كيف شكل الجسم المثالي لصحة الرجال المثليين

ملف 20190104 32121 x60llu.jpg؟ ixlib = rb 1.1 غالبًا ما تؤدي المثاليات الجسدية إلى دفع الرجال المثليين إلى الشعور بعدم كفاية وقلة احترام الذات والاكتئاب. قام المصور بتعليق هذه الصورة ، "أنت فقط تريد الذهاب إلى وضع الجنين وأنت تشعر بالوحدة". (مو), مؤلف المنصوص

الرجال المثليين حاليا تلقي القليل من الاهتمام البحثي عندما يتعلق الأمر بالقضايا الصحية مثل اضطرابات الأكل وغيرها من اهتمامات صورة الجسم. بعد التوقعات مرتفعة للرجال المثليين، كما هو الحال في الجسد المذكر المثالي الغربي العضلات وخالية من الدهون.

الأدلة تشير أيضا إلى أن هناك مخاوف فريدة من نوعها لأفراد LGBTQ المتعلقة بالتغذية والسمنة ، وذلك برامج مخصصة يمكن تحسين النتائج الصحية الشاملة للرجال مثلي الجنس.

يظهر بحثنا أن المطالب الاجتماعية المفروضة على الرجال المثليين لتناول الطعام بشكل صحي وتحقيق الجسم المثالي ترتبط بالقلق والاكتئاب ولها عواقب وخيمة على الصحة العقلية. وأن الباحثين في مجال الصحة والممارسين بحاجة إلى تحدي معايير الجمال بين مجموعات متنوعة من الرجال من خلال المحادثات ، والاتصالات والدعم.

في دراستنا التي أجريت في جامعة دالهوزي ، اكتشف الرجال المثليين كيف تؤثر الثقافة على طريقة تفكيرهم في الطعام وأجسادهم من خلال عملية تسمى photovoice - منهجية البحث القائم على الفنون حيث يقدم المشاركون صورهم الخاصة.

صور تسعة من الرجال المثليين الذين تم التعرف عليهم بأنفسهم جوانب مختلفة من حياتهم المتعلقة بتجاربهم في الغذاء وصورة الجسم والصحة. بتوجيه من صورهم ، تحدثوا عن صراعاتهم مع صورة الجسم والاستراتيجيات التي ساعدتهم على التغلب على المشاكل الصحية السلبية المرتبطة بمحاولة الحصول على الجسم "المثالي".

تيك تاك والهيئات musclar

الطريقة تحدث عن الطعام ضمن ثقافتنا يؤثر على ما إذا كان ، والأشخاص الذين يستهلكونها ، وصفت بأنها "صحي" أو "غير صحي" وحسن أخلاقيا أو سيئا.

في هذا البحث ، رأى المشاركون أن الطعام وسيلة للتواصل والتواصل مع الرجال المثليين الآخرين. ووجدوا أيضًا أنه مصدر للتوتر ، حيث يحاولون الارتقاء إلى مستوى معايير الجسم المثالية في ثقافة المثليين.

كيف شكل الجسم المثالي لصحة الرجال المثليين "لقد تعرضت للقصف من خلال أساليب الحياة والجمال والهيئات التي يتعرض فيها الرجال المثليون للضغوط ويتوقع أن تحاكيهم لتكون جذابة وجديرة وسعيدة". (ريان), مؤلف المنصوص

فكر المشاركون في الطريقة التي عززت بها أشكال مختلفة من الوسائط أنواعًا معينة من الجسم وأثرت في أفكارهم على الطعام.

تحدث أحد المشاركين عن برنامج تلفزيون الواقع الواقع ، RuPaul's سباق السحب. في هذا العرض ، يتناول المتسابقون الثلاثة الأوائل وجبة غداء مع المضيف ، يتم خلالها تقديم Tic Tac واحد. بالنسبة لهذا المشارك ، يسلط هذا المشهد الضوء على ضرورة أن يكون الرجال المثليين "نحيفين قدر الإمكان".

لكن الرجال المثليين يحتاجون أيضًا إلى أن يكونوا أقوياء مع أجسام عالية النغمة. تحدث المشاركون عن الضغوط الهائلة لعرض الهيئات العضلية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، مثل Facebook و Instagram وتطبيقات المواعدة للمثليين. في الوقت نفسه ، أدركوا أن التوقعات الثقافية الموضوعة عليهم غير واقعية.

"لا أحد سوف أحبك"

وقد تم تحديد الآثار الصحية على الرجال المثليين الذين لا يرقون إلى مُثُل الجسد اضطراب الأكل, تجنب ممارسة الجنسوصمة العار ، الرفض والعزلة.

تحدث الرجال في هذه الدراسة حول كيف يؤدي التفكير المستمر في المثل العليا للطعام والجسم إلى فقدان أنفسهم في مشاعر النقص والقلق وتدني احترام الذات والاكتئاب.

كيف شكل الجسم المثالي لصحة الرجال المثليين "أنا دائمًا غير مرتاح حتى في الخفاء ، على الرغم من أنني أعلم أن جسدي لا يحتاج إلى التحقق من الصحة". (أوليفر), مؤلف المنصوص

تحدث المشاركون بالمثل عن المواعدة واعتقدوا أنهم بحاجة إلى هيئة عضلية مثالية لجذب الرجال الآخرين. ناقش أحدهم مخاوفه من أن يكون سمينًا ، قائلاً "لا أحد يريد ممارسة الجنس معك ... يكون في علاقة معك ... لا أحد سيحبك".

فكرة أن تكون سمينا تعني أن تكون وحيدا هي خطاب اجتماعي يعززه الإعلام.

ناقش آخرون الضغوط للحفاظ على الجسم المثالي حتى ضمن علاقاتهم الحالية. وعلقوا ذلك يجري في علاقة لا يحل المخاوف صورة الجسم.

لكل وعاء هناك غطاء

لا يزال المشاركون يكافحون حتى بعد فقدان الوزن وبناء العضلات. ومع ذلك ، فقد قدموا اقتراحات من تجاربهم الخاصة لمساعدة الرجال الآخرين.

وشملت أفكارهم زيادة تصوير الهيئات المتنوعة داخل وسائل الإعلام ، والعثور على الأشخاص الداعمين والمشاركة في المجتمعات التي تحتفل بجميع أنواع الجسم. كما شجعوا على الانخراط في محادثات اجتماعية تتيح للرجل أن يكون منفتحًا على إمكانيات مواعدة الآخرين خارج المثل العليا الضيقة للهيئات الملائمة والعضلية.

سمحت مشاركة أفكارهم للمشاركين برؤية "ثور" معايير الجمال الصارمة.

كان العمل من خلال قلقهم ومخاوفهم رحلة شخصية. كان الأمر يتعلق بالاعتراف بأنه "لكل وعاء صغير هناك غطاء صغير" ، أو بعبارة أخرى ، على الرغم من أن أجسادهم قد لا تكون "مثالية" اجتماعيًا ، فلا يزال هناك الصحة والسعادة والحب لهم.

عن المؤلفين

فيليب جوي ، مرشح دكتوراه ، جامعة دالهوزي وماثيو نومر ، أستاذ مساعد ، جامعة دالهوزي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ والكلمات الرئيسية = الرجال المثليون ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
by يوهانا ليسيو ، دكتوراه
السعادة لا تتبع النجاح: إنها العكس
السعادة لا تتبع النجاح: إنها العكس
by ليزا والش ، جوليا ك. بوهم وسونيا ليوبوميرسكي

How Body Ideals Shape The Health Of Gay Men

File 20190104 32121 x60llu.jpg?ixlib=rb 1.1 Body ideals can often lead gay men into feelings of inadequacy, low self-esteem and depression. The photographer captioned this image, ‘You just want to go in the fetal position and you kind of feel alone.’ (Moe), Author provided

Gay men currently receive little research attention when it comes to health issues such as eating disorders and other body image concerns. Yet expectations are high for gay men, as the western ideal masculine body is muscular and fat free.

Evidence also indicates that there are unique concerns for LGBTQ people relating to nutrition and obesity, and that tailored programs can improve overall health outcomes for gay men.

Our research shows that social demands placed upon gay men to eat healthily and achieve a perfect body are linked to anxiety and depression and have serious mental health consequences. And that health researchers and practitioners need to challenge beauty standards among diverse groups of men through conversations, connections and support.

In our study, carried out at Dalhousie University, gay men explored how culture influences the way they think about food and their bodies through a process called Photovoice — an arts-based research methodology in which participants submit their own photographs.

Nine self-identified gay men photographed various aspects of their lives relating to their experiences with food, body image and health. Guided by their photos, they talked about their struggles with body image and the strategies that have helped them overcome negative health issues associated with trying to have the “perfect” body.

Tic Tacs and musclar bodies

The way food is talked about within our culture influences whether it, and the people consuming it, are labelled as “healthy” or “unhealthy” and morally good or bad.

In this research, participants viewed food as a way to socialize and connect with other gay men. They also found it to be a source of stress, as they try to live up to idealized body standards within gay culture.

How Body Ideals Shape The Health Of Gay Men ‘I am bombarded with lifestyles, aesthetics and bodies that gay men are pressured and expected to emulate to be attractive, worthy and happy.’ (Ryan), Author provided

Participants reflected on how various forms of media reinforced certain body types and influenced their thoughts on food.

One participant talked about the hit reality TV show, RuPaul’s Drag Race. In this show, the top three contestants have lunch with the host, during which a single Tic Tac is served. For this participant, this scene highlights the need for gay men to be “as thin as humanly possible.”

But gay men also need to be strong with highly toned bodies. Participants talked about the immense pressures to showcase muscular bodies on social media, such as Facebook, Instagram and gay dating apps. At the same time, they recognized that the cultural expectations placed upon them are unrealistic.

‘No one is going to love you’

The health consequences for gay men of not living up to body ideals have been previously identified and include disordered eating, avoidance of sex, stigma, rejection and isolation.

The men in this study talked about how constantly thinking about food and body ideals often leads to losing themselves in feelings of inadequacy, anxiety, low self-esteem and depression.

How Body Ideals Shape The Health Of Gay Men ‘I’m always uncomfortable even in disguise, even though I know my body doesn’t need validation.’ (Oliver), Author provided

Participants similarly talked about dating and believed they needed an ideal muscular body to attract other men. One man discussed his fears of being fat, saying “no one is going to want to have sex with you…be in a relationship with you… no one is going to love you.”

The idea that being fat means being alone is a social discourse reinforced through media.

Others discussed the pressures to maintain a perfect body even within their current relationships. They commented that being in a relationship does not resolve body image concerns.

For every pot there is a lid

Participants still struggled even after losing weight and building muscles. However, they did provide suggestions from their own experiences to help other men.

Their ideas included increasing the portrayal of diverse bodies within media, finding supportive people and engaging in communities that celebrate all body types. They also encouraged engaging in social conversations that allow men to be open to the possibilities of dating others outside the narrow ideals of fit and muscular bodies.

Sharing their ideas allowed the participants to see through the “bull” of rigid beauty standards.

Working through their anxiety and concerns was a personal journey. It was about recognizing that for “every little pot there is a little lid” or, in other words, even though their bodies may not be socially “perfect” there can still be health, happiness and love for them.

About The Authors

Phillip Joy, PhD Candidate, Dalhousie University and Matthew Numer, Assistant Professor, Dalhousie University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=gay men;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}