السكتة الدماغية والسرطان والأمراض المزمنة الأخرى أكثر على الأرجح للأشخاص الذين يعانون من سوء الصحة العقلية

السكتة الدماغية والسرطان والأمراض المزمنة الأخرى أكثر على الأرجح للأشخاص الذين يعانون من سوء الصحة العقليةالظروف المزمنة هي أكثر شيوعا بين أولئك الذين يعانون من الاكتئاب والقلق. Jurica Koletić / Unsplash

أربعة ملايين أستراليبما في ذلك أصدقائنا وأفراد الأسرة وزملاء العمل والجيران ، الذين يعيشون مع ظروف الصحة العقلية ، بما في ذلك القلق والاكتئاب.

A تقرير جديد من اليوم من تعاون السياسة الصحية الأسترالية وقد وجد هؤلاء الأربعة ملايين أستراليين أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأمراض جسدية مزمنة ومخاطر أكبر بكثير للوفاة المبكرة.

وجود حالة صحية عقلية يزيد من خطر كل مرض مزمن كبير. أمراض القلب وارتفاع ضغط الدم والتهاب المفاصل وآلام الظهر والسكري والربو والتهاب الشعب الهوائية وانتفاخ الرئة والسرطان من المرجح أن تحدث بين الأشخاص الذين يعانون من القلق والاكتئاب.

أكثر من 2.4 مليون شخص لديهم حالة صحية جسدية واحدة على الأقل.

لأول مرة في أستراليا ، يحدد هذا التقرير مدى هذه المشكلة. على سبيل المثال ، الأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالات صحية عقلية أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأمراض الدورة الدموية (أي أمراض القلب وارتفاع ضغط الدم والسكتة الدماغية). يزداد الاحتمال بنسبة 52٪ للرجال و 41٪ للنساء.

السكتة الدماغية والسرطان والأمراض المزمنة الأخرى أكثر على الأرجح للأشخاص الذين يعانون من سوء الصحة العقليةتعاون السياسة الصحية الأسترالية, مؤلف المنصوص

يتأثر أكثر من مليون شخص بمرض في الجهاز الدوري وحالة صحية عقلية. هذه الأمراض هي أكبر القاتلة في أستراليا.

في الحالات المؤلمة والموهنة مثل التهاب المفاصل وآلام الظهر ، تكون الأرقام أعلى. التهاب المفاصل هو 66 ٪ أكثر احتمالا بالنسبة للرجال الذين يعانون من حالات الصحة العقلية ، و 46 ٪ أكثر احتمالا للنساء ، مع 959,000 الناس المتضررين.

السكتة الدماغية والسرطان والأمراض المزمنة الأخرى أكثر على الأرجح للأشخاص الذين يعانون من سوء الصحة العقليةتعاون السياسة الصحية الأسترالية, مؤلف المنصوص

ألم الظهر هو 74٪ أكثر احتمالا بالنسبة للرجال الذين يعانون من حالات الصحة العقلية ، و 68 أكثر احتمالا بالنسبة للنساء ، مع أكثر من مليون المتضررين.

السكتة الدماغية والسرطان والأمراض المزمنة الأخرى أكثر على الأرجح للأشخاص الذين يعانون من سوء الصحة العقليةتعاون السياسة الصحية الأسترالية, مؤلف المنصوص

الاختلافات بين الجنسين كبيرة. النساء المصابات بحالات الصحة العقلية أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالربو من النساء في جميع أنحاء أستراليا ككل (نسبة 70 أكثر احتمالا) ، في حين أن الرجال هم 49 أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالربو مع حالة صحية عقلية.

السكتة الدماغية والصحة العقلية 5 8 9تعاون السياسة الصحية الأسترالية, مؤلف المنصوص

أكبر الفرق بين الجنسين هو السرطان. الرجال الذين يعانون من حالات الصحة العقلية أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالسرطان من عامة الناس ، وبالنسبة للنساء فإن الرقم هو 84٪.

السكتة الدماغية والصحة العقلية 6 8 9 تعاون السياسة الصحية الأسترالية, مؤلف المنصوص

وبما أن عدد النساء اللواتي يعانين من ظروف صحية نفسية أكثر من الرجال ، فإن النساء عموماً هن أكثر عرضة للعيش مع حالة صحية عقلية وفيزيائية مقارنة بالرجال.

ويظهر التقرير وجود حالة صحية عقلية موجودة ومرض مزمن بشكل عام يؤدي إلى سوء نوعية الحياة ، وتراجع وظيفي أكبر ، والحاجة إلى استخدام المزيد من الرعاية الصحية وارتفاع تكاليف الرعاية الصحية.

يحتاج هؤلاء الأشخاص إلى المزيد من العلاج ، واستخدام المزيد من الأدوية ، ويجب عليهم قضاء المزيد من الوقت والطاقة والمال في إدارة صحتهم. الأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالة صحية عقلية هم أيضا أكثر احتمالا ليكون أكثر فقرا، أقل احتمالا للعمل ، أقل احتمالا لتلقي الفحص الصحي ، وللأسف ، أكثر احتمالا لتلقي رعاية دون المستوى المطلوب لأمراضهم الجسدية.

في المتوسط ​​، الأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالات الصحة العقلية يموتون أصغر من عموم السكان ، ومعظمهم من الحالات التي يمكن الوقاية منها. نحن نعرف من البحوث السابقةأن الأشخاص المصابين بأمراض عقلية حادة يموتون في وقت أبكر بكثير من بقية السكان. يظهر تقريرنا حتى الحالات الصحية العقلية الشائعة مثل القلق والاكتئاب تسهم في المزيد من الأمراض المزمنة ، مما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع معدلات الوفاة المبكرة.

لماذا؟

نحن لا نعرف بالضبط لماذا يعاني الأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالات صحية نفسية من صحة بدنية أقل. ال أكاديمية العلوم الطبية حددت أن عوامل الصحة النفسية والعقلية النفسية السيئة مثل الشعور بعدم الرضا عن الحياة ، وعدم الشعور بالهدوء ، ومشاكل النوم التي تؤثر على العمل ، والمخاوف المالية يمكن أن تتنبأ بالأمراض الجسدية.

عوامل أخرى ، مثل الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي المنخفضترتبط الشبكات الاجتماعية الضعيفة والعيش في المناطق الريفية والتدخين بكل من الصحة العقلية السيئة وضعف الصحة الجسدية.

نحن نعرف أن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالات صحية نفسية لا يتلقون في كثير من الأحيان نصائح حول أنماط الحياة الصحية ، ولا يحصلون على اختبارات شائعة للمرض ، وهم أقل عرضة لتلقي العلاج من المرض. بعض من هذا يرجع إلى وصمة العار والتمييزوأحيانًا يكون الإهمال. يمكن للأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالات الصحة العقلية تقع من خلال الفجوات بين نظم الصحة البدنية والعقلية مفككة.

مالذي يمكننا فعله حيال هذا؟

هناك الزخم للتغيير بين قطاع الصحة النفسية ، مع عشرات المنظمات الاشتراك في متساويين بيان التوافق. هذا يهدف إلى تحسين نوعية حياة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض عقلي من خلال توفير فرص متساوية للحصول على الرعاية الصحية الجيدة.

هناك عمل كبير يجري القيام به في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، بما في ذلك في منطقة هنتر، حيث يمكن للأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالات الصحة العقلية الحصول على مساعدة مصممة مع عوامل الخطر الصحية البدنية مثل التدخين والنظام الغذائي.

المحادثةيجب على الأشخاص الذين يستخدمون خدمات الصحة العقلية أن يتم تقييم صحتهم البدنية بشكل منتظم ، وأن يتم التعامل مع أي مشاكل في أقرب وقت ممكن. من شأن تحسين تنسيق الرعاية الحفاظ على موارد الرعاية الصحية وتحسين نوعية الحياة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بن هاريس ، معاون السياسة ، التعاون في السياسة الصحية الأسترالية ، جامعة فيكتوريا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = منع السكتة الدماغية ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Stroke, Cancer And Other Chronic Diseases More Likely For Those With Poor Mental Health

Stroke, Cancer And Other Chronic Diseases More Likely For Those With Poor Mental HealthChronic conditions are more common among those who suffer from depression and anxiety. Jurica Koletić/Unsplash

Four million Australians, including our friends, family members, co-workers and neighbours, are living with mental health conditions, including anxiety and depression.

A new report out today from the Australian Health Policy Collaboration has found these four million Australians are at much greater risk of chronic physical disease and much greater risk of early death.

Having a mental health condition increases the risk of every major chronic disease. Heart disease, high blood pressure, arthritis, back pain, diabetes, asthma, bronchitis, emphysema and cancer are all much more likely to occur among people with anxiety and depression.

More than 2.4 million people have both a mental and at least one physical health condition.

For the first time in Australia, this report quantifies the extent of this problem. For example, people with mental health conditions are more likely to have a circulatory system disease (that is, heart disease, high blood pressure and stroke). The likelihood increases by 52% for men, and 41% for women.

Stroke, Cancer And Other Chronic Diseases More Likely For Those With Poor Mental HealthAustralian Health Policy Collaboration, Author provided

More than a million people are affected by both a circulatory system disease and a mental health condition. These diseases are Australia’s biggest killers.

For painful, debilitating conditions such as arthritis and back pain, the numbers are even higher. Arthritis is 66% more likely for men with mental health conditions, and 46% more likely for women, with 959,000 people affected.

Stroke, Cancer And Other Chronic Diseases More Likely For Those With Poor Mental HealthAustralian Health Policy Collaboration, Author provided

Back pain is 74% more likely for men with mental health conditions, and 68% more likely for women, with more than a million affected.

Stroke, Cancer And Other Chronic Diseases More Likely For Those With Poor Mental HealthAustralian Health Policy Collaboration, Author provided

The gender differences are significant. Women with mental health conditions are much more likely to have asthma than women across Australia as a whole (70% more likely), while men are 49% more likely to have asthma with a mental health condition.

stroke and mental health5 8 9Australian Health Policy Collaboration, Author provided

The biggest gender difference is cancer. Men with mental health conditions are 84% more likely to have cancer than the general population, and for women the figure is 20%.

stroke and mental health6 8 9  Australian Health Policy Collaboration, Author provided

As more women live with mental health conditions than men, overall, women are 23% more likely to be living with both a mental and physical health condition than men.

The report shows having a co-existing mental health condition and chronic physical disease generally results in worse quality of life, greater functional decline, needing to use more health care and higher healthcare costs.

These people require more treatment, use more medications, and have to spend more time, energy and money managing their health. People with a mental health condition are also more likely to be poorer, less likely to work, less likely to receive health screening and, sadly, more likely to receive substandard care for their physical diseases.

On average, people with mental health conditions die younger than the general population, and mostly from preventable conditions. We know from earlier researchthat people with severe mental illnesses die much earlier than the rest of the population. Our report shows even common mental health conditions such as anxiety and depression contribute to more chronic disease, leading to higher rates of early death.

Why?

We don’t know exactly why people with mental health conditions have poorer physical health. The Academy of Medical Sciences has identified that poor mental health and psychosocial risk factors such as feeling dissatisfied with life, not feeling calm, having sleep problems that affect work, and financial concerns can predict physical disease.

Other factors, such as low socioeconomic status, poor social networks, living in rural areas and smoking are associated with both poor mental health and poor physical health.

We do know people with mental health conditions often don’t receive advice about healthy lifestyles, don’t get common tests for disease, and are less likely to receive treatment for disease. Some of this is due to stigma and discrimination, and sometimes it’s neglect. People with mental health conditions can fall through the gaps between disjointed physical and mental health systems.

What can we do about it?

There is momentum for change among the mental health sector, with dozens of organisations signing up to the Equally Well consensus statement. This aims to improve the quality of life of people living with mental illness by providing equal access to quality health care.

There’s some great work being done around the country, including in the Hunter region, where people with mental health conditions can access tailored help with physical health risk factors such as smoking and diet.

The ConversationPeople using mental health services should have their physical health regularly assessed, and any problems addressed as early as possible. Better coordination of care would preserve healthcare resources and improve quality of life.

About The Author

Ben Harris, Policy Associate, Australian Health Policy Collaboration, Victoria University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Thrombosis and Stroke Prevention 3rd. Edition: The Afibber's Guide to Stroke Prevention
healthAuthor: Mr Hans R Larsen MSc
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: International Health News
List Price: $27.49

Buy Now

STOP YOUR NEXT STROKE: STROKE PREVENTION FOR THOSE WHO HAVE HAD A STROKE OR STROKE-LIKE SYMPTOM
healthAuthor: David Alway
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: AuthorHouse
List Price: $15.49

Buy Now

Stroke Prevention, Treatment, and Rehabilitation
healthAuthor: David Spence
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Education / Medical
List Price: $68.00

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}