كيف يمكن لعلم النفس مساعدة الناس على التكيف مع الحياة التي تهدد الحساسية الغذائية

كيف يمكن لعلم النفس مساعدة الناس على التكيف مع الحياة التي تهدد الحساسية الغذائية شترستوك / photographee.eu

الحساسية الغذائية لها تأثير كبير على نوعية حياة الناس. قد يؤدي التوتر والقلق من وجود رد فعل مهدد للحياة إلى حاجة بعض الأسر إلى طلب المساعدة من طبيب نفساني. لسوء الحظ ، هناك القليل من عيادات الحساسية في المملكة المتحدة التي كرست خدمات نفسية لمساعدة هؤلاء الأشخاص.

نظرنا في عيادتان للحساسية مع هذه الخدمات النفسية للأطفال والأسر. وجدنا أن الطلب على الخدمات مرتفع ، وأبلغ الأطباء عن تحسن سريع في قلق المرضى نتيجة لذلك.

الحساسية الغذائية تنطوي على رد فعل من قبل الجهاز المناعي للبروتين في الأطعمة. يمكن أن تتراوح الأعراض من خفيفة إلى مهددة للحياة. ال الأطعمة الأكثر شيوعا ترتبط الحساسية مع الفول السوداني وجوز الأشجار ومنتجات الألبان والأسماك والمحار والقمح وفول الصويا. قد يكون من الصعب تجنب هذه الأطعمة حيث يتم استخدام الكثير منها كمكونات. حتى في حالة عدم كونها مكونات ، لا تزال كميات الدقائق محصورة بسبب عمليات التصنيع.

الإجهاد والقلق

البحث على مدى السنوات ال 20 الماضية وقد أظهرت أن مراقبة ما تأكله باستمرار والطبيعة غير المتوقعة لردود الفعل التحسسية له تأثير على نوعية حياة الناس وصحتهم العقلية. عندما تكون حساسية الطفل ، يتأثر الآباء أيضًا. الأمهات بشكل خاص تقرير مستويات عالية من التوتر والقلق.

يمكن أن يزداد القلق لدى الآباء عندما يكبر الأطفال ويتحملون المزيد من المسؤولية عن صحتهم. يقول المراهقون أن الحساسية الغذائية تصبح أكثر من عبء كما يكبرون ويريدون الخروج مع أصدقائهم والحصول على حياة اجتماعية أكثر استقلالية. الأطفال الأكبر سنًا والمراهقون أيضًا يشعرون بالحاجة إلى ذلك أشبه أصدقائهم ولا يمكن وصفها بحساسية.

على الرغم من التأثير الذي يمكن أن تحدثه الحساسية الغذائية ، إلا أنه لم يتم إجراء سوى القليل من الأبحاث حول التدخلات الرامية إلى تقليل القلق وتحسين نوعية الحياة. أظهرت دراستان ذلك العلاج السلوكي المعرفي، أو CBT ، يمكن أن تكون فعالة للآباء والأمهات للأطفال الذين يعانون من الحساسية الغذائية ، وخاصة أولئك الذين يعانون قلق شديد. العلاج المعرفي السلوكي هو علاج حديث يركز على الصعوبات الحالية ، بما في ذلك الأعراض والعواطف والسلوك والأفكار السلبية. وهو فعال جدا للحد من القلق والاكتئاب. حتى الآن ، لا يوجد بحث منشور عن مثل هذه التدخلات للأطفال أو المراهقين الذين يعانون من الحساسية الغذائية ، لذلك يجب أن تكون هذه أولوية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


إدارة الإجهاد

توفر شبكة علم نفس الأطفال (PPN-UK) إرشادات تستند إلى الأدلة من أجل إدارة إجراءات الغازية و / أو المحزنة. يحتوي على أمثلة جيدة عن كيفية استخدام المعرفة والمهارات النفسية لصالح الأطفال في إدارة الحساسية لديهم ، مثل عند إجراء اختبار وخز الجلد أو تعلم كيفية استخدام الحاقن التلقائي للأدرينالين. لسوء الحظ ، فإن الوصول إلى الخدمات النفسية للعائلات في أمراض حساسية الأطفال محدود.

تتمركز عيادتا الحساسية اللتان نظرنا إليهما والتي تمول خدمات علم النفس الإكلينيكي في مستشفى ساوثهامبتون العام ومستشفى إيفيلينا لندن للأطفال. في ساوثامبتون ، تم إحالة 40 إحالة في أول 14 شهرًا من الخدمة. في لندن ، تمت إحالة ما يزيد قليلاً عن 300 طفل وعائلة منذ بدء الخدمة قبل عامين ونصف.

تشمل الأسباب الأكثر شيوعًا للإحالات: القلق بشأن الطعام وتناول الطعام خارج المنزل ، والتحديات الغذائية لمعرفة ما إذا كان الطفل لا يزال يتفاعل مع الطعام أو نما منه ، باستخدام محقن ذاتي للأدرينالين ، أو صعوبات في النوم ، أو انخفاض في الحالة المزاجية أو احترام الذات والقلق الأبوي.

من وجهة نظر أخصائي الحساسية ، تعد إضافة علماء النفس من ذوي المهارات في إدارة أمراض الحساسية جزءًا مهمًا من الحل. هناك القليل من الوقت في استشارة نموذجية لممرضة الحساسية أو ممرضة الحساسية لتحديد ومعالجة القضايا المتعلقة بالقلق أو نوعية الحياة.

توفير الأمل

لذلك في الممارسة السريرية ، فإن الوصول إلى طبيب نفساني لا يقدر بثمن. من المطمئن أن الأطباء غالباً ما يرون المرضى وعائلاتهم يستجيبون بسرعة للتدخلات النفسية ، حتى في بعض الأحيان حتى بعد استشارة واحدة. غالبًا ما يمكن تقديم جلسات العلاج للمجموعات ، وهي فعالة من حيث التكلفة. ولكن بالنظر إلى عدد العائلات التي تطلب هذا الدعم ونقص علماء النفس الحساسين ، فإن عددًا قليلاً جدًا من المرضى المستحقين يمكنهم الوصول إلى هذه الرعاية حاليًا.

زيادة الوعي العام بالإمكانات الطبيعة التي تهدد الحياة من الحساسية الغذائية وتأثير هذا يمكن أن يكون على حياة الناس يبدو أن تحدث فرقا ببطء. يتم تقديم المزيد من الخدمات النفسية في لندن وأجزاء أخرى من المملكة المتحدة ، مثل ليدز.

وهذا يوفر الأمل للعديد من الأسر التي تحتاجها. يكمن التحدي الآن في أن تعمل خدمات الحساسية مع خدمات علم نفس الأطفال بالمستشفيات لزيادة تطوير هذه الخدمات وإدماجها وتقديمها لجميع الأطفال الذين يعانون من الحساسية الغذائية وأسرهم.

في غضون ذلك ، للعائلات والمرضى الذين ليس لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى طبيب نفساني والذين يحتاجون إلى الدعم ، فإن حملة الحساسية المفرطة و الحساسية المملكة المتحدة هل هناك للمساعدة. يديرون خطوط مساعدة ، ولديهم مجموعات دعم محلية ويقدمون معلومات مفيدة للمرضى والأسر التي تدير الحساسية الغذائية.

يدل استيعاب الخدمات النفسية للمرضى والعائلات على الحاجة الحقيقية لتوسيع هذه الخدمات في جميع أنحاء المملكة المتحدة. إن تقييم مدى فعالية هذه الخدمات وتطوير طرق يمكن توفيرها في الرعاية الأولية والثانوية ، من خلال الأطباء الممارسين العامين وكذلك من خلال عيادات مخصصة ، سيساعد في الوصول إلى المزيد من الأسر ويقلل العبء المرتبط بالحساسية تجاه الطعام.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ريبيكا Knibb ، أستاذ مشارك في علم النفس ، جامعة أستون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

5 أساطير عن القمر
5 أساطير عن القمر
by دانيال براون
تعلم القيادة في الحب
تعلم القيادة في الحب
by نانسي الرياح

How Psychology Can Help People Coping With Life Threatening Food Allergies

How Psychology Can Help People Coping With Life Threatening Food Allergies Shutterstock/photographee.eu

Food allergies have a big impact on people’s quality of life. The stress and worry of having a potentially life-threatening reaction can result in the need for some families to seek help from a psychologist. Unfortunately, only a few allergy clinics in the UK have dedicated psychological services to help these people.

We looked at two allergy clinics with such psychological services for children and families. We found the services to be in high demand, and clinicians reported rapid improvements in patients’ anxiety as a result.

Food allergies involve a reaction by the immune system to protein in foods. Symptoms can range from mild to life threatening. The foods most commonly linked with allergies are peanuts and tree nuts, dairy products, fish, shellfish, wheat and soy. It can be difficult to avoid such foods as many are used as ingredients. Even where they are not ingredients, minute amounts can still crop up due to manufacturing processes.

Stress and anxiety

Research over the last 20 years has shown that constantly watching what you eat and the unpredictable nature of allergic reactions has an impact on people’s quality of life and mental health. Where it’s a child’s allergy, parents are also affected. Mothers in particular report high levels of stress and anxiety.

Anxiety in parents can increase when children grow older and take on more responsibility for their health. Teenagers say that their food allergy becomes more of a burden as they get older and want to go out with their friends and have a more independent social life. Older children and adolescents also feel a need to be more like their friends and not be labelled by their allergy.

Despite the impact food allergies can have, very little research has been published on interventions to reduce anxiety and improve quality of life. Two studies have shown that cognitive behavioural therapy, or CBT, can be effective for parents of children with food allergies, particularly those with high anxiety. CBT is a talking therapy that focuses on present difficulties, including symptoms, emotions, behaviour and negative thoughts. It is very effective for reducing anxiety and depression. To date, there is no published research on such interventions for children or adolescents with food allergies, so this should be a priority.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Managing stress

The Paediatric Psychology Network (PPN-UK) provides evidence-based guidelines for the management of invasive and/or distressing procedures. It has good examples of how psychological knowledge and skills could be used for the benefit of children in managing their allergy, such as when undergoing skin prick testing or learning how to use an adrenaline auto-injector. Unfortunately, access to psychological services for families in paediatric allergy is limited.

The two allergy clinics we looked at that have funding for dedicated clinical psychology services are based at Southampton General Hospital and the Evelina London Children’s Hospital. In Southampton, 40 referrals were made in the first 14 months of the service. In London, just over 300 children and families have been referred since the service began two and a half years ago.

The most common reasons for referrals include: food anxiety and eating outside the home, food challenges to see if a child still reacts to food or has grown out of it, using an adrenaline auto-injector, sleep difficulties, low mood or self-esteem and parental anxiety.

From the allergist’s perspective the addition of psychologists with skills in the management of allergic disease is an important part of the solution. There is little time in a typical consultation for an allergist or allergy nurse to identify and address issues related to anxiety or quality of life.

Providing hope

So in clinical practice, having access to a psychologist is invaluable. Reassuringly, clinicians often see patients and their families rapidly respond to psychological interventions, sometimes even after a single consultation. Therapy sessions can often be provided to groups, which is cost-effective. But given the number of families asking for this support and the lack of allergy psychologists, very few deserving patients currently have access to such care.

An increase in public awareness of the potential life-threatening nature of food allergies and the impact this can have on people’s lives does seem to be slowly making a difference. More psychological services are being offered in London and other parts of the UK, such as Leeds.

This provides hope for the many families who need them. The challenge now is for allergy services to work with hospital paediatric psychology services to further develop, integrate and deliver these services for all children with food allergies and their families.

In the meantime, for families and patients who do not have access to a psychologist and who need support, the Anaphylaxis Campaign and Allergy UK are there to help. They run helplines, have local support groups and provide useful information to patients and families managing food allergies.

The uptake of psychological services by patients and families demonstrates the real need to expand these services across the UK. Evaluating how effective these services are and developing ways they can be provided in primary as well as secondary care, via GPs as well as through dedicated clinics, will help reach more families and reduce the burden associated with being allergic to a food.The Conversation

About The Author

Rebecca Knibb, Associate Professor in Psychology, Aston University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…