MacKenzie Bezos '17 مليار دولار تعهد تتصدر قائمة متزايدة من النساء إعطاء كبيرة

MacKenzie Bezos '17 مليار دولار تعهد تتصدر قائمة متزايدة من النساء إعطاء كبيرة

بعد فترة وجيزة من طلاقها من مؤسس أمازون ، أصبح جيف بيزوس أخيرًا ، وعدت ماكنزي بيزوس بمنح نصف أصولها على الأقل.

عن طريق الطلاق أغنى شخص في العالم ، و الروائي و محاسب سابق أصبح أغنى امرأة ثالثة في العالم وأغنى امرأة لتسجيل الدخول إعطاء تعهد، التزام بالتخلي عن الجزء الأكبر من ثروات كبيرة.

"لدي مبلغ غير متناسب من المال للمشاركة" ، قالت. "سأظل في ذلك حتى الخزنة فارغة."

التزام ماكينزي بيزوس بالتخلي عن نصف ثروتها على الأقل ، حوالي 17 مليار دولار أمريكي بدولارات اليوم ، يمثلها أكثر كرماً من زوجها السابق.

جيف بيزوس لم يوقع بعد التعهد. ولم يشر أبدًا إلى اهتمام كبير بإعطاء المليارات حتى أعلن الزوجان خططهما للتبرع 2 مليار دولار لمساعدة المشردين وتمويل شبكة من الحضانات في 2018.

MacKenzie Bezos هو الشعار الأكثر وضوحًا حتى الآن للاتجاه الخيري المهم. كعالم من العطاء من أجل النساءلقد درست كيف تتولى المتبرعات ذوات القيمة العالية زمام العطاء من أسرهن ، وفي كثير من الحالات ، رسم مسار الخاصة بهم من خلال العمل الخيري. حتى وقت قريب ، أبقى معظم ملفات التعريف الخاصة بهم منخفضة نسبيا.

العطاء بينما الأنثى

لا تزال بعض من أكبر المزيرات الإناث تميل إلى الظهور من قبل أزواجهن القائدات على الشركات. على الرغم من أن مؤسسة بيل وميليندا غيتس دأبت على الترويج لعملها كجهد مشترك للزوجين ، لم يكن الأمر كذلك ميليندا غيتس نشرت كتابها 2019 عن دورها القيادي في أن جهودها الشخصية لتمكين وتعليم النساء والفتيات في جميع أنحاء العالم اكتسبت مكانة بارزة.

وبالمثل، بريسيلا تشان، الطبيب المتزوج من مؤسس Facebook Mark Zuckerberg ، هو الذي يدير مبادرة الزوجين Chan Zuckerberg. أسسوا بهم شركة ذات مسؤولية محدودة في 2015 مع سهم Facebook ثم تبلغ قيمتها 45 مليار دولار. على عكس المؤسسة ، تسمح لهم شركة ذات مسؤولية محدودة بتقديم هدايا خيرية بالإضافة إلى الاستثمارات ، وكذلك الضغط على السياسيين والتبرع بهم.

تقوم لورين باول جوبز ، أرملة ستيف جوبز من شركة آبل ، بتمويل مجموعة متنوعة من الأسباب غير الهادفة للربح وتستثمر في مشاريع هادفة للربح من خلال كيانها المهيكل بطريقة مماثلة ، ايمرسون الجماعية.

جوان كروك، زوجة مؤسس ماكدونالدز راي كروك ، تولت العمل الخيري للزوجين بعد فترة قصيرة من زواجهما في 1969. شغلت منصب نائب رئيس المؤسسة العائلية لسنوات 25 ، لكن ذلك قلل من الثروة الشخصية التي ورثتها عندما ماتت راي في 1984 ، مما أعطى في نهاية المطاف أكثر من مليار 3 من خلال ممتلكاتها.

لكن بعض هؤلاء المانحين الكبار هم من النساء المصنّعات ذاتيا ، بما في ذلك الممثلة الترفيهية والممثلة أوبرا وينفري. سارة بلاكلي، مؤسس شركة Spanx للملابس الداخلية والملابس الداخلية ، كما وقعت Giving Pledge.

هذه ليست ظاهرة جديدة. منذ قرن من الزمان ، كانت النساء اللائي أصبحن أغنياء عن طريق الزواج أو الميراث - إلى جانب النساء اللائي كسبن ثروة من تلقاء أنفسهن - يردن بشكل كبير.

مارغريت أوليفيا سيج، على سبيل المثال ، أسست مؤسسة Russell Sage Foundation في 1907 بعد أن ورثت 75 مليون دولار - حوالي 2 مليار دولار بدولارات اليوم - من زوجها الشائع البؤس وركز على تطوير العلوم الاجتماعية والتعليم.

وكانت بعض أكبر مقدمي الإناث من النساء الملونات ، مؤكدة البحوث التي أجريت مؤخرا أن المرأة ذات الوسائل المتساوية تعطي عمومًا أكثر من نظرائها الذكور بغض النظر عن العرق والعرق.

مدام سي جيه ووكر، غالبًا ما تعتبر أول مليونير من صنع الأمة من بين الأولين رجال الأعمال الأمريكيين السود لتكديس ثروة كبيرة ، قدمت هدايا مهمة إلى NAACP والكنائس والكليات بعد كسب ثروة من خلال اختراع منتجات العناية بالشعر للسوق الأمريكية الأفريقية المحرومة.

الاختلافات بين الجنسين لا تزال قائمة

الرجال ، بالتأكيد ، لا يزال عدد النساء يفوق عددهن كمحسنات منفردين. بناءً على جداولي الخاصة ، فإن 6٪ فقط من الموقعين على Giving Pledge هم نساء يتعهدن بمفردهن ، مقابل 37٪ للرجال الذين يتعهدون بأنفسهم والأزواج 57٪ الذين يتعهدون معًا.

في الوقت نفسه ، تشارك النساء في حوالي 90٪ من الأسرة القرارات الخيرية، وفقا لمعهد المرأة الخيرية في جامعة إنديانا مدرسة ليلى الأسرة الخيرية. لقد وجد الباحثون في المعهد مرارًا وتكرارًا أن النساء العازبات يتبرعن عمومًا بأموال أكثر من الرجال غير المتزوجين ، مقارنة بثرواتهم ودخلهم ، وغالبًا ما يقدمونها لكل أنواع القضايا الخيرية تقريبًا.

وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أيضا الأخرى الاختلافات بين الجنسين في العطاء. النساء أكثر عرضة من الرجال لتقديم أسباب أكثر الإيثار مقابل المهتمين بالذات. وهم أقل اهتمامًا بالحصول على مباني أو برامج تحمل اسمهم مقابل الهدايا العملاقة. في بحثي الخاص ، شاركت النساء الأثرياء كيف يكونن الاستراتيجية في منحهم من خلال منح غير مقيدة ومتعددة السنوات ، وبشكل متزايد ، تطالب النساء بألقاب المحسن أو المستثمر أو حتى الناشطة المانحة حيث يستخدمون اعترافهم لتشجيع الآخرين على الانضمام إليهم.

جعل لها علامة

ماكينزي بيزوس لم تعلن بعد عن الأسباب التي ستمولها أو تشير إلى متى قد تفعل ذلك. قالت فيها: "إن مقاربتي للعمل الخيري ستظل مدروسة" إعطاء تعهد بيان. "سوف يستغرق بعض الوقت والجهد والرعاية".

بالإضافة إلى دعم الأطفال في سن ما قبل المدرسة ذوي الدخل المنخفض والمشردين بالاقتران مع زوجها السابق ، فقد جعلت القتال حتى الآن البلطجة أولوية كمؤسس ثورة بستنة - مجموعة تنتج مقاطع فيديو إبداعية.

إذا كانت مثل متبرعات أخريات لقد بحثت ، قد تدرس بيزوس أولاً الأسباب التي تهتم بها أو تتواصل مع متبرعين آخرين للتعرف على كيفية تقديمها بفعالية قبل تقديم أول هدية فردية كبيرة. بغض النظر عن السبب أو المبلغ ، سيتم النظر إليها كقائدة لإعطاء المرأة في جميع أنحاء العالم من الآن فصاعدًا.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

إليزابيث جيه ديل ، أستاذ مساعد في القيادة غير الربحية ، جامعة سياتل

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

MacKenzie Bezos' US$17 Billion Pledge Tops A Growing List Of Women Giving Big

MacKenzie Bezos' US$17 Billion Pledge Tops A Growing List Of Women Giving Big

Shortly after her divorce from Amazon founder Jeff Bezos became final, MacKenzie Bezos promised to give at least half of her assets away.

By divorcing the world’s richest person, the novelist and former accountant became the third-richest woman in the world and the wealthiest woman to sign onto the Giving Pledge, a commitment to give away the bulk of big fortunes.

“I have a disproportionate amount of money to share,” she declared. “I will keep at it until the safe is empty.”

MacKenzie Bezos’ commitment to give away at least half of her wealth, about US$17 billion in today’s dollars, marks her as more generous than her ex-husband.

Jeff Bezos has not yet signed the pledge. And he never signaled much interest in giving away billions until the couple jointly made public their plans to donate $2 billion to help the homeless and fund a network of preschools in 2018.

MacKenzie Bezos is the most visible emblem to date of an important philanthropic trend. As a scholar of giving by and for women, I’ve studied how high-net-worth female donors are taking the reins of their family’s giving and, in many cases, charting their own course through philanthropy. Until recently, most have kept their profiles relatively low.

Giving while female

Some of today’s biggest female givers still tend to be overshadowed by their corporate-leader husbands. Although the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation has always promoted its work as the couple’s joint effort, it wasn’t until Melinda Gates published her 2019 book about her leadership role that her personal efforts to empower and educate women and girls worldwide gained prominence.

Similarly, Priscilla Chan, the physician married to Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg, is the one running the couple’s Chan Zuckerberg Initiative. They founded their limited liability corporation in 2015 with Facebook stock then worth $45 billion. Unlike with a foundation, an LLC allows them to make charitable gifts as well as investments, as well as to lobby and donate to politicians.

Laurene Powell Jobs, widow of Apple’s Steve Jobs, also funds a variety of nonprofit causes and invests in for-profit ventures through her own similarly structured entity, Emerson Collective.

Joan Kroc, wife of McDonald’s founder Ray Kroc, took hold of the couple’s philanthropy shortly after they married in 1969. She served as vice chair of the family foundation for 25 years, but that dwarfed the personal wealth she inherited when Ray died in 1984, ultimately giving more than $3 billion away through her estate.

But some of these big donors are self-made women, including the entertainment mogul and actress Oprah Winfrey. Sara Blakely, founder of the Spanx underwear and lingerie company, has also signed the Giving Pledge.

This is hardly a new phenomenon. A century ago, women who became rich through marriage or inheritance were – along with women who earned wealth on their own – also giving back in a big way.

Margaret Olivia Sage, for example, founded the Russell Sage Foundation in 1907 after inheriting $75 million – about $2 billion in today’s dollars – from her notoriously stingy husband and focused on advancing social science and education.

Some of the biggest female givers have also been women of color, affirming recent research that women of equal means generally give more than their male counterparts regardless of race and ethnicity.

Madame C.J. Walker, often considered the nation’s first self-made female millionaire and among the first black American entrepreneurs to amass great wealth, made significant gifts to the NAACP, churches and colleges after making a fortune by inventing hair care products for the underserved African American market.

Gender differences persist

Men, to be sure, still outnumber women as solo philanthropists. Based on my own tabulations, just 6% of the Giving Pledge signatories are women pledging on their own, versus 37% for men pledging by themselves and 57% couples pledging together.

At the same time, women are involved in about 90% of household charitable decisions, according to the Women’s Philanthropy Institute at the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy. The institute’s scholars have repeatedly found that single women generally donate more money on average than single men, relative to their wealth and income, and are more likely to give to nearly every type of charitable cause.

Research has also shown other gender differences in giving. Women are more likely than men to give for more altruistic reasons versus self-interested ones. And they are less interested in having buildings or programs named after them in exchange for giant gifts. In my own research, wealthy women have shared how they are being strategic in their giving through unrestricted and multi-year grants, and increasingly, women are claiming the titles of philanthropist, investor or even donor activist as they use their recognition to encourage others to join them.

Making her mark

MacKenzie Bezos has not yet made public which causes she will fund or indicated when she might do that. “My approach to philanthropy will continue to be thoughtful,” she said in her Giving Pledge statement. “It will take time and effort and care.”

In addition to supporting low-income preschool-age children and the homeless in conjunction with her ex-husband, so far she has made fighting bullying a priority as the founder of Bystander Revolution – a group that produces creative videos.

If she’s like other female donors I’ve researched, Bezos might first study up on the causes she cares about or network with other donors to learn about how to give effectively before making her first solo big gift. Regardless of the cause or the amount, she will be seen as a leader of women’s giving worldwide from now on.The Conversation

About The Author

Elizabeth J. Dale, Assistant Professor of Nonprofit Leadership, Seattle University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}