العمل من المنزل: ماذا يقول البحث عن تحديد الحدود ، والبقاء منتجة ، وإعادة تشكيل المدن

العمل من المنزل: ماذا يقول البحث عن تحديد الحدود ، والبقاء منتجة ، وإعادة تشكيل المدن
(ماني بانتوجا / Unsplash)

منذ مارس 2020 ، أجبر جائحة الفيروس التاجي الملايين من الموظفين في أمريكا على بدء العمل من المنزل. قبل الوباء ، كان 2.5٪ من موظفي الولايات المتحدة يعملون بدوام كامل ، بالنسبة الى بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي في أتلانتا. الآن ، كل شخص تقريبًا يمكنه العمل عن بعد يفعل ذلك.

يتوقع بعض الاقتصاديين أن تظل نسبة الأشخاص الذين يعملون بدوام كامل مرتفعًا حتى بعد انتهاء الجائحة. قمنا بجمع مجموعة متنوعة من الأبحاث لمعالجة الأسئلة الكبيرة التي يواجهها أصحاب العمل والموظفون والمدن في الوقت الذي ينظر فيه موظفو مكتب أمريكا في مستقبل العمل من المنزل.

يشير البحث إلى وجود لا يوجد حجم واحد يناسب الجميع النهج عندما يتعلق الأمر بترتيبات العمل عن بعد. يواجه الجميع العمل عن بعد الآن تحديات ، من رعاية الأطفال إلى التكيف مع التعاون الافتراضي مع زملاء العمل. بعض الناس سيكونون أكثر إنتاجية في العمل من المنزل ، وبعضهم أقل.

أحد الثوابت في الأدبيات الأكاديمية هو أن نوع العمل مهم عندما يتعلق الأمر بما إذا كانت ترتيبات العمل عن بعد ناجحة. الأشخاص الذين لديهم وظائف معقدة يمكن إجراؤها بشكل مستقل أفضل بشكل عام من أولئك الذين لديهم وظائف أقل تعقيدًا تتطلب تفاعلًا مكثفًا مع الزملاء.

من المهم أن تتذكر أن معظم الوظائف لا يمكن القيام بها في المنزل ، وعشرات الملايين من العمال لديهم مؤقتًا أو بشكل دائم فقدت وظائفهم - على أية حال استعاد الاقتصاد 2.5 مليون وظيفة في مايو. ما يقدر بنحو 37٪ من الوظائف في الولايات المتحدة تساعد على العمل عن بعد ، بالنسبة الى تحليل من الاقتصاديين في جامعة شيكاغو جوناثان دينجل و برنت نيمان.

جوجل وفيسبوك هما رب عملان رئيسيان وقد قال أن يخطط الموظفون للعمل عن بعد حتى عام 2020. تويتر أخبر إذا كان بإمكانهم العمل عن بعد ويريدون الاستمرار في العمل عن بعد ، يمكنهم "القيام بذلك إلى الأبد".

من المرجح أن تتوسع ترتيبات العمل من المنزل إلى ما وراء عالم التكنولوجيا - وما وراء الوباء. يتوقع التنفيذيون في حوالي 1,750 شركة من مجموعة متنوعة من الصناعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد 10 ٪ من الموظفين بدوام كامل للعمل عن بعد كل يوم عمل بعد انتهاء الوباء ، بالنسبة الى مسح مايو الشهري من قبل خبراء الاقتصاد في اتلانتا بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي وجامعة ستانفورد وجامعة شيكاغو. ويتوقع المسؤولون التنفيذيون أن 30٪ من القوى العاملة لديهم للعمل عن بعد يوم واحد على الأقل في الأسبوع بعد الوباء ، أي ثلاثة أضعاف معدل 10٪ من قبل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تابع القراءة لمعرفة ما يقوله البحث عن إنتاجية الموظفين وتحديد الحدود أثناء العمل في المنزل ، وكيف يمكن للعمل الجماعي عن بعد أن يحول المدن - وأكثر من ذلك.

لقد اختلط عملي وحياتي المنزلية تمامًا. كيف يمكنني وضع حدود؟

إنها واحدة من أكبر الأسئلة للعمال الذين يتوجهون إلى العمل عن بعد بدوام كامل - خاصة أولئك الذين يرعون الأطفال في نفس الوقت. يمكن أن يوفر البحث الأكاديمي التوجيه لتحقيق التوازن.

بالنسبة للورقة "استراتيجيات العمل عن بعد الناجحة: كيف يدير الموظفون الفعالون حدود العمل / المنزل، "من يونيو 2016 في المراجعة الاستراتيجية للموارد البشرية, كيلي باسيلي و T. الكسندرا بوريجارد أجرى 40 مقابلة متعمقة مع أشخاص يعملون عن بعد بدوام كامل أو بدوام جزئي في منظمة ليس لديها ثقافة ساعات العمل الطويلة. باسيل أستاذ مساعد في الإدارة بكلية إيمانويل. Beauregard هو قارئ في علم النفس التنظيمي في جامعة بيربيك ، جامعة لندن.

كتب باسيلي وبوريجارد: "عندما تحدث أنشطة العمل والمنزل في نفس المساحة المادية ، يمكن أن تصبح الحدود الجسدية والزمنية والنفسية بين العمل والمنزل غير واضحة".

يستخدم العمال الذين قابلواهم استراتيجيات جسدية وسلوكية وتواصلية لوضع الحدود. على سبيل المثال ، بعد انتهاء يوم عملهم ، كان للعاملين عن بعد بدوام كامل مع مساحة مخصصة للمكاتب في المنزل وقتًا أسهل في تكريس اهتمامهم الكامل للمسؤوليات غير المتعلقة بالعمل ، مقارنةً بمن ليس لديهم مكتب منزلي.

العاملون عن بعد المسؤولون عن المسؤوليات الأخرى ، مثل المشي في كلب أو رعاية الأطفال بعد المدرسة ، لديهم حدود أقوى في العمل والمنزل من تلك التي تخضع للمساءلة فقط تجاه أنفسهم. كما ساعدت بعض السلوكيات الروتينية ، مثل إغلاق جهاز كمبيوتر في نهاية اليوم ، أو إيقاف تشغيل الرنين على هاتف العمل ، في إنشاء الحدود. كان أولئك الذين لديهم أطفال أو أزواج في المنزل خلال وقت العمل عن بعد أكثر نجاحًا عندما تواصلوا بوضوح وثبات أنهم بحاجة إلى يوم عملهم ليكون خاليًا من ضوضاء وانقطاع الأسرة.

كتب باسيل وبوريجارد: "في المنظمات التي تعد فيها الاتصالات بعد ساعات العمل والاجتماعات المبكرة والعمل في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع هي القاعدة ، فإن الموظفين الذين يفضلون التقسيم سيجدون صعوبة في إنشاء حدود بين العمل والوقت الشخصي والحفاظ عليها". إنه موضوع آخر في جميع أنحاء الأدبيات الأكاديمية: سواء كان العمل عن بعد للموظفين الأفراد يعتمد على ثقافة الشركة.

ل"نحو فهم إدارة العمال عن بعد لحدود العمل والأسرة: تعقيد دمج مكان العمل، "من ديسمبر 2015 في إدارة المجموعة والمنظمة, كيمبرلي إدلستون و جاي مولكي أجرى 52 مقابلة مع موظفي المبيعات والخدمات من جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة الذين عملوا من المنزل بدوام كامل. إيدلستون أستاذ ريادة الأعمال والابتكار في جامعة نورث إيسترن ، وملكي أستاذ مشارك في التسويق هناك.

عمل العديد ممن أجريت معهم المقابلات في المنظمات حيث كان من الشائع العمل أكثر من 40 ساعة في الأسبوع ، وأحيانًا خارج ساعات العمل العادية. على الرغم من أن المقابلات كانت متعمقة ، يحذر المؤلفون من أنه نظرًا لأن العينة صغيرة ، لا يمكن تعميم نتائجهم على السكان الأوسع.

ومع ذلك ، تشير النتائج إلى وجود فجوة في العمل عن بعد بين الرجال والنساء. حوالي 62٪ ممن أجريت معهم المقابلات كانوا من النساء. بعض النساء حصلن على مزايا - قضين الوقت مع أسرهن مع القدرة على الابتعاد عن المواعيد النهائية العاجلة. لكن أكثر من نصف النساء العاملات عن بعد - مقارنة بعشر الرجال فقط - أفادن أن أزواجهن لا يحترمن الحدود بين العمل والأسرة. قالت إحدى السيدات للباحثين: "كما تعلم ، أنا مشتت بحياتي الخاصة". "إنه يتعارض مع حياتي المهنية."

مع حدة تنطبق على عصر اليوم من الانتشار الواسع للعمل عن بعد لفيروسات التاجية ، كتب Eddleston و Mulki أنه "يجب على المنظمات تثقيف العمال عن بعد حول الحاجة إلى وضع حدود بين العمل والأسرة ، وتدريب هؤلاء العمال على مقاومة الإغراءات لأداء أنشطة العمل خلال وقت الأسرة."

كيف يؤثر العمل عن بعد على إنتاجية العمال؟

عشرات الملايين من الأمريكيين عاطل عن العمل بسبب الفيروس التاجي الجديد ، وتظهر بيانات من مكتب إحصاءات العمل إنتاجية العمل إلى حد كبير. يعرّف BLS إنتاجية العمل بأنها "مقياس للأداء الاقتصادي يقارن كمية السلع والخدمات المنتجة (الناتج) مع عدد ساعات العمل لإنتاج هذه السلع والخدمات."

بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا يزال لديهم وظائف ويعملون عن بعد ، يمكن أن تعتمد الإنتاجية على الدافع الشخصي ونوع العمل والبيئة المنزلية. تشير الأبحاث إلى أن الأشخاص الذين يعملون من المنزل يمكن أن يكونوا بشكل عام منتجين مثل سكان المكاتب.

في واحد استشهد على نطاق واسع ورقة نوفمبر 2014 في ال فصلية مجلة الاقتصادووجد الباحثون أن العاملين في مراكز الاتصال في وكالة سفر صينية كبيرة تم تعيينهم بشكل عشوائي للعمل من منازلهم لمدة أربعة أيام في الأسبوع لمدة تسعة أشهر زادوا الأداء بنسبة 13٪ مقارنة بمن بقيوا في المكتب. كما انخفض الاستنزاف إلى النصف بين العاملين عن بعد. لاحظ المؤلفون أن "وظيفة موظف مركز الاتصال مناسبة بشكل خاص للعمل عن بعد. لا يتطلب العمل الجماعي ولا الحضور الشخصي. " تطلب الشركة عاملين عن بعد في المكتب يومًا واحدًا في الأسبوع للتدريب على المنتجات والخدمات الجديدة.

في "هل العاملين عن بعد مواطنون جيدون عن بعد؟"من مايو 2014 في علم نفس الموظفين ، رافي جاجيندران, ديفيد هاريسون و كيلي ديلاني ‐ كلينجر استطلعت 323 موظفًا من مختلف الصناعات ، بما في ذلك التكنولوجيا والبنوك والرعاية الصحية والتصنيع. جاجيندران أستاذ مشارك في الإدارة بجامعة فلوريدا الدولية. هاريسون أستاذ الإدارة في جامعة تكساس ، أوستن. ديلاني كلينجر أستاذ مشارك في الإدارة بجامعة ويسكونسن وايتووتر.

حوالي 37 ٪ من العينة كان لديهم ترتيب للعمل عن بعد ، مع 80 ٪ من العاملين عن بعد يعملون من المنزل. وجد الباحثون ارتباطًا بين العمل عن بعد وتقييمات الأداء الوظيفي الأعلى من المشرفين. يقترحون أن الأداء العالي بين العاملين عن بعد له علاقة باكتشافهم أن العاملين عن بعد يعتقدون أن لديهم استقلالية أكثر من المسافرين العاديين.

"علاوة على ذلك ، من المرجح أن يتأثر الاستقلالية المتصورة بكثافة العمل عن بعد - فكلما كان العمل عن بعد أكثر شمولاً ، كلما زاد تقدير السلطة التقديرية للموظفين حول مكان العمل ومتى يعملون" ، اكتب Gajendran و Harrison و Delaney-Klinger.

يمكن أن تكون ترتيبات العمل من أي مكان أفضل للإنتاجية من العمل من المنزل ، اعتمادًا على نوع العمل. هذا وفقًا لـ "العمل من أي مكان: آثار الإنتاجية للمرونة الجغرافية، "كلية إدارة الأعمال بجامعة هارفارد ورقة عمل بقلم بريثويراج تشودري ، سيروس فوروغي وباربرا لارسون ، تم إصدارهما في ديسمبر 2019. تفترض ترتيبات العمل من المنزل أن الموظفين يعيشون قريبين بما يكفي للذهاب إلى المكتب بضعة أيام في الأسبوع ، أو حسب الحاجة ، وفقًا للمؤلفين. تتيح ترتيبات العمل من أي مكان للموظفين العمل عن بُعد وبدنيًا بعيدًا عن مكاتب مؤسستهم.

يستغل المؤلفون تجربة طبيعية في مكتب الولايات المتحدة للبراءات والعلامات التجارية ، حيث أطلق ممثلو الإدارة والنقابات في عام 2012 سياسة العمل من أي مكان. كان الطرح متداخلاً ، لذلك انتقل الموظفون في أوقات مختلفة من العمل في المكتب ، إلى العمل من المنزل ، إلى العمل من أي مكان. وجد المؤلفون أن فاحصي البراءات الذين يعملون من أي مكان كانوا أكثر إنتاجية بنسبة 4.4٪ من الفاحصين الذين يعملون من المنزل. كان لدى جميع الممتحنين سنتان على الأقل في العمل.

كتب Choudhury و Foroughi و Larson: "ينتقل الفاحصون [من العمل من أي مكان] إلى مواقع تكلفة المعيشة الأقل ونبلغنا عن وجود علاقة بين الانتقال إلى موقع تكلفة المعيشة والإنتاجية أقل من المتوسط". لاحظوا وجود اثنين من القيود: تركز دراستهم على منظمة واحدة ، ولا يعتمد فاحصو البراءات ، بشكل عام ، على تفاعل زملاء العمل لأداء وظائفهم.

يمكن أن تسمح ترتيبات العمل المرنة لبعض العمال الأكبر سنا بالعمل لفترة أطول ، إذا أرادوا ذلك. هذا وفقا ل ورقة يناير 2020 في ال المجلة الاقتصادية الأمريكية: الاقتصاد الكلي. أجرى المؤلفون مسحًا على 2,772 من عملاء شركة Vanguard Group ، وهي شركة استثمارية. كان عمر المشاركين 55 عامًا على الأقل مع 10,000 دولار على الأقل في حساباتهم في فانجارد. تؤدي العينة إلى انحراف أكثر ثراءً وصحةً وأكثر تعليماً من السكان الوطنيين.

وجد الباحثون أن "الرغبة في العمل تكون أقوى عندما توفر الوظائف اختيارًا مرنًا لساعات العمل". "الأفراد على استعداد لاتخاذ تخفيضات كبيرة في الأرباح للحصول على ساعة من المرونة."

لن تفوتني علاقات المكتب وفرص التعاون؟

الثابت في الأدبيات هو أن نجاح العمل عن بعد أم لا يعتمد على نوع العمل. دراسة واحدة، تم نشره في فبراير 2018 في ال مجلة الأعمال وعلم النفسأجرت مسحًا على 273 عاملاً عن بعد ومشرفين من شركة لديها برنامج للعمل عن بعد التطوعي. وجد المؤلفون أن العاملين عن بعد الذين لديهم وظائف معقدة لديهم أداء وظيفي أفضل من العاملين عن بعد في وظائف أقل تعقيدًا ، "وزاد أداءهم مع ارتفاع مستويات العمل عن بعد"

ثم هناك شخصيات فردية. على سبيل المثال ، قد يفوت الشخص المنصرف الصداقة الحميمة في المكتب ، بينما قد يستمتع الانطوائي بزوال أحاديث مبرد المياه. في "الابتعاد عنهم جميعًا: إدارة الاستنفاد من التفاعل الاجتماعي مع العمل عن بعد، "من فبراير 2017 في مجلة السلوك التنظيمي, خايمي ويندلر, كاثرين شودوبا و روي صاندرب تجد أن العمل عن بعد بدوام جزئي أتاح للعمال المنهكين فرصة للتعافي.

Windeler هو أستاذ مشارك لتحليلات الأعمال في جامعة سينسيناتي. تشودوبا أستاذ مشارك في نظم المعلومات الإدارية في جامعة ولاية يوتا. سوندروب أستاذ مساعد لنظم المعلومات الحاسوبية بجامعة لويزفيل.

استنادًا إلى نتائج المسح من 258 عاملاً من مجموعة متنوعة من الصناعات والمناطق في الولايات المتحدة ، وجد المؤلفون أن العمال كانوا أقل استنفادًا عندما كان لديهم تفاعلات شخصية جيدة مع زملاء العمل. يكتب المؤلفون أن الجودة هي إجراء شخصي "يعكس تقييم الفرد لمدى كفاية الدعم أو الرضا عن التفاعلات بين الأشخاص".

لكن الإرهاق ازداد مع زيادة تواتر التفاعلات. كان العمل عن بعد بمثابة مرهم لاستنفاد المكتب. مثل المشاركون الخصائص الديموغرافية للأشخاص الذين لديهم وظائف مواتية للعمل عن بعد وعملوا بشكل موحد في الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة والكبيرة. قد يكون أخذ استراحة من المكتب طريقة جيدة لإعادة الشحن ، ولكن يبقى التعاون أساسيًا للتجربة البشرية.

وكتب باحث الدكتوراه في جامعة ستانفورد آنذاك: "إن ميل الناس إلى العمل معًا - لإنشاء وإدارة الأعمال ، وإجراء المشاريع البحثية ، وإنشاء الموسيقى ومشاركتها - هو أساس للثقافة البشرية". بريانكا كار وأستاذ علم النفس المساعد في ستانفورد غريغوري والتون في ورقة يوليو 2014 في ال مجلة علم النفس الاجتماعي التجريبي. "بالنسبة للأفراد ، فإن العمل مع الآخرين يوفر فوائد اجتماعية وشخصية هائلة."

هل سيعاني نمو مهنتي إذا لم أتمكن من الذهاب إلى المكتب؟

بعض يقترح البحوث قد يواجه العمال الذين يريدون المرونة ، مثل خيار العمل عن بعد ، وصمة العار في مكان العمل. لكن الوضع الحالي للعمل عن بعد الواسع الانتشار غير مسبوق. إذا كان كل شخص في الشركة يعمل عن بُعد ، فعندئذٍ لا يستطيع المسافرون المنتظمون تحديد وصمة العار تجاه العاملين عن بُعد.

إذا انتهى العمل في الحياة بمظهر مشابه لأوقات ما قبل COVID ، مع استمرار عدد من العمال في الذهاب إلى المكتب بانتظام وآخرون يدخلون أحيانًا أو لا يدخلون على الإطلاق ، فقد تتوقف الترقيات على ما هو طبيعي بالنسبة لوحدة عمل كل موظف. هذا وفقًا لـ "هل هناك ثمن يدفعه العاملون عن بعد؟"من فبراير 2020 في مجلة السلوك المهني by تيموثي جولدن و كيمبرلي إدلستون. جولدن أستاذ في إدارة وتنظيم الشركات في معهد Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Eddleston هو أستاذ جامعة Northeastern المذكورة سابقا.

حلل المؤلفون نتائج المسح وبيانات نمو الراتب والترقية من عينة تضم 405 موظفين في شركة خدمات تقنية. كانت الأرقام تقريبًا من النساء والرجال.

تلقى الأشخاص الذين عملوا عن بعد على نطاق واسع المزيد من الترقيات عندما كان العمل عن بعد جزءًا من ثقافة وحدة العمل الخاصة بهم وعندما قاموا بعمل إضافي خارج ساعات العمل العادية. شهد العاملون عن بُعد المكثفون الذين قاموا بعمل إضافي وأتيحت لهم الفرصة للتفاعل وجهاً لوجه مع المشرفين عليهم نموًا أعلى في الرواتب.

كتب غولدن وإدليستون: "في الواقع ، في حين أن عوامل سياق العمل التي تم فحصها في دراستنا كانت تميل إلى تقليل العقوبات المهنية للعاملين عن بُعد بما في ذلك أولئك الذين يعملون عن بُعد على نطاق واسع ، فقد تم تحقيق أكبر الفوائد الوظيفية من قبل أولئك الذين يعملون عن بُعد من حين لآخر".

ماذا سيحدث للمدن إذا لم يعد العاملون في المكاتب؟

إنه سؤال كبير آخر قد يرجع إلى ما إذا كانت ترتيبات العمل عن بعد للفيروس التاجي مستمرة - وإذا فعلوا ذلك ، كيف يملأ قادة المدينة الفراغ من إيجار المكاتب المفقود وعائدات الأعمال الإضافية ، مثل العمال الذين يشترون الغداء في المقاهي.

تظهر الأبحاث أن العمل عن بعد قد يؤثر على ما إذا كان الناس يعيشون في المدن أو الضواحي. يمكن أن يعني المزيد من العمل عن بعد المزيد من الامتداد الحضري ، حيث يبتعد الناس عن نوى المدينة ويقللون من الكثافة. في مدينة محاكاة متوسطة الحجم حيث يعمل كل عامل عن بعد يوم واحد على الأقل أسبوعيًا ، تنخفض تكاليف النقل بنسبة 20٪ وتتسع المنطقة الجغرافية بنحو 26٪ - وفقًا لـ "العمل عن بعد: الشكل الحضري ، استهلاك الطاقة وانعكاسات غازات الدفيئة،" بواسطة وليام لارسون و ويهوا تشاو in التحقيق الاقتصادي من أبريل 2017.

لارسون خبير اقتصادي أول في الوكالة الفيدرالية لتمويل الإسكان زهاو أستاذ مساعد في الاقتصاد بجامعة لويزفيل. تستند مدينتهم المحاكاة على خصائص المناطق الحضرية شارلوت وإنديانابوليس وكانساس سيتي وسان أنطونيو ، بما في ذلك متوسط ​​المنطقة الجغرافية ومتوسط ​​عدد الوحدات المحتلة ودخل الأسرة الوسيط.

تنخفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة بشكل طفيف وتصبح الوحدات السكنية أكبر قليلاً في محاكاة العمل عن بعد لارسون وزهاو. هناك أثر جانبي محتمل آخر: "في حين أن العمل عن بعد يزيد من رفاهية أولئك الذين يعملون عن بعد ، فإنه يجعل أيضًا أولئك الذين لا يعملون عن بعد أفضل حالًا من خلال تقليل الازدحام" ، كما يكتبون.

مؤلفو "العمل من المنزل والاستعداد لقبول تنقل أطول، "من يوليو 2018 في جميع حوليات العلوم الإقليمية، كما يشير إلى وجود صلة بين العمل عن بعد والامتداد الحضري. وفقًا لاستطلاعات ما يقرب من 7,500 عامل هولندي يمتد من عام 2002 إلى عام 2014 ، وجدوا أن الأشخاص الذين يعملون من المنزل على الأقل يوم واحد في الشهر كانوا على استعداد لقبول أوقات تنقل أطول بنسبة 5٪ ، في المتوسط. تقرير الباحثين نتائج مماثلة من هولندا في أ ورقة سبتمبر 2007 في ال مجلة الإسكان والبيئة العمرانية، مع وجود احتمال أكبر للمسافرين عن بعد للعيش على حافة المدن أو خارجها.

من ناحية أخرى ، إذا قاد عدد أقل من العمال كل يوم إلى مراكز المدن ، فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى توفير مساحة لمزيد من ركوب الدراجات ووسائل النقل العام ، بالنسبة الى E & E الأخبار، منفذ أخبار الطاقة والبيئة.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على موارد الصحفي

نبذة عن الكاتب

انضم كلارك ميريفيلد موارد الصحفي في عام 2019 بعد العمل كمراسل ل نيوزويك و الوحش يوميا، كباحث ومحرر في ثلاثة كتب تتعلق بالركود العظيم ، وكاستراتيجي استراتيجي للاتصالات الحكومية. كان زميلاً في كلية صحافة الأحداث بجامعة جون جاي ، وقد مُنح عمله مراسلون ومحرِّرون استقصائيون. cmerref

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
by ليزلي دوروف سميث
ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

Working From Home: What The Research Says About Setting Boundaries, Staying Productive And Reshaping Cities

Working From Home: What The Research Says About Setting Boundaries, Staying Productive And Reshaping Cities
(Manny Pantoja / Unsplash)

Since March 2020, the coronavirus pandemic has forced millions of employees in America to begin working from home. Before the pandemic, 2.5% of U.S. employees teleworked full-time, according to the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta. Now, almost everyone who can telework is doing so.

Some economists expect the share of people teleworking full-time to remain high even after the pandemic ends. We collected a variety of research to address big questions employers, employees and cities face as America’s office workers consider the future of working from home.

Research indicates there is no one-size-fits all approach when it comes to telework arrangements. Everyone now teleworking faces challenges, from caring for children to adjusting to virtual collaboration with coworkers. Some people will be more productive working from home, some people less so.

One constant in the academic literature is that the type of work matters when it comes to whether telework arrangements are successful. People with complex jobs that can be performed independently generally fare better than those with less complex jobs that require extensive interaction with colleagues.

It’s important to remember most jobs cannot be done at home, and tens of millions of workers have temporarily or permanently lost their jobs — though the economy regained 2.5 million jobs in May. An estimated 37% of U.S. jobs are conducive to telework, according to an analysis from University of Chicago economists Jonathan Dingel and Brent Neiman.

Google and Facebook are two major employers that have told employees to plan on teleworking through 2020. Twitter has told employees if they can telework and want to keep teleworking, they can “do so forever.”

Work-from-home arrangements will likely expand beyond the tech world — and beyond the pandemic. Executives at about 1,750 firms from a variety of industries across the country expect 10% of full-time employees to telework every workday after the pandemic ends, according to the May monthly panel survey by economists at the Atlanta Fed, Stanford University and the University of Chicago. The executives expect 30% of their workforce to telework at least one day a week after the pandemic, triple the 10% rate before.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Keep reading to find out what the research says about employee productivity and setting boundaries while working at home, how mass teleworking could transform cities — and more.

My work and home life have completely melded. How can I set boundaries?

It’s one of the bigger questions for workers thrust into full-time telework — especially those simultaneously caring for children. Academic research can provide guidance for striking a balance.

For the paper “Strategies for Successful Telework: How Effective Employees Manage Work/Home Boundaries,” from June 2016 in Strategic HR Review, Kelly Basile and T. Alexandra Beauregard conducted 40 in-depth interviews with people teleworking full or part-time at an organization that did not have a culture of long work hours. Basile is an assistant professor of management at Emmanuel College. Beauregard is a reader in organizational psychology at Birbeck, University of London.

“When work and home activities take place in the same physical space, physical, temporal and psychological boundaries between work and home can become blurred,” Basile and Beauregard write.

The workers they interviewed use physical, time-based, behavioral and communicative strategies to set boundaries. For example, after their workday was done, full-time teleworkers with dedicated office space at home had an easier time devoting their full attention to non-work responsibilities, compared with those without a home office.

Teleworkers accountable to other responsibilities, like walking a dog or caring for children after school, had stronger work-home boundaries than those only accountable to themselves. Certain routine behaviors, like shutting down a computer at the end of the day, or turning off the ringer on a work phone, also helped establish boundaries. Those with children or spouses at home during telework time were most successful when they communicated clearly and consistently that they needed their workday to be free of household noise and interruptions.

“In organizations where after-hours communications, early meetings and weekend working are the norm, employees preferring segmentation will have difficulty establishing and maintaining boundaries between work and personal time,” Basile and Beauregard write. It’s another theme throughout the academic literature: Whether telework works for individual employees depends on company culture.

For “Toward Understanding Remote Workers’ Management of  Work-Family Boundaries: The Complexity of Workplace Embeddedness,” from December 2015 in Group and Organization Management, Kimberly Eddleston and Jay Mulki conducted 52 interviews with sales and service employees from across the U.S. who worked from home full-time. Eddleston is a professor of entrepreneurship and innovation at Northeastern University and Mulki is an associate professor of marketing there.

Many of the interviewees worked at organizations where it was common to work more than 40 hours a week, sometimes outside of regular hours. Even though interviews were in-depth, the authors caution that because their sample is small, their findings cannot be generalized to the broader population.

Still, the findings indicate a telework divide between men and women. About 62% of the interviewees were women. Some women experienced benefits — spending time with their families while also being able to step away for urgent deadlines. But more than half of women working remotely — compared with just a tenth of men — reported their spouse didn’t respect boundaries between work and family. “You know, I get distracted by my private life,” one woman told the researchers. “It kind of interferes with my professional life.”

With an acuity applicable to today’s era of widespread coronavirus telework, Eddleston and Mulki write that “organizations should educate remote workers on the need to establish boundaries between work and family, and train these workers to resist temptations to perform work activities during family time.”

How does telework affect worker productivity?

Tens of millions of Americans are unemployed because of the new coronavirus, and data from the Bureau of Labor statistics show labor productivity is down considerably. The BLS defines labor productivity as “a measure of economic performance that compares the amount of goods and services produced (output) with the number of hours worked to produce those goods and services.”

For those who still have jobs and are teleworking, productivity can depend on personal motivation, type of work and home environment. Research indicates people who work from home can, overall, be as productive as office-dwellers.

In one widely cited November 2014 paper in the Quarterly Journal of Economics, researchers found call center workers at a large Chinese travel agency randomly assigned to work from home four days a week for nine months increased performance 13% compared with those who stayed in the office. Attrition also halved among teleworkers. The authors note that “the job of a call center employee is particularly suitable for telecommuting. It requires neither teamwork nor in-person face time.” The company required teleworkers in the office one day a week for training on new products and services.

In “Are Telecommuters Remotely Good Citizens?” from May 2014 in Personnel Psychology, Ravi Gajendran, David Harrison and Kelly Delaney‐Klinger surveyed 323 employees from various industries, including technology, banking, health care and manufacturing. Gajendran is an associate professor of management at Florida International University. Harrison is a professor of management at the University of Texas, Austin. Delaney-Klinger is an associate professor of management at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

About 37% of the sample had a telework arrangement, with 80% of teleworkers working from home. The researchers found an association between teleworking and higher job performance ratings from supervisors. They suggest higher performance among teleworkers has to do with their finding that teleworkers believe they have more autonomy than regular commuters.

“Further, perceived autonomy is likely to be influenced by telecommuting intensity — the more extensive telecommuting is, the higher the discretion employees perceive over where and when they work,” write Gajendran, Harrison and Delaney-Klinger.

Work-from-anywhere arrangements could be even better for productivity than working from home, depending on the type of work. That’s according to “Work-From-Anywhere: The Productivity Effects of Geographic Flexibility,” a Harvard Business School working paper by Prithwiraj Choudhury, Cirrus Foroughi and Barbara Larson, released in December 2019. Work-from-home arrangements assume employees live close enough to go to the office a few days a week, or as needed, according to the authors. Work-from-anywhere arrangements let employees work remotely and physically far from their organization’s offices.

The authors exploit a natural experiment at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, where in 2012 management and union representatives launched a work-from-anywhere policy. The rollout was staggered, so employees transitioned at different times from being in-office, to work-from-home, to work-from-anywhere. The authors find that patent examiners working from anywhere were 4.4% more productive than examiners working from home. All examiners had at least two years on the job.

“[Work-from-anywhere] examiners relocate to lower cost-of-living locations and we report a correlation between relocating to a below-median cost-of-living location and productivity,” Choudhury, Foroughi and Larson write. They note two limitations: Their study focuses on a single organization, and patent examiners, by and large, don’t depend on coworker interaction to do their jobs.

Flexible work arrangements could also allow some older workers to work longer, if they want to. That’s according to a January 2020 paper in the American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics. The authors surveyed 2,772 clients of The Vanguard Group, an investment company. Participants were at least 55 years old with at least $10,000 in their Vanguard accounts. The sample skews wealthier, healthier and more educated than the national population.

“The willingness to work is stronger when jobs offer a flexible choice of hours worked,” the authors find. “Individuals are willing to take substantial earnings reductions to gain an hour of flexibility.”

Won’t I miss out on office relationships and opportunities for collaboration?

A constant throughout the literature is that whether telework arrangements are successful or not depends on the type of work. One study, published February 2018 in the Journal of Business and Psychology, surveyed 273 telecommuters and supervisors from a company with a voluntary telework program. The authors found teleworkers with complex jobs had better job performance than telecommuters with less complex jobs, “and their performance increased with higher levels of telecommuting.”

Then there are individual personalities. An outgoing person, for example, might miss office camaraderie, while an introvert might relish the demise of water cooler chatter. In “Getting Away From Them All: Managing Exhaustion from Social Interaction with Telework,” from February 2017 in the Journal of Organizational Behavior, Jaime Windeler, Katherine Chudoba and Rui Sundrup find that part-time telework allowed exhausted workers the chance to recover.

Windeler is an associate professor of business analytics at the University of Cincinatti. Chudoba is an associate professor of management information systems at Utah State University. Sundrup is an assistant professor of computer information systems at the University of Louisville.

Based on survey results from 258 workers from a variety of industries and regions in the U.S., the authors found workers were less exhausted when they had quality in-person interactions with coworkers. Quality is a subjective measure that “reflects an individual’s appraisal of the adequacy of support or satisfaction with interpersonal interactions,” the authors write.

But exhaustion increased as interactions became more frequent. Telework acted as a salve for office exhaustion. Participants represented the demographic characteristics of people with jobs conducive to telework and uniformly worked at small, medium and large companies. Taking a break from the office may be a good way to recharge, but collaboration remains fundamental to the human experience.

“The tendency for people to work together — to establish and run businesses, to conduct research projects, and to create and share music — is a foundation of human culture,” write then-Stanford University doctoral researcher Priyanka Carr and Stanford associate psychology professor Gregory Walton in a July 2014 paper in the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology. “For individuals, working with others affords enormous social and personal benefits.”

Will my career growth suffer if I’m not able to go to the office?

Some research suggests workers who want flexibility, like a telework option, may face stigma in the workplace. But the current widespread telework situation is unprecedented. If everyone at a company is teleworking, then, by definition, regular commuters can’t level stigma toward teleworkers.

If work life ends up looking similar to pre-COVID times, with some number of workers still regularly going to an office and others going in sometimes or not at all, promotions may hinge on what’s normal for each employee’s work unit. That’s according to “Is There a Price Telecommuters Pay?” from February 2020 in the Journal of Vocational Behavior by Timothy Golden and Kimberly Eddleston. Golden is a professor of enterprise management and organization at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Eddleston is the Northeastern University professor mentioned earlier.

The authors analyzed survey results and salary and promotion growth data from a sample of 405 employees of a technology services firm. Roughly equal numbers were women and men.

People who teleworked extensively received more promotions when teleworking was part of their work unit’s culture and when they did extra work outside regular hours. Extensive teleworkers who did extra work and had the opportunity for face-to-face interactions with their supervisors also saw higher salary growth.

“Indeed, while work context factors examined in our study tended to decrease career penalties for telecommuters including those who telecommuted extensively, the greatest career benefits were attained by those who only occasionally telecommuted,” Golden and Eddleston write.

What will happen to cities if office workers don’t come back?

It’s another big question that may come down to whether coronavirus telework arrangements persist — and, if they do, how city leaders fill the void from lost office rent and ancillary business revenue, like workers buying lunch at cafes.

Research shows telework may affect whether people live in cities or suburbs. More telework could mean more urban sprawl, with people moving away from city cores and reducing density. In a simulated mid-sized city where every worker teleworks at least one day a week, transportation costs decrease 20% and geographic area expands by about 26% — according to “Telework: Urban Form, Energy Consumption and Greenhouse Gas Implications,” by William Larson and Weihua Zhao in Economic Inquiry from April 2017.

Larson is a senior economist at the Federal Housing Finance Agency and Zhao is an assistant professor of economics at the University of Louisville. Their simulated city is based on characteristics of the Charlotte, Indianapolis, Kansas City and San Antonio metropolitan areas, including average geographic area, average number of occupied units and median household income.

Greenhouse gas emissions fall slightly and housing units become slightly larger in Larson and Zhao’s telework simulation. Another potential side effect: “While telework increases the welfare of those who telework, it also makes those who do not telework better off through reduced congestion,” they write.

The authors of “Working from Home and the Willingness to Accept a Longer Commute,” from July 2018 in The Annals of Regional Science, also hint at a link between teleworking and urban sprawl. Based on surveys of nearly 7,500 Dutch workers spanning 2002 to 2014, they find people working from home at least one day per month were willing to accept 5% longer commute times, on average. Researchers report similar findings from the Netherlands in a September 2007 paper in the Journal of Housing and the Built Environment, with telecommuters more likely than regular commuters to live on the edge of or outside cities.

On the other hand, if fewer workers drive every day into city centers, that could free up space for more bicycling and public transportation, according to E&E News, an energy and environmental news outlet.

This article originally appeared on Journalist's Resource

About The Author

Clark Merrefield joined Journalist’s Resource in 2019 after working as a reporter for Newsweek and The Daily Beast, as a researcher and editor on three books related to the Great Recession, and as a federal government communications strategist. He was a John Jay College Juvenile Justice Journalism Fellow and his work has been awarded by Investigative Reporters and Editors. @cmerref

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…