تظهر الأبحاث أن الزواج يجعل الرجال أكثر بدانة

تظهر الأبحاث أن الزواج يجعل الرجال أكثر بدانة

عرس الزواج يفسر تقليديا لاحتمال المطبات في الطريق إلى الأمام. لثراء أكثر فقرا هو شعور مثير للإعجاب. لكنهم نادرا ما يذكرون ثروات الزوجين المتغيرة عندما يتعلق الأمر مؤشر كتلة الجسم (مؤشر كتلة الجسم). ليس من غير المعتاد أن يلاحظ المتزوجون أن خصرهم يتوسع. و بحثي أظهرت أن الزواج يجعل الرجال أكثر بدانة.

ووجدت الدراسة وجود صلة بين الزواج والرجال الذين يكتسبون وزنا - مع الأيام الأولى للأبوة إضافة إلى المشكلة. في المتوسط ​​، كان لدى الرجال المتزوجين مؤشر كتلة الجسم أعلى من نظرائهم غير المتزوجين ، وهو ما يعادل 1.4kg (3lbs) على المقاييس. لم يكن هناك أي تأثير على مؤشر كتلة الجسم الذكور إذا كانت الزوجة حاملاً ، ولكن في السنوات الأولى بعد الولادة ، اكتسب الرجال وزناً. استغرق الأمر فقط قبل وبعد الطلاق لتسجيل تراجع في مؤشر كتلة الجسم الذكور.

وأوضحت النتائج في النهاية الارتباك حول وجود صلة محتملة بين مؤشر كتلة الجسم وحالة الرجل الزوجية. هناك عدد من النظريات المتنافسة حول ما يحدث للوزن عندما يتزوج الناس. النتائج سوف تدعم الفكرة - ما يسمى ب "نظرية سوق الزواج"أن الأفراد الذين هم منفردين ولكنهم يبحثون عن الزواج لديهم حافز أكبر للحفاظ على لياقتهم - ويبدو أنهم يبذلون مجهودًا أكبر من الرجال المتزوجين. كما يدعم فكرة أخرى ، "نظرية الالتزام الاجتماعي"أن الزواج يؤدي إلى مزيد من الرجال تناول المزيد من الوجبات العادية وحضور المزيد من المناسبات الاجتماعية حيث يتم تقديم الأطعمة الغنية.

النظريات المتنافسة

بالنظر إلى مخاوف الصحة العامة بشأن السمنة ، فإن فهم المزيد حول العوامل الاجتماعية التي يمكن أن تسبب تقلبات في الوزن أمر مهم. كان الرابط بين الزواج ومؤشر كتلة الجسم تناقش كثيرامع نظريات مختلفة تقدم تنبؤات متضاربة.

على سبيل المثال ، هناك بعض الأدلة أن المتزوجين يتمتعون بصحة جيدة عمومًا ، حيث أنهم يستفيدون من دعم الأسرة ويقل احتمال مشاركتهم في سلوك محفوف بالمخاطر. معروف ك "نظرية حماية الزواج"، فإنه عادة ما يتنبأ مؤشر كتلة الجسم السفلي بين الرجال المتزوجين.

كما يتوقع أن يكون لدى الأفراد المتزوجين مؤشر كتلة جسم أقل بسبب "نظرية الاختيار". كلنا نختار الزوج على أساس مجموعة من الخصائص ، بما في ذلك الجاذبية. والناس الملائكة هم من المرجح أن يتم اختياره كزوجين. وفقًا لهذه النظرية ، ليس للزواج أي تأثير على مؤشر كتلة الجسم الفردي ، ولكنه يخبرنا أن الأشخاص ذوي مؤشر كتلة الجسم الأدنى هم أكثر عرضة للزواج.

على العكس من ذلك ، هناك نظريات تقول لنا إن المتزوجين يقومون في الواقع "بالذهاب لأنفسهم" ويكسبون بضعة جنيهات بمجرد أن تكون هذه الحلقة على أصابعهم. نظرية سوق الزواج ، على سبيل المثال ، تتعامل مع عالم العلاقات بشكل يشبه العمل - يجب عليك القيام ببعض الإعلانات. تنص على أن الأشخاص الذين هم منفردين ويبحثون عن زوج مستقبلي لديهم حوافز أعلى - ويبذلون المزيد من الجهد - للحفاظ على لياقتهم من أولئك الذين هم متزوجين بالفعل. ولكن بمجرد الزواج ، ذهبت ضغوط سوق الفردي ، مما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع مؤشر كتلة الجسم لدى المتزوجين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تشير التقاليد للالتزام الاجتماعي أيضًا إلى أن أولئك الذين في العلاقات يأكلون وجبات أكثر انتظامًا (وأطعمة أكثر ثراءً) بسبب الحياة الاجتماعية الموسعة التي تأتي مع الزواج.

مع هذا الخاتم أنا أطعمت

لمحاولة فهم كل هذه النظريات المتنافسة ، قمت بتحليل معلومات حول الذكور المتغايرين في 8,700 في الولايات المتحدة من 1999 إلى 2013 ، باستخدام بيانات من دراسة لوحة ديناميكية الدخل. بالإضافة إلى المتغيرات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية القياسية مثل التعليم والدخل والحالة الوظيفية والعمر ، تمكنت من حساب مؤشر كتلة الجسم المتغير مع مرور الوقت.

لقد وجدت أن الرجال المتزوجين لديهم مؤشر كتلة الجسم أعلى (نصف نقطة) من نظرائهم غير المتزوجين ، والذي كان مدفوعا إلى حد كبير بتقلبات الوزن قبل وبعد الزواج. (يتناقص مؤشر كتلة الجسم عند الذكور قبل الطلاق وبعده ، حيث يغير سلوكه بما يتماشى مع حوافز "نظرية سوق الزواج" لمراقبة وزنه مرة أخرى.)

تدعم النتائج التي توصلت إليها النظرية القائلة بأن الزواج يؤدي إلى المزيد من المناسبات الاجتماعية التي تشمل الأطعمة الأكثر ثراءً ، أو المزيد من الوجبات العادية للرجال.

وفيما يتعلق بالأبوة ، لا يتمتع آباء الأطفال عموماً تحت 19 بمؤشر كتلة الجسم أعلى من غير الآباء أو الآباء لأطفال أكبر سناً ، على الرغم من أنهم يميلون إلى أن يكون لديهم مؤشر كتلة الجسم أعلى في الفترات المبكرة التالية للولادة. قد يكون الآباء الجدد وقتا أقل لممارسة. إنجاب الأطفال يمكن أيضا يقلل من فرصة الطلاق، مما يجعل حوافز سوق الزواج للحفاظ على لياقتهم حتى أقل أهمية.

قد لا تكون آثار الزواج على مؤشر كتلة الجسم كبيرة ، لكنها ذات دلالة إحصائية. من المفيد فهم العوامل الاجتماعية التي قد تسبب تقلبات في الوزن ، خاصةً الشائعة منها مثل الزواج والأبوة.

المحادثةيتيح لنا الوعي بالمخاطر المحتملة اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة بشأن الصحة. بالنسبة إلى الرجال المتزوجين الذين يرغبون في تجنب زيادة مؤشر كتلة الجسم ، فإن ذلك يعني أن يكونوا مدركين لدوافعهم وسلوكهم وعاداتهم الغذائية المتغيرة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جوانا سيردا ، محاضرة في اقتصاديات الأعمال ، جامعة باث

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = فقدان الوزن عند الذكور ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Research Shows That Marriage Does Make Men Fatter

Research Shows That Marriage Does Make Men Fatter

Wedding vows traditionally account for the possibility of bumps in the road ahead. For richer for poorer is an admirable sentiment. But they rarely mention a couple’s changing fortunes when it comes to body mass index (BMI). It is not unusual for newlyweds to notice their waistlines expanding. And my research has shown that marriage does indeed make men fatter.

The study found a link between being married and men gaining weight – with the early days of fatherhood adding to the problem. On average, married men had a higher BMI than their non-married counterparts, which equated to an extra 1.4kg (3lbs) on the scales. There was no effect on male BMI if a wife became pregnant, but in the early years after childbirth, men gained weight. It took the period just before and after divorce to register a dip in male BMI.

The findings finally clear up the confusion over a possible link between BMI and men’s marital status. There are a number of competing theories about what happens to weight when people get married. The findings would support the idea – the so-called “marriage market theory” that people who are single but seeking marriage have more incentive to stay fit – that they appear to make more effort than men who are married. It also supports another idea, the “social obligation theory” that being married leads to more men eating more regular meals and attending more social occasions where richer foods are served.

Competing theories

Given the public health concerns about obesity, understanding more about the social factors that can cause weight fluctuation is important. The link between marriage and BMI has been much debated, with different theories offering conflicting predictions.

For example, there is some evidence that married people are generally healthier, as they benefit from family support and are less likely to engage in risky behaviour. Known as “marriage protection theory”, it would normally predict a lower BMI among married men.

Married individuals could also be expected to have a lower BMI due to “selection theory”. We all select a spouse based on a set of characteristics, including attractiveness. And fitter people are more likely to be chosen as spouses. According to this theory, marriage has no impact on individual BMI, but it tells us that people with lower BMI are more likely to become married.

Conversely, there are theories which tell us that married people do in fact “let themselves go” and gain a few pounds once that ring is on their finger. The marriage market theory, for example, treats the world of relationships a bit like a business – you’ve got to do a bit of advertising. It states that people who are single and on the look out for a future spouse have higher incentives – and make more effort – to stay fit than those who are already married. But once married, the pressures of the singles market are gone, which results in higher BMI in married people.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Traditions of social obligation also suggest that those in relationships eat more regular meals (and richer foods) due to an expanded social life which come with marriage.

With this ring I thee fed

To try and make sense of all these competing theories, I analysed information about 8,700 heterosexual males in the US from 1999 to 2013, using data from the Panel Study of Income Dynamics. In addition to standard socioeconomic variables such as education, income, employment status and age, I was able to factor in a person’s changing BMI over time.

I found that married men did have a higher BMI (half a point) than their non-married counterparts, which was largely driven by weight fluctuations before and after marriage. (Male BMI also decreases just before and after divorce, as they change their behaviour in line with the “marriage market theory” incentives to watch their weight again.)

My findings support the theory that marriage leads to more social occasions involving richer foods, or more regular meals for men.

As far as parenthood is concerned, in general fathers of children under 19 do not have a higher BMI than non-fathers or fathers of older children, although they do tend to have a higher BMI in the early periods following childbirth. New fathers may have less time to exercise. Having children can also decreases the chance of divorce, making the marriage market incentives to stay fit even less relevant.

The effects of marriage on BMI may not be large, but they are statistically significant. It is valuable to understand what social factors may cause weight fluctuations, especially common ones such as marriage and parenthood.

The ConversationBeing aware of potential risks allows us to make informed decisions about health. For married men who want to avoid BMI increases, that will mean being mindful of their own changing motivation, behaviour and eating habits.

About The Author

Joanna Syrda, Lecturer in Business Economics, University of Bath

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=male weight loss;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…