معرفة إذا كنت تشعر أنك أفضل بعد الجراحة

معرفة إذا كنت تشعر أنك أفضل بعد الجراحة

المالية أزمة مواجهة NHS بدأت في العض. الطلب على رعاية NHS آخذ في الارتفاع ولكن التمويل للشخص الواحد هو السقوط. هذا يعني أن مجموعات التكليف السريري (CCGs) - وهي المسؤولة عن التخطيط لخدمات الرعاية الصحية لمنطقتهم المحلية - تتلقى أموالاً أقل لدفع تكاليف الرعاية الصحية الوطنية نيابة عن سكانها المحليين. من أجل موازنة الكتب ، تقوم CCG بتشديد قواعدها بشأن من يمكنه تلقي العلاج.

في يناير، غرب كنت CCG وقال أنه سيؤخر العمليات غير العاجلة حتى بعد أبريل ، على أمل إنقاذ £ 3.2m. قبل بضعة أيام ، ثلاث مجموعات CCG في غرب ميدلاندز أعلنت أنها ستبدأ في تقييد استبدال مفصل الورك أو الركبة فقط للمرضى الذين يعانون من ألم شديد. تأمل CCGs في تقليل هذه العمليات بواسطة 350 سنويًا ، منخفضًا من 2000 في 2016. اتخذت إجراءات مماثلة في نوفمبر تشرين الثاني Vale of York CCG.

هذه ليست سوى الأولى من العديد من هذه القرارات لم يأت بعد. وﺑﺎﻟﻧظر إﻟﯽ ﻋدم وﺟود أﻣوال ، ﯾﺑدو أن ﻣﺟﻣوﻋﺎت CCG ﻟﯾس ﻟدﯾﮭﺎ ﺧﯾﺎر ﺳوى ﺗﺧﺻﯾص رﻋﺎﯾﺔ NHS. لكن هل هذا هو الخيار الوحيد؟

كنت أتمنى لو لم أكن قد أجريت عملي

معظم الناس الذين خضعوا للجراحة يتعافون قريبا ويشعرون بتحسن أفضل بعد ذلك. لكن ليس الجميع. بعض المرضى ندم إجراء عملية جراحية أو يستغرق وقتًا أطول للشفاء مما كان متوقعًا. إذا كانوا قد عرفوا مسبقا ، ربما لم يكن لديهم عملية جراحية في المقام الأول. لكن كيف يمكنهم الحصول على هذه الرؤية؟

تقليديا ، اعتمد المرضى على أطبائهم لإسداء المشورة لهم عن مدى أفضل يشعرون بعد الجراحة. لكن الأطباء لا يعرفون حقا. ويرجع ذلك إلى أن هيئة الخدمات الصحية الوطنية لم تسأل أبدًا المرضى حتى وقت قريب عما إذا كانوا يشعرون بتحسن بعد قيامهم بعملهم أم لا.

بدأ هذا التغيير في 2009 ، عندما قدمت انجلترا مقاييس النتائج الوطنية التي أبلغ عنها المريض ، أو نظام إدارة البرامج برنامج. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، طُلب من جميع المرضى الذين لديهم استبدال مفصل الورك أو استبدال الركبة أو إصلاح فتق الفخذ ملء استبيان صحي قبل إجراء الجراحة ومرة ​​أخرى بعد بضعة أشهر. بحلول مارس 2015 ، تقريبا 800,000 المرضى قد أجاب. من خلال مقارنة إجابات كل مريض ، يمكننا معرفة مدى شعورهم بشكل أفضل بعد الجراحة.

هذه المعلومات هي أيضا قيمة لأي شخص تخطط لواحدة من هذه العمليات. سيحتاج الأشخاص الذين يفكرون في استبدال مفصل الورك أو الركبة إلى معرفة أنهم سيشعرون بتحسن ، إذا كانوا قادرين على المشي دون مشاكل ، والحصول على التسوق من دون أي ألم. الآن يمكنهم معرفة ذلك.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كيف سأشعر بعد الجراحة؟

في مركز جامعة نيويورك للاقتصاد الصحي ، قمنا بتطوير webtool على أساس الإجابات على الاستبيانات الصحية التي أكملها المرضى. يلخص webtool كيف يشعر المرضى المختلفون بعد الجراحة ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار كيف شعروا قبل الجراحة ، كم من الوقت لديهم مشاكل صحية ، وسنهم ونوعهم.

يمكن لأي شخص يفكر في إجراء جراحة ملء الاستبيان الصحي نفسه. ثم يطابق webtool هذه الإجابات لمرضى مشابهين الذين خضعوا لعملية جراحية من قبل ويلخصون تجاربهم ، موضحين عدد الأشخاص الذين شعروا بأنهم أفضل ، أسوأ أو لا يختلف بعد الجراحة. كما يوضح webtool عدد المرضى الذين شعروا أنهم أفضل من حيث المشي. الم؛ القلق والاكتئاب؛ القدرة على غسل واللباس. والقدرة على القيام بأنشطتهم المعتادة.

وهي مصممة أيضًا لتكون سهلة الاستخدام وسهلة الفهم. لا يستغرق الأمر سوى ملء الفراغ ويمكن استخدامه خلال زيارات الطبيب أو المرضى وأسرهم في المنزل. يمكن الوصول إليه من أي مكان ، لذلك إذا كنت (أو أحد أصدقائك أو أفراد عائلتك) يفكرون في إجراء جراحة للورك أو الركبة أو فتق ، يمكنك معرفة كيف من المحتمل أن تشعر بعد ذلك ، بناءً على ما يحبه الآخرون قالوا.

مساعدة المرضى على اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة

لدينا webtool يضمن أن هذه المعلومات يمكن أن تكون مصممة لخصائص معينة لكل شخص. حتى الآن ، لم تكن هذه المعلومات المحددة متاحة للأشخاص الذين يفكرون في إجراء الجراحة. لقد تمكن الأطباء من تقديم إرشادات مبهمة للمرضى حول كيفية شعور الناس بشكل عام بعد الجراحة. وبالمثل ، فإن موقع NHS الاختيارات يقول فقط أن "معظم الناس يعانون من انخفاض كبير في الألم وبعض التحسن في مدى حركتهم" بعد استبدال مفصل الورك. لكن الناس يريدون أن يعرفوا ما الذي سيحدث لهم ، وليس "معظم الناس".

من الممكن الآن توفير هذه المعلومات لأن الكثير من المرضى السابقين شاركوا تجربتهم في الجراحة. هذا يعني أن الناس في إنجلترا يمكنهم الآن اتخاذ قرارات أكثر استنارة حول ما إذا كان لديهم عملية جراحية أم لا.

من المرجح أن يمضي معظم الناس في هذه العملية ، تجربة الماضي لمرضى مشابهين يقدمون الطمأنينة بأنهم سيشعرون بتحسن بعد ذلك. لكن بعض الناس قد يقرروا أن فرص التعافي لا تستحق المخاطرة ، وأن يقرروا عدم إجراء الجراحة. إن السماح للناس باتخاذ هذا القرار بأنفسهم أفضل من حرمان بعض الناس من الرعاية لمجرد أن مجموعات التكليف السريري قد فرضت مجموعة من قواعد التقنين على سكانها المحليين.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

أندرو ستريت ، أستاذ ، مركز اقتصاديات الصحة ، جامعة يورك ونيلس جوتكر ، زميل أبحاث ، مركز اقتصاديات الصحة ، جامعة يورك

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = After Surgery؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Find Out If You Will You Feel Better After Surgery

Find Out If You Will You Feel Better After Surgery

The financial crisis facing the NHS is starting to bite. Demand for NHS care is rising but funding per person is falling. This means that Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) – which are responsible for planning healthcare services for their local area – are receiving less money to pay for NHS care on behalf of their local populations. In order to balance the books, CCGs are tightening their rules about who can receive treatment.

In January, West Kent CCG said it would delay non-urgent operations until after April, hoping to save £3.2m. A few days earlier, three CCGs in the West Midlands announced they would start restricting hip or knee replacements only to patients in the most severe pain. The CCGs hope to reduce these operations by 350 a year, down from around 2000 in 2016. Similar action was taken in November by the Vale of York CCG.

These are just the first of many such decisions yet to come. Lacking funds, CCGs seem to have no choice but to ration NHS care. But is this the only option?

I wish I’d never had my operation

Most people who have surgery soon recover and feel much better afterwards. But not everyone. Some patients regret having surgery or take much longer to recover than they expected. If they’d known beforehand, perhaps they wouldn’t have had surgery in the first place. But how can they get this insight?

Traditionally, patients have relied on their doctors to advise them about how much better they will feel after surgery. But doctors don’t really know. This is because, until recently, the NHS has never asked patients about whether or not they feel better after they have had their operation.

This started to change in 2009, when England introduced the national Patient-Reported Outcome Measures, or PROMs programme. Since then all patients having hip replacement, knee replacement or groin hernia repair have been asked to fill in a health questionnaire before they have surgery and once again some months afterwards. By March 2015, nearly 800,000 patients had replied. By comparing each patient’s answers, we can find out how much better they felt after surgery.

This information is also valuable for anyone planning to have one of these operations. People thinking about having hip or knee replacement will want to know that they’ll feel better, if they’ll be able to walk without problems, get the shopping done and be free of pain. Now they can find out.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


How will I feel after surgery?

At the University of York’s Centre for Health Economics, we have developed a webtool based on the answers to the health questionnaires completed by patients. The webtool summarises how different patients felt after surgery, taking account of how they felt before surgery, how long they’d had health problems, and their age and gender.

Anyone thinking about having surgery can fill in the same simple health questionnaire. The webtool then matches these answers to similar patients who’ve had surgery before and summarises their experiences, showing how many felt better, worse or no different after surgery. The webtool also shows how many of these patients felt better in terms of walking about; pain; anxiety and depression; ability to wash and dress; and ability to carry out their usual activities.

It is also designed to be user-friendly and easily understandable. It only takes a moment to fill in and can be used during doctor visits or by patients and their families at home. It can be accessed from anywhere, so if you (or one of your friends or family members) are thinking of having hip, knee or hernia surgery, you can find out how you are likely to feel afterwards, based on what other people like you have said.

Helping patients make informed choices

Our webtool ensures that this information can be tailored to the particular characteristics of each person. Until now, such specific information has never been available to people thinking about having surgery. Doctors have been able to offer only vague guidance to patients about how people generally feel after surgery. Similarly, the NHS choices website says only that “most people experience a significant reduction in pain and some improvement in their range of movement” following hip replacement. But people want to know what will happen to them, not to “most people”.

It is now possible to provide this information because so many past patients have shared their experience of surgery. This means that people in England can now make more informed decisions about whether or not to have an operation.

Most people are likely to go ahead with the operation, the past experience of similar patients providing reassurance that they will feel better afterwards. But some people may decide their prospects of recovery are not worth the risk, and decide against having surgery. Allowing people to make this decision themselves is better than denying care to some people simply because Clinical Commissioning Groups have imposed a set of rationing rules on their local populations.The Conversation

About The Author

Andrew Street, Professor, Centre for Health Economics, University of York and Nils Gutacker, Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=After Surgery;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…