سلاسل التوريد العالمية ترتبط بنا جميعا إلى عار الطفل والسخرة

سلاسل التوريد العالمية ترتبط بنا جميع العار من الأطفال والعمل الجبري

لقد أدى تجزئة الإنتاج العالمي إلى زيادة كبيرة في طول وتعقيد سلاسل التوريد. تقدر منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (OECD) ذلك اكثر من النصف من الواردات المصنعة في العالم هي سلع وسيطة. وتستخدم هذه كمدخلات في إنتاج السلع الأخرى ، مصدرها من أجزاء مختلفة من العالم.

ومن المشكلات الخطيرة في سلاسل التوريد الطويلة والمعقدة هذه أن يؤدي ذلك إلى انعدام الرقابة واستغلال العمال مثل استخدام الأطفال والسخرة ، مقابل أرباح تقديرية تبلغ 10 ملايين دولار أمريكي سنوياً. في نهاية سلسلة التوريد ، يمكن للطلب على السلع منخفضة التكلفة أن يدفع الموردين نحو الممارسات المسيئة. هذه الممارسات الخاطئة يمكن أن تؤثر على الأفراد والمنتجين والمستهلكين في أي مكان في سلاسل التوريد العالمية.

وهذا يجعل أستراليا جزءًا من المشكلة والحل المحتمل. تعمل الشركات والمستثمرون بشكل متزايد مع نقابات العمال والمنظمات غير الحكومية للتعامل مع انتهاكات حقوق العمال وحقوق الإنسان في سلاسل التوريد. ومع ذلك ، في تقرير صدر هذا الأسبوع ، محفز استراليا يظهر أن سوء الفهم حول عمل الأطفال لا يزال قائما وأن مجال التحسين لا يزال قائما.

يتزامن التقرير مع إعلان الحكومة الأسترالية عن مجموعة عمل سلاسل التوريد لمعالجة هذه المشاكل.

عمل الأطفال لا يزال منتشرا

المبادرات العالمية والقوانين الوطنية لم تجعل تاريخ عمالة الأطفال. على الرغم من التقديرات التي تشير إلى انخفاضها بنسبة 33٪ منذ 2000 ، 168 مليون طفل الاستمرار في استغلالها في جميع أنحاء العالم. في حين أن الاتفاقيات العالمية موجودة ، فإن وجودها لا يضمن المتابعة المحلية ، كما أن وجود قوانين وطنية بشأن تشغيل الأطفال يعني أنها تنفذ بفعالية.

استمر والتصور الخاطئ بأن عمالة الأطفال يؤثر على الدول النامية فقط. ومع ذلك، في 2013، أكثر من نصف استراليا البضائع المستوردة جاء من منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ، التي لديها أكبر عدد المطلق من الأطفال العاملين: 78 مليون.

من الخطأ أيضًا أن الصناعات المعزولة فقط هي التي تستخدم عمالة الأطفال. في حين أن نسبة 59٪ من عمالة الأطفال تحدث في البيئات الزراعية ، فإن قطاع التصنيع والخدمات يعد من المساهمين البارزين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تجد محفز أستراليا أن المعايير التنظيمية الذاتية والمبادرات الطوعية وحدها لا تقود التغيير. هم في الغالب مجرد أدوات علاقات عامة. لا تبرع التبرعات الخيرية الشركات بمسؤولياتها.

كما جون روجي ، مؤلف كتاب مبادئ الأمم المتحدة التوجيهية بشأن الأعمال التجارية وحقوق الإنسان، ما يلي:

لا يوجد ما يعادل شراء تعويضات الكربون في حقوق الإنسان: فالأعمال الخيرية الخيرية لا تعوض عن التعدي على حقوق الإنسان.

يولد العمل القسري أرباحًا ضخمة

تقدر منظمة العمل الدولية (ILO) أن 20.9 مليون شخص على مستوى العالم يخضعون لذلك العمل القسريتستغل نسبة 90٪ منهم في القطاع الخاص. من هؤلاء الأفراد ، تضطر 68٪ للعمل في الزراعة والبناء والعمل المنزلي والتعدين والتصنيع.

تستأثر منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ بـ 11.7 مليون شخص في العمل القسري - نسبة 56٪ من الإجمالي العالمي.

وتشير تقديرات منظمة العمل الدولية إلى أن العمل القسري في الاقتصاد الخاص يدرّ أرباحًا سنوية تبلغ 150 مليار دولار أمريكي. وتشير التقديرات إلى أن الثلثين قادمان من الاستغلال الجنسي. ويأتي الباقي من العمل القسري في مجالات البناء والتصنيع والتعدين والمرافق (مليار دولار أمريكي 34) والزراعة والحراجة وصيد الأسماك (بليون دولار أمريكي 9) والأسر التي لا تدفع أجور العمال المنزليين المدفوعين في العمل الجبري أو تدفع لهم أجوراً زهيدة (8 مليار دولار أمريكي) .

سلاسل التوريد وضعت تحت الفحص

وزير العدل الاتحادي مايكل كينان تحدث هذا الاسبوع عن تشكيل أ مجموعة عمل سلاسل التوريد، الذي سيبحث سبل التغلب على الممارسات الاستغلالية في إنتاج السلع والخدمات. الحكومة تعكف على وضع خطة عمل وطنية لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر والرق، المزمع إطلاقه في الأشهر المقبلة.

يواجه الفريق العامل التحدي المتمثل في معالجة انتهاكات العمل وحقوق الإنسان في سلسلة توريد السلع المستوردة إلى أستراليا. سيكون تكوين المجموعة أمرًا حاسمًا لنجاحها. ومن الناحية المثالية ، ستضم ممثلين عن الحكومة وهيئات الصناعة والشركات وصناديق الاستثمار ، بالإضافة إلى أعضاء ذوي خلفيات أكاديمية ومجتمع مدني.

حدد تقرير كاتاليستر أستراليا أن وجود عقبة مشتركة أمام تحسين حقوق العمل وحقوق الإنسان في سلاسل التوريد يشمل أصحاب المصلحة الذين يسيرون بطريقتهم الخاصة. الشراكات المميزة هي محورية لاستجابة فعالة. تمثل المخاوف التي تثير القلق ، والاستشارات (المحلية) وتوسيع المعرفة القائمة عناصر أساسية لمثل هذا الرد.

ما الذي يمكننا القيام به لوضع حد للانتهاكات؟

بينما التدخل الحكومي النشط من خلال معايير قابلة للتنفيذ من الناحية القانونية غير مرغوب فيه، ومجرد وجود قوانين ضد الاستغلال في العمل لا تتوقف الانتهاكات. وتحدث العديد من الانتهاكات الأطر القانونية الخارجية، كما هو الحال في الاقتصاد غير الرسمي.

يمكن أن يؤدي تزايد التنسيق العالمي إلى حدوث تباينات بين التدابير المقترحة وتأثيرها المحلي ، سواء من خلال التشريع أو التنظيم الذاتي. وهذا يؤكد الحاجة إلى المواءمة الأوثق بين المبادرات والشراكات على جميع المستويات.

يجب أن تتجنب التدابير المقترحة اتباع نهج "مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع". تتطلب الحلول رسم خرائط واقعية للمشهد المحلي والمسألة ، والحوار المستمر لمعرفة أصحاب المصلحة الذين هم على متن السفينة ، والذين يمكن أن يكونوا متأثرين وأي الأساليب تتناسب بشكل أفضل مع السياق القطري والصناعي. يمكن أن توفر أمثلة للنُهُج القطاعية والنُهج الخاصة بكل بلد إرشادات مفيدة ، ولكن فقط عندما تتناسب هذه الظروف مع ظروف معينة ، فإنها تؤدي إلى تحسينات ولها أقصى تأثير.

من المهم ملاحظة أن مخاطر العمل وحقوق الإنسان تنخفض بشكل كبير حيث يُسمح للعمال بالتنظيم بحرية ولديهم نقابات تمثيلية. وبالتالي ، يجب على أي صاحب مصلحة جاد في معالجة هذه القضايا أن يكون جادًا في دعم حركة نقابية حرة وأن يكون مستعدًا للانخراط في حوار مستمر للعمال.

وأخيرا ، يجب أن تشمل العناية الواجبة المسؤولية عن حقوق الإنسان. غالباً ما تحدد الشركات العناية الواجبة على أنها مخاطر اقتصادية وسليمة. من خلال التدقيق في الشركاء التجاريين المحتملين مقدما ، يأخذ مفهوم مسؤولية الأعمال منعطفا.

نحن بحاجة إلى التحول من الأنشطة القائمة مجرد تدقيق، من أجل تعزيز وحماية وتعزيز حقوق العمال وحقوق الإنسان. وبهذه الطريقة يمكن للشركات أن تساعد تقليل التجاوزات وتلعب دورا تحولي في جميع المناطق التي تعمل فيها.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة.
قراءة المقال الأصلي.


عن المؤلف

boersma martijnمارتين بورسما باحث في حوكمة الشركات بجامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني. في حين حصل على درجة الماجستير مع مرتبة الشرف في علم الاجتماع ودرجة الماجستير في علم الآثار من جامعة أمستردام ، تخصص Martijn في دراسة الجوانب الجنسانية في المجتمعات المعاصرة والماضية. من الناحية المهنية ، خلال مسيرته المهنية مع Greenpeace International في أمستردام ، كان اهتمامه الأكبر هو العوامل الاجتماعية الاقتصادية لعمل الحملة العالمية. بيان الإفصاح عن المعلومات: Martijn Boersma يعمل لصالح Catalyst Australia.


أوصى كتاب:

إضفاء الطابع الإنساني على الاقتصاد: تعاونيات في عصر رأس المال
بواسطة جون Restakis.

إضفاء الطابع الإنساني على الاقتصاد: التعاونيات في عصر رأس المال من قبل جون Restakis.تسليط الضوء على آمال ونضالات الناس اليومية التي تسعى إلى جعل عالمهم مكانًا أفضل ، أنسنة الاقتصاد هي القراءة الأساسية لكل من يهتم بإصلاح الاقتصاد والعولمة والعدالة الاجتماعية. إنه يبين كيف يمكن للنماذج التعاونية للتنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية أن تخلق مستقبلاً أكثر إنصافًا وعدلاً وإنسانية. يتم استكشاف مستقبلها كبديل لرأسمالية الشركات من خلال مجموعة واسعة من الأمثلة الحقيقية. مع أكثر من 800 مليون عضو في خمسة وثمانين دولة وتاريخ طويل يربط بين القيم الاقتصادية والاجتماعية ، فإن الحركة التعاونية هي أقوى حركة شعبية في العالم.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Global Supply Chains Link Us All To Shame of Child and Forced Labor

Global Supply Chains Link Us All To Shame Of Child And Forced Labour 

The fragmentation of global production has dramatically increased the length and complexity of supply chains. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) estimates that more than half of the world’s manufactured imports are intermediate goods. These are used as inputs in the production of other goods, sourced from different parts of the globe.

A serious problem with such long and complex supply chains is that this can lead to a lack of oversight and worker exploitation such as the use of child and forced labour, for estimated profits of US$150 billion a year. At our end of the supply chain, demand for low-cost goods can push suppliers towards abusive practices. These malpractices can affect individuals, producers and consumers anywhere in global supply chains.

This makes Australia part of the problem and the potential solution. Increasingly, companies and investors work with trade unions and NGOs to deal with labour and human rights abuses in supply chains. Yet, in a report launched this week, Catalyst Australia shows that misunderstandings about child labour persist and room for improvement remains.

The report coincides with the Australian government’s announcement of a Supply Chains Working Group to tackle these problems.

Child Labour Remains Widespread

Global initiatives and national laws have not made child labour history. Although it is estimated to have declined by 33% since 2000, 168 million children continue to be exploited worldwide. While global conventions are in place, their existence does not guarantee local take-up, nor does the existence of national child labour laws mean they are actively enforced.

A false perception persists that child labour affects only developing countries. However, in 2013, more than half of Australia’s imported goods came from the Asia-Pacific region, which has the largest absolute number of child labourers: 78 million.

It is also incorrect that only isolated industries use child labour. While 59% of child labour happens in agricultural settings, the manufacturing and services sector are significant contributors.

Catalyst Australia finds that self-regulatory standards and voluntary initiatives alone do not drive change. They are often merely public relations tools. Neither do charitable donations absolve companies of their responsibilities.

As John Ruggie, author of the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights, states:

There is no equivalent to buying carbon offsets in human rights: philanthropic good deeds do not compensate for infringing on human rights.

Forced Labour Generates Huge Profits

The International Labour Organisation (ILO) estimates that 20.9 million people globally are subjected to forced labour, 90% of whom are exploited in the private sector. Of these individuals, 68% are forced to work in agriculture, construction, domestic work, mining and manufacturing.

The Asia-Pacific region accounts for 11.7 million individuals in forced labour – 56% of the global total.

The ILO estimates that forced labour in the private economy generates US$150 billion in profits annually. Two-thirds is estimated to come from sexual exploitation. The rest comes from forced labour in construction, manufacturing, mining and utilities (US$34 billion), agriculture, forestry and fishing (US$9 billion) and households not paying or underpaying domestic workers held in forced labour (US$8 billion).

Supply Chains Put Under Scrutiny

Federal justice minister Michael Keenan spoke this week of the formation of a Supply Chains Working Group, which will examine ways to overcome exploitative practices in the production of goods and services. The government is developing a National Action Plan to Combat Human Trafficking and Slavery, to be launched in coming months.

The working group has the challenge of tackling labour and human rights abuses in the supply chain of goods imported into Australia. The composition of the group will be critical to its success. Ideally, it will include representatives of government, industry bodies, businesses and investment funds, as well as members with academic and civil society backgrounds.

The Catalyst Australia report identified that a common obstacle to improving labour and human rights in supply chains involves stakeholders going their own way. Distinctive partnerships are pivotal to an effective response. Flagging concerns, consulting (local) experts and expanding existing knowledge are essential elements of such a response.

What Can We Do To End Abuses?

While active government involvement through legally enforceable standards is desirable, merely having laws against labour exploitation does not stop abuses. Many abuses occur outside legal frameworks, such as in the informal economy.

Increasing global co-ordination can cause discrepancies between proposed measures and their local effect, whether through legislation or self-regulation. This underlines the need for closer alignment of initiatives and partnerships at all levels.

Proposed measures should avoid a “one size fits all” approach. Solutions require pragmatic mapping of the local landscape and the issue, ongoing dialogue to see which stakeholders are on board, who can be influenced and which approaches best suit the country and industry context. Examples of sector and country-specific approaches can provide useful guidance, but only when these suit particular circumstances do they drive improvement and have maximum impact.

It is important to note that labour and human rights risks are significantly reduced where workers are allowed to organise freely and have representative trade unions. Consequently, any stakeholder who is serious about tackling these issues must be serious about supporting a free trade union movement and be willing to engage in continuing worker dialogue.

Finally, due diligence must include responsibility for human rights. Companies often narrowly define due diligence as economic and reputational risk. By scrutinising potential business partners in advance, the notion of business responsibility takes a precautionary turn.

We need to shift from merely auditing existing activities, towards promoting, protecting and advancing labour and human rights. In this way businesses can help minimise abuses and play a transformative role in all regions where they operate.

This article was originally published on The Conversation.
Read the original article.


About the Author

boersma martijnMartijn Boersma is a Researcher in Corporate Governance at University of Technology, Sydney. While obtaining a cum laude master’s degree in sociology and a master’s degree in archaeology from the University of Amsterdam, Martijn specialised in studying gender aspects of contemporary and past societies. Professionally, throughout his career with Greenpeace International in Amsterdam, his greatest interest has been the socio-economic factors of global campaign work. Disclosure Statement: Martijn Boersma works for Catalyst Australia.


Recommended book:

Humanizing the Economy: Co-operatives in the Age of Capital
by John Restakis.

Humanizing the Economy: Co-operatives in the Age of Capital by John Restakis.Highlighting the hopes and struggles of everyday people seeking to make their world a better place, Humanizing the Economy is essential reading for anyone who cares about the reform of economics, globalization, and social justice. It shows how cooperative models for economic and social development can create a more equitable, just, and humane future. Its future as an alternative to corporate capitalism is explored through a wide range of real-world example. With over eight hundred million members in eighty-five countries and a long history linking economic to social values, the cooperative movement is the most powerful grassroots movement in the world.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.