هذا الملحق آلام المفاصل قد يقلل من خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب

هذا الملحق آلام المفاصل قد يقلل من خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب

تشير دراسة جديدة إلى أن الاستخدام المنتظم لمكملات الجلوكوزامين قد يرتبط بانخفاض خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية.

تشير النتائج إلى أن الجلوكوزامين يمكن أن يساعد في منع الإصابة بأمراض القلب والشرايين التاجية ، ولكن هناك حاجة لمزيد من التجارب السريرية لاختبار النظرية ، كما يقول المؤلف الرئيسي لو تشى ، مدير مركز أبحاث السمنة بجامعة تولين.

يقول تشى ، رئيس وأستاذ بكلية الصحة العامة والطب الاستوائي: "تقدم دراستنا لأول مرة أدلة من مجموعة كبيرة محتملة لإظهار أن استخدام الجلوكوزامين المعتاد يرتبط بانخفاض خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية". "بالنظر إلى الطبيعة الملاحظة للتحليل ، نود إجراء تحقيقات إضافية لزيادة التحقق من صحة النتائج واستكشاف الآليات".

الجلوكوزامين هو مكمل غذائي مشهور لتخفيف هشاشة العظام وآلام المفاصل. بينما يواصل العلماء مناقشة فعاليته على آلام المفاصل ، تشير الدلائل الناشئة إلى أن الجلوكوزامين قد يكون له دور في الوقاية من أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية وتقليل الوفيات.

لاستكشاف هذه الجمعيات المحتملة أكثر ، اعتمد الباحثون على بيانات من البنك البريطاني الحيوي - وهي دراسة كبيرة قائمة على السكان تضم أكثر من نصف مليون من الرجال والنساء البريطانيين. شمل تحليلهم المشاركين 466,039 دون أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية ، الذين أكملوا استبيان على استخدام الملحق ، بما في ذلك الجلوكوزامين.

استخدم الباحثون شهادات الوفاة وسجلات المستشفى لمراقبة أحداث أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية (CVD) ، بما في ذلك الوفاة القلبية الوعائية وأمراض القلب التاجية (CHD) والسكتة الدماغية على مدى فترة متابعة مدتها سبع سنوات.

بشكل عام ، أبلغ واحد تقريبًا (19.3 بالمائة) من المشاركين عن استخدام الجلوكوزامين في بداية الدراسة.

وجد الباحثون أن استخدام الجلوكوزامين ارتبط بانخفاض خطر 15 في المئة من إجمالي أحداث CVD ، و 9 في المئة إلى 22 في المئة انخفاض خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والسكتة الدماغية ووفاة CVD مقارنة مع عدم الاستخدام. بقيت هذه الجمعيات المواتية بعد الأخذ في الاعتبار عوامل الخطر التقليدية ، بما في ذلك العمر والجنس والوزن (BMI) ، والعرق ، ونمط الحياة ، والنظام الغذائي ، والأدوية ، واستخدام المكملات الأخرى.

كان الارتباط بين استخدام الجلوكوزامين و CHD أيضًا أقوى عند المدخنين الحاليين (خطر أقل بنسبة 37 في المئة) مقارنةً مطلقًا (12 بالمائة) وبين المدخنين السابقين (18 بالمائة).

عدة آليات قد تفسر هذه النتائج. على سبيل المثال ، تم ربط الاستخدام المنتظم للجلوكوزامين بانخفاض مستويات البروتين التفاعلي C ، وهي مادة كيميائية مرتبطة بالالتهابات. قد يساعد هذا أيضًا في توضيح الارتباط الأقوى بين المدخنين ، الذين لديهم مستويات أعلى من الالتهاب وخطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية أعلى من غير المدخنين.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تشير البيانات السابقة إلى أن الجلوكوزامين قد يحاكي اتباع نظام غذائي منخفض الكربوهيدرات ، والذي يرتبط عكسيا مع تطور الأمراض القلبية الوعائية.

على الرغم من حجم العينة الكبير ، فهذه دراسة قائمة على الملاحظة ، وبالتالي ، لا يمكن أن تثبت السبب ، ويشير الباحثون إلى بعض القيود ، مثل نقص المعلومات عن الجرعة والمدة والآثار الجانبية لاستخدام الجلوكوزامين.

يظهر البحث في BMJ.

مصدر: جامعة تولين

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = heart disease؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

This Joint Pain Supplement May Lower Heart Disease Risk

This Joint Pain Supplement May Lower Heart Disease Risk

Regular use of glucosamine supplements may be linked to a lower risk of cardiovascular disease events, according to a new study.

The findings suggest that glucosamine could help prevent coronary heart disease and stroke, but further clinical trials will have to test the theory, says lead author Lu Qi, director of the Tulane University Obesity Research Center.

“Our study for the first time provides evidence from a large prospective cohort to show that habitual glucosamine use is related to a lower risk of cardiovascular disease,” says Qi, a chair and professor at the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine. “Considering the observational nature of the analysis, we would desire additional investigations to further validate the findings and to explore the mechanisms.”

Glucosamine is a popular dietary supplement for the relief of osteoarthritis and joint pain. While scientists continue to debate its effectiveness on joint pain, emerging evidence suggests that glucosamine may have a role in preventing cardiovascular disease and reducing mortality.

To explore these potential associations further, the researchers drew on data from the UK Biobank—a large population-based study of more than half a million British men and women. Their analysis included 466,039 participants without cardiovascular disease, who completed a questionnaire on supplement use, including glucosamine.

The researchers used death certificates and hospital records to monitor cardiovascular disease (CVD) events, including CVD death, coronary heart disease (CHD), and stroke over an average seven-year follow-up period.

Overall, almost one in five (19.3 percent) participants reported glucosamine use at the start of the study.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The researchers found that glucosamine use was associated with a 15 percent lower risk of total CVD events, and a 9 percent to 22 percent lower risk of CHD, stroke, and CVD death compared with no use. These favorable associations remained after taking account of traditional risk factors, including age, sex, weight (BMI), ethnicity, lifestyle, diet, medication, and other supplement use.

The association between glucosamine use and CHD was also stronger in current smokers (37 percent lower risk) compared with never (12 percent) and former smokers (18 percent).

Several mechanisms may explain these results. For example, regular use of glucosamine has been linked to a reduction in levels of C-reactive protein, a chemical associated with inflammation. This may also help to explain the stronger association among smokers, who have higher levels of inflammation and higher risk of CVD than non-smokers.

In addition, previous data suggest that glucosamine may mimic a low carbohydrate diet, which has been inversely associated with the development of CVD.

Despite the large sample size, this is an observational study, and as such, can’t establish cause, and the researchers point to some limitations, such as lack of information on dose, duration, and side effects of glucosamine use.

The research appears in the BMJ.

Source: Tulane University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=heart disease;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)