Voir et savoir: la religion sans religion

Voir et savoir: la religion sans religion

Cle christianisme, l'hindouisme, le bouddhisme, le jaïnisme, le mahométisme - ce ne sont là que des idéologies, des dogmes, des croyances; ils ne sont que des sectes. La vraie religion n'a pas de nom, elle ne peut avoir aucun nom. Bouddha l'a vécu, Jésus l'a vécu - mais souvenez-vous, Jésus n'était pas chrétien et Bouddha n'était pas bouddhiste, il n'avait jamais entendu parler de ce mot. Les gens vraiment religieux ont été simplement religieux, ils n'ont pas été dogmatiques.

Il y a trois cents religions dans le monde - c'est une telle absurdité! Si la vérité est une, comment peut-il y avoir trois cents religions? Il n'y a qu'une science et trois cents religions?

Si la science qui s'occupe de la vérité objective est une, alors la religion est aussi une parce qu'elle est concernée par la vérité subjective, l'autre côté de la vérité. Mais cette religion ne peut avoir aucun nom, elle ne peut avoir aucune idéologie.

Enseigner une religion sans religion

J'enseigne seulement cette religion. Donc, si quelqu'un vous demande quel est mon enseignement, en un mot, vous ne pourrez pas le dire - parce que je n'enseigne pas les principes, les idéologies, les dogmes, les doctrines. Je vous enseigne une religion sans religion, je vous en apprends le goût. Je vous donne la méthode pour devenir réceptif au divin. Je ne dis rien sur le divin, je vous dis simplement "C'est la fenêtre - ouvrez-la et vous verrez la nuit étoilée."

Maintenant, cette nuit étoilée est indéfinissable. Une fois que vous le voyez à travers la fenêtre ouverte, vous le saurez. Voir c'est savoir - et voir devrait être être, aussi. Il ne devrait pas y avoir d'autre croyance.

Donc tout mon effort est existentiel, pas intellectuel du tout. Et la vraie religion est existentielle. Cela est arrivé à quelques personnes seulement et ensuite il disparaît de la terre parce que les intellectuels l'attrapent immédiatement et ils commencent à en faire de belles idéologies - soignées et propres, logiques. Dans cet effort même, ils détruisent sa beauté. Ils créent des philosophies, et la religion disparaît. Le pandit, l'érudit, le théologien, est l'ennemi de la religion.

Souvenez-vous-en donc: vous n'êtes pas initié à une certaine religion; vous êtes initié à la seule religion. C'est vaste, immense, illimité - c'est comme le ciel entier.

Même le ciel n'est pas la limite, alors ouvrez vos ailes sans crainte. Toute cette existence nous appartient; C'est notre temple, c'est notre Écriture. Moins que cela est fabriqué par l'homme, fabriqué par l'homme. Là où il est fabriqué n'a pas beaucoup d'importance - méfiez-vous des religions fabriquées afin que vous puissiez connaître le vrai, qui n'est pas fabriqué par l'homme. Et il est disponible dans les arbres, dans les montagnes, dans les rivières, dans les étoiles - en vous, dans les gens qui vous entourent - il est disponible partout.

La recherche de la vérité dans la science et la religion

La science est la recherche de la vérité dans le monde objectif et la religion est la recherche de la vérité dans le monde subjectif. En fait, ils sont deux ailes d'un oiseau, d'une enquête - deux côtés. En fin de compte, il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir deux noms. Ma propre suggestion est que «science» est un nom parfaitement beau, parce que cela signifie «savoir». Donc, la science a deux côtés, tout comme chaque pièce a deux côtés. Connaissant dans la dimension de la matière que vous pouvez appeler la science objective, et connaissant dans la dimension de votre intériorité - de votre être intérieur, de votre conscience - vous pouvez appeler la science subjective. Il n'y a pas besoin du mot religion.

La science est parfaitement bonne - et c'est la même recherche, seulement les directions sont différentes. Et il sera bon que nous fassions une science suprême, qui est une synthèse, une synchronicité de la science extérieure et de la science intérieure. Il n'y aura pas besoin de tant de religions à l'époque, et il n'y aura même pas besoin d'être athée. Quand les théistes sont partis, il n'y a pas besoin d'athées - ce ne sont que des réactions. Il y a des croyants en Dieu, donc il y a des mécréants en Dieu. Quand les croyants sont partis, quel est le besoin des mécréants?

Il n'y a pas besoin de croire en quoi que ce soit - c'est le principe fondamental de la science. C'est l'approche scientifique de la réalité: ne pas croire, se renseigner. Au moment où vous croyez, l'enquête s'arrête. Gardez votre esprit ouvert - ne croyez pas et ne croyez pas. Il suffit de rester vigilant et de chercher et douter de tout jusqu'à ce que vous arriviez à un point indubitable - c'est ce que la vérité est. Vous ne pouvez pas en douter. Il ne s'agit pas d'y croire, c'est un phénomène totalement différent. C'est tellement une certitude, qui vous accable tellement, qu'il n'y a aucun moyen d'en douter.

C'est savoir. Et cette connaissance transforme un homme en bouddha, en un éveillé. C'est le but de toute croissance humaine.

Publié par la presse de Saint-Martin. © 2000. http://www.stmartins.com.


Cet article est tiré avec la permission du livre:

Autobiographie d'un mystique spirituellement incorrect
par Osho
.

la religion sans religionQui était cet homme, connu sous le nom de Sex Guru, le Bhagwan"(Rajneesh), le gourou de Rolls-Royce, le gourou de l'homme riche, et simplement le maître? Tiré de près de cinq mille heures de conversations enregistrées d'Osho, c'est l'histoire de sa jeunesse et de son éducation Des années de voyage pour enseigner l'importance de la méditation et le véritable héritage qu'il voulait laisser derrière lui: une religion sans religion centrée sur la conscience individuelle et la responsabilité et l'enseignement de «Zorba le Bouddha», une célébration de tout l'être humain.

Pour info ou pour acheter ce livre.

A propos de l'auteur

la religion sans religionOSHO est l'un des professeurs les plus provocatrices spirituels du XXe siècle. Né en Inde en 1931, Osho s'est fait connaître en tant que professeur de philosophie rebelle dans les 1960s et a beaucoup voyagé à travers l'Inde, donnant des conférences, débats avec les chefs religieux traditionnels, et en introduisant sa technique révolutionnaire méditation active, méditation dynamique. En 1974 il a créé un centre de méditation et d'auto-découverte à Pune, en Inde. Son travail là-bas, dit-il, était une expérience visant à créer les conditions pour la naissance d'un «homme nouveau» - celui qui est libre de toutes les idéologies dépassées et les doctrines du passé et dont la vision englobe à la fois la sagesse spirituelle de l'Orient et les conceptions scientifiques de l'Occident. Il a quitté le corps dans 1990.

Seeing and Knowing: The Religionless Religion

Seeing and Knowing: The Religionless Religion

Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Mohammedanism -- these are only ideologies, dogmas, creeds; they are only cults. The true religion has no name, it cannot have any name. Buddha lived it, Jesus lived it -- but remember, Jesus was not a Christian and Buddha was not a Buddhist, he had never heard of the word. The truly religious people have been simply religious, they have not been dogmatic.

There are three hundred religions in the world -- this is such an absurdity! If truth is one, how can there be three hundred religions? There is only one science, and three hundred religions?

If the science that is concerned with the objective truth is one, then religion is also one because it is concerned with the subjective truth, the other side of the truth. But that religion cannot have any name, it cannot have any ideology.

Teaching a Religionless Religion

I teach only that religion. Hence if somebody asks you what my teaching is, in short, you will not be able to say -- because I don't teach principles, ideologies, dogmas, doctrines. I teach you a religionless religion, I teach you the taste of it. I give you the method to become receptive to the divine. I don't say anything about the divine, I simply tell you "This is the window -- open it and you will see the starry night."

Now, that starry night is indefinable. Once you see it through the open window you will know it. Seeing is knowing -- and seeing should be being, too. There should be no other belief.

So my whole effort is existential, not intellectual at all. And the true religion is existential. It has always happened to only a few people and then it disappears from the earth because the intellectuals immediately grab it and they start making beautiful ideologies out of it -- neat and clean, logical. In that very effort they destroy its beauty. They create philosophies, and religion disappears. The pundit, the scholar, the theologian, is the enemy of religion.

So remember it: you are not getting initiated into a certain religion; you are getting initiated into just religiousness. It is vast, immense, unbounded -- it is like the whole sky.

Even the sky is not the limit, so open your wings without any fear. This whole existence belongs to us; this is our temple, this is our scripture. Less than that is manmade, manufactured by man. Where it is manufactured does not matter much -- beware of manufactured religions so that you can know the true, which is not manmade. And it is available in the trees, in the mountains, in the rivers, in the stars -- in you, in people that surround you -- it is available everywhere.

The Search for Truth in Both Science and Religion

Science is the search for truth in the objective world and religion is the search for the truth in the subjective world. In fact, they are two wings of one bird, of one inquiry -- two sides. Ultimately there is no need to have two names. My own suggestion is that "science" is a perfectly beautiful name, because it means "knowing." So science has two sides, just like every coin has two sides. Knowing in the dimension of matter you can call objective science, and knowing in the dimension of your interiority -- of your inner being, of your consciousness -- you can call subjective science. There is no need for the word religion.

Science is perfectly good -- and it is the same search, just the directions are different. And it will be good that we make one supreme science, which is a synthesis, a synchronicity of the outer science and the inner science. There will be no need of so many religions then, and there will be no need then even for somebody to be an atheist. When theists are gone, then there is no need for atheists -- they are only reactions. There are believers in God so there are disbelievers in God. When the believers are gone, what is the need of disbelievers?

There is no need to believe in anything -- that is the fundamental of science. That is the scientific approach to reality: do not believe, inquire. The moment you believe, inquiry stops. Keep your mind open -- neither believe nor disbelieve. Just remain alert and search and doubt everything until you come to a point which is indubitable -- that's what truth is. You cannot doubt it. It is not a question of believing in it, it is a totally different phenomenon. It is so much a certainty, overwhelming you so much, that there is no way to doubt it.

This is knowing. And this knowing transforms a man into a buddha, into an enlightened one. This is the goal of all human growth.

Published by St. Martin's Press. ©2000.

This article was excerpted with permission from the book:

Autobiography of a Spiritually Incorrect Mystic
by Osho

religionless religionWho was this man, known as the Sex Guru, the "self-appointed bhagwan" (Rajneesh), the Rolls-Royce Guru, the Rich Man's Guru, and simply the Master? Drawn from nearly five thousand hours of Osho's recorded talks, this is the story of his youth and education, his life as a professor of philosophy and years of travel teaching the importance of meditation, and the true legacy he sought to leave behind: a religionless religion centered on individual awareness and responsibility and the teaching of "Zorba the Buddha," a celebration of the whole human being.

For info or to purchase this book.

About The Author

religionless religionOSHO is one of the most provocative spiritual teachers of the twentieth century. Born in India in 1931, Osho first became known as a rebellious philosophy professor in the 1960s and traveled extensively throughout India, giving talks, debating with traditional religious leaders, and introducing his revolutionary active meditation technique, Dynamic Meditation. In 1974 he established a center for meditation and self-discovery in Pune, India. His work there, he said, was an experiment to create the conditions for the birth of a "new man" -- one who is free of all outdated ideologies and doctrines of the past and whose vision encompasses both the spiritual wisdom of the East and the scientific understandings of the West. He departed the body in 1990.

More Articles By Osho

You May Also Like

InnerSelf celebrates 30 years!


Support InnerSelf by
using this Amazon link


follow InnerSelf on


 Get The Latest By Email



Seven Myths About Dyslexia Put To Res
Seven Myths About Dyslexia Put To Rest
by Serje Robidoux, Macquarie University
How American Schools Are Making Inequality Worse
How American Schools Are Making Inequality Worse
by William Schmidt, Michigan State University and Nathan A Burroughs, Michigan State University
Seven Spectacular Weather Events And What Causes Them
Seven Spectacular Weather Events And What Causes Them
by Stephen Lewis, The Open University
A Good Breakfast Actually Does Boost Children's School Grades
A Good Breakfast Actually Does Boost Children's School Grades
by Hannah Littlecott, Cardiff University and Graham Moore, Cardiff University
How Bernie Sanders Really Is Changing Democracy
How Bernie Sanders Really Is Changing Democracy
by Peter Bloom, The Open University


Calling Great Spirit
in Religions and Beliefs by Lakota Wisdomkeeper Mathew King
I walk with the Great Spirit, with God. I talk to Him. The Great Spirit guides me in my…
Adolescents and Decision Making
in Parenting by Annette Geffert and Diane Brown
Adolescence is an amazing time, filled with countless opportunities and challenges for…
Men & Divorce
in Couples by Ellie Wymard
The lonely withdrawal from married life is very real to men. They express loss in a…
Peace Be With You
in Anger Management by Barbel Mohr
Whenever Martha had to deal with someone who was getting on her nerves or was seriously…
Hints On Raising Children
in Parenting by Louise Frechette
How you ask your children to listen, and what you choose to see in them will help…
Dragons Within & Without
in Personal Development by Matthew Fox
Small but insidious dragons lurk to intercept us on our spiritual journey through the…
Human Voice Mantras
in Religions and Beliefs by Peter Fenton
Vibrations created by precise combinations of sounds have long been thought to affect…
Forging the Diamond Soul: The Saturn Return Cycles
in Planets & Transits by Anne Whitaker
In terms of complete Saturn cycles, you have three to work with at the most. The…