الكثير يشربون طريقهم من خلال أزمة فيروس كورونا - وهذا يعني المزيد من المشاكل الصحية في المستقبل

كثيرون يشربون طريقهم من خلال أزمة الفيروس التاجي - وهذا يعني المزيد من المشاكل الصحية في المستقبل تسوق النبيذ في سياتل ، حيث تعتبر العديد من متاجر الخمور "أعمالًا أساسية". AP Photo / Elaine Thompson

في خضم وباء COVID-19 ، أصبح شراء الكحول أسهل من ورق التواليت أو البيض.

في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة ، فإن المحافظين يقولون مبيعات الكحول عمل أساسي وتخفيف القيود على السماح بالتوصيل إلى المنزل و كوكتيلات تنفيذ، ورمي شريان الحياة الاقتصادية لمجموعة واحدة من الشركات الصغيرة.

هل مبيعات الكحول ضرورية بالفعل؟ وفقًا للحكومة الفيدرالية ، شرب ما يزيد قليلاً عن نصف الأمريكيين الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 18 عامًا فأكثر (55.3٪) الكحول في الثلاثين يومًا الماضية؛ تناول ما يزيد عن الربع بقليل - أكثر من أربعة مشروبات في مناسبة للنساء ، أو خمسة للرجال - وواحد في 1 (17٪) يعاني من اضطراب في تعاطي الكحول ، يتراوح من معتدل إلى حاد.

بالنسبة لأولئك في هذه المجموعة الأخيرة الذين يعتمدون عليها بالفعل ، قد يكون الكحول ضروريًا بالفعل.

لكن الدليل حتى الآن في هذا الوباء هو أن الناس بشكل عام يشترون المزيد من الكحول وبكميات أكبر. مثل شخص قضى 30 عامًا في دراسة العلاقة بين سياسة الكحول والصحة العامة، أعلم أن هذا من المحتمل أن يؤدي إلى ارتفاع في اضطرابات تعاطي الكحول لسنوات قادمة.

خمر حتى

وفقًا لـ أرقام نيلسنبالنسبة للأسبوع المنتهي في 14 مارس ، شهدت منافذ البيع خارج المباني مثل الخمور ومحلات البقالة ارتفاعًا في مبيعات النبيذ بنسبة 27.6٪ ، والمشروبات الروحية بنسبة 26.4٪ ، والمشروبات الجيرية وعصير التفاح والشعير بنسبة 14٪ مقارنة بنفس الأسبوع من العام السابق. ارتفعت مبيعات علب النبيذ سعة 3 لتر بنسبة 53٪ ، وزادت 24 عبوة من البيرة بنسبة 24٪. كما ارتفعت مبيعات الكحول عبر الإنترنت لهذا الأسبوع ، بنسبة 42٪ على أساس سنوي.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بعض هذه الزيادة يتم تخزينها بلا شك ، خاصة بالنظر إلى إغلاق الحانات والمطاعم في العديد من المواقع. ولكننا نعرف أيضا من الخبرة السابقة و تشير الدراسات إلى أن فترات الإجهاد الاقتصادي والنفسي مثل هذا لها تأثيران على تعاطي الكحول. الناس لديهم أموال أقل لإنفاقها على الكحول ، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض إنفاقهم ؛ في نفس الوقت ، من المحتمل أن يشربوا أكثر لتخفيف الضغط الذي يشعرون به. باختصار ، إنهم يشترون كميات أكبر من الكحول أرخص.

سيكون لهذه الزيادة في الشرب تأثير قصير وطويل الأمد على الصحة والسلامة. على المدى القصير، يمنع تعاطي الكحول جوانب متعددة من استجابة الجهاز المناعي للجسم، مع تأثيرات خاصة على قدرة الرئتين على مكافحة العدوى مثل COVID-19.

من المرجح أن يؤثر ارتفاع مبيعات الكحول واستهلاك المنازل خارج المباني على العنف بين الأشخاص. إن إضافة الكحول إلى حالة عنيفة محتملة يشبه صب البنزين على نار مشتعلة. مبيعات الكحول خارج المباني أكثر عرضة للارتباط بجرائم عنيفة من الشرب في حانة أو مطعم، حيث يتم الشرب دون وجود خوادم ومستفيدين آخرين. تقوم مدن متعددة بالإبلاغ انخفاض في جرائم الملكية في أعقاب الوباء، لكن ارتفاع في العنف المنزلي. قد تكون حالات الاعتداء على الأطفال في ازدياد أيضًا - في حين أن البيانات الوطنية غير متاحة ، فإن مستشفى فورت وورث الذي عادة ما يشهد ثماني حالات من هذا القبيل في الشهر رأيت ستة في الأسبوع.

نبدا بالشرب

أما بالنسبة للتأثيرات طويلة المدى ، أ دراسة تأثير تفشي السارس على العاملين في مستشفى بكين عام 2003 وجدت احتمالية أكبر لتعاطي الكحول أو أعراض الاعتماد بعد ثلاث سنوات مرتبطة بالحجر الصحي أو العمل في ظروف عالية المخاطر مثل الأجنحة المخصصة لعلاج المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض الجهاز التنفسي. تعرض أكبر لهجوم 9 سبتمبر الإرهابي على مركز التجارة العالمي ارتبط بمزيد من الشرب بنهم بعد عام ، واحتمالات أعلى من الاعتماد على الكحول بعد عام وسنتين. في أعقاب إعصار كاترينا ، ارتفع استهلاك الكحول. بعد إعصار ريتا ، زاد استخدام الكحول للمراهقين في لويزيانا. ما يوحي به هذا هو أنه خلال أزمة الفيروسات التاجية ، يضع الناس أنماطًا للشرب الثقيل الذي سيظهر في معدلات أعلى في المستقبل من اضطرابات تعاطي الكحول.

بينما يعلن المحافظون أن مبيعات الكحول ضرورية ، لا يزال بإمكان المدن استخدام أدوات السياسة لتسوية هذا المنحنى من المشاكل الناجمة عن تعاطي الكحول. قبل تفشي الفيروس التاجي ، سيتي هيلث، مشروع لمؤسسة de Beaumont و Kaiser Permanente صنفت أكبر 40 مدينة في البلاد حول ما إذا كانوا قد ادعوا الاختصاص القضائي على مبيعات الكحول داخل حدودهم.

يمكن لثمانية أن تنظم منافذ بيع الكحول ، بما في ذلك تحديد ساعات البيع وأيام البيع ، وتحديد مبالغ الشراء القصوى ، وحظر خصم الأسعار ، المعروف بزيادة استهلاك الكحول. إذا لزم الأمر ، يمكنهم أيضًا إغلاق المباني.

ولثمانية أخرى عناصر للسيطرة المحلية على مبيعات الكحول ، لكنها تفتقر إلى الولاية القضائية على جزء من المنافذ الجديدة أو القائمة.

تفتقر المدن الأربع والعشرون المتبقية إلى السيطرة ، لأن قوانين الولاية التي تحظر الإجراءات المحلية تحظرها ، أو لأنها لم تتخذ صراحةً مثل هذه السلطة في قوانين مدنها. ومع ذلك ، حتى في هذه المدن ، يمكن لقادة الصحة المدنية والعامة استخدام سلطات الطوارئ للحد من مبيعات الكحول أو إيقافها في مناطق اختصاصهم.

المقاييس والبصريات

A مجموعة كبيرة من البحوث وجد أن عدد المتاجر التي تبيع الكحول في منطقة ما ، وكيف تخدمها وتبيعها لها أهمية للصحة العامة. وخلصت فرقة العمل المعنية بالخدمات الوقائية المجتمعية إلى أن الحد من كليهما كثافة المنافذ و الساعات والأيام التي قد يبيعونها هي تدابير فعالة للحد من مشاكل الكحول.

هناك العديد تقارير قصصية عن الحد من المخازن كم عدد لفات ورق التواليت التي يمكن للمستهلكين شراؤها ، ومع ذلك فإن الناس يسيرون مع حمولة من المشروبات الكحولية. يجب أن تكون السلطات القضائية على كل مستوى ، بما في ذلك المدن ، على دراية بالآثار المحتملة لتعاطي الكحول المتزايد في أوقات كهذه ، واستخدام أدوات السياسة الموجودة تحت تصرفهم للتخفيف من هذه الآثار. قد يكون الكحول ضروريًا للبعض ، ولكن الكثير منه خطير على الكثيرين ، الآن وفي المستقبل.

نبذة عن الكاتب

David H. Jernigan ، أستاذ قانون الصحة والسياسات والإدارة ، جامعة بوسطن

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ثلاث خطوات لإعادة رؤية قصصنا الكوكبية
ثلاث خطوات لإعادة رؤية قصصنا الكوكبية
by إليزابيث إي ميتشام ، دكتوراه

من المحررين

لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Many Are Drinking Their Way Through The Coronavirus Crisis – That Means More Health Woes Ahead

Many Drinking Its Way Through The Coronavirus Crisis – That Means More Health Woes Ahead Shopping for wine in Seattle, where many liquor stores are considered “essential businesses.” AP Photo/Elaine Thompson

In the midst of the COVID-19 epidemic, it has become easier to buy alcohol than toilet paper or eggs.

Across the U.S., governors are terming alcohol sales an essential business and loosening restrictions to permit home delivery and carryout cocktails, throwing an economic lifeline to one group of small businesses.

Are alcohol sales actually essential? According to the federal government, just over half of Americans age 18 and above (55.3%) drank alcohol in the past 30 days; just over a quarter binged – more than four drinks on an occasion for women, or five for men – and 1 in 17 (5.8%) had an alcohol use disorder, ranging from mild to severe.

For those in this latter group who are actually dependent on it, alcohol may indeed be essential.

But evidence thus far in the epidemic is that people in general are buying more alcohol, and in larger quantities. As someone who has spent 30 years studying the link between alcohol policy and public health, I know that this is likely to result in a spike in alcohol use disorders for years to come.

Booze up

According to Nielsen figures, for the week ending March 14, off-premise outlets such as liquor and grocery stores saw sales of wine up 27.6%, spirits by 26.4% and beer, cider and malt beverages by 14% compared to the same week a year earlier. Sales of 3-liter boxes of wine rose by 53%, and 24-packs of beer increased by 24%. Online alcohol sales for that week were also up, 42% year-on-year.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Some of this increase is undoubtedly stockpiling, especially given that in many locations bar and restaurants are closed. But we also know from prior experience and studies that periods of economic and psychological stress like this have two effects on alcohol use. People have less money to spend on alcohol, which drives their spending down; at the same time, they are likely to drink more to alleviate the stress they are feeling. In short, they are buying larger quantities of cheaper alcohol.

This increase in drinking will have both a short- and a long-term impact on health and safety. In the short term, alcohol abuse suppresses multiple aspects of the body’s immune system response, with particular effects on the lungs’ ability to fight off infections like COVID-19.

The rise in off-premise sales of alcohol and home consumption will also likely affect interpersonal violence. Adding alcohol to a possibly violent situation is like pouring gasoline on a lit fire. Off-premise sales of alcohol are more likely to be associated with violent crime than drinking in a bar or restaurant, as the drinking takes place without the presence of servers and other patrons. Multiple cities are reporting decreases in property crimes in the wake of the pandemic, but a rise in domestic violence. Child abuse cases may also be on the rise – while national data are not available, a Fort Worth hospital that usually sees eight such cases in a month saw six in a week.

Binge drinking

As for long-term effects, a study of the impact of the SARS outbreak on Beijing hospital employees in 2003 found greater likelihood of alcohol abuse or dependence symptoms three years later associated with quarantine or working in high-risk settings such as wards dedicated to treating patients with the respiratory illness. Greater exposure to the 9/11 terrorist attack on the World Trade Center was associated with more binge drinking after a year, and higher odds of alcohol dependence one and two years later. In the wake of Hurricane Katrina, alcohol consumption rose. After Hurricane Rita, adolescent alcohol use increased in Louisiana. What this suggests is that during the coronavirus crisis, people are putting in place patterns of heavier drinking that will show up in future higher rates of alcohol use disorders.

As governors declare alcohol sales essential, cities can still use policy levers to flatten this curve of problems from alcohol use. Prior to the coronavirus outbreak, CityHealth, a project of the de Beaumont Foundation and Kaiser Permanente rated the nation’s 40 largest cities on whether they have claimed jurisdiction over alcohol sales within their borders.

Eight can regulate alcohol outlets, including limiting hours and days of sale, establishing maximum purchase amounts, and banning price discounting, which is known to increase alcohol consumption. If necessary, they can also shut down premises.

Another eight have elements of local control over alcohol sales, but lack jurisdiction over some portion of new or existing outlets.

The remaining 24 cities lack control, because they are preempted from it by state laws that prohibit local action, or because they have not expressly taken such authority in their city codes. Yet even in these cities, civic and public health leaders could use emergency powers to limit or shut down alcohol sales in their jurisdictions.

Measures and optics

A large body of research has found that the number of stores selling alcohol in an area, and how they serve and sell it matters for public health. The Task Force on Community Preventive Services concluded that limiting both the density of outlets and the hours and days they may sell are effective measures for reducing alcohol problems.

There are many anecdotal reports of stores limiting how many rolls of toilet paper consumers may purchase, yet people are walking out with cartloads of alcoholic beverages. Jurisdictions at every level, including cities, need to be aware of the likely effects of increased alcohol abuse in times like this, and use the policy levers at their disposal to mitigate these effects. Alcohol may be essential for some, but too much of it is dangerous for many, both now and into the future.

About The Author

David H. Jernigan, Professor of Health Law, Policy & Management, Boston University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)