الرأسمالية ليست مكسورة - لكنها تحتاج إلى إعادة كتابة

الرأسمالية ليست مكسورة - لكنها تحتاج إلى إعادة كتابة

في 1990s ، انغمس الاقتصاديون بآمال كبيرة بأن العولمة ستثير كل القوارب عبر نشاط السوق الحر غير المقيد. الآن ، ولكن بعد جيل واحد ، الكثير منهم لديهم أفكار ثانية. ويرجع ذلك إلى أن الأسواق الحرة العالمية ، وفي الوقت نفسه زيادة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي إلى أقصى حد لجميع المعنيين ، قد أدخلت أيضًا معدلات مذهلة من عدم المساواة إلى جانب تهديد يلوح في الأفق بحدوث تغير مناخي لا رجعة فيه من زيادة انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري.

بعض العلماء يذهبون إلى حد إلقاء اللوم على الرأسمالية نفسها. جيمس هيكل يقول "هناك شيء معيّن بشكل أساسي حول نظام له توجيهات أولية لتحريك الطبيعة والبشر إلى رأس المال ، والقيام بذلك أكثر فأكثر كل عام ، بغض النظر عن تكاليف رفاه الإنسان والبيئة التي نعتمد عليها". ولكن ما ينبغي أن يأتي في مكانه هو تخمين أي شخص. الرأسمالية هي الجاني ، وهناك عصابة غاضبة من الثوريين المستعدين للتخلي عن الفكرة لصالح شيء جديد تماما - بدءا بمنح حقوق غير قابلة للتصرف للطبيعة نفسها ، كما يقترح هيكل نفسه.

في حين أن بعض الإصلاحات قد تبدو منتعشة ، قد لا نرغب في الوصول إلى مثل هذه التدابير اليائسة مثل تفكيك نظام اقتصادي نجح في توفير وصول غير مسبوق إلى أحدث التقنيات والمعلومات والأدوية بأسعار معقولة. إلى جانب ذلك ، فإن الرأسمالية في جذورها لا تدور حول الجشع كمصلحة ذاتية أساسية. وكل واحد منا مهتم بنفسه إلى حد ما. هذه حقيقة علم الأحياء التي نتجاهلها.

ربما لا تكون المشكلة عندها مع المصلحة الذاتية بقدر ما تصوره. لقد أصبح افتراضًا افتراضيًا الآن ، خاصة في الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة ، أن الطريقة الوحيدة لجعل شخص ما يفعل شيئًا - أي شيء - هو أن يدفعه للقيام بذلك. ما يجري في هذا الموقف بالنسبة لي يتم تقليده لمثل لم يحدث من قبل. هارفارد فيلسوف مايكل ساندل ، على سبيل المثال ، وجدت أن كلمة "تحفيز" بالكاد ظهرت حتى 90s ومنذ ذلك الحين ارتفعت في الاستخدام بأكثر من 1,400٪. المناطق التعليمية حتى دفع الأطفال لقراءة - في كثير من الأحيان مع نتائج إيجابية.

المشكلة هي أن البحث التجريبي يشير أن الحوافز المالية تميل أيضا إلى إضعاف الدوافع الغائرة. هذا هو السبب الرئيسي لسببين: الأول هو أنه كلما أصبحنا أكثر غموضاً في جو من الحوافز المالية ، كلما ازداد غريزتنا الاجتماعية من عدم الاستخدام. والثاني هو أننا نتوقع الخيار لشراء طريقنا للخروج من الاضطرار إلى أن نكون فاضلين. يمكننا ببساطة شراء تعويضات التلوث على سبيل المثال ، ولا نحتاج إلى كبح جماح شهيتنا لمواصلة التفكير بأنفسنا كأشخاص صالحين.

يبدو أن هذا الجانب أصبح مشكلة خطيرة مع الرأسمالية. إنها تميل إلى أن تحملنا إلى احتياجات الآخرين ، بل يمكن أن تقضي على اهتمامنا بأن نصبح أكثر فطنة ، شخصياً وجماعياً. ولكن لا يجب أن تبقى على هذا النحو في المستقبل.

أنا آمل بالتأكيد أن تستطيع الرأسمالية البقاء على قيد الحياة ، معتبرة أن التاريخ أثبت جيداً أن المجتمعات التي توازن بين المساواة الاجتماعية والحرية الاقتصادية تميل إلى الازدهار على المدى الطويل. ولكن إذا كان هذا سيستمر ، فقد نحتاج إلى صياغة مفهوم جديد لما تعنيه الرأسمالية. لقد جعلنا الخبير الاقتصادي الكبير آدم سميث نفهم حقيقة أننا مخلوقات تبحث عن الربح بشكل طبيعي. لكن هذا ليس بالضرورة خطيئة - إنه يتخذ موقفا زائدا يؤدي إلى إغماضنا عن اهتمامات إنسانية أخرى.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


شكل جديد من الرأسمالية

إن التحدي بالنسبة لنا في هذا الوقت من التاريخ هو تطبيق مفهوم أكثر تكاملاً وتطلعاً للمصلحة الذاتية لمفهوم الرأسمالية - مفهوم يمكن أن يدفع باتجاه وليس مجرد الابتعاد عن الفضيلة. في حين أننا نسعى لتحقيق الربح ، فإننا أيضًا كائنات اجتماعية ، كما أشار أرسطو منذ فترة طويلة. انها في الحمض النووي لدينا والسبب الذي يجعلنا قادرين على التفكير والتواصل لغويًا ، كما أظهر فيتجنشتاين بشكل مؤثر.

المسار أشرت إليه عملي الخاص هو الكشف عن الطرق التي يمكن إعادة إحياء الفضيلة من خلال الأنشطة المدنية والاقتصادية - هناك أدلة شاسعة على أن الحوافز المالية ليست دائما المحفزات الأقوى. غالبًا ما يكون من الأكثر فاعلية في الواقع أن نناشد الملائكة الأفضل في طبيعتنا - على وجه التحديد ، الصورة الأخلاقية التي نود أن نحافظ عليها لأنفسنا. هذا هو السبب في أن نداءات الكبرياء المدني لا تزال أكثر فعالية من الحوافز المالية في واجبات المحلفين ، والتصويت ، والتخلص من النفايات النووية ، وحتى إقرارات ضريبة الدخل. سوف يخادع الناس أيضا فقط لدرجة أنهم يمكن أن يستمروا في الحفاظ على صورة لأنفسهم كما غير الغشاشين.

تخيل كيف ستكون الرأسمالية المختلفة إذا بدأ قادة الأعمال والمستثمرون والعمال والمستهلكون في تقييم أداء الأعمال ليس فقط من حيث الكسب الشخصي بل من الصورة الذاتية الأخلاقية؟ يمكن للنداءات المشتركة للفخر والعار أن تكون بمثابة محفزات قوية لإشراك السلوك الاجتماعي الفاضل مع تجنب الضرر النفسي المحتمل الذي يمكن أن يجلبه الخزي وحده.

إننا نشهد بالفعل اتجاهات في هذا الاتجاه في العديد من القطاعات ومستويات أصحاب المصلحة. يتجنب المستهلكون بصورة متزايدة المشتريات التي يرون أنها تمكّن من الاستغلال أو التمييز أو نضوب الموارد الطبيعية. وتستجيب الشركات من خلال توضيح المهام الاجتماعية للشركات الواضحة المدعومة بتقارير المسؤولية الاجتماعية للجهات الخارجية. كثير من المسافرين مستعدون لتجنب شركات الطيران التي لديها سجل ضعيف في قضايا التنوع. تخيل كم عددنا قد يغير عاداتنا إذا دعانا المزيد من المسوقين للنظر في ما تقوله مشترياتنا عن قيمنا؟

وينطبق نفس الشيء على العمال ، الذين يدركون أنهم لا يعيشون على الخبز لوحدهم ، ويمكن أن يكونوا متحمسين للعمل بشكل أفضل إذا كان لديهم سبب وجيه للاعتقاد في الرؤية الأخلاقية الشاملة لمنظماتهم. وتستجيب العديد من الشركات التي تحظى بالإعجاب من خلال منح العمال المزيد من القول في الإدارة والتحسين نوعية حياة العمل.

ولسوء الحظ ، كان المساهمون المهمون هم أبطأ مجموعة للرد على هذا التحول ، لذا ينبغي أن نبدأ في دفعهم - وننظر إلى أنفسنا - لننظر فيما تقوله خياراتنا الاستثمارية عن قيمنا. هل نذهب من طريقنا للاستثمار في الشركات المسؤولة اجتماعياً أم أننا ننظر فقط إلى عائد الاستثمار؟ إذا كانت العودة فقط ، فكيف يمكننا الاستمرار في التفكير بأنفسنا كأشخاص طيبين أساسًا؟

المحادثةونظراً للتأثير الهائل للرأسمالية على كل جانب من جوانب حياة الكثير من الناس ، فإنه سيكون من الأفضل أن نذكر أنفسنا أكثر مما تكشف خياراتنا الاقتصادية عن القيم التي نتمسك بها كأفراد. إذا كان آدم سميث صحيحًا في تقييمه بأن المصلحة الذاتية ليست في حد ذاتها خطيئة ، فعندئذ قد يبرهن أنها قد تكون أكبر تحد في عصرنا.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جوليان فريدلاند ، أستاذ مساعد في أخلاقيات الأعمال ، كلية ترينيتي في دبلن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتاب بهذا المؤلف:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1593117876. maxresults = 1}

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = broken capitalism؛ maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Capitalism Isn't Broken -- But It Does Need A Rewrite

Capitalism Isn't Broken -- But It Does Need A Rewrite

In the 1990s, economists indulged heady hopes that globalisation would raise all boats via unfettered free market activity. Now, but a generation later, many are having second thoughts. That’s because global free markets, while indeed maximising GDP for all concerned, have also ushered in staggering rates of inequality together with a looming threat of irreversible climate change from increased greenhouse gas emissions.

Some scholars are going so far as to blame capitalism itself. James Hickel argues that “there’s something fundamentally flawed about a system that has a prime directive to churn nature and humans into capital, and do it more and more each year, regardless of the costs to human well-being and to the environment we depend on”. But what should come in its place is anyone’s guess. Capitalism is the culprit and there’s an angry band of revolutionaries ready to ditch the idea in favour of something entirely new — starting with granting inalienable rights to nature itself, as Hickel himself suggests.

While certain reforms may sound refreshing, we might not want to reach for such desperate measures as dismantling an economic system that has managed to bring us unprecedented access to cutting-edge technology, information, and medicine at eminently affordable prices. Besides, capitalism at its root isn’t so much about greed as basic self-interest. And each of us is self-interested to some degree. This is a fact of biology we ignore at our peril.

The problem perhaps then isn’t so much with self-interest as how it is conceived. It has become a default assumption now, especially in the US and UK, that the only way to get someone to do something – anything – is to pay them to do it. The what’s-in-it-for-me attitude is being pandered to like never before. Harvard Philosopher Michael Sandel, for example, found that the word “incentivise” scarcely appeared until the 90s and since then has soared in use by more than 1,400%. School districts are even paying children to read — often with positive results.

The problem is that empirical research indicates that financial incentives also tend to weaken altruistic motivations. This is mainly for two reasons: the first is that the more we become immersed in an atmosphere of financial incentives, the more our social instincts atrophy from disuse. The second is that we come to expect the option to buy our way out of having to actually be virtuous. We can simply buy pollution offsets for instance, and need not restrain our appetites to continue thinking of ourselves as good people.

This aspect does appear to be becoming a serious problem with capitalism. It tends to inure us to the needs of others and can even deaden our interest in becoming more virtuous, personally and collectively. But it need not remain this way going forward.

I certainly hope capitalism can survive, considering that history has well demonstrated that societies that balance social equality with economic freedom tend to thrive over the long term. But if that is to continue, we may need to fashion a new conception of what capitalism means. The great political economist Adam Smith made us come to grips with the fact that we are naturally profit-seeking creatures. But this is not necessarily a sin — it is taking the attitude to excess that starts to blind us to other humanistic concerns.

A new form of capitalism

The challenge then for us at this time in history is to apply a more integrated and aspirational conception of self-interest to the notion of capitalism — one that can nudge toward and not simply away from virtue. For while we are profit-seeking, we are also social beings, as Aristotle pointed out long ago. It’s in our DNA and the reason we are able to think and communicate linguistically to begin with, as Wittgenstein poignantly demonstrated.

The path I point to in my own work is to uncover ways that virtue may be rekindled through civic and economic activities – there is vast evidence that financial incentives are not always the most powerful motivators. It is often actually more effective to appeal to the better angels of our nature — specifically, the moral image we would like to maintain of ourselves. This is why appeals to civic pride still remain more effective than financial incentives in jury duty, voting, nuclear waste disposal, and even income tax filing. People will also only cheat to the extent that they can continue to maintain an image of themselves as non-cheaters.

Imagine how different capitalism would be if business leaders, investors, workers, and consumers started assessing business performance not simply in terms of personal gain but of moral self-image? Joint appeals to pride and shame can function as powerful motivators for engaging virtuous social behaviour while avoiding the potential psychological damage that shaming alone can bring.

We are already seeing trends in this direction in many sectors and stakeholder levels. Consumers increasingly avoid purchases they perceive as enabling exploitation, discrimination, or depletion of natural resources. Firms are responding by articulating clear corporate social missions backed up by third-party social responsibility reporting. Many travellers are prepared to shun airlines that have a poor record on diversity issues. Imagine how many more of us might change our habits if more marketers invited us to consider what our purchases say about our values?

The same goes for workers, who are coming to realise that they do not live on bread alone and can be motivated to work better if they have good reason to believe in the overarching moral vision of their organisations. Numerous admired firms are responding by giving workers more say in management and improving quality of work life.

The all-important shareholders have unfortunately been the slowest group to respond to this shift, so we should start nudging them — and our own shareholding selves — to consider what our investment choices say about our values. Do we go out of our way to invest in socially responsible firms or do we just look at the return on investment? If only the return, then how can we reasonably continue thinking of ourselves as basically good people?

The ConversationGiven capitalism’s immense influence over nearly every aspect of many people’s lives, it would serve well to remind ourselves more often of what our economic choices reveal about the values we uphold as individuals. If Adam Smith was correct in his assessment that self-interest is not in itself a sin, then proving it could well be the greatest challenge of our age.

About The Author

Julian Friedland, Assistant Professor of Business Ethics, Trinity College Dublin

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Book by this Author:

Doing Well and Good: The Human Face of the New Capitalism (Ethics and Practice)
inequalityBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Information Age Publishing
List Price: $45.99

Buy Now

Related Books:

Broken Capitalism: This Is How We Fix It
inequalityAuthor: Ferris Eanfar
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: AngelPay Foundation
List Price: $29.95

Buy Now

A Quiet Word: Lobbying, Crony Capitalism and Broken Politics in Britain
inequalityAuthor: Tamasin Cave
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Random House UK
List Price: $22.95

Buy Now