تنظير الركبة هو واحد من أكثر شيوعا ولماذا جراحات أقل كفاءة

تنظير الركبة هو واحد من أكثر شيوعا ولماذا جراحات أقل كفاءة

تنظير الركبة يتطلب دخول المستشفى ومخدر. انها تحمل بعض المخاطر من الأذى مثل العدوى أو مزيد من الضرر في المفصل. من shutterstock.com

أكثر من تنظير الركبة 70,000 أجريت في 2011 في أستراليا ، وعلى الرغم من أن معدلات العملية الجراحية تنخفض الآن ، إلا أنها لا تزال واحدة من أكثر العمليات الجراحية شيوعًا.

تعني كلمة تنظير المفصل النظر داخل المفصل ، وفي هذه الحالة الركبة. لكن تقنيات التصوير الأحدث ، مثل التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) ، تعني إجراء تنظير للركبة ببساطة للنظر داخل مفصل الركبة أمر نادر الحدوث.

يتم إجراء تنظير الركبة الأكثر شيوعا لعلاج هشاشة العظام (البلى في المفصل) أو مشاكل مع menisci (اثنين من أقراص مطاطية بين نهايات العظام). ينطوي تنظير المفصل على إجراء شق صغير في الجلد وإدخال نوع من الكاميرا على عصا. يتم إجراء شق آخر لإدخال أدوات أخرى لقطع وإزالة الأنسجة.

في حالة التهاب المفاصل أو مشاكل الهوس ، يمكن استخدام تنظير المفصل لإزالة الحطام من المفصل أو لتقطيع الغضاريف أو الأجزاء الممزقة من الهلوسة. يمكن أيضًا استخدام الإجراء لإجراء إعادة بناء الرباط ، والمساعدة في علاج الكسور أو التهابات في الركبة ، أو ببساطة أخذ عينة من الأنسجة من المفصل.

يمكن للكاميرا رؤية هياكل مثل الغضروف الذي يغطي نهاية العظام ، البطانة (الغشاء الزليلي) ، الغضروف والأربطة. يتطلب تنظير الركبة دخول المستشفى ومخدر. انها تحمل بعض المخاطر من الأذى مثل العدوى أو مزيد من الضرر في المفصل.

انها نادرا ما تكون فعالة

تتم معظم جراحات تنظير الركبة عند كبار السن من أجل الحالات التنكسية مثل هشاشة العظام. انتشار الفصال العظمي للركبة ، والتي يمكن أن تنطوي على ارتداء المسيل للدموع من الغضروف وكذلك الغضروف التي خطوط العظام ، مع زيادة العمر. معظم الأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 50 سنوات وأكثر لديك بعض هشاشة العظام في المفصل والربع تقريبا سوف يكون بعض البلى في meniski.

كثير من الأشخاص المصابين بهشاشة العظام أو الغضروف المفصلي الممزق يعانون أيضًا من آلام في الركبة. وقد أدى ذلك إلى الاعتقاد بأن هشاشة العظام يتغير أو الهلال المسيل للدموع تسبب الألم. لكن هذه التغييرات شائعة أيضًا في أولئك الذين لا يشعرون بأي ألم على الإطلاق. في الغالب لا يكون هناك خطر على الأعصاب ، لذا لا يمكن الشعور بها ما لم يكن هناك تمزق كبير ، غالباً ما ينتج عن إصابة كبيرة. في الواقع ، فإن معظم الناس مع هلالة ممزقة ليس عندك ألم في الركبة.

تنظير الركبة هو واحد من أكثر شيوعا ولماذا جراحات أقل كفاءةالهلوسة هي القرصان المطاطيان بين النهايات العظمية. ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

كثير وقد أظهرت الدراسات الآن النتائج تبدأ من جراحة بالمنظار من أجل هشاشة العظام و الدموع الهلالي الانحلالية ليست أفضل من النتائج من العلاج الوهمي (وهمية) أو غيرها من العلاجات (مثل العلاج بالتمرين).

A موجز حديث من هذه الدراسات قدمت "توصية قوية ضد استخدام تنظير المفاصل في جميع المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض الركبة التنكسية" (هشاشة العظام والدموع التنكسية من menisci) وخلص إلى "إجراء المزيد من البحوث من غير المرجح أن يغير هذه التوصية".

يعتقد العديد من الجراحين أن وجود الأعراض الميكانيكية - وهو مفهوم لم يتم تعريفه بشكل واضح ولكنه يتضمن الألم ومشاعر غير طبيعية (مثل الصيد والنقر والقفل) عند تحريك المفصل - يمكن معالجته بالتنظير. ومع ذلك، أظهرت الدراسات أيضا وجود تنظير المفصل لا تقدم نتائج أفضل من الجراحة المزيفة لعلاج الأعراض الميكانيكية.

في بعض الأحيان ، يمكن أن يكون الغضروف الهضمي ممزقًا بشكل كبير ، ثم يتدحرج على نفسه ، ويصطدم بالركبة ويحد من القدرة على تقويم الركبة. هذا هو نوع غير شائع نسبيا من تمزق الغضروف المفصلي وإذا لم تتحسن الأعراض من تلقاء نفسها ، يمكن إزالة الجزء الممزق من الغضروف المفصلي من منظار المفصل.

لماذا ما زال الجراحون يوصون به؟

الدكاتره تميل إلى المبالغة في التقدير كيف جيدة علاجاتهم و التقليل من شأن الأضرار التي تأتي منها. غالباً ما يواجه الجراحون المرضى الذين يعانون من الألم ، وبخلاف الجراحة ، لديهم القليل ليقدموه باستثناء العلاج المستمر غير الجراحي ، والطمأنينة والوقت.

قد يرغب المرضى في حل سريع أو ربما فشلوا في تحسين العلاجات الأخرى ، ولكن للأسف فشل العلاجات الأخرى لا يجعل تنظير الركبة أكثر نجاحًا.

تنظير الركبة هو واحد من أكثر شيوعا ولماذا جراحات أقل كفاءةالجراحون غالبا ما يرون الناس في الكثير من الألم. من shutterstock.com

آلام الركبة بسبب التهاب المفاصل غالباً ما تتقلب في شدتها ويميل المرضى إلى تقديم العلاج عندما يكون ألمهم أشد. وهذا يعني أن أي علاج يتم تقديمه في هذا الوقت سيبدو أكثر فعالية مما هو عليه فعلاً. هذا هو السبب في الدراسات المقارنة ، وخاصة دراسات العلاج الوهمي ، وهي مهمة ، حيث أنها تظهر التأثيرات الحقيقية للعلاجات.

على الرغم من أن بعض الجراحين قد يعتقدون أن بإمكانهم التنبؤ بالمرضى الذين سيخرجون بشكل جيد من الجراحة ، فإن هذا الاعتقاد لم يتم التحقق منه. على الرغم من الرغبة في هذا الإجراء للعمل ، تنظير المفاصل لظروف الركبة التنكسية يضع المرضى عرضة لخطر الأذى، بما في ذلك الموت ، من دون فوائد مهمة.

كيف يمكننا وقفها؟

الممارسة المتغيرة في الاستجابة للأدلة هي بطيئة في كثير من الأحيان. كانت أول تجربة عالية الجودة لإثبات تنظير الركبة لا أفضل من جراحة الغفل نشرت في 2002 ، ولكن الإفراط في الركبة التنظير استمر.

منع القيود المالية والتنظيمية ، وممارسة التغيير في الطب إلى حد كبير ظاهرة اجتماعية. يتطلب قادة في الميدان و المستهلكين على علم لتغيير الممارسة.

بدأت معدلات تنظير الركبة في أستراليا في الانخفاض ، لا سيما في نيو ساوث ويلز ، حيث كان معدل تنظير الركبة لدى الأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 50 وأكثر ما يقرب من النصف منذ 2011. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العمل. يحتاج جميع الجراحين ، ولا سيما في الولايات ذات الحجم الكبير مثل أستراليا الغربية وجنوب أستراليا وفيكتوريا ، إلى إلقاء نظرة فاحصة على الأدلة ، والتشكيك في ممارساتهم ، واتخاذ إجراءات للحد من هذا الاستخدام المفرط.

نبذة عن الكاتب

إيان هاريس ، أستاذ جراحة العظام ، UNSW. دينيس أوكونور ، باحث أول ، جامعة موناشوراشيل بوتشبيندر ، أستاذة علم الأوبئة السريرية وأخصائي أمراض الروماتيزم

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ Keywords = Knee Arthroscopy؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Knee Arthroscopy Is One Of The Most Common And Why The Least Effective Surgeries

health

Knee Arthroscopy Is One Of The Most Common And Why The Least Effective Surgeries

Knee arthroscopy requires admission to hospital and an anaesthetic. It carries some risk of harm such as infection or further damage in the joint. from shutterstock.com

More than 70,000 knee arthroscopies were performed in 2011 in Australia and, though rates of the surgical procedure are now falling, it still remains one of the most common surgical procedures.

The word arthroscopy means to look inside a joint, in this case the knee. But newer imaging techniques, such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans, mean performing a knee arthroscopy simply to look inside the knee joint is rare.

Knee arthroscopies are most commonly performed to treat osteoarthritis (wear and tear in the joint) or problems with the menisci (the two rubbery discs between the bone ends). An arthroscopy involves making a small incision in the skin and inserting a kind of camera on a stick. Another incision is made to insert other instruments to cut and remove tissue.

In the case of osteoarthitis or meniscal problems, arthroscopy can be used to clear debris from the joint or to trim loose cartilage or torn parts of the menisci. The procedure can also be used to perform ligament reconstructions, help with treating fractures or infections in the knee, or simply to take a sample of tissue from the joint.

The camera can see structures such as the cartilage that covers the end of the bones, the lining (synovium), the menisci and ligaments. Knee arthroscopy requires admission to hospital and an anaesthetic. It carries some risk of harm such as infection or further damage in the joint.

It’s rarely effective

Most knee arthroscopies are done in older people for degenerative conditions such as osteoarthritis. The prevalence of knee osteoarthritis, which can involve wear and tear of the menisci as well as the cartilage that lines the bone, increases with age. Most people aged 50 years and over have some osteoarthritis in the joint and roughly one-quarter will have some wear and tear in the menisci.

Many people with osteoarthritis or a torn meniscus also have knee pain. This has led to the belief that the osteoarthritis changes or the meniscus tear cause the pain. But these changes are also common in those who have no pain at all. And menisci mostly don’t have nerves, so they can’t be felt unless there is a large tear, often resulting from a major injury. In fact, most people with a torn meniscus don’t have knee pain.

Knee Arthroscopy Is One Of The Most Common And Why The Least Effective SurgeriesThe menisci are the two rubbery discs between the bone ends. Wikimedia Commons

Many studies have now shown the outcomes from arthroscopic surgery for osteoarthritis and degenerative meniscal tears are no better than the outcomes from placebo (fake) surgery or other treatments (such as exercise therapy).

A recent summary of these studies made “a strong recommendation against the use of arthroscopy in nearly all patients with degenerative knee disease” (osteoarthritis and degenerative tears of the menisci) and concluded “further research is unlikely to alter this recommendation”.

Many surgeons believe the presence of mechanical symptoms – a concept that is not clearly defined but involves pain and abnormal feelings (such as catching, clicking and locking) when moving the joint – can be treated with arthroscopy. However, studies have also shown having arthroscopy does not provide better results than fake surgery for the treatment of mechanical symptoms.

Sometimes, a meniscus can be so badly torn it folds over on itself, jamming the knee and restricting the ability to straighten the knee. This is a relatively uncommon type of meniscus tear and if the symptoms don’t improve on their own, the torn part of the meniscus can be removed arthroscopically.

Why do surgeons still recommend it?

Doctors tend to overestimate how good their treatments are and underestimate the harms that come from them. Surgeons are often faced with patients in pain and, other than surgery, have little else to offer except continued non-operative treatment, reassurance and time.

Patients may want a quick fix or may have failed to improve with other treatments, but unfortunately the failure of other treatments doesn’t make knee arthroscopy any more successful.

Knee Arthroscopy Is One Of The Most Common And Why The Least Effective SurgeriesSurgeons often see people in a lot of pain. from shutterstock.com

Knee pain due to osteoarthritis often fluctuates in severity and patients tend to present for treatment when their pain is most severe. This means any treatment given at this time will appear more effective than it truly is. This is why comparative studies, particularly placebo studies, are important, as these show the true effects of treatments.

Though some surgeons may believe they can predict which patients will do well from surgery, this belief has not been validated. Despite the desire for this procedure to work, arthroscopy for degenerative knee conditions puts patients at risk of harm, including death, for no important benefits.

How can we stop it?

Changing practice in response to evidence is often slow. The first high-quality trial to demonstrate knee arthroscopy was no better than placebo surgery was published in 2002, yet overuse of knee arthroscopy has persisted.

Barring financial and regulatory controls, practice change in medicine is largely a social phenomenon. It requires leaders in the field and informed consumers to change practice.

The rates of knee arthroscopy in Australia are starting to fall, particularly in New South Wales, where the rate of knee arthroscopies in people aged 50 and over has nearly halved since 2011. More action is needed. All surgeons, particularly in high-volume states such as Western Australia, South Australia and Victoria, need to take a good hard look at the evidence, question their practice, and take action to reduce this overuse.

About The Author

Ian Harris, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, UNSW; Denise O'Connor, Senior Research Fellow, Monash University, and Rachelle Buchbinder, Professor of Clinical Epidemiology and Rheumatologist

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Knee: AANA Advanced Arthroscopic Surgical Techniques
healthAuthor: Nicholas A Sgaglione MD
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Slack Incorporated
List Price: $99.95

Buy Now

Knee Arthroscopy
healthBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Springer
List Price: $199.00

Buy Now

Atlas of Knee Arthroscopy
healthBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Springer
List Price: $199.00

Buy Now

health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

I get by with a little help from my friends