هل الشتاء جيد لعمل دماغك؟

الصحة

هل الشتاء جيد لعمل دماغك؟

انه ذلك الوقت من العام مرة اخرى. في حين أن نصف الكرة الأرضية الجنوبي يتعامل مع الحرارة الشديدة في فصل الصيف ، فإن البرودة تجتاح بقية أنحاء العالم ، وتحمل معها تساقط الثلوج ، والرياح العنيفة ، ورغبة لا تقاوم في قضاء معظم يومك في التجذيف في السرير. الشتاء هو العدو المحدد لجميع محبي الصيف ، وقد ساهمت الأشهر الباردة القارس من هذا الموسم بالتأكيد على سمعتها السلبية. إن Musty parkas ، وقبعات الفقاعات المشكوك فيها ، ورشح الأنف هي فقط بعض المشتبه بهم المعتادون في هذا الموسم. وإذا لم يكن هذا كافياً ، فقد تشرح حالة طبية تُعرف بالاضطراب العاطفي الموسمي الناجم عن الظلام ، أو الكآبة الشتوية ، الصلة الواضحة بين التغيرات في الشتاء والمزاج المعقد. ومع ذلك ، يدرك العلماء أن الأيام المظلمة قد لا تكون مظلمة بعد كل شيء.

قد تبدو فكرة أن درجة الحرارة المحيطة تؤثر على عمل الدماغ قد تبدو بعيدة المنال. ومع ذلك ، تشير الدلائل الجديدة إلى أن التغييرات المرتبطة بدرجات الحرارة يمكن أن تؤثر على اتخاذ القرار. أثبتت الدراسات المثيرة للاهتمام أنه في درجات الحرارة العالية على وجه الخصوص ، لا نتخذ قرارات جيدة في الواقع. قبل بضعة أشهر فقط ، درس خوسيه سيدنيو لوران وزملاؤه الاختلافات في الأداء المعرفي بين الطلاب الذين يعيشون في مهاجع دون تكييف (AC) وتلك مع AC. أجريت الدراسة في كلية هارفارد TH CHH للصحة العامة خلال موجة حرم 2016 في بوسطن وتهدف إلى فصل عواقب الحرارة الشديدة على الصحة العامة. أوضحت النتائج التي توصلوا إليها أن الطلاب الذين يعيشون بدون تكييف عرضوا وقت رد فعل أطول لـ 13.4٪ في اختبارات الإدراك مقارنة بأقرانهم "الأكثر برودة". بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لم يظهر الطلاب في الغرف مع AC أسرع في الإجابة ، بل كانوا أكثر دقة أيضًا.

على الرغم من أن وضع علامة في المربع الصحيح في الاختبار قد يشبه تجربة حياة أو موت ، فإن التاريخ يعلمنا أن تشغيل استجابة سريعة وفعالة في ساحة المعركة يمكن أن يحدث الفرق بين الحياة والموت. إذن ما الذي يحدث عندما يواجه الجنود قرارات معقدة في ظل ظروف صعبة بيئياً؟ أثارت هذه المسألة اهتمام مجموعة من العلماء في كلية طب القوات المسلحة الهندية الذين قيموا التغييرات في الأداء المعرفي في القوات التي أمضت ما لا يقل عن عام واحد في الظروف الصحراوية. النتائج لم تكن جيدة. من غير المستغرب ، أن تقييم الاهتمام والتركيز والذاكرة أظهر كل انخفاض كبير في المناخات الحارة ، مما يضيف إلى الفكرة القائلة بأن ارتفاع درجة الحرارة يمكن أن يضعف الأداء الذهني.

... إن المطالب المادية التي تفرضها عملية التبريد في المناخات الحارة تعرض عمل الدماغ للخطر عن طريق استنزاف الغلوكوز بسهولة أكبر من المناخات الباردة ...

ماذا عن الطقس البارد؟ أجريت أول دراسة لفحص العلاقة الواضحة بين الشتاء والإدراك في ترومسو ، النرويج ، حيث تم فحص 62 مشاركًا في مجموعة من الوظائف العقلية خلال فصلي الشتاء والصيف. في هذه الدراسة ، وجد أن الموضوعات تظهر انتباهًا محسّنًا وأوقات رد فعل أقصر في الشتاء مقارنة بأشهر الصيف. تدعم هذه النتائج نظرية أن انخفاض درجات الحرارة يعزز وظيفة الدماغ ويؤدي إلى تحسين عملية صنع القرار.

ومع ذلك ، هناك نقاش ساخن (نعم ، هذا صحيح) فيما يتعلق بالآليات البيولوجية لهذا التأثير المفترض. إحدى النظريات هي أن جسدنا يجد صعوبة في تهدئتنا أكثر من أن ندفئنا. تماما مثل أي عضو آخر في جسم الإنسان ، يستخدم دماغنا جلوكوز - نوع من السكر موجود في الأطعمة التي يستخدمها الجسم للطاقة - لتغذية عملياتنا العقلية. ومع ذلك ، وجد الباحثون أن هناك حاجة إلى المزيد من الجلوكوز لتهدئتنا من أن ندفئنا ، وهذا يعني أن المطالب المادية التي تفرضها عملية التبريد في المناخات الحارة تعرض عمل الدماغ للخطر من خلال استنزاف الجلوكوز بسهولة أكبر من المناخات الباردة. وعلى العكس من ذلك ، يمكن أن يتوفر المزيد من الجلوكوز للدماغ في بيئات أكثر برودة ، مما يؤثر إيجابًا على قدراتنا في اتخاذ القرار.

الاحتمال الآخر هو أنه كلما انخفضت درجة الحرارة ، يصبح النشاط العصبي أكثر كفاءة. طُرحت هذه الفكرة مؤخراً في أعقاب دراسة طلب فيها من الشباب من الشباب والنساء أن يقوموا بتوجيه الانتباه والذاكرة العاملة في ماسح دماغي في أوقات مختلفة من السنة. أشارت نتائج هذه الدراسة إلى أن الأداء الذهني لا يختلف بشكل كبير عبر الفصول ، ولكن ، على وجه الخصوص ، كان نشاط الدماغ أدنى في فصل الشتاء وأعلى مستوى في فصل الصيف. وقد تم تفسير هذا النشاط المخفض في فصل الشتاء باعتباره علامة على تحسن الكفاءة حيث أظهر الدماغ أداءً جيدًا بين الصيف والشتاء مع استهلاك طاقة أقل بشكل كبير خلال الموسم الأخير.

هل يعني كل ما سبق أن البشر أكثر عرضة لاتخاذ قرارات سيئة في المناخات الدافئة؟ والأهم من ذلك ، هل سيلصق رأسك في الثلاجة لمساعدتك في امتحانات الآس؟

في حين أن النتائج المذكورة أعلاه تلمع بعض الضوء على أحلك مواسم السنة ، فإن الأدلة التجريبية فيما يتعلق بالوظيفة الإدراكية في البرد ليست دائما واضحة.

أخشى أن الإجابة لا. في حين أن النتائج المذكورة أعلاه تلمع بعض الضوء على أحلك مواسم السنة ، فإن الأدلة التجريبية فيما يتعلق بالوظيفة الإدراكية في البرد ليست دائما واضحة. استخدم مولر وزملاؤه في جامعة كنت ستيت بطارية اختبار محوسبة لفحص الأداء الذهني لدى الشباب الأصحاء خلال فترات التعرض البارد أو إعادة التدفئة. تشير بياناتهم إلى انخفاض الذاكرة العاملة ووظيفة التنفيذ بالنسبة إلى خط الأساس عندما يتعرض الأشخاص لدرجات حرارة منخفضة. هذه النتيجة مثيرة للاهتمام لأن معظم الدراسات تشير إلى أن درجات الحرارة أكثر برودة عموما تعزيز نشاط عقلى. فأين تأتي هذه الاختلافات؟

يعتقد بعض الخبراء أن النتائج المختلطة يمكن أن تكون بسبب مدة أو طريقة التبريد أو المهمة المعرفية المحددة المعتمدة في التحقيق. في الواقع ، من المهم أن نتذكر أن التأثير الدقيق لدرجات الحرارة الباردة على الوظيفة الإدراكية لا يزال غير مفهوم جيدا ، وبالتالي ، فإن درجة الحرارة المثلى ومدة التبريد لتحقيق تغييرات قابلة للقياس في وظائف المخ لم يتم بعد تحديدها. وبالتالي ، فإن التعرض لفترة أطول لدرجات الحرارة الباردة أو التعرض لدرجات حرارة منخفضة قد يؤثر بشكل مختلف على نتائج كل دراسة وبالتالي يفسر بعض النتائج المتضاربة في الأدبيات.

تشير هذه الاكتشافات إلى أن الافتراض الشائع بأن الشتاء يجعلنا بطيئين ومزاجيًا لا يرقى إلى مستوى التدقيق العلمي. وعلى النقيض من ذلك ، فإن الأدلة المتراكمة تشير إلى أن دماغك يعمل بشكل أفضل في فصل الشتاء ، ويدخل ما يسميه العلماء "بالوضع الإيكولوجي" الذي تستهلك فيه موارد أقل لأداءه وكذلك في الصيف. إذا كنت واحدًا من هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين يعانون من كآبة الشتاء ، فقد يساعدك هذا الاكتشاف المنعش على النظر إلى أحلك أيام العام بإضاءة جديدة وأكثر إشراقاً.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على معرفة الخلايا العصبية

المراجع:

  • Cedeño Laurent JC، Williams A.، Oulhote Y.، et al. (2018). انخفاض الوظائف المعرفية خلال موجة الحرارة بين سكان المباني غير المكيفة: دراسة رصدية للشبان في صيف 2016 ، الطب بلوس، doi: 10.1371 / journal.pmed.1002605
  • Saini R.، Srivastava K.، Agrawal S.، et al.، (2017) Deficits Cognitive deficits due to thermal stress: A exploratory study on الجنود in deserts، المجلة الطبية للقوات المسلحة في الهند، شنومكس (شنومكس): شنومكس-شنومكس.
  • Muller MD، Gunstad J.، Alosco ML، et al.، (2012). التعرض البارد الحاد والوظيفة المعرفية: دليل على ضعف مستمر ، بيئة العمل، شنومكس (شنومكس): شنومكس-شنومكس.
  • Meyer C.، Muto V.، Jaspar M.، et al.، (2016). الموسمية في استجابات الدماغ المعرفية البشرية ، بروكezings من ناتإيونال أكادemy من الخيال العلميسينعقد الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، 113 (11): 3066-71.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = behavior and weather؛ maxresults = 3}

الصحة
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Is Winter Good For The Workings Of Your Brain?

 Is Winter Good For The Workings Of Your Brain?

It is that time of the year again. Whilst the Southern Hemisphere is coping with the sweltering heat of the summer, cold is sweeping across the rest of the globe, bringing with it snowfalls, violent winds, and an irresistible desire to spend most of your day curling up in bed. Winter is the named enemy of all summer lovers, and the bitingly cold months of this season have certainly contributed to its negative reputation. Musty parkas, questionable bubble hats, and runny noses are just some of the usual suspects of this season. And if this was not enough, a medical condition called darkness-induced seasonal affective disorder, or the winter blues, may explain the apparent link between winter and complex mood changes. Nonetheless, scientists are coming to realize that dark days may not be so dark after all.

The idea that our surrounding temperature affects the workings of our brain may seem far-fetched. However, new evidence suggests that temperature-related changes can sway your decision-making. Interesting studies have demonstrated that in particularly hot temperatures, we don’t actually make good decisions. Just a few months ago, Jose Cedeño-Laurent and colleagues examined differences in cognitive performance between students living in dormitories without air conditioning (AC) and those with AC. The study was conducted at the Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health during the 2016 Boston heat wave and aimed to disentangle the consequences of extreme heat on public health. Their findings indicated that students living without air conditioning displayed a 13.4% longer reaction time on cognition tests compared to their ‘cooler’ peers. In addition, students in rooms with AC not only appeared faster at answering, but were also more accurate.

Although ticking the right box in a test can feel like a life-or-death experience, history teaches us that operating a quick and effective response in the battlefield can literally make the difference between life and death. So what happens when soldiers are faced with complex decisions under environmentally challenging conditions? This question intrigued a group of scientists at the Indian Armed Forces Medical College who assessed changes in cognitive performance in troops that had spent at least one year in desert conditions. Results were not good. Unsurprisingly, evaluation of attention, concentration, and memory all revealed a significant decline in hot climates, adding to the notion that high temperature can impair mental performance.

…the physical demands imposed by the cooling process in hot climates jeopardize brain functioning by depleting glucose more readily than in cold climates…

What about cold climates? One of the earliest studies to examine the apparent link between winter and cognition was carried out in Tromsø, Norway, where sixty-two participants were examined in a range of mental functions during winter and summer. In this study, subjects were found to display improved attention and shorter reaction times in the winter compared to summer months. These findings support the theory that lower temperatures enhance brain function and lead to improved decision making.

Yet, a heated (yes, that’s right) debate exists regarding the biological mechanisms of this presumed effect. One theory is that our body finds it more difficult to cool us down than to warm us up. Just like any other organ of the human body, our brain utilizes glucose – a type of sugar found in foods that our body uses for energy – to fuel our mental processes. However, researchers found that more glucose is needed to cool us down than to warm us up, meaning that the physical demands imposed by the cooling process in hot climates jeopardize brain functioning by depleting glucose more readily than in cold climates. Conversely, it could be that more glucose is available to the brain in cooler environments, thus positively affecting our decision-making abilities.

Another possibility is that as the temperature decreases, neural activity becomes more ‘efficient’. This idea was recently put forward following a study in which 28 young men and women were asked to perform an attention and working memory task in a brain scanner at different times of the year. Results of this study indicated that mental performance does not vary significantly across seasons but, notably, brain activity was lowest in the winter and highest in the summer. This reduced winter brain activity was interpreted as a sign of improved efficiency as the brain was shown to perform equally well between summer and winter while consuming significantly less energy during the latter season.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Does all of the above mean that human beings are more prone to making poor decisions in warmer climates? And more importantly, will sticking your head in the refrigerator help you to ace exams?

While the above findings shine some light on the darkest season of the year, experimental evidence with regard to cognitive function in the cold is not always straightforward.

I am afraid the answer is no. While the above findings shine some light on the darkest season of the year, experimental evidence with regard to cognitive function in the cold is not always straightforward. Muller and colleagues at Kent State University used a computerized test battery to examine mental performance in young healthy men during periods of cold exposure or rewarming. Their data suggested that working memory and executive function decline relative to baseline when subjects are exposed to lower temperatures. This finding is intriguing as most studies suggest that cooler temperatures generally enhance mental activity. So where do these differences come from?

Some experts believe that mixed findings could be due to the duration or mode of cooling or the specific cognitive task adopted for the investigation. Indeed, it is important to remember that the exact impact of cold temperatures on cognitive function is still poorly understood, and therefore, the optimal temperature and duration of cooling to achieve measurable changes in brain function are yet to be established. Thus, longer exposures to cold temperatures or exposure to lower temperatures may differently influence the outcome of each study and thereby explain some conflicting results in the literature.

These discoveries suggest that the popular assumption that winter makes us sluggish and moody does not stand up to scientific scrutiny. In contrast, accumulating evidence suggests that your brain works better in the winter, entering what scientists call an ‘eco mode’ in which fewer resources are consumed to perform as well as in the summer. If you are one of those people experiencing winter blues, this refreshing discovery might help you to look at the darkest days of the year with a new, brighter light.

This article originally appeared on Knowing Neurons

References:

  • Cedeño Laurent J.C., Williams A., Oulhote Y., et al. (2018). Reduced cognitive function during a heat wave among residents of non-air-conditioned buildings: An observational study of young adults in the summer of 2016, PLOS Medicine, doi: 10.1371/journal.pmed.1002605
  • Saini R., Srivastava K., Agrawal S., et al., (2017) Cognitive deficits due to thermal stress: An exploratory study on soldiers in deserts, Medical journal of Armed Forces of India, 73(4):370-374.
  • Muller M.D., Gunstad J., Alosco M.L., et al., (2012). Acute cold exposure and cognitive function: evidence for sustained impairment, Ergonomics, 55(7):792-8.
  • Meyer C., Muto V., Jaspar M., et al., (2016). Seasonality in human cognitive brain responses, Proceedings of the National Academy of Science U S A,113(11):3066-71.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=behavior and weather;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}