الرضا: تذكرة باتجاه واحد للهلاك

الرضا: تذكرة باتجاه واحد للهلاك
الصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان

ملاحظة محرر InnerSelf: في حين أن هذه المقالة موجهة للإبداع في الأعمال التجارية ، يمكن تطبيق مبادئها على امتلاك عقلية إبداعية في حياتك الشخصية وكذلك في حياتك المهنية.

إنه لأمر مدهش عدد الشركات التي تقع في حالة من الرضا عن أقل قدر من النجاح. ربتوا أنفسهم على ظهورهم بأدنى قدر من الإنجاز ثم التسابق بأسرع ما يمكن لعدم فعل أي شيء. اختيار عدم القيام بشيء واحد يمكن أن يؤثر على نمو الشركة في المستقبل. لا تتحرك شبر واحد. فكر في كوداك. كانوا يعملون في مجال التصوير الفوتوغرافي وكان لدى الموظف فكرة لرقمنة الصور - ومع ذلك لم يتم أخذ هذه الفكرة على محمل الجد لأن القيادة كانت عالقة في الماضي.

تضع الشركات في جميع أنحاء العالم افتراضات غبية حول المستقبل بناءً على الماضي. يعتقد القادة أنه "إذا كانت الإيرادات X في العام الماضي ، فلا بد أن نكون مستهدفين لتحقيق X في العام المقبل!" أو "لقد استقطبنا أفضل المواهب في الربع الأول ، لذا سيستمر الربع الثاني في جذب أفضل المواهب أيضًا!" لكن الواقع هو أننا إذا حددنا النجاح على أنه دائمًا ما ينمو ويتطور ويصل إلى آفاق جديدة ويوسع بصمتنا من حيث الإيرادات والأرباح والتحول ، فإن النظر إلى الماضي هو آخر شيء تريد القيام به.

أخطأ كوداك في فهم الصور الرقمية. وربما الأهم من ذلك ، ما الذي يمكنك تعلمه من أخطائهم للتأكد من عدم حدوثها في حياتك المهنية أو عملك. الموضوع المشترك والأساسي هو الرضا عن النفس. والرضا عن النفس له تأثير على كل من الإبداع والنتيجة النهائية. إنها حقًا قلعة مصنوعة من الرمال وتتجاهل المد الذي يبعد بضع بوصات.

الرضا: تذكرة باتجاه واحد للهلاك

الأعمال المبنية على افتراضات سامية بأن العالم سيظل ثابتًا وأن نجاحنا المستقبلي مضمون سينتهي به المطاف خارج نطاق العمل. الرضا عن النفس هو تذكرة ذهاب فقط للموت. رحلة حمقاء تظهر من الخارج بسهولة يمكن تجنبها ، ولكن من الداخل تسحب بعض عمالقة الصناعة. سننظر في ما يحدث عندما يتولى الرضا والرضا ويموت الإبداع.

يظهر الرضا عن النفس عادة في ثلاث نكهات مختلفة أسميها الإنذار المبكر والمبيعات الاستغلالية و شلل الاختيار. لأنه بغض النظر عن نكهة الرضا عن الذات ، عندما يموت الإبداع داخل الشركة أو المهنة ، فإن نهايتك النهائية سرعان ما تتحول إلى حجر. دعونا نلقي نظرة على شركة خرجت من العمل ولماذا أدت إحدى نكهات التهاون الثلاثة المتميزة إلى زوالها.

دراسة حالة رقم 1: مشروع ألعاب يمكن التعلم منه

كانت شركة Toys-R-Us ذات يوم شركة مزدهرة. يمكن لأي شخص كان طفلاً في الثمانينيات وأوائل التسعينيات أن يتذكر أن زيارته إلى Toys-R-Us كانت واحدة من أكثر أوقات الطفولة خصوصية. كان متجرًا مليئًا بالألعاب من جميع الأنواع. لا شبر لتجنيب. الدمى وألعاب الفيديو والدراجات والمعجون السخيف وألعاب الطاولة وسيارات التحكم عن بعد وكل لعبة أخرى يمكن تخيلها. كانت مثل أرض الخيال للأطفال.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بدأ شركة Toys R Us على يد تشارلز لازاروس عام 1948 كمتجر لأثاث الأطفال. عندما بدأ تشارلز في إضافة المزيد والمزيد من الألعاب إلى متجر الأثاث ، وجد أن العملاء يأتون لشراء الألعاب وليس لشراء الأثاث. وبعد عدة سنوات من رؤية هذا الاتجاه ، فإن ما نجح بشكل جيد لم يعد كافياً. لماذا بدأت Toys R Us في التعثر وماذا يمكن أن نتعلم من حالة الرضا عن النفس هذه؟ لنلقي نظرة...

علامة الرضا رقم 1: الإنذار المبكر

كل تغيير وظيفي أو عمل سيشير إلى ما أحب أن أسميه الإنذار المبكر. إنها إشارة تحذير من نوع ما تحدث تشير إلى حدوث تغيير وشيك. أحيانًا يأتي التغيير دفعة واحدة ، وأحيانًا تكون آلية بطيئة الحركة. ومع ذلك ، في جميع الحالات ، تحدث إشارة تحذير مبكر وتتمثل مهمتك في رؤيتها والاستماع إليها والشعور بها والتعرف عليها بأي طريقة أخرى.

قاد تويز آر أص السيارة أثناء النظر في مرآة الرؤية الخلفية. كانت وراء Toys R Us سنوات وسنوات من النمو وسجل حافل من المبيعات الرائعة التي تضمنت هوامش جيدة وأرباح وردية. لذلك تركوا هذه الرؤية الخلفية عمياء لما كان أمامهم. لم يدركوا الإنذار المبكر الذي كان يحدث من حولهم.

بالنسبة إلى Toys R Us ، كان أول تحذير مبكر هو أن الإنترنت قد بدأ في الظهور في أواخر التسعينيات. وبحلول أوائل عام 90 ، نشتري الألعاب كجزء من رحلة تسوق أكبر لتجار التجزئة الآخرين مثل Walmart أو Target. وكانت متاجر ألعاب جديدة تفتح عبر الإنترنت - بما في ذلك أمازون. لم يكن لدى الأشخاص المزيد من الخيارات الآن فحسب ، بل أصبح لديهم أيضًا خيارات أكثر ملاءمة. وعلى الرغم من أن شركة Toys R US رأت أن بيع الألعاب عبر الإنترنت سيكون قريبًا موجة المستقبل ، إلا أنها لم تفعل شيئًا حيال ذلك لأنهم شعروا بالرضا. لقد اختاروا حرفياً عدم فعل أي شيء حيال الإنذار المبكر الذي يحدث في كل مكان حولهم.

التحذير المبكر الثاني الذي لم تستمع إليه Toys R Us هو أن معظم متاجر البيع بالتجزئة بدأت في التحرك نحو التجارب المنسقة. التجربة المنسقة هي بيئة بيع بالتجزئة حيث يمكن في الواقع لمس المنتجات والشعور بها وتجربتها بشكل مباشر. تم إخراجها من العبوة ومن على الرف ، وهي مساحة بيع بالتجزئة حيث يمكن أن تظهر المنتجات في الحياة.

بالنسبة لمتاجر الألعاب ، كان الأطفال قادرين على اللعب بالألعاب والمنتجات خارج الصندوق - والسماح لهم بالضغط على الأزرار واللعب باللعبة ومعرفة ما إذا كانوا يحبونها. أيضًا ، بدأ تجار التجزئة في إنشاء مناطق للتجارب مثل مناطق الأبطال الخارقين أو Storytime Hour لخلق أسباب أخرى للتواجد في متجر بخلاف الشراء. وبينما تكيفت بعض السلاسل ، توقفت شركة Toys R Us عن العمل دون سبب آخر سوى أنها شعرت بالرضا وعدم تمكنها من قراءة التحذيرات المبكرة المتعددة.

ما هو إنذارك المبكر؟

إذن ما الذي يقترب في حياتك المهنية أو عملك من تحول أو تغيير في الطريقة التي يتم بها دائمًا؟ ما هو إنذارك المبكر؟ سيكون هذا خاصًا جدًا بقطاع حياتك المهنية أو مجال عملك ، وهو موجود لمعرفة ما إذا اخترت رؤيته فقط.

للانتباه ، يجب أن تنظر إلى ما يفعله السوق ولا تفترض أنك محصن. لا تشعر بالراحة لدرجة أنك لا تستطيع رؤية ما يفعله الآخرون. ألقِ نظرة على عملك ككل واكتشف ما إذا كان هناك أشخاص يقومون بالأشياء بطريقة مختلفة. هل هناك تحول في بعض التفاصيل الدقيقة لكيفية تقديم المنتج أو الخدمة؟ مستهلك؟ أو شراؤها؟ حتى الاختلاف الطفيف يمكن أن يشير إلى تحذير مبكر. هل يستخدم الناس المنتج أو الخدمة بطريقة جديدة ومختلفة؟

وأنا أفهم ذلك - إن الراحة في البحث عن إجابات للماضي أمر سهل. ولكن لكي تحفز الإبداع ، يجب أن تخرج من الأمس إلى الغد. وانظر بعناية شديدة إلى ما يدور حولك. ما الذي أمامك مباشرة يشير إلى التحذير المبكر من التغيير القادم الذي يمكنك التكيف معه بشكل خلاق؟

مقتبسة بإذن من عقلية المنشئ: 92 أداة لكشف أسرار الابتكار والنمو والاستدامة بقلم نير باشان ، ص. 157-161 (McGraw Hill، أغسطس 2020)

المادة المصدر

عقلية المنشئ: 92 أداة لكشف أسرار الابتكار والنمو والاستدامة
بواسطة نير باشان

عقلية المبدع: 92 أداة لكشف أسرار الابتكار والنمو والاستدامة بقلم نير باشانالإبداع هو العنصر المفقود بالنسبة للكثير منا ممن يشعرون أننا لا نصل إلى إمكاناتنا الإبداعية (أو يشكون في أننا نمتلكها في المقام الأول). في عقلية الخالق، يستمد نير باشان سنوات من الخبرة في مجال الإعلان ، والترفيه ، والاستشارات ، والكلام الرئيسي ، والتعليم ليوضح لك كيفية استخدام الإبداع كأداة لصنع القرار ، ويفعل ذلك بثقة كما تستخدم جداول البيانات وتحليل البيانات. يزيل المؤلف الغموض عن عملية شحذ هذه القدرة. إذا شعرت يومًا بالإرهاق من النصائح الغامضة لـ "التفكير خارج الصندوق" ، عقلية الخالق يمكن أن يساعدك في وضعك على مسار مثبت لتسخير أفضل الأفكار وأكثرها إبداعًا ، والشعور بالثقة في أنك تؤدي إلى أقصى إمكاناتك - بشكل تحليلي وإبداعي.

لمزيد من المعلومات ، أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

عن المؤلف

نير باشان ، المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Creator Mindset LLCنير باشان هو المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Creator Mindset LLC ، حيث يعلم قادة الأعمال كيفية تسخير قوة الإبداع لتحسين الربحية وزيادة المبيعات وجعل العمل أكثر جدوى. من بين عملائه AT&T و Microsoft و Ace Hardware و NFL Network و EA Sports و JetBlue. حصل على جائزة Clio وترشيح Emmy لعمله الإبداعي في الألبومات والأفلام والإعلانات ، وكان من أصغر الأساتذة الذين تم اختيارهم على الإطلاق لتدريس دورات الدراسات العليا في Art Center College of Design في باسادينا. يعيش في أورلاندو بولاية فلوريدا. تعلم اكثر من خلال نيرباشان

فيديو / مقابلة مع نير باشان: كيف نتعامل مع الإبداع كعملية

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لشفاء حياتنا ، روحيا وعاطفيا ، أيضا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.

Complacency: A One-Way Ticket To Doom

Complacency: A One-Way Ticket To Doom
Image by Gerd Altmann

InnerSelf Editor Note: While this article is geared to creativity in business, its principles can be applied to having a creativity mindset in your personal life as well as in your career.

It’s amazing how many companies fall into complacency on just the tiniest shred of success. Patting themselves on the back at the smallest bit of accomplishment and then racing as fast as possible to do nothing. Choosing not to do even one thing that can affect the growth of the company for tomorrow. Not moving an inch. Think of Kodak. They were in the photo business and an employee had an idea to digitize photos—and yet this idea was never taken seriously because leadership was stuck in the past.

Business all around the world make stupid assumptions about the future based on the past. Leaders think “if the revenue was X last year, then we must be on target to do X next year!” or “we attracted top talent in Q1, so Q2 will continue to attract top talent as well!” But the reality is if we define success as always growing, developing, reaching new heights, and expanding our footprint in terms of revenue, profit, and transformation, then looking at the past is the last thing you want to do.

Kodak got it wrong about digital photos. And perhaps most importantly, what you can learn from their mistakes to make sure they don’t occur in your career or business. The common and underling theme is complacently. And complacency has an impact on both creativity and the bottom line. It’s truly a castle made of sand ignoring the tide which is mere inches away.

Complacency: A One-Way Ticket To Doom

Businesses that are built on lofty assumptions that the world will remain constant and our future success is assured will end up out of business. Complacency is a one-way ticket to doom. A foolish journey that appears from the outside so easily avoided, yet from the inside pulls down some giants of industry. We will look at what happens when complacency takes over and creativity dies.

Complacency usually manifests in three distinct flavors I call The Early Warning, Exploitative Sales, and Paralysis of Choice. Because no matter what flavor of complacency occurs, when creativity dies within a company or career, your eventual end is soon cast in stone. Let’s take a look at a company that has gone out of business and why one of my three distinct flavors of complacency ultimately led to their demise.

Case Study 1: A Toy Business to Learn From

Toys-R-Us was once a thriving business. Anyone who was a kid in the 80’s and early 90’s can remember that a visit to Toys-R-Us was one of the most special times of childhood. It was a store that was packed with toys of all kinds. Not an inch to spare. Dolls, video games, bikes, Silly Putty, board games, remote control cars, and just about every other toy imaginable. It was like a fantasy land for kids.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Toys R Us was started by Charles Lazarus in 1948 as a baby furniture store. As Charles began to add more and more toys to the furniture store, he found that customers were coming in for toys, not to buy furniture. And after several years of seeing this trend, what worked so well was no longer enough. Why was Toys R Us beginning to falter and what can we learn from this particular case of complacency? Let’s take a look...

Complacency Sign #1: The Early Warning

Every career or business change will signal what I like to call The Early Warning. It is a warning signal of some sort that occurs indicating imminent change. Sometimes the change comes all at once, sometimes it’s a slow-moving mechanism. Yet in all cases there is an Early Warning signal that occurs and it’s your job to see it, listen to it, feel it, and otherwise recognize it.

Toys R Us drove the car while looking into the rear-view mirror. Behind Toys R Us were years and years of growth and a track record of impressive sales that included healthy margins and rosy earnings. So they let this rear-view blind what was in front of them. They did not perceive The Early Warning which was occurring all around them.

For Toys R Us, the first Early Warning was that the Internet was beginning to take shape in the late 90’s. And by the early 2000’s people we buying toys as part of a larger shopping trip to other retailers such as Walmart or Target.  And new toyshops were opening up online – including Amazon. People not only had more options now, but more convenient ones too. And, even though Toys R US saw that the sale of toys online would soon be the wave of the future, they did nothing about it because they got complacent. They literally chose to do nothing about the Early Warning happening all around them.

The second Early Warning that Toys R Us had not listened to was that most retail stores started moving toward curated experiences. A curated experience is a retail space environment where products could be actually touched, felt and experienced first-hand. Taken out of the packaging and off the shelf, this is a retail space where products could come to life.

For toys stores, children were able to play with toys and products out of the box -- letting them push the buttons, play with the toy and see for themselves if they liked them. Also, retailers we beginning to make areas for experiences such as Superhero Zones or Storytime Hour to create other reasons to be at a store other than a purchase. And while some chains adapted, Toys R Us went out of business for no other reason than because they got complacent and could not read their multiple The Early Warnings.

What Is Your Early Warning?

So what in your career or business is approaching a shift or change in the way it has always been done? What is your Early Warning? This will be very specific to your career sector or business field, and it is out there to see only if you choose to see it.

To pay attention, you must look at what the market is doing and don’t assume that you are immune. Don’t get so comfortable that you cannot see what others are doing. Take a look at your business as a whole and see if there are folks doing things a different way. Is there a shift in some subtleties of how the product or service is being delivered? Consumed? Or purchased? Even a slight difference can signal an Early Warning. Are folks using the product or service in a new and different way?

And I get it – the comfort of looking to the past for answers is easy. But in order to spark creativity, you must move out of yesterday and into tomorrow. And look very carefully at what is going on around you. What is directly in front of you signaling The Early Warning of coming change that you can adapt to creatively?

Excerpted with permission from The Creator Mindset: 92 Tools to Unlock the Secrets to Innovation, Growth, and Sustainability by Nir Bashan, p. 157-161 (McGraw Hill, August 2020)

Article Source

The Creator Mindset: 92 Tools to Unlock the Secrets to Innovation, Growth, and Sustainability
by Nir Bashan

The Creator Mindset: 92 Tools to Unlock the Secrets to Innovation, Growth, and Sustainability by Nir BashanCreativity is the missing ingredient for far too many of us who feel we’re not reaching our creative potential (or doubt we have it in the first place). In The Creator Mindset, Nir Bashan draws from years of experience in advertising, entertainment, consulting, keynote speaking, and teaching to show you how to use creativity as a decision-making tool, and do so every bit as confidently as you use spreadsheets and data analysis. The author demystifies the process of sharpening this ability. If you’ve ever felt overwhelmed by vague advice to “think outside the box,” The Creator Mindset can help put you on a proven track to harnessing your best, most creative ideas, and feel confident you’re performing to your fullest potential―analytically and creatively.

For more info, or to order this book, click here. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

About the Author

Nir Bashan, founder and CEO of The Creator Mindset LLCNir Bashan is the founder and CEO of The Creator Mindset LLC, where he teaches business leaders how to harness the power of creativity to improve profitability, increase sales, and make work more meaningful. His clients include AT&T, Microsoft, Ace Hardware, NFL Network, EA Sports, and JetBlue. He received a Clio Award and an Emmy nomination for his creative work on albums, movies, and advertisements, and was one of the youngest professors ever selected to teach graduate courses at the Art Center College of Design in Pasadena. He lives in Orlando, Florida. Learn more at NirBashan.com

Video/Interview with Nir Bashan: How To Treat Creativity As A Process

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to carve our own path and to heal our lives, spiritually…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…