثبتت إصابتهم بالمرض لديهم أيضًا فقدان للرائحة والطعم ، وكان هذا العرض أفضل مؤشر لـ COVID-19. و النتائج الأولية للمسح الأول الخاص الاتحاد العالمي لبحوث الحواس الكيميائية (GCCR) أظهر أن أولئك الذين أبلغوا عن أعراض COVID-19 لديهم انخفاض متوسط ​​بنسبة 80 ٪ في قدرتهم على الشم.

تضيف هذه الاستطلاعات وزنًا إلى الأدلة القصصية ، ولكن لها قيود. السبب الرئيسي هو أنها تستند إلى أعراض الإبلاغ الذاتي عن الأشخاص - أي أن قدرتهم على الشم لم يتم تقييمها سريريًا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


من ناحية أخرى ، توفر الدراسات القائمة في المستشفيات وعيادات الأنف والأذن والحنجرة أدلة قيمة حيث يمكن تحديد حالة COVID-19 وتاريخ الحالة بمزيد من اليقين. خرج أول من الصينحيث أفاد الباحثون بأن 5٪ من المرضى متواضعين لديهم حاسة ضعف في الشم. دراسات في فرنسا (417 مريضا) في إيطاليا (202) وفي US (102) ، على المرضى الذين أظهرت جميع الاختبارات الإيجابية لـ COVID-19 ، فقدًا للرائحة في 86٪ و 64٪ و 68٪ من الحالات على التوالي.

تظهر نتائج الدراسات السريرية بمعدل واحد كل بضعة أيام وتؤيد الاستنتاجات بشكل ساحق الادعاء بأن فقر الدم مرتبط بـ COVID-19. أكثر ما كشف عن هذه كانت دراسة أخرى من إيران قياس حاسة الشم باستخدام اختبار الخدش والشم المعترف به. في هذه الحالة ، كان لدى 59 من أصل 60 مريضًا من طراز COVID-19 انخفاض في حاسة الشم لديهم. المستوى الثالث⁧⁩ منهجي استعراض الخاص دليل حديث خلصت إلى أن هناك صلة قوية بين COVID-19 وفقر الدم.

علامة الإنذار المبكر

من المهم فهم توقيت فقدان الشم فيما يتعلق بالأعراض الأخرى. تشير العديد من الدراسات إلى ظهور فقر الدم قبل ظهور أعراض أخرى أو فقط علامة مرض. في الواقع ، أ دراسة امريكية وجدت فقر الدم يظهر كأعراض أولية في 27٪ من ردودهم. أ المجموعة الصينية أظهرت أنه لا يزال من الممكن أن تكون معديًا ، حتى إذا كان فقر الدم هو عرضك الوحيد ، ولكن هذه منطقة تتطلب المزيد من البيانات بسرعة. لا تزال العلاقة بين فقر الدم والعدوى غير واضحة ، لكنها بالتأكيد علامة تحذير مبكر قد تتبعها أعراض أخرى.

باعتبار ال القوة المشتركة من كل ما سبق ، ليس هناك شك في أن فقدان الرائحة المفاجئ مرتبط بـ COVID-19. لكننا ما زلنا بحاجة إلى نهج صارم قائم على الأدلة يتضمن اختبارًا للرائحة الموضوعية وإثباتًا للآليات المعنية ، بعضها الناشئة. في هذه الأثناء ، ننصح جميعًا بمعالجة فقدان حاسة الشم المفاجئ كمؤشر يجب أن نعزله ذاتيًا.

هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من البيانات ، ويمكنك المساعدة. إذا كنت قد تعرضت لفقدان الرائحة أو الذوق المفاجئ أثناء الوباء ، فاملأ كلاهما UK و شامل مسوحات مجلس التعاون الخليجي. تستغرق هذه الاستبيانات البسيطة عبر الإنترنت أقل من عشر دقائق لكل منها. ينصب تركيزنا على فهم الآليات التي تنطوي عليها اضطرابات الشم والذوق.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جين باركر ، أستاذ مشارك ، كيمياء النكهات ، جامعة ريدينغ؛ كارل فيلبوت ، أستاذ طب الأنف والحنجرة ، جامعة ايست انجليا، و Tristram Wyatt ، زميل أبحاث أول ، جامعة أكسفورد

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Sudden Loss Of Smell?– Why It Is A Reason To Self-isolate

Sudden Loss Of Smell?– Why It Is A Reason To Self-isolate Mangostar/Shutterstock

Waking up and not being able to smell the coffee could be a sign of COVID-19. The World Health Organization recently announced that a sudden loss of sense of smell (anosmia) should be added to the symptoms of COVID-19. The UK government has just done that, stating: “From today, all individuals should self-isolate if they develop a new continuous cough or fever or anosmia.”

The inclusion of sudden anosmia is important as it may be an early – and sometimes the only – symptom of COVID-19 infection. It is also a symptom, like fever, that we can detect ourselves without a laboratory test. The indications are that if we were all to respond to this cue by self-isolating, we could reduce the spread of the virus.

An early clue that a loss of smell might be related to COVID-19 came in early March 2020 from a Facebook post about an ear, nose and throat (ENT) doctor who suddenly lost his sense of smell. What followed was a gradual accumulation of evidence linking anosmia to COVID-19.

Membership of closed Facebook groups dedicated to those experiencing smell loss grew exponentially, Google searches for “anosmia” increased, and high-profile cases were reported in the news. ENT doctors saw an increase in patients reporting anosmia and started to publish case studies based on the experience of their patients – many of them healthcare professionals. One, a neurosurgeon, reported anosmia with no other symptoms. Two days later he tested positive for COVID-19.

The sudden onset of anosmia was described as a new finding that may distinguish COVID-19 from the common cold or flu. An early statement was issued by ENT-UK and the British Rhinology Society calling for anosmia to be recognised as a marker of the virus. However, while the case studies and anecdotes are compelling, they lack the large datasets of a scientific study.

The first large dataset came from Iran. It was a home-based study of 10,000 people showing a correlation between anosmia and COVID-19. Results from the second large dataset were published by a team based at King’s College London. Their COVID Symptom Study app showed that 65% of those who tested positive for the disease also had a loss of smell and taste, and this symptom was by far the best predictor of COVID-19. And preliminary results from the first survey of the Global Consortium for Chemosensory Research (GCCR) showed that those reporting COVID-19 symptoms had an average drop of 80% in their ability to smell.

These surveys add weight to the anecdotal evidence, but they have limitations. The main one being that they are based on people self-reporting symptoms – that is, their ability to smell was not clinically assessed.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


On the other hand, studies based in hospitals and ENT clinics provide valuable evidence where the COVID-19 status and case histories can be determined with more certainty. The first came out of China, where researchers reported a modest 5% of patients had an impaired sense of smell. Studies in France (417 patients), in Italy (202) and in the US (102), on patients all testing positive for COVID-19, found a loss of smell in 86%, 64% and 68% of cases, respectively.

Results from clinical studies appear at the rate of one every few days and the conclusions overwhelmingly support the claim that anosmia is associated with COVID-19. The most revealing of these was another study from Iran that measured sense of smell using a recognised scratch and sniff test. In this case, 59 out of 60 COVID-19 patients had a decrease in their sense of smell. Three systematic reviews of the recent evidence have concluded that there is a strong link between COVID-19 and anosmia.

Early warning sign

It is important to understand the timings of smell loss in relation to other symptoms. Several studies report the onset of anosmia before other symptoms, or as the only symptom. Indeed, a US study found anosmia appearing as the first symptom in 27% of their responses. A Chinese group showed you can still be infectious, even if anosmia is your only symptom, but this is an area when more data is required fast. The relationship between anosmia and infectiousness is still unclear, but it is certainly an early warning sign that other symptoms may follow.

Considering the combined strength of all the above, there is little doubt that sudden loss of smell is related to COVID-19. But we still need a strict evidence-based approach involving objective smell testing and evidence of the mechanisms involved, some of which is emerging. In the meantime, we would all be well advised to treat a sudden loss of the sense of smell as an indication we should self-isolate.

More data is needed, and you can help. If you have experienced a sudden loss of smell or taste during the pandemic, fill in both the UK and global GCCR surveys. These simple online surveys take less than ten minutes each. Our focus is on understanding the mechanisms involved in both smell and taste disorders.The Conversation

About The Author

Jane Parker, Associate Professor, Flavour Chemistry, University of Reading; Carl Philpott, Professor of Rhinology and Olfactology, University of East Anglia, and Tristram Wyatt, Senior Research Fellow, University of Oxford

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.