لماذا أنت ربما تفريش أسنانك خاطئة

الصحة

لماذا أنت ربما تفريش أسنانك خاطئةالوقت لفرشاة. WAYHOME استوديو / Shutterstock

كلنا نعرف النصيحة للحصول على أسنان صحية - فرشاة مرتين يومياً ولا تأكل الكثير من السكر. إذاً لماذا يجد هؤلاء منا الذين يتبعون هذه التعليمات في بعض الأحيان أننا نحتاج إلى الحشو عند زيارتنا لطبيب الأسنان؟ والحقيقة هي أن هناك المزيد من أجل منع تسوس الأسنان مما تقترحه هذه الإرشادات. إليك ما تحتاج إلى معرفته.

نظف مهاراتك

كيف تقوم بفرشاة تحدث فرقا كبيرا. يزيل العمل الميكانيكي للفرشاة اللويحة السنية اللاصقة - خليط من البكتيريا وأحماضها ومنتجاتها اللزجة وبقايا الطعام. يتشكل بشكل طبيعي على الأسنان مباشرة بعد أن تنظف ولكن لا تصبح سيئة والبدء في التسبب في تلف الأسنان حتى تصل إلى مرحلة معينة من النضج. لا يُعرف المبلغ الدقيق للوقت الذي يستغرقه ذلك ، ولكنه لا يقل عن عدد ساعات 12 على الأقل.

تستهلك البكتريا السكر ، وتنتج ، كمنتج ثانوي ، أحماضًا تُذيب المعادن من الأسنان ، تاركةً ثقوبًا مجهرية لا يمكننا رؤيتها. إذا لم تتوقف العملية ولم يتم إصلاحها ، يمكن أن تصبح هذه تجاويف كبيرة واضحة.

لماذا أنت ربما تفريش أسنانك خاطئةتظهر التجاويف عندما لا يتم علاج تسوس الأسنان ، وغالبا ما تتطلب الملء. Sergii Kuchugurnyi / Shutterstock

إن أخذ دقيقتين لفرش أسنانك هو هدف جيد لإزالة البلاك ويجب عليك تنظيفه بالفرشاة في الليل ووقت آخر كل يوم. فغالبا ما يؤدي التنظيف إلى توقف البكتيريا في التطور إلى مرحلة يمكن أن تتوطد فيها الأنواع التي تنتج أكثر الأحماض.

فرشاة الأسنان الكهربائية يمكن أن يكون أكثر فعالية من التنظيف اليدوي يساعد رأس فرشاة الأسنان الصغيرة للوصول إلى المناطق غير المناسبة في الفم ، في حين تساعدك شعيرات ذات النسج المتوسطة على تنظيفها بشكل فعال دون إلحاق الضرر باللثة والأسنان. الشيء الرئيسي ، ومع ذلك ، هو الحصول على تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة!

استخدم معجون أسنان فلورايد واكشف عن أقراص

معظم الاستفادة من تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة تأتي من معجون الأسنان. العنصر الرئيسي هو الفلوريد ، وهو ما يدل على الأدلة يمنع تسوس الأسنان. الفلوريد يحل محل المعادن المفقودة في الأسنان ويجعلها أقوى.

لتحقيق أقصى فائدة ، استخدم معجون الأسنان مع 1350-1500 ppmF - هذا هو تركيز الفلورايد في أجزاء لكل مليون - لمنع تسوس الأسنان.

تحقق من تركيز معجون الأسنان الخاص بك عن طريق قراءة المكونات على الجزء الخلفي من الأنبوب. ليس كل معاجين الأسنان للأطفال قوية بما فيه الكفاية بالنسبة لهم للحصول على أقصى فائدة. قد يصف طبيب أسنانك معجون أسنان يحتوي على فلورايد ذو قوة أعلى استنادًا إلى تقييمه لخطر إصابة طفلك أو تسوس الأسنان به.

من الصعب رؤية البلاك لأنها بيضاء مثل أسنانك. تتوافر أقراص الكشف في محلات السوبر ماركت والكيميائيين وتجعل اللوحة أكثر وضوحًا ، وتظهر مناطق قد تكون فوتها عند تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة.

لماذا أنت ربما تفريش أسنانك خاطئةيتم الكشف عن اللوح غير المرئي باللون الوردي المشرق بعد استخدام لوحة الكشف. Weakiva / شترستوك

يبصقون ، لا تشطف

في الليل ، أنت تنتج أقل من اللعاب من خلال النهار. ولهذا السبب ، تتمتع أسنانك بحماية أقل من اللعاب وتكون أكثر عرضة للهجمات الحمضية. لذلك من المهم إزالة الطعام من أسنانك قبل النوم بحيث لا يمكن للبكتريا البلاكية تناول وجبة بين عشية وضحاها. لا تأكل أو تشرب أي شيء عدا الماء بعد تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة في الليل. هذا يعطي أيضا الفلورايد أطول فرصة للعمل.

عندما تنظف ، لا تشطيف فمك بالماء أو غسول الفم - فأنت تغسل الفلورايد! هذا يمكن أن يكون عادة صعبة للكسر ، ولكن يمكن تقليل تسوس الأسنان بنسبة تصل إلى 25٪.

لا أكثر من أربعة "يضرب السكر"

تم العثور على السكريات الداخلية بشكل طبيعي في الأطعمة مثل الفاكهة وأنها أقل عرضة للتسبب في تسوس الأسنان من المضافة أو السكريات الحرة. السكريات الحرة هي عموما تلك المضافة إلى الأطعمة من قبل الشركات المصنعة ولكن تشمل أيضا العسل والشراب وعصائر الفاكهة.

هذه كلها سهلة للبكتيريا تستهلك ، التمثيل الغذائي وإنتاج الأحماض من. ومع ذلك ، قد يكون من الصعب معرفة أي السكريات أسوأ للأسنان. على سبيل المثال ، على الرغم من أن كميات الفاكهة الطبيعية جيدة ، فإن عصائر الفاكهة تحرر السكر من الخلايا النباتية ويمكن أن يسبب الاستهلاك الثقيل تسوسًا.

منظمة الصحة العالمية و NHS أوصى السكريات الحرة ينبغي أن تشكل أقل من 5 ٪ من السعرات الحرارية اليومية. أذن ماذا يشبه هذا؟ للبالغين والأطفال فوق سن 11 ، وهذا حول 30g - أو 30 ملاعق صغيرة - من السكر يوميا.

A 330ml can of Coke has شنومكسغ من السكر). التطبيق change4life من المفيد تتبع كمية السكر التي تتناولها في نظامك الغذائي.

لماذا أنت ربما تفريش أسنانك خاطئةوجود مشروب ساخن بدون سكر هو أحد الطرق لتخفيض نسبة السكر العادية. Eviart / شترستوك

على الرغم من عدم أهميتها كم ، وكم مرة تأكل السكر مهم أيضا. الكربوهيدرات البسيطة مثل السكر هي أسهل للبكتيريا للهضم من البروتينات أو الكربوهيدرات المعقدة. تنتج البكتيريا الأحماض بعد أن تستقلب السكر الذي يسبب نزع المعادن.

لحسن الحظ ، من خلال تصرفات معجون الأسنان بالفلورايد وتأثيرات اللعاب المعدنية ، يمكن لأسنانك التعافي من المراحل الأولى من هذه الهجمات. انها مثل وجود مجموعة من الموازين - في محاولة للحفاظ على التوازن بين السكريات على جانب واحد ، ومعجون الأسنان بالفلورايد والتنظيف من ناحية أخرى.

عادة ، يمكن أن تتعرض أسنانك لأربعة "ضربات سكر" - نوبات تناول السكر - يوميا دون ضرر لا رجعة فيه على الأسنان. لماذا لا نحاول حساب عدد السكريات يضرب لديك يوم واحد؟ وهذا يشمل البسكويت ، وأكواب الشاي السكرية أو القهوة والوجبات الخفيفة الأخرى مع الكربوهيدرات المكررة مثل رقائق البطاطس. طريقة بسيطة للتقطيع هي التوقف عن وضع السكر في المشروبات الساخنة والحد من تناول الوجبات الخفيفة.

استخدم الفرشاة مرتين يوميًا مع معجون أسنان يحتوي على الفلورايد ، ولا تشطف أو تشرب أي شيء بعد تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة ، ولا تحتوي على السكر أكثر من أربع مرات يوميًا. سهل!المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

نيكولا إينيس ، أستاذ طب أسنان الأطفال ، جامعة دندي وكليمنت سيبولوك ، المحاضر السريري في إهمال طب الأطفال ، جامعة دندي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

علاج تسوس الأسنان: شفاء ومنع التجاويف مع التغذية - الحد وتجنب جراحة الأسنان والفلورايد [الطبعة الثانية] 5 نجوم

الصحةمؤلف: راميئيل ناجل
ملزم: أوقد الطبعة
شكل: أوقد الكتاب الاليكترونى
الخالق (ق):
  • تيموثي غالاغر دس

الاستوديو: رامي ناجل
التسمية: رامي ناجل
الناشر: رامي ناجل
الصانع: رامي ناجل

اشتر الآن
مراجعة تحريرية: نسيان الحفر والتعبئة، والفواتير التي لا مفر منها. يمكن أن تلتئم أسنانك بشكل طبيعي لأنها لم تصمم أبدًا للتسوس في المقام الأول! لقد تم تصميمها لتظل قوية وصحية طوال حياتك. لكن الوعود الخاطئة لطب الأسنان التقليدي دفعتنا إلى السير في الطريق الخطأ ، مما أدى إلى العلاجات الجراحية الغازية التي تشمل الحشوات والتيجان وقنوات الجذر وزراعة الأسنان. الآن هناك طريقة طبيعية للسيطرة على صحة الأسنان عن طريق تغيير الطعام الذي تتناوله. يعتمد Cure Tooth Decay على البرنامج الغذائي الرائد لطبيب الأسنان ويستون برايس ، الرئيس السابق للبحوث في الرابطة الوطنية لطب الأسنان. أثبت برنامج Dr. Price أنه 90-95٪ أو أكثر فاعلية في إعادة تجويف الأسنان المعدنية باستخدام التحسينات الغذائية فقط في النظام الغذائي. Cure Tooth Decay هو نتيجة خمس سنوات من البحث والتجربة والخطأ التي بدأت كواحدة من أب واحد لعلاج تسوس الأسنان المتطور بسرعة لدى ابنته. مع Cure Tooth Decay ، ستنضم إلى الآلاف من الأشخاص الذين تعلموا كيفية إعادة معادن الأسنان ، والقضاء على آلام الأسنان أو الحساسية ، وتجنب قنوات الجذور ، ووقف تجويف الأسنان - في بعض الأحيان بشكل فوري ، إعادة نمو عاج الأسنان الثانوي ، وتكوين مينا أسنان جديدة ، وتجنب أو تقليل فقد اللثة وعلاج التهابات الأسنان وإصلاحها ، استخدم فقط علاجات الأسنان عند الضرورة الطبية ، واحفظ فمك (ودفتر الجيب) من آلاف الدولارات من عمليات طب الأسنان غير الضرورية ، وزاد من صحتك وحيويتك بشكل عام. يوفر لك Cure Tooth Decay حقائق أسنان واضحة وسهلة الفهم لمساعدتك على اتخاذ خيارات صحية تؤكد على صحة أسنانك. فهو يقع في حوالي تجاويف الشفاء دون جراحة الأسنان أو الفلوريد. تشمل أبرز علاجات Cure Tooth Decay ما يلي: الحرب الخاسرة في طب الأسنان التقليدي ضد البكتيريا ، ولماذا يخشى الناس من طبيب الأسنان وما يمكنك القيام به حيال ذلك ، وقوة الزبدة في شفاء الأسنان ، والفرق بين الدهون الصحية وغير الصحية ، والوجبات الغذائية الخاصة وخطط الوجبات التي تسلط الضوء على أنواع الأطعمة التي يجب تناولها يوميًا لإعادة تمعدن الأسنان ، وهو برنامج بسيط للشفاء يسهل متابعته ، وسبب وجود لويحات الأسنان وتقنية مذهلة لعكس مرض اللثة ، ومواد آمنة لتعبئة الأسنان ، وكيفية العثور على طبيب أسنان جيد ، كيفية منع القنوات الجذرية ، وكيفية مراقبة تسوس الأسنان في المنزل ، ومنظفات الأسنان السامة مقابل غير السامة ، وعضتك: سبب خفي للتجويف ، وفهم وضع الفك المثالي وخلل وظيفة المفصل الفكي الصدغي ، وكيفية حفظ أسنانك الحكيمة ، والأشعة السينية دليل على أن تسوس الأسنان يمكن أن يشفي ، وكيفية علاج تسوس الأطفال وإيجاد السلام ، ولماذا تصاب النساء بتجويف خلال فترة الحمل وكيفية إيقافه ، وغير ذلك الكثير.
تحتوي هذه الطبعة على نفس محتوى Cure Tooth Decay ، الإصدار الثاني




الرعاية الشاملة للعناية بالأسنان: الدليل الكامل لصحة الأسنان واللثة

الصحةمؤلف: نادين أرتيميس
ملزم: كتاب ورقي الغلاف
ميزات:
  • شمال الأطلسي الكتب

العلامة التجارية: شمال الأطلسي الكتب
الخالق (ق):
  • فيكتور زينز دس

الاستوديو: شمال الأطلسي الكتب
التسمية: شمال الأطلسي الكتب
الناشر: شمال الأطلسي الكتب
الصانع: شمال الأطلسي الكتب

اشتر الآن
مراجعة تحريرية: دليل شامل لرعاية الفم الطبيعية بنفسك ، العناية الشريفة للعناية بالأسنان يقدم إجراءات علاجية بسيطة في المنزل يمكن لأي شخص القيام بها. يبرز هذا الكتاب مع ثلاثة وخمسين صورة وتوضيحات بالألوان الكاملة ، ويقدم استراتيجيات وممارسات للعناية الذاتية للأسنان تصل إلى جوهر المشكلات في أفواهنا ، مما يمنع المشكلات من ترسيخ جذور الأسنان واستعادة صحة الأسنان. بناءً على "مقاربة الجسم بالكامل" للعناية بالفم ، العناية الشريفة للعناية بالأسنان يتناول حدود النهج التقليدي الذي يعالج الأعراض فقط وليس مصدر اختلال توازن الجسم.

يشرح نادين أرتيميس ، الذي يأخذ القراء في جولة حول بيئة الفم ، خبيرة في صحة الأسنان والمؤلفة ، فسيولوجيا الأسنان ومصادر البكتيريا والانحلال. الكشف عن الحقيقة حول المواد الكيميائية الاصطناعية في العديد من معاجين الأسنان وغسول الفم ، كما يناقش ارتيميس الآثار الضارة لحشوات الزئبق وخيارات ملء السيراميك أكثر أمانا المتاحة. تغطي أرتميس ، التي تغطي موضوعات تشمل التغذية السليمة ، ورعاية الفم للأطفال ، وفوائد المواد النباتية والمستخلصات النباتية للحفاظ على صحة الفم ، بروتوكولًا شاملًا لطب الأسنان من ثماني خطوات يوفر طريقة فعالة لمنع التسوس والمرض واللعاب الحمضي ، تراكم البلاك ، نزيف اللثة ، التهاب ، وأكثر من ذلك.




كتاب الأسنان: دليل لصحة الأسنان واللثة

الصحةمؤلف: ادوارد ميلر
ملزم: كتاب ورقي الغلاف
العلامة التجارية: عطلة مجلس النواب
الاستوديو: عطلة مجلس النواب
التسمية: عطلة مجلس النواب
الناشر: عطلة مجلس النواب
الصانع: عطلة مجلس النواب

اشتر الآن
مراجعة تحريرية: Every child studies dental care in school and this lively picture book makes learning how to care for your teeth fun.

Taking good care of your teeth and gums is an important part of maintaining overall health. After all, you need your pearly whites to eat, smile, and talk. But what should you expect when you go to the dentist? What should you do if you lose a tooth? Full of straightforward advice and animated, colorful art, as well as some bite-sized bits of history and lore, this guide provides accessible information about taking care of your teeth. The much-needed dental advice in this book is both timely and accessible to today's children.

The "Monster Health Book", companion title to "The Tooth Book", was named a Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year and earned shining reviews.




الصحة
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth Wrong

health

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth WrongTime to brush up. WAYHOME Studio/Shutterstock

We all know the advice for healthy teeth – brush twice daily and don’t eat too much sugar. So why do those of us following these instructions find we sometimes need a filling when we visit the dentist? The truth is, there’s a little more to preventing tooth decay than these guidelines suggest. Here’s what you need to know.

Brush up on your skills

How you brush makes a big difference. The mechanical act of brushing removes the very sticky dental plaque – a mixture of bacteria, their acids and sticky byproducts and food remnants. It forms naturally on teeth immediately after you’ve brushed but doesn’t get nasty and start to cause damage to the teeth until it reaches a certain stage of maturity. The exact amount of time this takes isn’t known but is at least more than 12 hours.

Bacteria consume sugar and, as a byproduct, produce acids which dissolve mineral out of the teeth, leaving microscopic holes we can’t see. If the process isn’t stopped and they aren’t repaired, these can become big, visible cavities.

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth WrongCavities emerge when tooth decay is untreated, and they often require a filling. Sergii Kuchugurnyi/Shutterstock

Taking two minutes to brush your teeth is a good target for removing plaque and you should brush at night and one other time daily. Brushing frequently stops the bacteria developing to a stage where the species which produce the most acid can become established.

Electric toothbrushes can be more effective than manual brushing and a small toothbrush head helps to reach awkward areas in the mouth, while medium-textured bristles help you clean effectively without causing harm to gums and teeth. The main thing, however, is to get brushing!

Use fluoride toothpaste and disclosing tablets

Most of the benefit from brushing comes from toothpaste. The key ingredient is fluoride, which evidence shows prevents tooth decay. Fluoride replaces lost minerals in teeth and also makes them stronger.

For maximum benefit, use toothpaste with 1350-1500 ppmF – that’s concentration of fluoride in parts per million – to prevent tooth decay.

Check your toothpaste’s concentration by reading the ingredients on the back of the tube. Not all children’s toothpastes are strong enough for them to gain maximum benefit. Your dentist may prescribe higher strength fluoride toothpaste based on their assessment of your or your child’s risk of tooth decay.

Plaque is difficult to see because it is whitish, like your teeth. Disclosing tablets are available in supermarkets and chemists and they make plaque more visible, showing areas you may have missed when brushing.

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth WrongInvisible plaque is revealed in bright pink after using a disclosing tablet. Weakiva/Shutterstock

Spit, don’t rinse

At night, you produce less saliva than during the day. Because of this, your teeth have less protection from saliva and are more vulnerable to acid attacks. That’s why it’s important to remove food from your teeth before bed so plaque bacteria can’t feast overnight. Don’t eat or drink anything except water after brushing at night. This also gives fluoride the longest opportunity to work.

Once you’ve brushed, don’t rinse your mouth with water or mouthwash – you’re washing away the fluoride! This can be a difficult habit to break, but can reduce tooth decay by up to 25%.

No more than four ‘sugar hits’

Intrinsic sugars are found naturally in foods like fruit and they are far less likely to cause tooth decay than added or free sugars. Free sugars are generally those added to foods by manufacturers but also include honey, syrup and fruit juices.

These are all easy for bacteria to consume, metabolise and produce acids from. However, it can be difficult to tell which are the worst sugars for teeth. For example, although normal amounts of fruit are fine, fruit juices have sugar liberated from the plant cells and heavy consumption can cause decay.

The World Health Organization and NHS recommend free sugars should ideally make up less than 5% of your daily calorie intake. So what does this look like? For adults and children over about 11 years old, this is around 30g – or 30 teaspoons – of sugar daily.

A 330ml can of Coke has 35g of sugar). The change4life app is helpful to track how much sugar you consume in your diet.

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth WrongHaving a hot drink without sugar is one way of cutting out a regular sugar hit. Eviart/Shutterstock

Although not as important as how much, how often you eat sugar also matters. Simple carbohydrates like sugar are easier for bacteria to digest than proteins or complex carbohydrates. Bacteria produce acids after they metabolise sugar which causes demineralisation.

Fortunately, through the actions of fluoride toothpaste and the remineralising effects of saliva, your teeth can recover from the early stages of these attacks. It’s like having a set of scales – trying to keep the balance between sugars on one side, fluoride toothpaste and cleaning on the other.

Typically, your teeth can be exposed to four “sugar hits” – episodes of sugar intake – daily without irreversible damage to the teeth. Why not try counting how many sugary hits you have a day? This includes biscuits, cups of sugary tea or coffee and other snacks with refined carbohydrates like crisps. A simple way of cutting down would be to stop putting sugar in hot drinks and limiting snacking.

Brush twice daily with fluoride toothpaste, spit don’t rinse, eat and drink nothing after brushing, and don’t have sugar more than four times daily. Easy!The Conversation

About The Authors

Nicola Innes, Professor of Paediatric Dentistry, University of Dundee and Clement Seeballuck, Clinical Lecturer in Paediatric Denistry, University of Dundee

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Cure Tooth Decay: Heal And Prevent Cavities With Nutrition - Limit And Avoid Dental Surgery and Fluoride [Second Edition] 5 Stars

healthAuthor: Ramiel Nagel
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Creator(s):
  • Timothy Gallagher D.D.S.

Studio: Rami Nagel
Label: Rami Nagel
Publisher: Rami Nagel
Manufacturer: Rami Nagel

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Forget about drilling, filling, and the inevitable billing. Your teeth can heal naturally because they were never designed to decay in the first place! They were designed to remain strong and healthy for your entire life. But the false promises of conventional dentistry have led us down the wrong path, leading to invasive surgical treatments that include fillings, crowns, root canals and dental implants. Now there is a natural way to take control of your dental health by changing the food that you eat. Cure Tooth Decay is based upon the pioneering nutritional program of dentist Weston Price, former head of research at the National Dental Association. Dr. Price’s program proved to be 90-95% or more effective in remineralizing tooth cavities utilizing only nutritional improvements in the diet. Cure Tooth Decay is the result of five years of research and trial and error that started as one father’s journey to cure his daughter’s rapidly progressing tooth decay. With Cure Tooth Decay you will join the thousands of people who have learned how to remineralize teeth, eliminate tooth pain or sensitivity, avoid root canals, stop cavities -- sometimes instantaneously, regrow secondary dentin, form new tooth enamel, avoid or minimize gum loss, heal and repair tooth infections, only use dental treatments when medically necessary, save your mouth (and your pocketbook) from thousands of dollars of unneeded dental procedures, and increase your overall health and vitality. Cure Tooth Decay provides you with clear and easy to understand dental facts to help you make healthy, life-affirming choices about your dental health. It is about healing cavities without dental surgery or fluoride. Cure Tooth Decay highlights include: conventional dentistry's losing war against bacteria, why people fear the dentist and what you can do about it, the power of butter to heal teeth, the difference between healthy and unhealthy fats, specific dietary and meal plans that highlight the types of foods to eat every day to remineralize teeth, a simple cavity-healing program that is easy to follow, the cause of dental plaque and an amazing technique to reverse gum disease, safe dental filling materials, how to find a good minimally invasive dentist, how to prevent root canals, how to monitor tooth decay at home, toxic vs. non-toxic tooth cleaners, your bite: a hidden cause of cavities, understanding ideal jaw position and TMJ dysfunction, how to save your wisdom teeth, x-ray proof that cavities can heal, how to heal children's cavities and find peace, why women get cavities during pregnancy and how to stop it, and so much more.
This edition contains the same content as Cure Tooth Decay, Second Edition




Holistic Dental Care: The Complete Guide to Healthy Teeth and Gums

healthAuthor: Nadine Artemis
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • North Atlantic Books

Brand: North Atlantic Books
Creator(s):
  • Victor Zeines D.D.S.

Studio: North Atlantic Books
Label: North Atlantic Books
Publisher: North Atlantic Books
Manufacturer: North Atlantic Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: A comprehensive guide to natural, do-it-yourself oral care, Holistic Dental Care introduces simple, at-home dental procedures that anyone can do. Highlighted with fifty-three full-color photos and illustrations, this book offers dental self-care strategies and practices that get to the core of the problems in our mouths--preventing issues from taking root and gently restoring dental health. Based on a "whole body approach" to oral care, Holistic Dental Care addresses the limits of the traditional approach that treats only the symptoms and not the source of body imbalances.

Taking readers on a tour of the ecology of the mouth, dental health expert and author Nadine Artemis describes the physiology of the teeth and the sources of bacteria and decay. Revealing the truth about the artificial chemicals in many toothpastes and mouthwashes, Artemis also discusses the harmful effects of mercury fillings and the much safer ceramic filling options that are available. Covering topics that include healthy nutrition, oral care for children, and the benefits of botanical substances and plant extracts for maintaining oral health, Artemis introduces a comprehensive eight-step self-dentistry protocol that offers an effective way to prevent decay, illness, acidic saliva, plaque build-up, gum bleeding, inflammation, and more.




The Tooth Book: A Guide to Healthy Teeth and Gums

healthAuthor: Edward Miller
Binding: Paperback
Brand: Holiday House
Studio: Holiday House
Label: Holiday House
Publisher: Holiday House
Manufacturer: Holiday House

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Every child studies dental care in school and this lively picture book makes learning how to care for your teeth fun.

Taking good care of your teeth and gums is an important part of maintaining overall health. After all, you need your pearly whites to eat, smile, and talk. But what should you expect when you go to the dentist? What should you do if you lose a tooth? Full of straightforward advice and animated, colorful art, as well as some bite-sized bits of history and lore, this guide provides accessible information about taking care of your teeth. The much-needed dental advice in this book is both timely and accessible to today's children.

The "Monster Health Book", companion title to "The Tooth Book", was named a Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year and earned shining reviews.




health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}