أفضل 3 نصائح للمغامرين المحترفين من أجل النجاة من أزمة

03 27 أفضل مغامرين محترفين للنصائح من الأزمات
الصورة عن طريق بيت لينفورث

يمكن أن تكون المغامرة شيئًا تستعد له بفاعلية وتسعى إليه عن قصد ، ولكنها يمكن أن تكون أيضًا تجربة تضربك بشكل كبير دون سابق إنذار وتتركك تتدافع لما تفعله بعد ذلك. تقع أزمة COVID-19 الحالية بشكل مباشر في الفئة الأخيرة والملاحة من خلالها هي مغامرة بكل معنى الكلمة.

تُعرَّف كلمة المغامرة بأنها "مهمة غير اعتيادية عادةً ما تنطوي على مخاطر ومخاطر غير معروفة" ويتم تحديد ما نواجهه جميعًا في الوقت الحالي بالضبط من خلال ذلك. كيف تتعامل مع لحظات كهذه؟ كيف تتجول في الخوف المحتوم المرتبط بالمجهول؟

فيما يلي أهم ثلاث نصائح من أجل النجاة من أزمة ، كما يراها أعين المغامرين المحترفين.

1. توقع ما هو غير متوقع

"المغامرة هي مجرد تخطيط سيئ" هذه الكلمات من المستكشف النرويجي العظيم Roald Amundsen توضح ما يعرفه جميع المغامرين الناجحين جيدًا ، تحتاج إلى الاستعداد لكل ما قد ينشأ ، بغض النظر عن مدى احتمال حدوثه.

في كتابنا نجاح البرية, قدمنا ​​لمحة عن بحارة المحيطات المفتوحة التي لا يمكن كبتها ، ليزا بلير وهي تستعد للانطلاق في رحلتها المنفردة الخطيرة حول المحيط الجنوبي. قبل أن تبحر ، بنت ليزا مهاراتها العاطفية من خلال التحضير ذهنيًا لرحلتها من خلال تصور عدد لا يحصى من السيناريوهات التي يمكن أن تسير بشكل خاطئ والاستعداد لها بخطط "إذا ثم" قبل أن تبحر. هذا سمح لها بممارسة وفهم أفضل لكيفية ردها عاطفياً عندما يحدث شيء سيئ بالفعل.

غالبًا ما يكون الخوف من المجهول أكثر صعوبة من التعامل الفعلي مع مشكلة أعددتها بالفعل عقليًا. من خلال ممارسة مهاراتها وبناء مجموعة أدواتها بمرور الوقت ، تمكنت ليزا من بناء قدرتها على الصمود وتكون في أفضل حالاتها عندما كانت الأمور في أسوأ حالاتها.

لذا ، في مناخنا الحالي من عدم اليقين ، ماذا تفعل للاستعداد بشكل أفضل؟ نقترح القيام بالضبط كما فعلت ليزا. حاول توقع ما قد يحدث في الأسابيع والأشهر المقبلة ووضع خطط طوارئ لذلك. بدلاً من إنكار احتمال ما لا يمكن تصوره ، توقعه ، وضع خطط للتعامل معه ثم وضعه بعيدًا على أمل عدم استخدامه أبدًا. من غير المحتمل أن يحدث ما لا يمكن تصوره ، ولكن إذا حدث ذلك ، فأنت على استعداد لمواجهته وجهاً لوجه.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


2. إيجاد نموذج يحتذى به

من هو قدوة يمكنك أن تبحث عنها في لحظات كهذه؟ كيف سيتصرف المغامرون العظماء مثل إرنست شاكلتون أو السير رانولف فينيس خلال هذه الأزمة؟ أشك في التركيز والتصميم والنعمة.

إن امتلاك نموذج يحتذى به قويًا في الأوقات الصعبة يمكن أن يساعدنا في تجاوز عدم اليقين. إن القدرة على تخيل الطريقة التي سيتعامل بها نموذجك مع الأزمات سيساعدك على التعامل معها بشكل أفضل أيضًا.

كريس ، صديق مقرب لنا ، رجل إطفاء. أخبرنا قصة عن أحد ردوده الأولى على موقف حادث وأهمية العثور على نموذج يحتذى به في لحظات عدم اليقين.

وقال "لقد كانت مساء السبت عندما تلقينا المكالمة". "لقد كان الرأس في التصادم على البحر إلى طريق سكاي السريع من فانكوفر إلى ويسلر قبل الميلاد ، وكنا نخشى الأسوأ. عندما وصلنا ، تمكنا من رؤية السيارات المحطمة على الطريق أمامنا. لقد ضخت مليئة بالأدرينالين. كان وضعي الأول مثل هذا. كنت مرعوبا.

"شريكي ، جون ، كان قبطانًا في قاعة النار. في اللحظة التي أوقفنا فيها شاحنتنا ، أمسكت أشيائي وبدأت في الركض إلى مكان الحادث. بعد حوالي 30 ياردة ، أدركت أن جون لم يكن معي وتوقفت. نظرت حوله ورآه لا يزال يحزم معداته بعناية وبعد ذلك بدأ في السير بهدوء نحوي.

"في وقت لاحق أوضح مدى أهمية الاستعداد ذهنيًا للحظات مثل هذه." عليك أن تكون هادئًا وواضحًا في أفعالك قدر الإمكان. لا توجد أعمال طفح جلدي. لا ذعر. الضحايا يتوقعون ذلك من أنت.' لقد كان قدوة لي منذ ذلك الحين ".

من هو قدوتك؟

3. كن إيجابيا

أتيحت لنا الفرصة مؤخرًا للتحدث مع كبير الموظفين القانونيين لعميل مهم لنا ، وهي شركة أمريكية كبيرة الحجم لتكنولوجيا المعلومات للشركات مقرها في كاليفورنيا ، والذي أطلعنا على مدى أهمية إيجابية بالنسبة له. وأوضح أن شركته في ذلك الوقت كانت تواجه إعادة هيكلة وجودة لتحويلها إلى ما أصبحت عليه اليوم ، لكنهم لم يتمكنوا من رؤية مدى فعالية القيام بذلك. عقد الرئيس التنفيذي اجتماعًا شاملًا لأزمة C-suite للتعامل مع الأزمات للتنقل في مسار إلى الأمام ولم يكن جميلًا.

قال: "كان الاجتماع وحشيًا. وفي نهاية الأمر ، طغىنا جميعًا على المأزق وكنا يائسين".

"أثناء مغادرتنا الاجتماع ، أوقفنا الرئيس التنفيذي وأعطانا حديثًا حقيقيًا. لقد تمسك معي منذ ذلك الحين. "أريد أن أرى الابتسامات على تلك الوجوه !!" قالت. 'لا يمكنك الخروج إلى فرقك تبدو مكتئبة. قد تشعر بالسوء ، ولكن لا يمكنك إظهاره. ارسم ابتسامة على وجهك حتى لو لم تشعر بذلك. إنه واجبك كقائد. لذا ، فعلنا ذلك. تحركنا إلى الأمام وبقينا إيجابيين وأنجزنا المهمة. عليك أن تبقى إيجابيا مهما حدث! "

يفهم المغامرون هذا جيداً. الإيجابية أمر حاسم لنجاحنا.

بينما كنت أتزلج على القطب الجنوبي في عام 2008 (كيفن) قمت أنا وزملائي في الفريق باتفاق لن نقول شيئًا سلبيًا في الخيمة كل ليلة. السلبية ليس لها مكان في مهمتنا. كنا نعلم جيدًا أن معظم الحملات المتطرفة مثل تلك التي كنا فيها قد تحولت إلى أعضاء فريق يكرهون بعضهم البعض بحلول النهاية. لن نسمح بحدوث ذلك. ما زلنا أصدقاء حتى يومنا هذا ونجحنا في مهمتنا. في الواقع ، حطمنا الرقم القياسي العالمي في القيام بذلك.

يعرف المغامرون ما يلزم لأداء على أعلى مستوى في بيئة دائمة من عدم اليقين والتوتر. من خلال توقع ما هو غير متوقع ، والبحث عن نموذج يحتذى به والبقاء إيجابيًا ، يمكنك أيضًا النجاة من أزمة مثل المغامر.

© 2020 بواسطة Amy Posey و Kevin Vallely. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطف بإذن من Wild Success.
الناشر: McGraw-Hill Education.

المادة المصدر

نجاح باهر: 7 دروس رئيسية يمكن لقادة الأعمال تعلمها من المغامرين المتطرفين
آمي بوسي وكيفن فاليلي

نجاح باهر: 7 دروس رئيسية يمكن لقادة الأعمال تعلمها من المغامرين المتطرفين بقلم إيمي بوسي وكيفن فاليلييقدم المغامرون الذين يتحدون الموت وخبراء قيادة الأعمال أنفسهم ، المؤلفان إيمي بوسي وكيفن فاليلي نظرة داخلية إلى مجتمع النخبة من الأشخاص الذين يفهمون كيفية التفوق في أكثر البيئات صعوبة على كوكب الأرض. يجمع المؤلفون بين رؤى فريدة من نوعها في عالم المغامرات وأبحاث مبتكرة من مجال علم الأعصاب لتقديم دروس قيادة قوية وفعالة. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

حول المؤلف

إيمي بوسي ، مؤلفة مشاركةايمي بوسي هو ميسر القيادة والمتحدث الرئيسي والرئيس التنفيذي السابق لمجموعة AIP Group ، وهي شركة تطوير القيادة التي تجمع بين رؤى المغامرة وعوالم الأعمال لتدريب القيادة الفريد والفعال. قبل انضمامها إلى AIP Group ، أمضت عشر سنوات في Deloitte في تقديم برامج تطوير القيادة الداخلية ، وحلول التعلم والتغيير والاتصالات لشركات التكنولوجيا العالمية. بوسي حاصلة على درجة الماجستير التنفيذي في علم الأعصاب التطبيقي والقيادة من معهد القيادة العصبية. ماجستير في إدارة التغيير والتسويق من حرم جامعة دي بول في مملكة البحرين ؛ وشهادة البكالوريوس في اللغة الإنجليزية والتعليم والكتابة من جامعة بوردو.

كيفين فاليلي ، مؤلف مشارككيفين فاليلي هو مستكشف عالمي ومرشد قيادي ومؤلف ومهندس معماري حائز على جوائز. وهو عضو في نادي Explorer الموقر وتم تكريمه كمستلم لعلم مستكشف Explorer لرحلته إلى الممر الشمالي الغربي في عام 2013. وفي عام 2009 حطم هو وزميلين الرقم القياسي العالمي لأسرع رحلة غير مدعومة إلى القطب الجنوبي الجغرافي. كتب للعديد من المؤلفات وهو مؤلف تجديف الممر الشمالي الغربي: المغامرة والخوف والرعب في بحر صاعد.

تعرف على المزيد حول هؤلاء المؤلفين وكتابهم على www.morewildsuccess.com.

مقطع دعائي للكتاب: نجاح باهر: 7 دروس رئيسية يمكن لقادة الأعمال تعلمها من المغامرين المتطرفين

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.
الجانب الخفيف من التحليل النفسي لأرنب عيد الفصح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في InnerSelf ، نشجع الاستبطان ، وبالتالي كان من دواعي سرورنا أن نرى أنه حتى أرنب عيد الفصح قد طلب المساعدة في فهم عاداته وإكراهاته.
ماريان ويليامسون تعكس جائحة فيروس كورونا
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تأملات ماريان ويليامسون حول جائحة فيروس كورونا الحالي في 31 مارس 2020.
كارول كينغ - التكيف مع 2020
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
نشرت كارول كينغ ، المغنية وكاتبة الأغاني المحبوبة ، مقطع فيديو قصيرًا على الإنترنت مؤخرًا ، تكيفًا لأغنيتها So Far Away.

Professional Adventurers' Top 3 Tips For Surviving A Crisis

03 27 professional adventurers top 3 tips for surviving a crisis
Image by Pete Linforth

An adventure can be something you actively prepare for and intentionally seek out, but it can also be an experience that hits you broadside with no prior warning and leaves you scrambling for what to do next. The current COVID-19 crisis falls squarely into the latter category and navigating through it is an adventure in every sense of the word.

The word adventure is defined as ‘an unusual undertaking usually involving danger and unknown risks’ and what we’re all facing at the moment is defined exactly by that. How do you deal with moments like this? How do you navigate through the inevitable fear associated with the unknown?

Here are our Top Three Tips For Surviving A Crisis, as seen through the eyes of professional adventurers.

1. Expect the Unexpected

 “Adventure is just bad planning” These words from the great Norwegian explorer Roald Amundsen articulate what all successful adventurers know well, you need to be prepared for whatever may arise, no matter how unlikely.

In our book Wild Success, we profiled the irrepressible open ocean sailor Lisa Blair as she prepared to set off on her perilous solo journey around the Southern Ocean. Before she set sail, Lisa built her emotional skills by mentally preparing for her journey by visualizing a myriad of scenarios that could go wrong and preparing for them with “if-then” plans before she set sail. This allowed her to practice and better understand how she would emotionally respond when something bad actually did happen.

Often the fear of the unknown is more difficult than actually dealing with a problem you’ve already prepared for mentally. By practicing her skills and building her toolkit over time, Lisa was able to build her capacity for resilience and be at her best when things were at their worst.

So, in our current climate of uncertainty, what do you do to better prepare? We suggest doing exactly as Lisa did. Try to anticipate what might play out in weeks and months ahead and make contingency plans for it. Rather than deny the prospect of the unimaginable, anticipate it, make plans to deal with it and then put it away hoping to never use it. The unimaginable will likely never happen but if it does, you’re ready to meet it head on.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


2. Find a Role Model

Who is a role model you can look to in moments like this? How would the great adventurers such as Ernest Shackleton or Sir Ranulph Fiennes act during this crisis? I suspect with focus, determination and grace.

Having a strong role model during difficult times can help us navigate the uncertainty. Being able to imagine how your role model would handle a crisis will help you better handle it as well.

A close friend of ours, Chris, is a firefighter. He told us a story about one of his first responses to an accident situation and the importance of finding a role model in moments of uncertainty.

“It was a Saturday evening when we got the call,” he said. “It was a head on collision on the Sea to Sky highway from Vancouver to Whistler BC and we feared the worst. When we arrived, we could see the wrecked cars on the road ahead of us. I was pumped full of adrenaline. It was my first situation like this. I was terrified.

"My partner, John, was a captain at the fire hall. The moment we stopped our truck I grabbed my stuff and started running to the scene. After about 30 yards, I realized John wasn’t with me and I stopped. I looked around and saw him still carefully packing his gear after which he began to stride calmly towards me.

"Later he explained how important it was to mentally prepare for moments like that. ‘You need to be as calm and clear in your actions as you can be,’ he said. ‘No rash actions. No panic. The victims expect it of you.’ He’s been my role model ever since.”

Who is your role model?

3. Stay Positive

We recently had the opportunity to speak with the Chief Legal Officer of an important client of ours, a large American multinational enterprise information technology company based in California, who shared with us how important positivity is for him. He explained that his company at the time was facing an existential restructuring to transform it into what it has become today but they couldn’t see how effectively to do it. The CEO convened an all-hands-on-deck C-suite crisis meeting to navigate a path forward and it wasn’t pretty.

“The meeting was brutal,” he said, “By the end of it we were all overwhelmed by the predicament and we were desperate.”

“As we were leaving the meeting, our CEO stopped us and gave us a real pep talk. It stuck with me ever since. ‘I want to see smiles on those faces!!’ she said. ‘You can’t go out to your teams looking dejected. You may feel bad, but you can’t show it. Put a smile on your face even if you don’t feel it. It’s your obligation as a leader.’ So, we did it. We moved forward, we stayed positive and we got the job done. You have to stay positive no matter what!”

Adventurers understand this well. Positivity is critical to our success.

As I skied to the South Pole in 2008 (Kevin) myself and my two teammates made a pact that we would say nothing negative in the tent each night. Negativity had no place on our mission. We knew full well that most extreme expeditions like the one we were on devolved into team members hating one another by the end. We weren’t going to allow this happen. We’re still friends to this day and we succeeded in our mission. In fact, we broke the world-record in doing so.

Adventurers know what it takes to perform at the highest level in an everchanging environment of uncertainty and stress. By expecting the unexpected, seeking out a role model and staying positive, you too can survive a crisis like an adventurer.

©2020 by Amy Posey and Kevin Vallely. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission from Wild Success.
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Education.

Article Source

Wild Success: 7 Key Lessons Business Leaders Can Learn from Extreme Adventurers
by Amy Posey and Kevin Vallely

Wild Success: 7 Key Lessons Business Leaders Can Learn from Extreme Adventurers by Amy Posey and Kevin VallelyDeath-defying adventurers and business leadership experts themselves, authors Amy Posey and Kevin Vallely provide an inside look into an elite society of people who understand how to excel in the most challenging environments on the planet. The authors combine one-of-a-kind insights from the adventure world with innovative research from the field of neuroscience to provide powerful, proven-effective leadership lessons. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

For more info or to order this book.

About the Authors

Amy Posey, co-author Amy Posey is a leadership facilitator, keynote speaker, and former CEO of The AIP Group, a leadership development firm that combines insights from the adventure and business worlds for unique and effective leadership training. Prior to joining The AIP Group, she spent ten years at Deloitte delivering internal leadership development programs, and learning, change, and communications solutions to global technology companies. Posey has an Executive Masters in Applied Neuroscience and Leadership from the NeuroLeadership Institute; an M.B.A. in Managing Change and Marketing from DePaul University’s campus in the Kingdom of Bahrain; and a B.A. in English, Education, and Writing from Purdue University. 

Kevin Vallely, co-author Kevin Vallely is a world-class explorer, leadership mentor, author, and an award-winning architect. He is a member of the esteemed Explorer’s Club and was honored as an Explorer’s Club Flag recipient for his expedition to the Northwest Passage in 2013. In 2009 he and two teammates broke the world record for the fastest unsupported trek to the Geographic South Pole. He has written for numerous publications, and is the author of Rowing the Northwest Passage: Adventure, Fear, and Awe in a Rising Sea.

Learn more about these authors and their book at www.morewildsuccess.com.

Book Trailer: Wild Success: 7 Key Lessons Business Leaders Can Learn from Extreme Adventurers

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)