إيجاد هدف مناسب لك

الإجابة على السؤال
الصورة عن طريق Peggy und Marco Lachmann-Anke

لقد فعلت أشياء لا تصدق ، لكنني لم أحقق أي شيء عظيم بمفردي. كل السجلات التي قمت بتعيينها ، وكل سكتة دماغية قمت بها ، وكل ميل قمت برفعه أصبح ممكناً بواسطة فرقي. ربما لم يكن كل عضو في الفريق معي في خط النهاية ، لكنهم كانوا هم الذين أتاحوا لي في النهاية أن أتمكن من عبوره على الإطلاق.

كل فريق أقوم بإنشائه يهدف إلى عمل شيء مستحيل. فعل المستحيل في هذه الحالة يعني تحقيق هدف يفسد توقعات الناس العقلانيين.

يمكن أن يكون المستحيل هو الحصول على حصة مبيعات ضخمة ، أو إنشاء شركة جديدة مبتكرة ، أو مجرد التأكد من أن الأشخاص الذين تعاقدت معهم سيحتفظون بوظائفهم لربع آخر. المستحيل موجود حولنا ، لكن المغامرة كذلك ، ويمكن للمغامرة التغلب على المستحيل إذا كنت تفعل أشياء بالترتيب الصحيح. الخطوة الأولى هي الإجابة على السؤال لماذا ا؟ ليس لفريقك ، وليس لرئيسك ، ولكن لنفسك.

لماذا؟

لماذا يجب أن تعطي كل وقتك وجهدك لهذا الهدف بالذات؟ إذا كنت لا تعرف سبب قيامك بشيء ما ، وإذا لم يكن لديك صورة واضحة عن النجاح الذي تطارده والسبب وراء مطاردته ، فلن تقود فريقًا عالي الأداء أبدًا . قد تكون قادرًا على جمع بعض العوائد القوية من مجموعة محترقة من الأفراد الذين يعانون من الإجهاد المفرط ، لكنها لن تستمر.

إذا لم يكن لدي سبب قوي لفريقي ومن فريقي ، لما كنا لربحنا الرقم القياسي العالمي. لن نكون قد نجحنا في ذلك عبر المحيط. من المحتمل أننا لم نحاول أبدًا.

إذا كان كل هذا يبدو عاطفيًا ، فهذا لأنه كذلك. القيادة طريقة أكثر تفكيرًا من اليمين مما يعطيه الناس الفضل في ذلك. بناء استراتيجية مهمة. تحديد الجداول الزمنية أمر مهم. إدارة المشاريع مهمة. ولكن إذا كنت لا تملك مشاعر فريقك ، فلن يكون لديك فريق على الإطلاق.

الخطوة الأولى في العثور على "لماذا"

الطريقة الوحيدة لبناء فرق تنجح بشكل موثوق هي العثور على السبب وتغذيته في قلوب وعقول الأشخاص الذين من المفترض أن تقودهم. صدق أو لا تصدق ، الخطوة الأولى في العثور على سبب الإقلاع عن التدخين في الواقع.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الاستقالة ليست فاشلة. لقد سمع معظم الناس أنه "ليس عدد المرات التي تضرب فيها الأمور. هذا هو عدد المرات التي تسترجع فيها نسخة احتياطية ، وهذا ما يؤمنون به.

هذا القول ملهمة كما الجحيم إذا كنت في فيلم روكي. ولكن في الحياة الواقعية ، فإنه بعيدًا عن القاعدة. لست هنا لأعلمك كيف تكون جيدًا في الاستيقاظ. أنا هنا لأعلمك كيفية تعلم الدروس الصحيحة من وقتك على أرض الواقع بحيث عندما تتراجع ، لا يمكنك أن تتوقف مرة أخرى. ولا يمكن لأعضاء فريقك.

عندما كنا نتجول في المحيط ، كلما غرق أحدنا في الماء ، كنا مربوطين بحبل في حالة تغير التيارات فجأة. آخر شيء تريده هو أن تكون غير مربوط في وسط المياه التي لا نهاية لها مشاهدة يائسة كما يختفي القارب الخاص بك في الأفق.

ومع ذلك ، فقد أبقينا أيضًا سكينًا على سطح السفينة أيضًا. كان المقصود من هذه السكين أن تقطع الحبل في حال تسببت موجة غير متوقعة في تحويله إلى وضع أدى إلى إصابة أحد زملائنا في الفريق. في حياتك ، لماذا هو تماما مثل هذا الحبل.

ليست كل الأهداف متساوية

بعض الناس خائفون للغاية لاخراج سكاكينهم. إنهم يتشبثون بشدة بفرصة لا يدركون أنها تخنقهم فعليًا حتى الموت. إنهم يفضلون أن يكون الاتساق الخانق هو الاحتمال المرعب للوضع في محيط من الاحتمالات الخام.

الاتجاه جيد. الأهداف جيدة. ولكن لا يتم إنشاء جميع الأهداف على قدم المساواة ، وتحتاج إلى اختبار أهدافك وتعمدها للتأكد من أنها تعكس القدرات والعواطف والأهداف الفريدة لك وللفريق الذي تقوده. ثم عليك أن تقود الفريق إلى النجاح الذي وعدت به. في هذا الكتاب ، ستتعلم عملية يمكن فيها تحقيق هذين الأمرين.

يبدأ الأمر بالعثور على سبب ذلك ، مما قد يعني استدعاءه على هدف خاطئ لفريقك. ولكن كيف تعرف متى يحين الوقت؟ كيف يمكنك معرفة ما إذا كانت فرصة ما تبقيك مربوطًا بأمان أو تخنق الحياة منك؟

درس القيادة: فهم المعاناة والتضحية

الإقلاع ليس أكثر من وزن متغيرين وإيجاد أن أحدهما قد توقف عن العمل. هذان المتغيران هما أمر يتعامل معه كل إنسان على أساس يومي: المعاناة والتضحية.

البشر لديهم موهبة لفهم مقدار المعاناة والتضحية التي يجب عليهم تحملها للوصول إلى أهدافهم. الحيلة هي أنك تحتاج إلى البدء في القيام بذلك بوعي وتوجيه ما تجده في قرار يؤدي إلى السبب الذي يؤدي إلى الفريق ، مما يؤدي إلى نصر مستحيل.

كمثال ، دعنا ننظر إلى تاريخين مختلفين للشركة.

Airbnb هي الشركة التي تمكن الناس من فتح منازلهم لدفع الضيوف. هذه فكرة شاذة حتى اليوم ، عندما تستعد الشركة حاليًا لكتابة عامة أولية ضخمة (IPO). ولكن كان ذلك هو الجنون المطلق في عام 2008 عندما بدأ مؤسسوها ، برايان تشيسكي وجو جيببيا ، في محاولة لجمع الملايين لصالح شركة كان معظم الناس سيستخدمونها بشكل حصري بواسطة قتلة متسلسلين.

الثنائي ثابر ، ومع ذلك ، وتمسك بفكرتهم. لقد اعتقدوا أن الخطاف كان السهولة والحميمية التي يتقاسمها الأشخاص بمنازلهم مع أشخاص آخرين ، مما يمنح الضيوف تجربة العيش في المدينة التي يزورونها. كانت هذه الفكرة قوية للغاية بحيث لا يمكن التخلي عنها ، ومن المتوقع اليوم أن تحصل الشركة المجنونة على تقييم بعد الاكتتاب بقيمة 190 مليار دولار.

هذا مسار واحد. ولكن دعونا نفكر في شيء آخر.

لقد سمع قلة قليلة من الناس لعبة Neverending، لعبة فيديو صغيرة مبتكرة على الإنترنت فقط من شركة تدعى Ludicorp. المبدعين من لعبة Neverending يحلم بخلق عالم رقمي غامرة بالكامل ، كاملة مع التفاعلات الاجتماعية السوائل واقتصاد حقيقي وديناميكي. واجهت اللعبة صعوبة في الحصول على التمويل واللاعبين ، وسرعان ما كانت Ludicorp على وشك الانهيار.

في الأيام الأخيرة من حياة اللعبة ، أطلق أحد المبرمجين المغامرين بعض وظائف مشاركة الصور البسيطة لعبة Neverendingالنظام الاجتماعي. سرعان ما أصبحت مشاركة الصور النشاط رقم واحد بين مجموعة اللاعبين المتوترين في اللعبة. وضع هذا ستيوارت باترفيلد ، مؤسس شركة لوديكورب ورئيسها التنفيذي ، في موقف صعب.

يمكن أن يتجاهل Butterfield نجاح مشاركة الصور وجمع أموال الشركة المتبقية في جهد أخير لجعل اللعبة ناجحة - وهو اتجاه نادى به معظم موظفيه. أو يمكنه التخلي عن حلمه في إدارة شركة ألعاب والبدء في إنشاء تطبيق صور.

كان القرار صعبًا ، لكن في النهاية ، قرر باترفيلد إلغاء اللعبة وإطلاق شركة تصوير بدلاً من ذلك. لقد أعطى شركة ناشئة الجديدة اسمًا مناسبًا لعصر الترقيم: فليكر.

أصبح Flickr ، في عالم ما قبل Facebook ، الموقع الأول لتبادل الصور على الأرض ، وتمتلكه في النهاية Yahoo! في عام 2005 لحوالي 22 إلى 25 مليون دولار.

كبشر لدينا رغبة فطرية للمقارنة. هل عبقريتي تشيسكي وجيبيا متمسكين بفكرتهما وبناء شركة بمليارات الدولارات؟ هل كان بوترفيلد خبيرًا استراتيجيًا في التركيز على الصور وكسب ثروة محترمة من ثروته؟ الجواب على حد سواء هو نفسه: ليس حقا.

هؤلاء الرجال ليسوا مميزين أو فريدين. لكل واحد منهم الآلاف الذين رفضوا التمركز ، أو فعلوا المحور ولم ينتهي بهم شيء. الدرس هنا ليس أنهم نجحوا. لقد نجحوا في إيجاد واحترام عتباتهم الخاصة بالمعاناة والتضحية.

كل إنسان لديه عتبة غير محددة لكل من المعاناة والتضحية التي لا يرغبون في تجاوزها. نحن لا نتحدث عن ذلك. لا يمكننا قياسه على أي معيار موضوعي. لكنه موجود ، وهناك للجميع.

النبيل الموقر: الإقلاع عن التدخين ليس الفشل

الشخص النبيل هو شخص يفهم مكان هذا الخط ويتعلم احترامه. حصل الإقلاع على اسم سيئ من أشخاص ليسوا على علم أو غير راغبين في تحديد هذه العتبة ، وبالتالي قرروا التوقف قبل أن يصلوا إليها. لا يوجد أي شرف أو سبب في هذا النوع من الاستقالة.

علمتني مغامراتي أنه بينما لدينا جميعًا عتبة للمعاناة والتضحية ، فإنها عادة ما تكون أعلى بكثير مما نعتقد. الشخص الذي سيكون قادراً على قيادة فريق عالي الأداء يأخذ الوقت الكافي لمعرفة مكان خطهم بالضبط. لأنه بمجرد أن تعرف ذلك ، يمكنك رفع رؤوس الأصابع إلى الحافة والذهاب فعليًا إلى أبعد من جميع الأشخاص الآخرين الذين قاموا بالهبوط لمسافة ميل إلى الخلف لأنهم لم يستطيعوا أن يتخيلوا أنهم يستطيعون الوصول إلى هذا الحد.

الطريق إلى القيام بأشياء صعبة

الطريق إلى فعل الأشياء الصعبة ليس الحماس الطائش. هو أن تتعلم عن نفسك. التعلم عن نفسك هو الطريقة الوحيدة لمنع السلبية ، وتحمل الشدائد الماضية ، وتحقيق الهدف الذي حددته. وهذا يعني اختبار نفسك. وهذا يعني كسب ثقتك بنفسك ودفع المصاعب. بعد ذلك سيكون لديك الحق في أن تقول لفريقك ، "هذا ما يتعين علينا القيام به".

الإقلاع ليس الفشل. الإقلاع عن التدخين يدرك أن هذا الهدف الواحد لا يناسبك أنت وفريقك. الفشل ، الفشل الحقيقي ، لا يجد هدفًا يناسبك أبدًا.

بدأ طريقي للنجاح في اليوم الذي تركته في شيء كنت أرغب فيه طوال حياتي. كانت تلك هي الخطوة الأولى في رحلة من شأنها أن تقودني إلى اكتشاف عملية العثور على أفضل أهدافي ، وصياغة أسباب قوية ، وبناء فرق استثنائية ، وقيادتهم إلى نجاحات مستحيلة.

© 2019 بواسطة جيسون كالدويل. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتبسة بإذن من التنقل المستحيل.
الناشر: بيريت كوهلر. https://bkconnection.com/

المادة المصدر

استكشاف المستحيل: بناء فرق غير عادية وتحطيم التوقعات
بواسطة جيسون كالدويل

استكشاف المستحيل: بناء فرق غير عادية وتحطيم التوقعات بقلم جيسون كالدويليعتمد جيسون كالدويل ، رياضي التحمل القياسي العالمي ومدرب القيادة المحترفة ، على تجاربه المدهشة لإظهار كيف يمكن لأي شخص بناء وقيادة الفرق التي تنجز أشياء لا تصدق. هذا الكتاب عبارة عن تقطير لبرامج جيسون الناطقة حول العالم التي تم تسليمها إلى الحشود المعبأة في شركات Fortune 500 والجامعات في جميع أنحاء العالم. إنها الإجابة على سؤال يطرحه باستمرار: كيف تمكنت أنت وفرقك من تحقيق هذه الأهداف التي تبدو مستحيلة؟ وهو أيضًا كتيب إرشادي يمكنه تعليم أي شخص كيفية القيام بالشيء نفسه. (متوفر أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle وكقرص صوتي مضغوط).

انقر لطلب على الأمازون


كتاب آخر لهذا المؤلف: ماذا لو

عن المؤلف

جيسون كالدويلجيسون كالدويل هو مؤسس Latitude 35 ، شركة تدريب على القيادة تعمل في جميع أنحاء العالم. وهو أيضًا متسابق مغامرة يحمل حاليًا أكثر من عشرة أرقام قياسية في القارات الخمس. وقد عمل مع شركات مثل Nike و Booking.com و Santander Bank وعرض برامج في مؤسسات التعليم العالي بما في ذلك Columbia Business School و Wharton School و Haas School of Business بجامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي.

بودكاست / مقابلة مع جيسون كالدويل: بناء وقيادة فريق استثنائي

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Finding A Goal That Is Right For You

Answering The Question
Image by Peggy und Marco Lachmann-Anke

I have done incredible things, but I have never achieved any­thing great on my own. Every record I’ve set, every stroke I’ve taken, and every mile I’ve hiked is made possible by my teams. Every member of the team may not have been with me at the finish line, but they were the ones who ultimately made it pos­sible for me to be able to cross it at all.

Every team I build is meant to do something impossible. Doing the impossible in this case means accomplishing a goal that subverts the expectations of rational people.

Your impossible could be hitting a massive sales quota, starting an innovative new company, or just making sure the people you’ve hired get to keep their jobs for another quarter. The impossible is all around us, but so is adventure, and adven­ture can beat the impossible if you do things in the right order. The very first step is answering the question why? Not for your team, not for your boss, but for yourself.

Why?

Why should you give all your time and effort to this par­ticular goal? If you don’t know why you’re doing something, if you don’t have a crystal-clear image of the success you’re chas­ing and the reason you’re chasing it, then you will never lead a high-performance team. You might be able to scrape together a few solid returns out of a burned-out group of overstressed individuals, but it won’t last.

If I didn’t have a strong why for my team and from my team, we would not have won our world record. We would not have made it across the ocean. We probably would have never even tried.

If all this sounds emotional, that’s because it is. Leadership is way more right-brained than people give it credit for. Building strategy is important. Setting timelines is important. Project management is important. But if you don’t own the emotions of your team, then you don’t really have a team at all.

The First Step In Finding "Why"

The only way to reliably build teams that succeed is to find your why and instill it into the hearts and minds of the people you’re supposed to be leading. Believe it or not, the first step in finding that why may in fact be quitting.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Quitting is not a failure. Most people have heard that “it’s not how many times you get hit that matters; it’s how many times you get back up,” and that’s what they believe.

This saying is inspirational as hell if you’re in a Rocky movie. But in real life, it’s wildly off base. I’m not here to teach you how to be good at getting up. I’m here to teach you how to learn the right lessons from your time on the ground so that when you do get back up, you cannot be knocked down again. And neither can the members of your team.

When we were rowing in the ocean, whenever one of us took a dip in the water we were tied with a rope in case the currents changed suddenly. The last thing you want is to be untethered in the middle of endless water watching hopelessly as your boat disappears over the horizon.

However, we also always kept a knife on the deck as well. This knife was meant to cut the rope in the event an unex­pected wave shifted it into a position where it was actually injuring one of our teammates. In life, your why is just like that rope.

Not All Goals Are Cre­ated Equal

Some people are too afraid to bring out their knife. They cling so tightly to an opportunity that they don’t realize it’s actually strangling them to death. They prefer that choking consistency to the terrifying possibility of being set adrift in an ocean of raw possibility.

Direction is good. Goals are good. But not all goals are cre­ated equal, and you need to test and be intentional with your goals to make sure they reflect the unique abilities, emotions, and goals of you and the team you are leading. Then you need to lead the team to the success you promised. In this book you will learn a process in which both of those things can be accomplished.

It starts with finding your why, which may mean calling it quits on a goal that is wrong for your team. But how do you know when the time is right? How do you know if an oppor­tunity is keeping you tethered securely or choking the life out of you?

Leadership Lesson: Understand Suffering and Sacrifice

Quitting is nothing more than weighing two variables and finding that one of them has stopped being worth it. These two variables are something that every human deals with on a daily basis: suffering and sacrifice.

Humans have a knack for understanding the amount of suf­fering and sacrifice that they must endure to reach their goals. The trick is that you need to start doing this consciously and channeling what you find into a decision that leads to a why, which leads to a team, which leads to an impossible victory.

As an example, let’s look at two different corporate histories.

Airbnb is a company that enables people to open their homes to paying guests. That’s a wild idea even today, when as of this writing the company is currently poised for a mas­sive initial public offering (IPO). But it was absolute insanity back in 2008 when its founders, Brian Chesky and Joe Gebbia, started trying to raise millions for a company most people were sure would be used exclusively by serial killers.

The duo persevered, however, and held on to their idea. The hook, they believed, was the ease and intimacy of people sharing their homes with other people, giving guests the ex­perience of really living in the city they’re visiting. That idea was too powerful to give up, and today the insane company is projected to receive a post-IPO valuation of $190 billion.

That’s one path. But let’s consider another.

Very few people have heard of Game Neverending, an inno­vative little internet-only video game from a company called Ludicorp. The creators of Game Neverending dreamed of creat­ing a fully immersive digital world, complete with fluid social interactions and a real, dynamic economy. The game had trou­ble getting funding—and players—and soon Ludicorp was on the verge of collapse.

In the final days of the game’s life, one enterprising pro­grammer launched some simple photo-sharing functionality into Game Neverending’s social system. Photo sharing quickly became the number one activity among the game’s band of diehard players. This put Stewart Butterfield, Ludicorp’s co­founder and chief executive, in a tough position.

Butterfield could ignore the success of photo-sharing and leverage the company’s remaining funds into a last-ditch effort to make the game a success—a direction that was championed by most of his employees. Or he could abandon his dream of running a gaming company and start building a photo app.

The decision was difficult, but eventually Butterfield de­cided to scrap the game and launch a photo company instead. He gave his new start-up an era-appropriate, vowel-discarding name: Flickr.

Flickr became, in a pre-Facebook world, the number one photo-sharing website on earth and was eventually acquired by Yahoo! in 2005 for an estimated $22 to $25 million.

As humans we have an innate desire for comparison. Are Chesky and Gebbia geniuses for holding on to their idea and building a multibillion-dollar company? Was Butterfield a master strategist for pivoting to photos and earning himself a respectable fortune of his own? The answer to both is the same: not really.

These men aren’t special or unique. For every one of them there are thousands more who refused to pivot, or did pivot and ended up with nothing. The lesson here is not that they were successful. It’s that they became successful by finding and respecting their own thresholds for suffering and sacrifice.

Every human has an undefined threshold for both suffering and sacrifice that they are unwilling to go past. We don’t talk about it. We can’t measure it on any objective standard. But it’s there, and it’s there for everyone.

A Noble Quitter: Quitting Is Not Failure

A noble quitter is someone who understands where that line is and learns to respect it. Quitting has gotten a bad name from people who are unaware or unwilling to define that threshold and therefore decide to stop before they ever hit it. There is no honor or reason in that sort of quitting.

My adventures have taught me that while we all do have a threshold for suffering and sacrifice, it is usually much higher than we think. A person who would be capable of leading a high-performance team takes the time to learn exactly where their line is. Because once you know it, you can tiptoe right up to the edge and actually go further than all the other people who flamed out a mile back because they couldn’t imagine they could make it that far.

The Path To Doing Difficult Things

The path to doing difficult things is not mindless enthusi­asm. It is to learn about yourself. Learning about yourself is the only way to block out negativity, endure past adversity, and meet the goal you’ve set. It means testing yourself. It means earning your own self-confidence and paying through hardship. Then you will have the right to say to your team, “This is what we have to do.”

Quitting is not failure. Quitting is realizing that this one goal isn’t right for you and your team. Failure, real failure, is never finding a goal that is right for you.

My path to success started the day I quit on something I’d wanted my entire life. That was the first step in a journey that would lead me to discover the process of finding my best goals, forging strong whys, building exceptional teams, and leading them to impossible successes.

©2019 by Jason Caldwell. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission from Navigating the Impossible.
Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers. https://bkconnection.com/

Article Source

Navigating the Impossible: Build Extraordinary Teams and Shatter Expectations
by Jason Caldwell

Navigating the Impossible: Build Extraordinary Teams and Shatter Expectations by Jason CaldwellWorld-record endurance athlete and professional leadership coach Jason Caldwell draws on his amazing experiences to show how anyone can build and lead teams that accomplish incredible things. This book is a distillation of Jason's worldwide speaking programs delivered to packed crowds at Fortune 500 companies and universities worldwide. It is the answer to a question he is constantly asked: How were you and your teams able to accomplish such seemingly impossible goals? And it's also a guidebook that can teach anyone how to do the same. (Also available as a Kindle edition and as an Audio CD.)

click to order on amazon

 


Another Book by this Author: WHAT IF

About the Author

Jason CaldwellJason Caldwell is the founder of Latitude 35, a leadership training firm that operates around the world. He is also an adventure racer who currently holds over a dozen world records across five continents. He has worked with companies such as Nike, Booking.com, and Santander Bank and has offered programs at institutions of higher education including Columbia Business School, the Wharton School, and the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley.

Podcast/Interview with Jason Caldwell: Building & Leading an Extraordinary Team

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…