تم اكتشاف لحظة تشغيل الزهايمر

تم اكتشاف لحظة تشغيل الزهايمر LightField Studios / Shutterstock

شهدت العقود الثلاثة الماضية تحسنًا كبيرًا في فهمنا لما يسبب مرض الزهايمر. يعتقد أن اثنين من البروتينات مسؤولان: أميلويد وتاو. النظرية الأكثر قبولًا هي أن المستوى الحاسم من الأميلويد في الدماغ يؤدي إلى تراكم بروتين تاو الأكثر سمية. وقد أدى هذا إلى العديد من الدراسات التي تختبر الأدوية واللقاحات التي تزيل الأميلويد والتاو لمعرفة ما إذا كان بإمكانها تحسين أو حتى منع الخرف. كانت النتائج مخيبة للآمال.

فشلت جميع الدراسات في مرضى الخرف في إظهار التحسينات ، حتى لو تأثرت الأميلويد نفسه. في حالة بارزة، تبين أن لقاحًا تم إعطاؤه للمرضى قد أزال دماغ الأميلويد من الأشخاص الذين ماتوا مع ذلك بسبب الخرف العميق.

خلال نفس الفترة، دراسات أفاد الأشخاص المصممون لتطوير الحالة بسبب طفرة جينية أن التغييرات التي تؤدي إلى الخرف تبدأ حتى 25 عامًا قبل ظهور أي أعراض. أحد التفسيرات المنطقية هو أن محاولات العثور على علاج للخرف ربما فشلت لأن المرضى في تجارب الأدوية تم علاجهم بعد فوات الأوان في عملية المرض.

أدى هذا التفكير الجديد إلى اختبار علاجات جديدة في أقرب وقت ممكن ، على سبيل المثال ، في مرحلة انتشار الأميلويد في الدماغ ولكن لا توجد علامات أخرى على الخرف - ما يسمى بالخرف قبل السريري. تستخدم هذه الدراسات طرقًا مثل الصنبور الفقري أو التصوير المقطعي بانبعاث البوزيترون (نوع من فحص الدماغ) للتأكد من أن الشخص لديه مستوى حرج من النشواني. لكن هناك دليل التي تحدث بالفعل في هذه المرحلة المبكرة ، من المحتمل حدوث ضرر لا يمكن إصلاحه ، مثل فقدان أنسجة المخ.

الباحثين قد ذهبوا أبعد من ذلك وبينت ذلك يُظهر الأشخاص الذين لم يصلوا بعد إلى المستوى الحاسم من النشواني ولكنهم يقومون بتراكم البروتين بمعدل سريع ، ظهور علامات مبكرة على تغيرات الدماغ المرتبطة بالخرف ، مثل التغيرات في القدرة العقلية.

إيجاد تراكم البروتينات بسرعة

أراد فريقنا معرفة ما إذا كان يمكن تحديد مثل هذه المجموعة من "تراكم البروتين السريع" بين كبار السن الأصحاء. المعنى الضمني هو أن هؤلاء الأشخاص سيكونون هم الأكثر استفادة من دواء يتداخل مع عملية الخرف ، قبل أن يحدث أي ضرر.

للقيام بذلك ، وصلنا إلى دراستين أمريكيتين جمعتا الصنبور الفقري المتكرر ومسح الدماغ النشواني لعقود. تمكنا من إثبات أن بعض الأشخاص يسلكون مسارًا عدوانيًا بشكل خاص لتكوين إما أميلويد أو تاو أو كليهما. والأهم من ذلك ، يبدو أن هناك لحظة "تشغيل" في أواخر الخمسينيات للمشاركين عندما ارتفع التراكم فجأة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وجود متغير جيني معروف جعل الناس عرضة للخرف (نسخة e4 من جين APOE) يجعل من المرجح أن يكون الشخص على مسار تراكم البروتين العدواني وأن يكون لديه "تشغيل" لحظة قبل خمس سنوات ، مقارنة مع أولئك الذين ليس لديهم جين APOE e4 الإصدار.

وجدنا أن لحظة "التشغيل" تحدث في نفس العمر تقريبًا لكل من بروتينات الأميلويد وتاو. يتناقض هذا مع النظرية القائلة بأن "دماغًا مليئًا بالنشواني" مطلوب لبدء التتالي الذي يؤدي إلى الخرف. وبدلاً من ذلك ، تعمل العمليات التي تؤدي إلى الخرف بشكل متزامن.

أيضًا ، بينما استمرت دراساتنا لعقود من الزمن ، عانى عدد من الأشخاص في النهاية من مشاكل في الذاكرة. وجدنا أن الشخص الذي كان يراكم كل من تاو وسرطان الأميلويد كان على الأرجح مصابًا بالخرف في العقود التالية.

تم اكتشاف لحظة تشغيل الزهايمر تتراكم البروتينات في خلية الدماغ. Design_Cells

أجهزة يمكن ارتداؤها

ورقتنا يظهر أن لدينا الآن التكنولوجيا لتحديد الأشخاص الذين هم على مسار سريع لتطوير الخرف. ومع ذلك ، لن يكون من العملي إجراء فحص لهؤلاء الأشخاص عن طريق القيام بصنابير العمود الفقري المتكررة. بدلاً من ذلك ، نحتاج إلى إيجاد طرق رخيصة وسهلة التحمل للتنبؤ بمن ينتمي إلى هذه المجموعة السريعة من الأشخاص.

وجدنا أن الاختبارات التي تم نشرها عادةً في دراسات الخرف (فحوصات الدماغ ، اختبارات ذاكرة العيادة) لم تكن مفيدة في هذا الصدد. من الممكن أننا في وقت مبكر جدًا نحتاج إلى مجموعة مختلفة تمامًا من الاختبارات التي تظهر تغييرات طفيفة جدًا في طريقة عمل أدمغتنا يومًا بعد يوم. من الأمثلة على ذلك الأجهزة القابلة للارتداء التي تظهر تغيرات طفيفة في المشي أو اضطرابات في جودة النوم. قد تشير التطبيقات التي تتتبع مدى نجاحنا في استخدامنا للتكنولوجيا الرقمية بمرور الوقت (على سبيل المثال ، مدى سرعتنا في العثور على الكلمة الصحيحة عند المراسلة النصية) إلى الأشخاص الذين تتعرض عقولهم للضغط.

يتم تطوير عدد من هذه التقنيات الرقمية ، ونأمل ، في المستقبل غير البعيد ، أن نتمكن من الوصول إلى مثل هذه الحلول في كل من الممارسة السريرية الروتينية بالإضافة إلى دراسات اختبار العلاجات الجديدة التي تؤخر أو حتى تمنع الخرف.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

إيفان كويشيف ، باحث سريري أول ، الخرف ، جامعة أكسفورد

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ثلاث خطوات لإعادة رؤية قصصنا الكوكبية
ثلاث خطوات لإعادة رؤية قصصنا الكوكبية
by إليزابيث إي ميتشام ، دكتوراه

من المحررين

لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Has The Alzheimer's Switch-On Moment Been Discovered

Has The Alzheimer's switch-on Moment Been Discovered LightField Studios/Shutterstock

The past three decades saw a dramatic improvement in our understanding of what brings about Alzheimer’s disease. Two proteins are thought to be responsible: amyloid and tau. The most widely accepted theory is that a critical level of amyloid in the brain triggers the build-up of the more toxic tau protein. This has led to several studies testing drugs and vaccines that remove amyloid and tau to see if they can improve or even prevent dementia. Results have been disappointing.

All studies in dementia patients have failed to show improvements, even if amyloid itself was affected. In a prominent case, a vaccine given to patients was shown to have cleared the brain of amyloid of people who nonetheless died of profound dementia.

Over the same period, studies in people destined to develop the condition because of a genetic mutation reported that the changes leading to dementia begin up to 25 years before any symptoms. One logical interpretation is that attempts to find a cure for dementia may have failed because the patients in drug trials were treated too late in the disease process.

This new thinking led to new treatments being tested as early as possible, for example, at the stage of having widespread amyloid in the brain but no other signs of dementia – so-called preclinical dementia. These studies use methods such as spinal tap or positron emission tomography (a type of brain scan) to confirm that a person has a critical level of amyloid. But there is evidence that already at this very early stage, potentially irreversible damage, such as loss of brain tissue, is occurring.

Researchers have gone further and shown that people who are yet to reach the critical level of amyloid but are accumulating the protein at an accelerated rate, show early signs of dementia-related brain changes, such as changes to mental ability.

Finding fast protein accumulators

Our team wanted to know if such a group of “fast protein accumulators” can be identified among healthy ageing adults. The implication is that these people would be the ones who would benefit most from a drug that interferes with the dementia process, before any damage has set in.

To do this, we accessed two US studies that collected repeated spinal tap and amyloid brain scans for decades. We were able to demonstrate that some people are on a particularly aggressive course of build-up of either amyloid or tau, or both. Importantly, there seemed to be a “switch on” moment in the participants’ late 50s when the accumulation suddenly ramped up.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Having a genetic variant that is well known to predispose people to dementia (the e4 version of the APOE gene) made it more likely that the person would be on the aggressive protein-accumulation path and have their “switch on” moment five years earlier, compared with those without an APOE e4 gene version.

We found that the “switch on” moment happens at roughly the same age for both the amyloid and tau proteins. This contradicts the theory that “a brain full of amyloid” is needed to start the cascade leading to dementia. Instead, the processes that lead to dementia run concurrently.

Also, as our studies ran for decades, a number of people eventually developed memory problems. We found that a person that was accumulating both tau and amyloid fast was most likely to be diagnosed with dementia in the decades to follow.

Has The Alzheimer's switch-on Moment Been Discovered Proteins accumulating on a brain cell. Design_Cells

Wearable devices

Our paper shows that we now have the technology to identify people who are on a fast track to developing dementia. Still, it would not be practical to screen for these people by doing repeated spinal taps. Instead, we need to find cheap and easy-to-tolerate methods to predict who belongs to this fast track group of people.

We found that tests usually deployed in dementia studies (brain scans, clinic memory tests) were not useful in this respect. It is possible that so early on we need a whole different set of tests that show very minor changes in the way our brains function day to day. Examples of these could be wearable devices that show subtle changes in gait or disturbances in the quality of sleep. Apps that track how well we go about our use of digital technology over time (for example, how fast we are in finding the right word when texting) may also point to people whose brains are under strain.

A number of such digital technologies are being developed and, hopefully, in the not-too-distant future, we will have access to such solutions in both routine clinical practice as well as studies testing new treatments that delay or even prevent dementia.The Conversation

About The Author

Ivan Koychev, Senior Clinical Researcher, Dementia, University of Oxford

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)