كيف يؤثر جيل الألفية على سعر منزلك

كيف يؤثر جيل الألفية على سعر منزلك
جيل الألفية هم أقل عرضة لامتلاك منزل من الأجيال السابقة كانوا في نفس العمر. اندي دين التصوير الفوتوغرافي / shutterstock.com

اعتاد أن يكون كل شخص يريد شراء منزل ، والسعي لتحقيق الأمان والأمان ، وكذلك القدرة على الثروة في المستقبل.

لكن الأميركيين الأصغر سنا يشترون منازل أقل بكثير مما كانت تفعله أجيالهم الأكبر سنا ، وهذا يعرض قطاعا كبيرا من الاقتصاد الأمريكي للخطر.

مستويات ملكية المنازل الألفية أقل بشكل كبير من الأجيال السابقة في عصر مماثل. في 1985 ، يمتلك 45.5٪ من 25- إلى 34 من العمر منازل في الولايات المتحدة بواسطة 2015 ، انخفض هذا بنحو 25٪.

منذ صناعة الإسكان حسابات حاليا ل 15٪ إلى 18٪ من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للبلادأي تغيير في السلوك الثابت قد يكون له عواقب وخيمة على الاقتصاد الأكبر.

الباحثين مثلي يواجه المهتمون بمستقبل الاقتصاد الأمريكي بعض الأسئلة الصعبة حول كيفية تغيير سلوك الألفية لسوق الإسكان.

يشير بحثي الأخير إلى أن كل من الزيادة والنقصان في أسعار المنازل يمكن ربطهما مباشرة بالمكان الذي يختار جيل الألفية العيش فيه. إذا كان هناك تغيير سلوكي طويل الأجل على قدم وساق ، ولا يزال هذا الجيل لا يشتري المنازل ، فسيؤثر ذلك بشكل مباشر على الناتج المحلي الإجمالي.

ملكية البيت

وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أن الأجيال الشابة متخلفة الأجيال السابقة من حيث معالم مثل ملكية المنزل والزواج.

واحدة من الأصول التي تميز الأجيال السابقة عن بعضها البعض هو الأسهم المنزلية. في 2001 ، احتفظ Gen-Xers بمتوسط ​​130,000 دولار أمريكي في الأصول ، مقارنة بآلاف السنين في 2016 التي احتفظت بنسبة 31٪ تقريبًا.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الأصول المنسوبة إلى حقوق ملكية المنازل تخضع لأهواء سوق الإسكان. فقط أسأل أي شخص لا يزال تحت الماء على منزل تم شراؤه قبل الأزمة المالية.

إن الأسهم المنزلية ليست فقط عرضة للاضطرابات الاقتصادية واسعة النطاق. في الواقع ، إنه يتقلب باستمرار.

العمر والتكلفة

لقد قمت بتحليل بيانات من مكتب الإحصاء الأمريكي ومسح المجتمع الأمريكي من حوالي 800 من أكثر المقاطعات اكتظاظًا بالسكان في الولايات المتحدة ، أو حوالي 85٪ من السكان ، في دراسة لم يتم نشرها بعد. تظهر البيانات اتجاها مربكا إلى حد ما.

إذا لم ينتقل أحد من مقاطعة إلى أخرى ، فكل المقاطعات تقريبًا تكبر تدريجياً من حيث متوسط ​​العمر.

ومع ذلك ، فقد تسببت هجرة الأفراد الأصغر سنا في المقام الأول في تصاعد هذا التحول في الشيخوخة. بعض المناطق هي الشيخوخة بسرعة أكبر بكثير مما كان متوقعا. في تلك المناطق ، كانت أسعار المنازل عرضة للتراجع على المدى الطويل.

بمعنى آخر ، فإن اتجاه ارتفاع أو انخفاض قيم المنازل يتبع أنماط الهجرة في الولايات المتحدة

من 2010 إلى 2016 ، كانت المقاطعات التي يبلغ عدد سكانها من كبار السن أكثر عرضة بنسبة 50٪ إلى انخفاض قيم المنازل عن تلك المقاطعات التي أصبحت "أصغر سنا". وليس من المستغرب أن المقاطعات التي أصبحت أصغر سنا كانت تعاني من زيادات في كل من السكان وفي أسعار المنازل.

هناك مجالان يقدمان مثالاً على ذلك وهما مفتاح صناعة النفط والغاز: منطقة ميدلاند-أوديسا بتكساس وارد كاونتي ، داكوتا الشمالية. لم تشهد كلتا المنطقتين انخفاضًا صافًا في عمر السكان فحسب ، بل شهدت أيضًا زيادة صافية في عدد السكان.

هذا أبعد ما يكون عن ظاهرة ريفية. في مقاطعة أليغني ، مقاطعة بنسلفانيا التي تضم بيتسبيرغ ، أدت زيادة مماثلة في عدد السكان إلى انخفاض متوسط ​​العمر لسكانها.

تكلفة المنزل

لقد غذت هجرة جيل الألفية إلى مقاطعات معينة المعاملات العقارية المضاربة.

في 2018 ، تصل هذه المعاملات إلى مستويات أقل بقليل من أعلى مستوياتها قبل الأزمة ، وهو ما يمثل ما يقرب من 11٪ من جميع المنازل التي تم بيعها العام الماضي. الأسعار متضخمة من قبل المشترين الذين يتطلعون إلى "قلب" المنازل. هذا يجبر المشترين الأصغر سنا على التنافس مع المحترفين ، مما يدفعهم إلى الخروج من الأسواق التي يهاجرون إليها.

يشعر المستثمرون الأصغر سنا بالإحباط من تكلفة ما يسميه الاقتصاديون بالاحتكاكات. الاحتكاكات تشمل يتم تشغيل هذا المعدل 5٪ إلى 6٪ من سعر الشراء ، ورسوم الفحص والتقييم لا تعد ولا تحصى ، وكذلك الرهن العقاري والتأمين على الملكية. كل هذا يتعارض مع الشفافية وسهولة الوصول إلى العديد من جيل الألفية أصبحت معتادة في العالم الحديث.

منذ جيل الشباب هو أفضل تعليما، قد يتوقع المرء زيادة كبيرة في الأجور لمواجهة بعض هذه الاحتكاكات. لكن الخريجين الجدد الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 22 و 27 كسب حوالي 2 ٪ أقل من سابقاتها في 1990.

If أسعار المساكن كما بقيت مسطحة نسبيا ، وهذا لن يكون مشكلة على الأرجح. ومع ذلك ، فمن 2000 إلى الوقت الحالي ، ارتفع متوسط ​​أسعار المنازل بحوالي 3.8٪ سنويًا ، على الرغم من أن هذا يختلف بشكل كبير من مقاطعة إلى أخرى.

مع استمرار المناطق الحضرية في جذب المزيد من السكان الجدد ، قد يحتاج العديد من الشباب إلى إعادة تقييم القيمة الحقيقية التي توفرها ملكية المنازل. وفي الوقت نفسه ، من المحتمل أن تصبح الأجيال الأكبر سناً تدرك تأثير الهجرة الألفية على الحلم الأمريكي. إذا كنت تعيش في منطقة تعد شيخوخة أسرع من المعدل الطبيعي ، فإن احتمال انخفاض قيمة منزلك حقيقي للغاية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيمي لينز ، أستاذ مساعد في العلوم المالية ، جامعة ساوث كارولينا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

How Millennials Are Affecting The Price Of Your Home

How Millennials Are Affecting The Price Of Your Home
Millennials are less likely to own a home than previous generations were at the same age. Andy Dean Photography/shutterstock.com 

It used to be that everyone wanted to buy a home, seeking pleasure and security, as well as the potential for future wealth.

But younger Americans are buying homes far less often than their elders’ generations did, and that puts a large sector of the U.S. economy at risk.

Millennial home ownership levels are dramatically lower than the those of previous generations at a similar age. In 1985, 45.5% of 25- to 34-year-olds owned homes in the U.S. By 2015, this had fallen about 25%.

Since the housing industry currently accounts for 15% to 18% of the nation’s gross domestic product, any change in established behavior could have substantial consequences on the larger economy.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Researchers like me who are interested in the future of the U.S. economy are faced with some difficult questions about how millennials’ behavior is changing the housing market.

My recent research suggests that both increases and decreases in home prices can be directly tied to where millennials choose to live. If a long-term behavioral change is afoot, and this generation continues not to buy homes, it will very directly impact GDP.

Homeownership

Research has shown that younger generations lag behind previous generations in terms of milestones like homeownership and marriage.

One of the assets that set previous generations apart is home equity. In 2001, Gen-Xers held an average of US$130,000 in assets, compared to millennials in 2016 that held almost 31% less.

However, assets attributed to home equity are subject to the whims of the housing market. Just ask anyone still underwater on a home purchased before the financial crisis.

And home equity isn’t just vulnerable to large-scale economic upheavals. In fact, it’s constantly fluctuating.

Age and cost

I analyzed data from the U.S. Census Bureau and American Community Survey from about 800 of the most populous counties in the U.S., or about 85% of the population, in a study that has not yet been published. The data show a rather disconcerting trend.

If no one ever moved from one county to another, almost all counties would gradually grow older in terms of average age.

However, the migration of primarily younger individuals has caused an escalation in this aging shift. Some areas are aging much more quickly than expected. In those areas, home prices have been vulnerable to long-term declines.

In other words, the trend of rising or falling home values follows patterns of migration in the U.S.

From 2010 to 2016, counties with aging populations were about 50% more likely to have experienced a decline in home values than those counties that were becoming “younger.” Not surprisingly, counties that were becoming younger were often experiencing increases in both populations and in the prices of homes.

Two areas that provide an illustration of this are key to the oil and gas industry: the Midland-Odessa area of Texas and Ward County, North Dakota. Both areas have experienced not only a net decrease in the age of residents, but also a net increase in population.

This is far from a rural phenomenon. In Allegheny County, the Pennsylvania county that’s home to Pittsburgh, a similar increase in population has also decreased the average age of its residents.

The cost of a home

Millennials’ migration to particular counties has fueled speculative real estate transactions.

In 2018, such transactions are reaching levels just below the pre-crisis highs, accounting for almost 11% of all homes sold last year. The prices are inflated by buyers looking to “flip” houses. This forces younger buyers to compete with the professionals, pushing them out of the markets they are migrating to.

Younger buyers are further frustrated by the cost of what economists refer to as frictions. Frictions include commissions that average 5% to 6% of the purchase price, myriad inspection and appraisal fees, as well as mortgage and title insurance. All of this runs counter to the transparency and ease of access many millennials have become used to in the modern world.

Since the younger generation is better educated, one might expect significant wage increases to counter some of these frictions. But recent graduates between the ages of 22 and 27 earn about 2% less than their predecessors did in 1990.

If home prices had also stayed relatively flat, this likely wouldn’t be an issue. However, from 2000 to the present, average home prices have increased by about 3.8% annually, though this varies dramatically from county to county.

As urban areas continue to attract more new residents, many young people may need to reassess the true value that home ownership offers. Meanwhile, older generations are likely just becoming aware of the impact of millennial migration on the American dream. If you live in an area that is aging faster than the natural rate, the probability of your home value decreasing is very real.The Conversation

About The Author

Jimmie Lenz, Clinical Assistant Professor of Finance, University of South Carolina

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}