لماذا تحظر الكنيسة الكاثوليكية رقائق الجاليت الخالية من الغلوتين

لماذا تحظر الكنيسة الكاثوليكية رقائق الجاليت الخالية من الغلوتين

A رسالة 2017 الأخيرة من الفاتيكان ذكّر الأساقفة الكاثوليك في العالم بقاعدة تفرض استخدام غلوتين القمح للاحتفال بالافخارستيا ، وهي خدمة ليتورجية مسيحية أطلق عليها الكاثوليك القداس.

ردود الفعل كانت فورية. الكاثوليك يعانون من مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية روى تجاربهم في محاولة للعثور على خيارات منخفضة الغلوتين وحتى تقترب من الكهنة قبل Communion لتلقي النبيذ المكرسة من الكأس منفصلة لذلك ليس هناك فرصة للتلوث عبر. روى البعض كيف أنهم امتنعوا حتى عن تلقي المناولة وقرروا بدلا من ذلك "روحية بالتواصل".

بصفتي متخصصًا في الدراسات الليتورجية ، لم أكن مندهشًا حقًا. اليوم في أمريكا الشمالية هناك قلق شديد حول طبيعة الخبز المستخدم للكوميون من قبل الكاثوليك - مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية ، الذي يسببه عدم تحمل الغلوتين ، يؤثر على على الأقل شنومك في المئة من سكان العالم.

ولكن في حين أن الكنيسة الكاثوليكية تسمح بخبز منخفض الغلوتين ، فإن استخدام الوصفات الخالية من الغلوتين محظور تمامًا.

يمكن العثور على الأسباب في التحديات التاريخية للممارسة المسيحية الكاثوليكية.

جذور الممارسة المسيحية

منذ 1588، مجمع الفاتيكان للعبادة الإلهية وانضباط الأسرار المقدسة كانت مسؤولة عن توضيح كيفية الحفاظ على التقاليد الليتورجية الكاثوليكية. بالنسبة الى قانون الكنسي الكاثوليكييمكن استخدام الخبز الطازج الطازج المصنوع من القمح النقي بدون مكونات إضافية للاحتفال القداس. الغلوتين هو جزء مما يجعل القمح القمح في الواقع.

إن الاحتفال بالقداس الإلهي ، الذي يتم فيه توزيع نعمة الخبز والخمر بشكل جماعي كجسد ودم المسيح ، متجذّر في تقاليد إنجيل العشاء الأخير مع رسله في الليلة التي سبقت صلبه.

ثلاثة من الأناجيل تقدم يسوع يشارك الخبز والخمر مع تلاميذ 12 ، تفيد ببساطة أن الخبز كان جسده والنبيذ دمه ، وتوجيههم لتكرار هذا الفعل في ذاكرته. في الإنجيل الرابع ، يسوع يقدم الخطاب النهائيمع التأكيد على المواضيع المتعلقة بمشاركته للخبز والنبيذ في الأناجيل الثلاثة الأخرى: الاتحاد الدائم للمؤمن مع نفسه والآب ، واستمرار وجود الروح القدس في المجتمع ومسؤولية العيش كما علّم يسوع.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


من أيام المسيحية الأولى ، علّم القادة المسيحيون ، في المعمودية ، أن البشر أصبحوا أعضاء حيين في جسد المسيح من خلال هذا الاندماج الأسري في الكنيسة. كان يُفهم من هؤلاء المسيحيين المعمدين أن يعيدوا التأكيد على هذه الوحدة مع بعضهم البعض ومع يسوع المسيح نفسه في الاحتفال بالافخارستيا واستقبال الخبز والنبيذ المكرسين - وهي حقيقة روحية ولاهوتية هامة للمجتمع.

ولهذا السبب فإن المؤلفين المسيحيين القدماء أكد مرارا وتكرارا أن الخبز والخمر أصبحا جسد ودم المسيح من خلال الكاهن أو صلاة الأسقف على عناصر الخبز والنبيذ.

تحديات مبكرة

بحلول القرن الثاني ، ومع ذلك ، ظهرت التفسيرات المتطرفة للمسيحية بين المجتمعات المسيحية المتنوعة.

أكثر المتنافسين انتشارا الغنوصيينوأصر على أن العالم المادي كان شريراً وأن الأرواح البشرية اللازمة لتحرير أنفسهم من سجون الأجساد البشرية المادية التي تم سجنهم فيها. بالنسبة إلى معظم الناس ، الفكرة القائلة بأن ابن الله سيصبح متجسداً في مثل هذا الجسد البشري مقيت. عقد البعض الاعتقاد "الخداعي" أن الجسد المادي ليسوع مجرد وهم.

الغنوصي أكد إنجيل فيليب أن جسد المسيح الحقيقي كان تعليمه ودمه الحقيقي الوجود الحيوي للروح القدس في المجتمع. دفع ذلك المسيحيون الغنوصي إلى رفض استخدام الخبز والخمر كليا ، أو استخدام صيغ صلاة مختلفة للتعبير عن أسبقية الواقع الروحي.

في حين تم معارضة هذه بشدة من قبل الأساقفة واللاهوتيين المسيحيين في وقت مبكر ، كانت هناك آراء مختلفة حول ما إذا كان يمكن استخدام الخميرة أم لاحتى بين المؤمنين المسيحيين. قامت المجتمعات بتفسير وضع عيد الفصح لعشاء يسوع الأخير بطرق مختلفة.

في الجزء الشرقي من الإمبراطورية الرومانية ، استمر استخدام الخبز المصنوع من الخميرة والسماح له بالارتفاع في الممارسة المعتادة ، بينما في الغرب ، الفطير أصبح هو القاعدة. تستمر الممارستان المتميزتان حتى يومنا هذا: الكنائس الشرقية ، سواء كانت بالاتحاد مع روما أم لا ، تستخدم الخبز المخمّر في الإفخارستيّا ، بينما الكاثوليك الرومان (الغربيون) لا يفعلون ذلك.

تطورات القرون الوسطى

خلال الألف سنة القادمة في أوروبا الغربية - الفترة المعقدة من الزمن التي يطلق عليها العصور الوسطى (الخامسة إلى القرن 15th) - حدث عدد من التحولات في الممارسة المسيحية القديمة.

بحلول أوائل العصور الوسطى ، تولت المجتمعات الدينية (بدلاً من الناس العاديين العاديين) مسؤولية التحضير "مذبح الخبز" لاستخدامها في القداس.

وبهذه الطريقة ، يمكن للكنائس الحصول على الخبز للقداس مع ضمان حقيقي أنهم كانوا مستعدين بشكل صحيح. هذه الأقراص بالارض أصبحت تسمى "المضيفين" بما أن القدّاس قد قُدِّم بأنه تقدمة لموت المسيح القرباني على الصليب (تعني كلمة اللاتينية hostia "ضحية").

في وقت لاحق مناقشة العصور الوسطى حول القربان المقدس تم تشكيلها من قبل مسألة صحة sacramental: تحت أي شروط هو سر صحيح حقا؟ وبعبارة أخرى ، متى يعد قانونًا؟

وقد تم تفسير صلاحية السريان المقدس على أنها تتطلب مادة صالحة (العنصر المادي الصحيح المعني) والصيغة الصحيحة (النص الليتورجي الصحيح أو "الصيغة" ليتم استخدامها ، عادة من قبل الكاهن).

من حيث سر الافخارستيا ، تم الحكم على خبز القمح فقط أن تكون مسألة صالحة ، على الرغم من أن بعض النقاش قد حدث حول ما إذا كان يمكن خلط الحبوب الأخرى. وبحلول نهاية فترة العصور الوسطى ، أصبح منتقدو الليتورجيا التقليدية أكثر صوتية ، وتم تقسيم المسيحية الغربية إلى "معسكرين" رئيسيين: الكاثوليك التقليديين ومجموعة متزايدة من مجتمعات الكنائس "المُصلَّحة" المعروفة عمومًا بالكنائس "البروتستانتية".

الانتقال إلى الخبز "الفعلي"

الكنائس البروتستانتية بشكل عام رفض التفسير الكاثوليكي لمعنى القربان المقدس. نفى البعض الوجود الحقيقي للمسيح في الخبز الإفخارستي والنبيذ ، وتخلصوا من التعريف الكاثوليكي "للمادة الصالحة".

على مدى القرون القليلة التالية ، تم تشكيل العديد من الطوائف البروتستانتية ، كثيرون يستخدمون الخبز العادي المستهلك في وجبات الطعام اليومية في خدماتهم الإفخارستيّة.

ردا على ذلك ، أدانت الكنيسة الكاثوليكية الممارسات البروتستانتية وشددت على المتطلبات التقليدية لهذه العناصر بشكل أكثر قوة. حتى مجلس الفاتيكان الثاني (1962-1965) ، تم استخدام خبز المذبح المصنوع خصيصًا كمضيف.

كجزء من برنامجه لإصلاح الكنيسة ، دعا الفاتيكان الثاني إلى إعادة النظر في الليتورجية الكاثوليكية ، بما في ذلك القداس ، و "القداس الروماني ما بعد الفاتيكان" (1970) ، وهو الكتاب الليتورجي المستخدم للاحتفال بالقداس ، يحتوي على التوجيه الجديد هذا ، إن أمكن ، الخبز المستخدم في القداس يشبه الخبز الفعلي. لا تزال المكونات محدودة بدقيق القمح والماء. هذه الخبز المذبح "العادي الغلوتين" يمكن أن يكون لا يزال خبز في المنزل من خلال وضع أعضاء المجتمع.

اختيارات معاصرة

اليوم ، المضيفين على الطراز التقليدي الاستمرار في استخدامها في معظم الأماكن ، وبعض المنتجين وضعت الوصفات للمضيفين منخفض الغلوتين أيضًا.

ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للكاثوليك الذين يعانون من عدم تحمل الغلوتين الحاد اليوم ، لا تزال هناك العديد من الخيارات. قد يحتاج أولئك الذين يستطيعون تحمل نسبة مئوية صغيرة إلى إيجاد طريقة لإدخال خبز المذبح منخفض الغلوتين في أبرشياتهم المحلية. أولئك الذين يعانون من التعصب الشديد قد يتلقون بالتواصل فقط من الكأس. في كلتا الحالتين ، يجب عليهم تجنب التلوث المتبادل عن طريق الحفاظ على المضيفين منخفض الغلوتين والنبيذ منفصلة بشكل صارم عن أي اتصال مع مضيفي القمح الكامل.

المحادثةمن السخرية المحزنة ، في اعتقادي ، أن نفس الإجراءات التي اتخذتها الكنيسة لحماية هذا السر من ما كان يُفهم على أنه هرطقة تؤدي الآن إلى إنكار عدد صغير لكن كبير من الكاثوليك من المشاركة الكاملة في أعمق مصدر للقوة الروحية والهوية. .

نبذة عن الكاتب

جوان بريس ، أستاذ الدراسات الدينية ، كلية الصليب المقدس

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الدين الخالي من الغلوتين ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
by غابرييلا يوروش لاندا
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
by ريتو كنوتي وسيباستيان سيبل
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
by إيان هاميلتونك وسالي مارلو

Why The Catholic Church Bans Gluten-free Communion Wafers

Why The Catholic Church Bans Gluten-free Communion Wafers

A recent 2017 letter from the Vatican reminded the world’s Catholic bishops of a rule mandating the use of wheat gluten for the celebration of the Eucharist, a Christian liturgical service called the Mass by Catholics.

Reactions were immediate. Catholics with celiac disease recounted their experiences in trying to find low-gluten options and even approaching priests before Communion to receive consecrated wine from a separate chalice so there was no chance of cross-contamination. Some narrated how they had even refrained from receiving Communion and decided instead on a “spiritual Communion.”

As a specialist in liturgical studies, I was not really surprised. Today in North America there is an intense concern about the nature of bread used for Communion by Catholics – celiac disease, caused by gluten intolerance, affects at least 1 percent of the global population.

But while the Catholic Church does allow low-gluten breads, the use of gluten-free recipes has been strictly prohibited.

The reasons can be found in historical challenges to Catholic Christian practice.

Roots of Christian practice

Since 1588, the Vatican Congregation for Divine Worship and Discipline of the Sacraments has been responsible for clarifying how to uphold longstanding Catholic liturgical traditions. According to Catholic canon law, only fresh unleavened bread made from pure wheat with no additional ingredients may be used for the celebration of Mass. Gluten is part of what makes wheat actually wheat.

The celebration of the Eucharist, in which the blessing of bread and wine is communally distributed as the body and blood of Christ, is rooted in the gospel traditions of Jesus’ Last Supper with his apostles on the night before his crucifixion.

Three of the gospels present Jesus sharing bread and wine with his 12 disciples, stating simply that the bread was his body and the wine his blood, and directing them to repeat this act in his memory. In the fourth gospel, Jesus offers a final discourse, stressing themes related to his sharing of the bread and wine in the other three gospels: the enduring union of a believer with himself and the Father, the continuing presence of the Holy Spirit in the community and the responsibility to live as Jesus had taught.

From Christianity’s earliest days, Christian leaders taught that, at Baptism, human beings become living members of the body of Christ through this sacramental incorporation into the Church. These baptized Christians were understood to reaffirm this unity with each other and with Jesus Christ himself in the celebration of the Eucharist and the reception of the consecrated bread and wine – an important spiritual and theological reality for the community.

It is for this reason that ancient Christian authors repeatedly stressed that the bread and wine really became the body and blood of Christ through the priest or the bishop’s prayer over the elements of bread and wine.

Early challenges

By the second century, however, radical interpretations of Christianity appeared among the diverse Christian communities.

The most widespread challengers, the Gnostics, insisted that the material world was evil and human spirits needed to free themselves from the prisons of material human bodies in which they had been imprisoned. For most, the idea that the son of God would become incarnate in such a human body was abhorrent; some held the “docetic” belief that the physical body of Jesus was only an illusion.

The Gnostic Gospel of Philip stressed that the real body of Christ was his teaching, and his real blood the vital presence of the Holy Spirit in the community. That led Gnostic Christians to reject the use of bread and wine entirely, or use different prayer formulas to express the primacy of spiritual reality.

While these were fiercely opposed by early Christian bishops and theologians, there were differing opinions about whether yeast could be used or not, even among faithful Christians. Communities interpreted the Passover setting of Jesus’ Last Supper in different ways.

In the eastern part of the Roman Empire, the use of bread leavened with yeast and allowed to rise continued to be the usual practice, while in the west, unleavened bread became the norm. The two distinct practices continue to this day: Eastern churches, whether in union with Rome or not, use leavened bread at the Eucharist, whereas Roman (western) Catholics do not.

Medieval developments

Over the next thousand years in Western Europe – the complex period of time commonly called the Middle Ages (fifth to 15th century) – a number of shifts in ancient Christian practice took place.

By the early Middle Ages, religious communities (instead of ordinary laypeople) undertook the responsibility of preparing “altar breads” for use at Mass.

In this way, churches could acquire bread for the Mass with real assurance that they were prepared properly. These flattened disks came to be called “hosts,” since the Mass was understood to be an offering of Christ’s sacrificial death on the cross (the Latin word hostia means “victim”).

Later medieval discussion about the Eucharist was shaped by the question of sacramental validity: Under what conditions is a sacrament really valid? In other words, when does it legally count?

Sacramental validity came to be explained as requiring both valid matter (the correct physical element involved) and the correct form (the correct liturgical text or “formula” to be used, usually by a priest).

In terms of the sacrament of the Eucharist, only wheat bread was judged to be valid matter, although some discussion did take place about whether other grains could be mixed in. By the end of the medieval period, critics of the traditional liturgy became more vocal, and western Christianity was divided into two major “camps”: the traditional Catholics and a growing cluster of “reformed” church communities known generally as “Protestant” churches.

Moving to ‘actual’ bread

Protestant churches in general rejected the Catholic interpretation of the meaning of the Eucharist. Some denied the real presence of Christ in the Eucharistic bread and wine, and discarded the Catholic definition of “valid matter.”

Over the next few centuries, numerous Protestant denominations were formed, many using the ordinary bread consumed at daily meals in their Eucharistic services.

In response, the Catholic Church condemned Protestant practices and stressed the traditional requirements for these elements even more forcefully. Until the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965), specially produced altar breads were exclusively used as hosts.

As part of its program for Church reform, Vatican II called for a revision of the Catholic liturgy, including the Mass. The post-Vatican II Roman Missal (1970), the liturgical book used for the celebration of Mass, contained the new directive that, if possible, the bread used at Mass look more like actual bread. The ingredients were still limited to wheat flour and water. These “ordinary gluten” altar breads could still be baked at home by lay members of the community.

Contemporary choices

Today, the traditional-style hosts continue to be used in most places, and some of the producers have developed recipes for low-gluten hosts as well.

However, for Catholics who suffer severe gluten intolerance today, there still aren’t many choices. Those who can tolerate a small percentage still may need to find a way to introduce low-gluten altar breads in their local parishes. Those with severe intolerance may receive Communion only from the chalice. In either case, they must avoid cross-contamination by keeping low-gluten hosts and wine strictly separate from any contact with the full wheat hosts.

The ConversationIt is a sad irony, I believe, that the same measures taken by the Church to safeguard this sacrament from what was understood as heresy now result in denying a small but significant number of Catholics from fully participating in their deepest source of spiritual strength and identity.

About The Author

Joanne M. Pierce, Professor of Religious Studies, College of the Holy Cross

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Daniel Plan Cookbook: Healthy Eating for Life
religionAuthor: Rick Warren
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Zondervan
List Price: $29.99

Buy Now

Santa's Gluten Free Cookie Plate: Timeless Traditional Recipes
religionAuthor: Tiffany Hinton
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: GF Mom Certified
List Price: $25.00

Buy Now

Have Yourself a Healthy Little Holiday
religionAuthor: Rogene A. Robbins
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: E.T.M. Publishing

Buy Now