نصف أصحاب العمل يقولون إنهم أقل ميلا لتجنيد المرشحين الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة

نصف أصحاب العمل يقولون إنهم أقل ميلا لتجنيد المرشحين الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة
غالباً ما تعاني النساء اللاتي يواجهن أدواراً تواجه العملاء أكثر من غيرها. العالم صورة السمنة البنك, CC BY

السمنة هي واحدة من التحديات الصحية العامة الأكثر إلحاحًا وإثارة للجدل. إنه يتميز بكونه أزمة حول رأي معظم الناس - غالباً ما يعتمد على تشخيص بسيط - ولكن لا أحد وجد حلا مناسبا.

لا يزال من الشائع جدا سماع خبراء مدربين سريريًا ، بالإضافة إلى أشخاص عاديين ، يجرون ثغرات قديمة متعبة حول نقص الإرادةأو أنه اختيار أسلوب حياة يجب على الناس تحمل المزيد من المسؤولية. حتى في بعض الأعمال الحديثة ، يبدو أنه لا يزال من المستحسن استهداف الممارسات التمييزية ضد أولئك الذين يعيشون مع السمنة.

ومؤخرا فقط ، أبلغت الخطوط الجوية الباكستانية الدولية أنها أخبرت طاقم الطائرة زيادة الوزن أنهم يجب أن يفقدوا الوزن أو أن يكونوا مؤرضين. "لا أحد يرغب في الحصول على طاقم رث في الطائرة ،" وقال المتحدث باسم ورد في التخفيف.

فهل حان الوقت لكي تصبح أكثر صرامة على العمال البدناء أو ذوي الوزن الزائد و "العبء" الذي أصبحوا عليه ، أو هل سيعمل نهج أكثر تعاطفاً ودينماً بشكل أفضل؟

السمنة: الحقائق

في انجلترا، نسبة 60٪ من الرجال و 50٪ من النساء يعانون من زيادة الوزن أو السمنة. ربع الرجال والنساء يعانون من السمنة ، وقد تزايد هذا الأمر خلال السنوات العشر الماضية. للمقارنة ، في 30 فقط 1980 ٪ من البالغين كانوا يعانون من السمنة. في علاج 7-2014 تكلف السمنة وعواقبها تكلفة NHS في إنجلترا £ 2015 مليار.

تشير الأدلة إلى أن أسباب البدانة معقدة بشكل شيطاني. تقرير حكومة 2007 UK foresight علم السمنة يبقى واحدًا من التفكيك الأكثر شمولية لقضية "نقص قوة الإرادة". وأظهرت العشرات من المساهمين في الطب والنفسية والمجتمعية لهذه المشكلة.

Dame Carol Black للمراجعة في التأثير على نتائج العمل من إدمان المخدرات أو الكحول ، والبدانة - التي كنت مستشارا - وجدت هناك العديد من المحددات الاجتماعية للسمنة. استعراض رئيسي من قبل منظمة الصحة العالمية وجدت أن أكثر من 33 ٪ من أولئك الذين لا يعملون ، وأولئك الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة أو السمنة بشدة ، كانوا من أكثر المناطق حرمانًا.

وهذا يعني أن الأشخاص البدناء في المجموعات الاجتماعية الاقتصادية الدنيا أصبحوا أثقل بمعدل أسرع من الأشخاص في المجموعات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الأعلى. هذا موضح في الرسم البياني أدناه من فرنسا حيث ، بين 1997 و 2012 ، أصبحت مجموعة الدخل الأدنى أكثر من ثلاث مرات أسرع من تلك الموجودة في مجموعتي الدخل الأعلى.

نصف أصحاب العمل يقولون إنهم أقل ميلا لتجنيد المرشحين الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة2014 / منظمة الصحة العالمية.

الوصمة الوزن

السمنة في القوى العاملة أمر لا نزال نسمع عنه ، ولكن الأمر يتزايد أيضا. الصحة العامة انكلترا التقديرات أن ما يصل إلى ثلث العاملين هم من البدناء وأن هناك 16m أيام من الغياب المرض كل عام بسبب السمنة. كانت تكلفة فقدان الإنتاجية في الولايات المتحدة التي تعزى إلى السمنة المقدرة بـ 15.1 مليار دولار. عمال المناوبة لديهم أيضا خطر مرتفع من السمنة أيضا.

ما هو واضح هو أن الصور النمطية السلبية حول البدناء في العمل لا تزال قائمة. وغالبا ما ينظر إليهم على أنهم كسالى ، يفتقرون إلى الانضباط الذاتي ، وأقل كفاءة ، وأقل ضميرا ، وغير متحمسون. بدين غالباً ما يكون للعمال أجور بداية أقل ونجاح أقل في التوظيف - 45٪ من أصحاب العمل يقولون انهم أقل ميلا لتوظيف المرشحين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة. ومن غير المرجح أن يُنظر إليهن كقادة قادرين أو لديهم إمكانات مهنية ، ومن الأرجح أن يتعرضن للتنمر والمضايقة ، كما أن النساء البدينات أقل احتمالية للحصول على وظائف تواجه العملاء.

دراسة واحدة عن التمييز في العمل وجد الشخص أكثر من زيادة الوزن ، وأكثر من المرجح أنهم الإبلاغ عن التمييز في مكان العمل. زاد احتمال زيادة عدد العمال الزائدين بمقدار 12 ، وكان من بين الأشخاص الذين يعانون من السمنة الزائدة 37 أوقاتًا أكثر احتمالًا ، وأصبح المستجيبون الذين يعانون من السمنة الشديدة أكثر عرضة للإصابة بفرص العمل.

كما أن النساء أكثر عرضة للإبلاغ عن التمييز في التوظيف المتصل بالوزن مقارنة بالرجال. وذلك لأن أجزاء من قطاع الخدمات لدينا لديها "العمل الجمالي"السوق حيث تكون صورة الجسم والاستمالة على الأقل بنفس أهمية الكفاءة.

العلاقة بين السمنة والصحة العقلية مهمة أيضا. دراسة واحدة وجدت أن التمييز على أساس الوزن يفسر الكثير من الصلة بين السمنة والرفاه النفسي ، وهناك أدلة واضحة على ذلك الأدوية المضادة للذهان والسمنة مرتبطة. على الرغم من كل هذا التعقيد ، بالنسبة للبعض ما زال من الأسهل إلقاء اللوم على البدناء.

مساعدة داعمة

في أوروبا، القانون هو اللحاق بالركب مع ضرورة التأكد من أن أصحاب العمل يدركون أن ضعف الوظيفة - مثل انخفاض الحركة - الناجم عن السمنة المفرطة يمكن اعتباره ضمن نطاق تشريع المساواة هو "سمة محمية" ويتطلب إجراء تعديلات في مكان العمل. هذا على الأقل يشير الطريق نحو النهج الداعمة بدلا من العقابية في أماكن العمل.

تقديم الدعم ليس عن الغياب بل هو مساعدة الناس الذين يعيشون ويعملون مع السمنة والوزن الزائد على اتخاذ المزيد من السيطرة وإجراء تغييرات على وجباتهم وأنماط حياتهم التي تعيد تدريجيا بناء الثقة بالنفس والوكالة.

يمكن أن تكون أماكن العمل ساحات كبيرة يمكن من خلالها تقديم هذا الدعم بدون تحيز ، وحيث يمكن البناء على نجاحات صغيرة. أنا من الطراز القديم بحيث أعتقد أن اللطف والتعاطف هما ، في النهاية ، قوى أكثر قوة من السخرية والازدراء. دعونا نعطيهم المحاولة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستيفن بيفان ، رئيس تطوير بحوث الموارد البشرية ، معهد دراسات التوظيف ، جامعة لانكستر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تمييز الوزن ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

MSNBC's Climate Forum 2020 Day 1 and 2
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
في هذا اليوم ، 9 / 11: ذكرى مؤلمة
في هذا اليوم ، 9 / 11: ذكرى مؤلمة
by ماريان ويليامسون
إدخال اللطف كممارسة يومية
إدخال اللطف كممارسة يومية
by Choden وهيذر ريغان أديس

Half Of Employers Say They Are Less Inclined To Recruit Obese Candidates

Half Of Employers Say They Are Less Inclined To Recruit Obese Candidates
Women in customer facing roles often suffer most. World Obesity Image Bank, CC BY

Obesity is one of the most pressing and controversial public health challenges. It has the distinction of being a crisis about which most people have an opinion – often based on a simple diagnosis – but for which nobody has found a correspondingly neat solution.

It’s still very common to hear even clinically trained experts, as well as ordinary folk, trot out tired old certainties about a lack of willpower, or that it is a lifestyle choice for which people should take more responsibility. Even in some modern businesses, it seems that it’s still OK to target discriminatory practices against those living with obesity.

Only recently, Pakistan International Airlines was reported to have told overweight cabin crew that they must lose weight or be grounded. “No one would like to have shabby crew in the aircraft,” a spokesperson reportedly said in mitigation.

So is it time to get tougher on obese or overweight workers and the “burden” they have become, or would a more empathetic and supportive approach work better?

Obesity: the facts

In England, 60% of men and 50% women are overweight or obese. A quarter of men and women are obese and this has been increasing over the last 30 years. For comparison, in 1980 only 7% of adults were obese. In 2014-2015 treating obesity and its consequences cost the NHS in England £5.1 billion.

Evidence shows the causes of obesity are devilishly complex. The 2007 UK government’s Foresight report on the science of obesity remains one of the most comprehensive dismantling of the “lack of willpower” argument. It showed dozens of medical, psychological and societal contributors to the problem.

Dame Carol Black’s review into the impact on employment outcomes of drug or alcohol addiction, and obesity – to which I was an adviser – found there are many social determinants of obesity. A major review by the World Health Organisation found that over 33% of those not in work, and those who are either obese or severely obese, were from the most deprived areas.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


This means that obese people in lower socioeconomic groups are getting heavier at a faster rate than people in higher socioeconomic groups. This is illustrated in the graph below from France where, between 1997 and 2012, the lowest income group became obese more than three times faster than those in the two highest income groups.

Half Of Employers Say They Are Less Inclined To Recruit Obese Candidates2014/ World Health Organisation.

Weight stigma

Obesity in the workforce is something we still hear less about, but which is also increasing. Public Health England estimates that up to a third of working people are obese and that there are 16m days of sickness absence each year due to obesity. The cost of lost productivity in the US attributable to obesity has been estimated at $15.1 billion. Shift workers also have an elevated risk of obesity too.

What is clear is that negative stereotypes about obese people at work persist. They are often seen as lazy, lacking in self-discipline, less competent, less conscientious and unmotivated. Obese workers often have lower starting pay and less hiring success – 45% of employers say they are less inclined to recruit obese candidates. They are less likely to be regarded as able leaders or to have career potential, are more likely to experience bullying and harassment, and obese women are less likely to get customer-facing jobs.

One study on employment discrimination found the more overweight a person is, the more the likely they are to report discrimination in the workplace. Overweight workers were 12 times more likely, obese respondents were 37 times more likely, and severely obese respondents were 100 times more likely than normal weight respondents to report employment discrimination.

Women are also 16 times more likely to report weight related employment discrimination than men. This is because parts of our service sector have an “aesthetic labour” market where body image and grooming are at least as important as competence.

The relationship between obesity and mental health is also important. One study found that discrimination on the basis of weight explains much of the link between obesity and psychological well-being and there is clear evidence that anti-psychotic drugs and obesity are linked. Despite all this complexity, for some it’s still easier to blame the obese.

Supportive help

In Europe, the law is catching up with the need to make sure that employers understand that functional impairment – such as reduced mobility – resulting from extreme obesity can be considered as coming under the scope of equalities legislation as a “protected characteristic” and require workplace adjustments to be made. This at least points the way towards supportive rather than punitive approaches in workplaces.

Offering support is not about absolution but it is about helping people living and working with obesity and overweight to take more control and to make changes to their diets and lifestyles which gradually rebuild self-esteem and agency.

Workplaces can be great arenas within which this support can be offered without prejudice and where small successes can be built upon. I’m old-fashioned enough to believe that kindness and empathy are, in the end, more powerful forces than derision and contempt. Let’s give them a try.The Conversation

About The Author

Stephen Bevan, Head of HR Research Development, Institute for Employment Studies, Lancaster University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=weight discrimination;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}