Comment les femmes entrepreneurs ressentent-elles la pression d'agir en ligne en ligne?

Comment les femmes entrepreneurs ressentent-elles la pression d'agir en ligne en ligne?

Selon une nouvelle étude, les femmes entrepreneurs se sentent poussées à faire des affaires en ligne d'une manière traditionnellement féminine.

Cela inclut le maintien des personnalités des médias sociaux qui affichent la modestie, la socialité et «une aura de décorum» - les mêmes restrictions qui s'appliquent souvent aux femmes dans les milieux d'affaires hors ligne.

«Je doute que les travailleurs, hommes ou femmes, dans les secteurs traditionnellement masculins tels que la science, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques, connaissent ces mêmes exigences», explique le co-auteur Brooke Duffy, professeur adjoint de communication à l'Université Cornell.

"Bien qu'il soit inspirant que nous assistons à une augmentation de l'entrepreneuriat féminin à l'ère numérique, ces catégories d'entreprises ont tendance à être hautement féminisée. Cela signifie que les hiérarchies de genre et les inégalités dans le monde du travail perdurent », explique Duffy.

Ils ont interviewé des professionnelles indépendantes 22 qui travaillent dans les médias numériques, y compris les blogs, l'écriture, le divertissement et le marketing. Les chercheurs ont demandé aux femmes comment elles utilisaient les médias sociaux pour gérer leur entreprise et comment elles comprenaient l'entrepreneuriat et leur relation avec celui-ci. Toutes les femmes étaient actives sur les plateformes de médias sociaux, notamment Facebook, Instagram, Twitter et Pinterest.

Souvent, les femmes entrepreneures ont été prises dans ce que les chercheurs appellent un «double bind numérique». D'une part, ils ont participé à la catégorie traditionnellement masculine de l'entrepreneuriat, où des personnalités telles que Facebook co-fondateur Mark Zuckerberg et Amazon.com fondateur Jeff Les bezos sont souvent soutenus comme des exemples de réussite; de l'autre, ils étaient contraints par des stéréotypes féminins. Cela a entraîné plus de travail et de risques que les hommes pour assurer le succès de leurs entreprises en ligne.

Les entrepreneurs se sont sentis obligés d'utiliser les médias sociaux pour construire leurs marques de façon discrète; cultiver des relations intimes avec le public, les clients et les réseaux de pairs; et partager leur vie personnelle dans un contexte professionnel. Ces stratégies adhèrent à des rôles sexospécifiques qui rendent les femmes socialement et émotionnellement expressives, dit Duffy. Et ils soulignent la prescription sociale selon laquelle les femmes devraient être modestes quant à leurs accomplissements, ajoute-t-elle.

Par exemple, les entrepreneurs ont fait la promotion de leurs entreprises avec une vente douce, plutôt qu'une approche agressive. Beaucoup ont attribué leurs succès à leur capacité de «construire des relations» et de développer leurs entreprises «organiquement».

«En qualifiant ces succès de« organiques »plutôt que calculés ou durement gagnés, les interviewés dissimulent le temps et l'énergie nécessaires pour participer aux activités de réseautage et de marketing, se distanciant rhétoriquement de l'autopromotion ouverte», écrivent les auteurs de l'étude.

"... la visibilité peut être une chose très dangereuse pour une femme."

Les propriétaires d’entreprise se sont également sentis obligés d’interagir et de maintenir des liens sociaux constants avec leurs clients et leurs abonnés aux médias sociaux. Beaucoup ont considéré ces interactions sociales comme une condition préalable au succès.

Mais ils ont également souligné le stress provoqué par l'urgence d'établir des relations avec leur clientèle sur les médias sociaux - et la difficulté de ne pas dépasser le sommet de leur intimité interactive au point de nuire à la crédibilité de leur entreprise.

De plus, les entrepreneurs se sont sentis obligés de mettre leur vie privée en évidence pour cultiver des relations avec les clients. En tant que décision professionnelle, ils ont dû envisager de publier des photos et des informations sur leurs familles sur leurs comptes de médias sociaux, par exemple. "Une personne interrogée a raconté comment son site Web a été piraté à plusieurs reprises et elle a commencé à s'inquiéter que ses informations personnelles pourraient menacer la sécurité de sa famille. Elle a expliqué que «la visibilité peut être une chose très dangereuse pour une femme», dit Duffy.

Les auteurs ont lié cette obligation d'agir «féminine» sur les médias sociaux à une longue histoire de travail dévalué et non rémunéré des femmes, de la garde d'enfants et du travail domestique au «travail émotionnel» implicite dans les industries de services.

«Bien que notre culture valorise l'auto-entreprise et incite les jeunes à dire que nous sommes tous des entrepreneurs, il est important de garder à l'esprit les nombreuses façons dont les médias numériques amplifient plutôt que les défis les normes traditionnelles et les hiérarchies sociales. .

Duffy et le coauteur Urszula Pruchniewska de l'Université Temple rapportent leur travail dans la revue Information, Communication et Société.

La source: L'Université Cornell

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = défis de l'entrepreneuriat féminin; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How Female Entrepreneurs Feel Pressure To Act Feminine Online

How Female Entrepreneurs Feel Pressure To Act Feminine Online

Female entrepreneurs report feeling pressure to conduct business online in a traditionally feminine way, a new study suggests.

This includes maintaining social media personas that display modesty, sociality, and “an aura of decorum”—the same restrictions that often apply to women in off-line business settings.

“I doubt workers—male or female—in traditionally masculine-coded industries such as science, technology, engineering, and mathematics fields experience these same demands,” says coauthor Brooke Duffy, assistant professor of communication at Cornell University.

“While it’s inspiring that we are seeing a rise in female entrepreneurship in the digital age, these business categories tend to be highly feminized. This means that gender hierarchies and inequalities in the world of work endure,” Duffy says.

They interviewed 22 self-employed women professionals who work in digital media, including blogging, writing, entertainment, and marketing. The researchers asked the women how they used social media to run their businesses and how they understood entrepreneurship and their relationship to it. All the women were active on social media platforms including Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest.

Often, female entrepreneurs were caught in what the researchers call a “digital double-bind.” On one hand, they participated in the traditionally masculine-coded category of entrepreneurship, where figures like Facebook co-founder Mark Zuckerberg and Amazon.com founder Jeff Bezos are often upheld as paragons of success; on the other, they were constrained by feminine stereotypes. That resulted in taking on more work and risk than men to ensure the success of their online ventures.

The entrepreneurs felt obligated to use social media to build their brands in an understated way; cultivate intimate relationships with audiences, clients, and peer networks; and share their personal lives in a professional context. These strategies adhere to gender roles that cast women as social and emotionally expressive, Duffy says. And they emphasize the social prescription that women should be modest about their achievements, she adds.

For example, the entrepreneurs promoted their businesses with a soft sell, rather than an aggressive approach. Many attributed their successes to their ability to “build relationships” and grow their businesses “organically.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“By framing these successes as ‘organic’ rather than calculated or hard-won, interviewees effectively conceal the time and energy required to participate in networking and marketing activities, rhetorically distancing themselves from overt self-promotion,” the study’s authors write.

“…visibility can be a very dangerous thing for a woman.”

The business owners also felt compelled to constantly interact and maintain social ties with clients and social media followers. Many viewed these social interactions as a prerequisite for success.

But they also highlighted the stress brought on by the urgency of building relationships with their client base on social media—and the difficulty of not going over the top with their interactive intimacy to the point where it would damage their business credibility.

In addition, the entrepreneurs felt obligated to put their private lives on public display to cultivate relationships with clients. As a professional decision, they had to consider whether to post photos and information about their families on their social media accounts, for example. “One interviewee recounted how her website was hacked repeatedly and she began to worry that her personal information could threaten the safety of her family. She explained how ‘visibility can be a very dangerous thing for a woman,'” Duffy says.

The authors linked this obligation to act “feminine” on social media to a long history of women’s devalued, unpaid labor, from child care and domestic work to the “emotional labor” implicit in the service industries.

“Though our culture valorizes self-enterprise and prods young people that ‘We’re all entrepreneurs now,’ it’s important to keep in mind the many ways in which digital media amplifies—rather than challenges—traditional norms and social hierarchies,” Duffy says.

Duffy and coauthor Urszula Pruchniewska of Temple University report their work in the journal Information, Communication & Society.

Source: Cornell University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=female entrepreneurship challenges;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)