5 طرق للحفاظ على تجويف الأسنان الحرة

الصحة

5 طرق للحفاظ على تجويف الأسنان الحرة

من الصعب تجنب الأطعمة الحلوة والمشروبات حول عيد القديسين ، ولكن ليس فقط صحتنا العامة التي تعاني. هذه المعالجات لها أيضا عواقب على صحة الفم لدينا ، ويمكن أن تؤدي إلى تسوس الأسنان - أكثر الأمراض المزمنة انتشارا في كل من الأطفال والبالغين.

تُظهِر الأبحاث صلة واضحة بين عاداتنا الغذائية وصحة أسناننا ولثتنا ، لكن أطباء الأسنان وخبراء التغذية لديهم تقليديًا فرصة ضئيلة للتعاون.

يقول عمرو مرسي ، أستاذ ورئيس قسم طب أسنان الأطفال في كلية طب الأسنان في جامعة نيويورك: "الصحة المتكاملة هي مستقبل الرعاية الصحية". "لا يمكن أن تتمتع بصحة جيدة بشكل عام دون التمتع بصحة فموية جيدة ، والعادات التغذوية الجيدة هي المفتاح لصحة الفم الجيدة.

بهذه الروح ، طلبت NYU News من خبراء الأسنان والتغذية مشاركة خمسة نصائح حول صحة الفم والتغذية ، بما في ذلك الوجبات الخفيفة التي يمكن وضعها في حقائب الهالوين.

نصيحة # 1: العصا مع الماء.

الماء هو أفضل خيار للشرب - وخاصة مياه الصنبور التي تحتوي عادة على الفلورايد. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، البقاء رطب جيد لجسمك بالكامل.

ليس فقط الماء خالي من السكر ، ولكنه يساعد على التخلص من جزيئات الطعام التي يمكن أن تتعثر في أسنانك. هذه الجسيمات الغذائية تغذي البكتيريا في الفم - مما يؤدي إلى تشكيل لوحة ، وفي النهاية ، تسوس الأسنان.

بالملل بالماء العادي؟ جرب ماء النكهة أو سيلتزر. (في حين أن المياه الغازية لن تؤذي أسنانك ، يجب استهلاك المشروبات الغازية لماما إذا كانت تحتوي على سكر مضاف أو نكهة حمضية.)

نصيحة #2: منتجات الألبان والخضار والفاكهة مفيدة لك - وهذا يشمل أسنانك.

بالإضافة إلى الماء ، يعتبر الحليب (بدون إضافة السكريات) اختيارًا صحيًا لصحة الفم والصحة العامة. تحتوي منتجات الألبان مثل الحليب واللبن والجبن على الكالسيوم ، وهو مادة مغذية هامة للأسنان والعظام الصحية.

في كثير من الأحيان ما هو جيد لجسمك جيد لأسنانك (مع بعض الاستثناءات). تقول ليزا ساسون ، أستاذة التغذية ومدير التدريب على التغذية في جامعة نيويورك ، شتاينهاردت ، إن الفواكه والخضراوات والحبوب الكاملة يجب أن تكون جزءًا من نظام غذائي صحي من الرأس إلى أخمص القدمين.

نصيحة #3: بعض الأطعمة والمشروبات المخادعة تبدو صحية ، ولكنها تضر أسناننا.

نحن نعلم أن الصودا ليست جيدة بالنسبة لنا ، لكن العصير يجب أن يكون صحياً لأنه ثمر ، أليس كذلك؟

"كثير من الآباء لا يدركون كمية السكر في العصائر. وتقول جيل فيرنانديز ، مديرة برامج التوعية والوقاية للأطفال في كلية طب الأسنان ، إن حتى عصير 100 في المائة يحتوي على الكثير من السكر الطبيعي. يقول فرنانديز إن الأطفال تحت سن الـ 6 يجب أن يكون لديهم فقط أربع إلى ست أوقيات من العصير في اليوم - أو ما يعادل علبة عصير صغيرة واحدة.

الأطعمة الأخرى التي تبدو صحية قد تكون إشكالية لأنها تنتهي في أسناننا.

يقول فيرنانديز: "الفواكه المجففة مثل الزبيب والوجبات الخفيفة للفاك لزجة ولا تذوب بسرعة ، مما يجعل وليمة الجراثيم تذوب وتنتج الحمض". "يعتقد معظم الناس أن الحلوى فقط هي التي تسبب تسوس الأسنان ، ولكن الكثير من الطعام الذي نأكله مثل رقائق البطاطس ، والمكسرات ، والخبز يحتوي على الكربوهيدرات التي تتحول إلى السكريات في الفم. إن الجراثيم التي تتغذى عليها لا تهتم إذا كانت سكرًا من مصاصة أو كسارة. "

لذلك يجب أن نتجنب عصير والفواكه المجففة تماما؟

يوضح ساسون: "لا يجب تجنب هذه الأطعمة ، لكن يجب على المرء أن يحاول تنظيفها أو شربها أو مضغ العلكة الخالية من السكر بعد استهلاكها". (يساعد اللثة الخالية من السكر على تحفيز اللعاب ، والذي هو عامل عدم انتظام الجسم الطبيعي الخاص بنا.)

ينصح فرنانديز دائما بالفرشاة باستخدام معجون أسنان مفلور ، مرتين في اليوم لمدة دقيقتين في كل مرة.

نصيحة #4: ليس فقط ما تأكله - إنه عندما تأكل.

بعض النصائح الغذائية تدعو إلى تناول وجبات صغيرة على مدار اليوم أو تناول الوجبات الخفيفة بين الوجبات للحفاظ على عملية الأيض. ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بصحة الفم ، فإن تناول الوجبات الخفيفة بشكل دائم قد يسبب مشاكل.

وفقا للأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب أسنان الأطفال ، فإن صحة الأسنان تعتمد على ما نأكله وعلى المزيد من المرات التي نأكلها. وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن تناول الوجبات السريعة والمشروبات على مدار اليوم - سواء أكان الكوكيز أو العنب - يعني أننا نطعم باستمرار الجراثيم المسببة للتجويف التي تعيش في أفواهنا.

"تناول الوجبات الخفيفة والشرب طوال اليوم ، حتى على الأطعمة والمشروبات الصحية ، سيزيد من خطر التسوس. يقول مرسي: "إن الأطفال في عملي الذين يحصلون على الكثير من التجاويف هم" سناكرز "، وليس بالضرورة أولئك الذين لديهم أسنان حلوة.

يقول ساسون: "إذا كنت تأكل الأطعمة الحلوة ، فمن الأفضل تناولها أثناء الوجبة". "الرعي ، أو احتساء المشروبات المحلاة ، أو مص الحلويات كل يوم يعني أنك تعريض أسنانك لكثير من السكر الطبيعي أو الإضافي".

نصيحة # 5: اختر الشوكولاتة بدلاً من الدببة الغامضة هذه الهالوين.

الكراميل ، اللعاب ، والحلويات اللزجة الأخرى يمكن أن تعيث فسادا في أفواهنا. ليس فقط أنها محملة بالسكر ، لكنها تلتصق بأسنانك ، مما يزيد من فرص تسوس الأسنان. يمكن أن تكون الحلوى الحامضية ، والتي هي حمضية ، مزعجة لأسنانك كما تآكل حامض المينا.

الشيكولاتة ، من ناحية أخرى ، أقل لزوجة وحمضية. الشيكولاتة الداكنة هي أفضل رهان لك - فهي تحتوي على سكر أقل من شوكولاتة الحليب وتوفر مضادات الأكسدة التي يمكن أن تمنع البكتيريا من الالتصاق بأسنانك ، والتي بدورها يمكن أن تمنع تسوس الأسنان وإصابات اللثة.

المفتاح للحلوى؟ الاعتدال.

يقول فرنانديز: "لا أقول أبداً إنني لا أتناول الحلوى أبداً ، ولكن يجب تناولها باعتدال وفقط في المناسبات الخاصة."

عند تناول حلوى الهالوين ، توصي ساسون بتناولها في وقت محدد وتنظيفها أو شرب الماء بعدها. يمكن للوالدين المساعدة في الحد من كمية الحلوى التي يمتلكها أطفالهم ، لكن ساسون يوافق على أن حظرها ليس هو الطريق المناسب.

"لا أعتقد أن عيد الهالوين هو وقت إعطاء الأطفال وجبات خفيفة صحية. بالنسبة للأطفال ، يجب أن تكون ذكريات عيد الهالوين رائعة ومليئة بالمرح ، يقول ساسون.

مصدر: جامعة نيويورك

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = teeth care؛ maxresults = 3}

الصحة
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

5 Ways To Keep Your Teeth Cavity Free

health

5 Ways To Keep Your Teeth Cavity Free

Sweet foods and drinks are hard to avoid around Halloween, but it’s not only our general health that suffers. These treats also have consequences for our oral health, and can lead to cavities—the most prevalent chronic disease in both children and adults.

Research shows a clear link between our food habits and the health of our teeth and gums, but dentists and nutritionists have traditionally had little opportunity to collaborate.

“Integrated health is the future of health care,” says Amr Moursi, professor and chair of pediatric dentistry at the College of Dentistry at New York University. “You cannot have good overall health without having good oral health, and good nutrition habits are the key to good oral health.

In this spirit, NYU News asked dental and nutrition experts to share five tips about oral health and nutrition, including which snacks are OK to put in our Halloween bags.

Tip #1: Stick with water.

Water is your healthiest drink option—especially tap water, which typically contains fluoride. Plus, staying hydrated is good for your whole body.

Not only is water devoid of sugar, but it helps wash away food particles that can get stuck to your teeth. These food particles feed bacteria in your mouth—leading to the formation of plaque and, ultimately, cavities.

Bored with regular water? Try flavored water or seltzer. (While carbonated water will not harm your teeth, the fizzy drinks should be consumed sparingly if they contain added sugar or acidic flavoring.)

Tip #2: Dairy, vegetables, and fruit are good for you—and that includes your teeth.

In addition to water, milk (without added sugars) is a healthy drink choice for your oral health and overall health. Dairy products such as milk, yogurt, and cheese contain calcium, an important nutrient for healthy teeth and bones.

Often what’s good for your body is good for your teeth (with a few exceptions). Lisa Sasson, clinical professor of nutrition and dietetic internship director at NYU’s Steinhardt, says that fruit, vegetables, and whole grains should be part of a healthy head-to-toe diet.

Tip #3: Some sneaky foods and drinks seem healthy, but actually harm our teeth.

We know that soda isn’t good for us, but juice must be healthy because it’s fruit—right?

“Many parents don’t realize the amount of sugar in juices. Even 100 percent juice has a lot of natural sugar in it,” says Jill Fernandez, director of pediatric outreach and prevention programs at the College of Dentistry. Fernandez says that children under 6 years of age should only have four to six ounces of juice a day—or the equivalent of one small juice box.

Other seemingly healthy foods can be problematic because they end up stuck to our teeth.

“Dried fruit such as raisins and fruit snacks are sticky and do not dissolve quickly, making a feast for germs to munch on and produce acid,” says Fernandez. “Most people think only candy causes cavities, but much of the food we eat like chips, crackers, and bread contain carbohydrates that turn into sugars in the mouth. The germs that feed on them don’t care if it is sugar from a lollipop or a cracker.”

So should we avoid juice and dried fruit altogether?

“These foods do not need to be avoided but one should try to brush, drink water, or chew sugarless gum after consuming them,” explains Sasson. (Sugarless gum helps stimulate saliva, which is our body’s own natural anticavity factor.)

Fernandez recommends always brushing with a fluoridated toothpaste, twice a day for two minutes at a time.

Tip #4: It’s not just what you eat—it’s when you eat.

Some nutritional advice calls for eating smaller meals throughout the day or snacking between meals to keep up your metabolism. But when it comes to oral health, constant snacking can cause trouble.

According to the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, dental health depends less on what we eat and more on how often we eat. In other words, snacking on sugary foods and drinks all day long—whether it is cookies or grapes—means that we’re constantly feeding the cavity-causing germs that live in our mouths.

“Constant snacking and drinking throughout the day, even on healthy foods and drinks, will greatly increase your risk of cavities. The children in my practice who get lots of cavities are the ‘snackers,’ not necessarily those with a sweet tooth,” says Moursi.

“If you eat sweet foods, it is better to have them during a meal,” says Sasson. “Grazing, sipping sweetened beverages, or sucking candies all day means that you are exposing your teeth to a lot of added or natural sugar.”

Tip #5: Opt for chocolate instead of gummy bears this Halloween.

Caramel, gummies, and other sticky candies can wreak havoc on our mouths. Not only are they loaded with sugar, but they get stuck to your teeth, increasing your chances for tooth decay. Sour candies, which are acidic, can also be troublesome for your teeth as acid erodes enamel.

Chocolate, on the other hand, is less sticky and acidic. Dark chocolate is your best bet—it often contains less sugar than milk chocolate and offers antioxidants that can keep bacteria from sticking to your teeth, which in turn can prevent tooth decay and gum infections.

The key to candy? Moderation.

“I never say never to eating candy—but it should be eaten in moderation and only on special occasions,” says Fernandez.

When eating Halloween candy, Sasson recommends having it at a specific time and brushing or drinking water after. Parents can help limit how much candy their children have, but Sasson agrees that prohibiting it isn’t the way to go.

“I don’t think Halloween is a time to give kids healthy snacks. For kids, the memories of Halloween should be wonderful and filled with fun,” says Sasson.

Source: NYU

Related Books

Holistic Dental Care: The Complete Guide to Healthy Teeth and Gums
healthAuthor: Nadine Artemis
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: North Atlantic Books
List Price: $16.95

Buy Now

The Dental Hygienist's Guide to Nutritional Care
healthAuthor: Cynthia A. Stegeman RDH MEd RD LD CDE
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Elsevier
List Price: $82.95

Buy Now

Homeopathy and Home Dental Care - How to Avoid Most Trips to the Dentist (Health at Home Book 2)
healthAuthor: Rudi Verspoor
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}